Adelaide's decline

I wouldn't write Sloane off but Tex is totally cooked sure he can take a mark and kick a goal if it falls in his lap but he's just an easy run off for a defender.. if it was 1985 he'd be ok.
Yeah Tex is definitely a lot less likely to turn his form around than Sloane, but willing to see if a freshen up over pre season helps before completely writing him off.

You gotta make a choice because the forward line wont work with him and Fogarty together it's like baby slow poke with big bertha.

Yep, fair call, I’ve never really thought they could work together. If Tex does play on it may only be as backup to Fog in case of injury/form.

In case you hadn’t noticed, having pick 1 and likely pick 2 from Brad leaving, along with the Giants first pick is a massive draft hand. Add in our academy and F/S picks and we can aggressively turnover the list again this off season.

You may not have noticed but this years draft probably isnt going to be the one to be turning your fortunes around. Besides, youre more likely to get band 2 for Crouch anyways.

Oh cool thanks, I didn’t realise all draftees were in the same situation as those in Vic, my apologies. Do you also realise that the key forward touted for our pick is South Aussie and playing league footy for Westies? Guess how games Mitch Georgiades played in his U18 year?

Outside of one or two bolsters, the first round round and especially top 10 is fairly well set over a year out.

I also wasn’t aware you knew the ins and out of how the AFL judge FA compo (yes certain criteria have been made public, but definitely not all) and what contract offers were out there for Brad, my apologies.

Oh cool thanks, I didn’t realise all draftees were in the same situation as those in Vic, my apologies. Do you also realise that the key forward touted for our pick is South Aussie and playing league footy for Westies? Guess how games Mitch Georgiades played in his U18 year?

Outside of one or two bolsters, the first round round and especially top 10 is fairly well set over a year out.

I also wasn’t aware you knew the ins and out of how the AFL judge FA compo (yes certain criteria have been made public, but definitely not all) and what contract offers were out there for Brad, my apologies.
Look, it is cheap to dream, but if you think that we will get pick 2 for Brad Crouch you are being a touch unrealistic. Either that or another club throws stupid money at him. End of 1st round is probably best case scenario, if he does indeed leave.

There is nothing to suggest from past history that a club won’t offer overs to get a player out of a club. Look at what Hawks paid to get Frawley, which netted Melbourne band one.

Look at it the other way, he isn’t leaving for less than he would be offered in Adelaide, given that his partner is from here and he already plays in the same team as his brother.

Still plenty to play out so let’s just wait and see I guess.

There is nothing to suggest from past history that a club won’t offer overs to get a player out of a club. Look at what Hawks paid to get Frawley, which netted Melbourne band one.

Look at it the other way, he isn’t leaving for less than he would be offered in Adelaide, given that his partner is from here and he already plays in the same team as his brother.

Still plenty to play out so let’s just wait and see I guess.
Whilst you are correct in saying that there is a lot to play out.

I hope you are right, but think you may be stretching things to think we will get pick 2 for him. You initially put as if it were almost a done deal. Frawley to the best of my knowledge did not have Crouch's injury history. He played around 50 more games in the same time span. Also James was an All-Australian whilst stlll at Melbourne, which Brad has not achieved.

Just think you are setting yourself up for disappointment.

It would appear we agree. Gets lots of it, and almost always wastes it.

Who do you think is better between him and Brad?
Brad but if I was a shopping for a midfielder he wouldn't interest me on the coin he's reportedly after, I'd imagine Gold Coast have gone cold in pursuing him with the way their midfield has developed this year for instance.

You are right, he will get nothing like the type of coin he is after from other clubs. Sadly most of our own supporters are wilfully oblivious to this. Nor if he was at another club would I want us to offer that sort of coin for him. I would personally trade both Matt and Brad, with one or 2 others. There needs to be a Blight like cull at the end of the year. I know it won't happen though.

Was a faint chance to go to GC last year but was asking stupid money, they rightly put down the phone.

Reckon Essendon would be just about the only team interested this year, but whether they want to pay Band 1 money for a fairly average midfielder is moot. A number of Crows posters constantly talk him up but I'm not sure Brad makes the top 30 list of midfielders to be honest.

No worries mate, glad you realise the folly in assuming a weakened draft pool is the prime time to draft. How many are you thinking you turn over? 4 or 5?

Happy also to clear your misunderstanding of FA too. Tom Rockliff left Brisbane on 700k over 4 years. They got band 2. No one is going to offer Brad more or longer than that. Can you name a club desperate enough to do so? Huge risk. Brad would have to be the proverbial "final piece of the puzzle".

Was a faint chance to go to GC last year but was asking stupid money, they rightly put down the phone.

Reckon Essendon would be just about the only team interested this year, but whether they want to pay Band 1 money for a fairly average midfielder is moot. A number of Crows posters constantly talk him up but I'm not sure Brad makes the top 30 list of midfielders to be honest.

Yeah Essendon and possibly North, not that he's the player they need, but they'll overpay for even a medium sized fish.

I wouldn't write Sloane off but Tex is totally cooked sure he can take a mark and kick a goal if it falls in his lap but he's just an easy run off for a defender.. if it was 1985 he'd be ok.
Thing about Tex is whether he can play alongside Fogarty.

Lol

BACCS - I think Crouch will get a band one pick
Brutalitops - I think Crouch will get a band two pick
BACCS - oH iM sOrRy i dIdNt rEaLiSe yOu KnEw WhAt cOnTrAcT oFfErS cRoUcH iS gEtTiNg

How come you get to have an opinion on what pick Crouch will get but he doesn't?

Yep Tex couldn’t even make the distance from 50 Wednesday, a sweet right leg was his best weapon it’s gone now and he’s done sorry to say. Boak was played out of position by a stubborn moron for literally years and Dixon never shown signs at any stage of injury or age slowing him down probably because he’s missed so much footy over the journey so not sure those comparisons are totally valid

Youve agreed with me on Lynch

Smith isnt in a bulls roar of the player he was pre ACL isn’t too old yet but hasn’t recaptured that 2017 form in 3 years now

If winning games was the priority there’s no way Gibbs for all his deficiencies isn’t an upgrade on Jones or McHenry on a half forward flank. Both are awful and are subject to vitriol on your board for a reason, they don’t look up to it

I agree Dmac in general is an average player but hasn’t he been one of your more consistent mids this season? he’s at least able to run and link if he’s not playing who does the role? Don’t say Atkins he doesn’t even know which water bottle he is

As for Sloane he’s made a brilliant career on sheer grit and determination and thrown his body on grenades game in game out for over a decade. It looks like he’s slowed down as a result and isn’t the player he was. I agree too early to tell

either way those blokes aren’t lining up in 2 years time most likely
out of this draft you need to just “stand still” quality in the following :
2 Prime mids (Crouch/Rory)
CHF
Winger
3rd tall forward
Attacking half back
(Gibbs excluded as a concession to your point)

That’s a decent chunk in anyone’s language I know because we are literally 12 months behind you maybe 24

Sloane is one of the main problems at Adelaide. Held them to ransom for a massive contract when he was broken down and the club was vulnerable and couldn't afford to lose him.

Then he pulled his pants down and abandoned his teammates to heap praise on the camp and its implementors. Very poor leadership from a very selfish leader.

He has set himself up for life by being in the little Adelaide clique which leads to offield riches, but his actual leadership has been massively detrimental to his teammates and ultimately the Club. They are a team/club split down the middle and Sloane stood with the management, not the workers.

This illustrates the depth of the problems at the crows.
As if the off field leadership wasn’t enough, they are lumbered with the broken down Sloane and his hefty contract for many more seasons to come.

Adelaide's decline