Adelaide's decline

Sloane is one of the main problems at Adelaide. Held them to ransom for a massive contract when he was broken down and the club was vulnerable and couldn't afford to lose him.

Then he pulled his pants down and abandoned his teammates to heap praise on the camp and its implementors. Very poor leadership from a very selfish leader.

He has set himself up for life by being in the little Adelaide clique which leads to offield riches, but his actual leadership has been massively detrimental to his teammates and ultimately the Club. They are a team/club split down the middle and Sloane stood with the management, not the workers.

Sloane is one of the main problems at Adelaide. Held them to ransom for a massive contract when he was broken down and the club was vulnerable and couldn't afford to lose him.

Then he pulled his pants down and abandoned his teammates to heap praise on the camp and its implementors. Very poor leadership from a very selfish leader.

He has set himself up for life by being in the little Adelaide clique which leads to offield riches, but his actual leadership has been massively detrimental to his teammates and ultimately the Club. They are a team/club split down the middle and Sloane stood with the management, not the workers.

Sloane isn't a problem right now. Still one of our best mids when he plays. It will be an issue in the coming years. He isn't athletically gifted to begin with and to further decline in this aspect will not be pretty. Least we just lost cash on Sloane, Gibbs we lost picks and cash.

So you want some to apparently. We all remember you bringing up Jonas' elbowing Gaff into another dimension every time we played you. 'oooh such a dog hit, we would never do anything like that'. Gaff coward punches a teenager and geez didn't you have an about face on the topic of 'one off out of character acts'. Bunch of cowards the lot of you. Half your team was on the gear during the mid 2000s, which isn't surprising given half your state is on the gear now. Your crowds are a pimple on the arse of the AFL. Your plastic franchise club is a pimple on the a-hole of the AFL. Literally noone likes you. It usually wouldn't mean much because pretty much noone in the AFL likes anyone else but all 17 clubs legitimately despise your club. We're the weird cousin that people don't know whether they hate or not. Your the Crazy alcoholic Uncle that's seen the inside of a jail cell that everyone hates but sort of has to put up with because your 'family'. Nothing good has ever come out of Western Australia. Australia only exists because the English landed somewhere other than WA. The Dutch left because WA is sh*t. We have world class wineries as far as the eye can see, a foody culture, and cheap housing. You have a bunch of holes in the ground and a collapsing housing market where some 3 bedroom house in some shithole 6hrs drive from anywhere costs 700k.

If we lose an AFL game, the sun we still rise tomorrow. If you win 1000 games in a row, you will still have to live in WA, and that is a punishment worse than death.
Jesus you're killing it in here!

Oh I understand. Hopefully that will be offset by improvement in skills, preseasons, game-plan etc. But you can't rebuild the side in 12 months obviously. Even 3 years - if you made finals you would be happy with that I would have thought.
Agreed. Much as Ken H get pasted by a good % of Port Adel fans, the turnaround from the depths of 2011 (getting outscored by 60 goals in 9 successive qtrs anyone?) the ability to pull that team through to finals in 2013/14 was quite miraculous in my opinion. Whilst it was ultimately unsustainable, it brought hope and it bought time for the proper rebuild which is starting to bear fruit now.

One of my favourite non Eagles, and when the inevitable Buckley/Hird/Voss questions got thrown up I always thought he was every bit as good.

But it's been clearly demonstrated running a football club and playing football are two very different skill sets. Ricciuto is not the only one to fall foul of this mantra.

The Eagles - which was in real danger of becoming a bit of an old boys club around 2012/13 - took a bold step in bringing in Adam Simpson as an outsider when there was a lot of pressure to go with a former great and someone who was a bit more of a known quantity in Peter Sumich*. Simpson has been the best recruitment the club has made since Chris Judd. The Crows could do with taking a solid look at that lesson.

*FTR, I believe if given a chance Sumich will make a genuinely good head coach, but at the time we needed someone from outside the Eagles sphere to come in and give a new perspective on things because things had gone very stale.

Oh god this so much. Look at the best coaches in the league: Clarkson, Simpson, Hardwick, Scott, Beveridge, all outsiders, all took an uncompromising approach to fixing clubs. Favourite sons do not work as they're hard to sack and often end up repeating the same mistakes over and over again. If you look at most well-run football clubs they're not run by ex stars who can do no wrong, they're run by people who got there on merit. Adelaide reeks of nepotism and (well attempted at least from some up the top) despotism.

Adelaide need to get rid of the boys club. Some of them are former players who need to let go, some of them are just incompetent idiots shipped in. I'd keep Nicks as you can't evaluate him without more information. Give him time, some support and some players and see how he goes. I also imagine that the COVID circus has made it really tough for inexperienced coaches and for young teams who needed more time to gel with each other.

This might be the start of more frequent blow outs if they're relying on inexperienced kids against much fitter teams as the season drags on.

Could feasibly go 0-17 and below 50%.

Our fitness is SANFL level. If games weren't shortened we'd be conceding another 30-40 points per game.

Only a completely inept club can put together the kind of season we're seeing. It's rotten to its core.

The thing is, on paper, your best 22 is a lot better than the Carlton team of rejects Pagan assembled in 2004 (Digby Morrell, washed up Daniel Harford etc) and arguably better than the Demons 2013 team of battlers, and I am not convinced Nicks is a bad coach either.

I think we are still seeing the aftermath of that training camp fallout, and the departure of much club favourites like Sauce Jacobs and Betts has clearly had a detrimental effect on team morale and chemistry.

Oh god this so much. Look at the best coaches in the league: Clarkson, Simpson, Hardwick, Scott, Beveridge, all outsiders, all took an uncompromising approach to fixing clubs. Favourite sons do not work as they're hard to sack and often end up repeating the same mistakes over and over again. If you look at most well-run football clubs they're not run by ex stars who can do no wrong, they're run by people who got there on merit. Adelaide reeks of nepotism and (well attempted at least from some up the top) despotism.

Adelaide need to get rid of the boys club. Some of them are former players who need to let go, some of them are just incompetent idiots shipped in. I'd keep Nicks as you can't evaluate him without more information. Give him time, some support and some players and see how he goes. I also imagine that the COVID circus has made it really tough for inexperienced coaches and for young teams who needed more time to gel with each other.

Yep. I don't think it's any surprise that increased experience + being an outsider has lead to much more success for Ratten and Voss in their careers since their initial coaching jobs. Took Buckley nearly a decade to achieve any sort of success. Even the influence of Glenn Archer at my club North Melbourne is in the balance as to whether it'll be helpful.

The fact Burton ever got his position is an absolute joke, I thought these things had to be board ratified and all... Ridiculous. I'd be terrified as Matthew Nicks, surely he'd be looking over his shoulder to see whether Ricciuto has the knife out.

The thing is, on paper, your best 22 is a lot better than the Carlton team of rejects Pagan assembled in 2004 (Digby Morrell, washed up Daniel Harford etc) and arguably better than the Demons 2013 team of battlers, and I am not convinced Nicks is a bad coach either.

I think we are still seeing the aftermath of that training camp fallout, and the departure of much club favourites like Sauce Jacobs and Betts has clearly had a detrimental effect on team morale and chemistry.

There departures have zero to do with it. Sauce was a part of the terrible senior player entitlement culture. Betts would be doing nothing for us and he chose to leave. He needed a refresh and he wasn't a good culture driver at all. All our players have gone backwards and it's exceedingly clear that Burton's little mate Matt Hass is the worst GM if fitness in the league. And let's not forget that every important role in our footy debt is filled by an L plater or Hart/Clarke, 2 guys who wouldn't get a similar gig anywhere else.

Suggesting this is anything to do with Sauce/Betts is absurd.

Brilliant, but let’s not act as though your club is anything close to enviable.

Your club acts as though it has pretensions to greatness, despite the fact your highest achievement is a single premiership among years and years of choking and some of the most inconsistent football of all time. All your supporters act as though ”Port Adelaide” is synonymous with premierships, but the gap between the SANFL club and the AFL team is so wide, that to associate the two is bordering on being a pure joke. You act as though you have history, and yet these past 23 years have one highlight among two decades of failure and hilarity that no other team in the league matches.

No other B22 in league history has lost to a team after the siren, twice, consecutively, on the same ground. No other club in history has destroyed themselves purely on the basis of a single game, had to go through a five year rebuild with the worst team it has ever seen, in either the state league it comes from or the elite one it finds itself in now, and come out the other side with nothing to show for it. You may be on top of the ladder now, but as history shows, and the coach you should’ve sacked two years ago will prove again, this is a false dawn with nothing at the end of it.

The AFL club called “Port Adelaide“ is an insult to the SANFL club that still exists, and the expansion into the AFL has resulted in a two decade long premiership draught that is one of the worst in PA (SANFL) history.

I prefer Fremantle to you, hell, I prefer Richmond to you, and I hate them more than anything else in this godforsaken league.

So when you go hanging sh*t on a club that finds itself in the same situation you were in 8 years ago, let’s not forget the embarrassment your club has been to both the 150 year old SANFL powerhouse that you share your name with, and to South Australian football as a whole.

But but but they won Championships of Australia!

.... way back before World War 1. Wow, I'm impressed. Not.

But but but they won Championships of Australia!

.... way back before World War 1. Wow, I'm impressed. Not.

I suppose we will just knock off your all your pre WWII flags. Actually better knock off 1951-52 just to make sure. Actually 63 was during the Vietnam war so lets get rid of that now. It's funny how all you Victorian flogs want to talk down our heritage whilst simultaneously defending pre AFL flags to the death. Yeah, the 7 flags in 88-96 that got us into the AFL, that produced a brownlow medalist and one of the best Centre Half Forwards of all time is worth nothing, but some flag from 1903 in the VFL is totally relevant to today.

Adelaide's decline