Advertising for NRL at an AFL game?

Not sure if this is the same for other clubs' sites, but why is the Storm game discount thing still being adverstised on the Essendon site when the game was last night?

mxett said:
I never mentioned my treatment. Every AFL fan gets treated that way over there. All you need to do is mention you supprt AFL and not even mention NRL and you get abuse.

Rubbish.

You go to a Rugby league forum and going by your posts I'm going to have assume it's a code you have very little interest in and instantly bag the game in TFC. What did you expect? Tea and scones? You need to change tact.

Why not try and get an understanding of the game so it at least looks like you know what you're talking about. Try stimulating some debate in the AFL section. I'd be more than willing to join in and help. You might actually be surprised how many will join in a mature discussion. Support your code without bagging the other outside of TFC. Don't lie, just post cold hard facts.

mxett said:
Are you denying the anti-AFL crap on LU/TFC is 100 times worse than anything on here?

Nope, it is for sure. You can pretty much say whatever you want. It can be a pretty ugly look sometimes.

mxett said:
As a fan of both sports how can you even defend that site?

I'm not defending them, I just know what goes on there. You reckon it's all their fault, I think you need to be held accountable too.

Though it would be the same reception an NRL support would get in a AFL bar in Melbourne.

not necessarilly.

the station hotel in prahran shows the super rugby games with commentary. i don't know what it does for league but pretty sure it shows the league with commentary.

Rubbish.

You go to a Rugby league forum and going by your posts I'm going to have assume it's a code you have very little interest in and instantly bag the game in TFC. What did you expect? Tea and scones? You need to change tact.

Why not try and get an understanding of the game so it at least looks like you know what you're talking about. Try stimulating some debate in the AFL section. I'd be more than willing to join in and help. You might actually be surprised how many will join in a mature discussion. Support your code without bagging the other outside of TFC. Don't lie, just post cold hard facts.

Nope, it is for sure. You can pretty much say whatever you want. It can be a pretty ugly look sometimes.

I'm not defending them, I just know what goes on there. You reckon it's all their fault, I think you need to be held accountable too.

Their multiple anti-AFL threads would be there whether I was there or not. Are you denying that 80% of TFC threads essentially trash AFL?

They seem to resent any debate. They would prefer to spread their hate without any recourse.

As i said, how can you as an AFL fan possibly defend that site and its blatant and systematic AFL bashing?

not necessarilly.

the station hotel in prahran shows the super rugby games with commentary. i don't know what it does for league but pretty sure it shows the league with commentary.

I have a mate who is an RL fan who has found himself in Melbourne. He has found a pub in the city that shows Rugby and RL and he never has any problems watching the games there (I can't remember what it is called though)

mxett said:
Their multiple anti-AFL threads would be there whether I was there or not.

Probably.

mxett said:
Are you denying that 80% of TFC threads essentially trash AFL?

Nope. Never said that either. :rolleyes:

mxett said:
They seem to resent any debate. They would prefer to spread their hate without any recourse.

It's a trolling forum for heavens sake. You of all people should know sensible debate is not on the agenda.

mxett said:
As i said, how can you as an AFL fan possibly defend that site and its blatant and systematic AFL bashing?

I don't. I find the bashing of other sports very childish and the reason I don't do it.

I have a mate who is an RL fan who has found himself in Melbourne. He has found a pub in the city that shows Rugby and RL and he never has any problems watching the games there (I can't remember what it is called though)

Limerick Arms shows games. Station Hotel this week.

The telgraph certainly does but then it's a woeful newspaper who no one takes seriously. The SMH is reasonably balanced

Roy Masters writes for the SMH plus the rugby guy .

Channel Nein and Fox schedule the games.

And they sheduled the pre season games against GWS and disallowed the IR test at the SCG ?

ANZ seems to pay every team to play games out of there

Yes . every rl team .AFL teams have to pay
Thankyou for just backing up my point .

? Last i checked they were giving significant contribution to the refurbished Sydney showground ?

As I said historically governments have tried to discourage AR and encourage rl . $30 million is a very small contribution very recent undertaking .

RL controlled SCG? Yeah, whatever. When did this actually occur?

When the SCG charged the Swans $500k rent for 11 games at the SCG and charged the NSWRL $100k for 20+ H/A games plus finals at the newly built SFS .

Try stimulating some debate in the AFL section. I'd be more than willing to join in and help. You might actually be surprised how many will join in a mature discussion. Support your code without bagging the other outside of TFC. Don't lie, just post cold hard facts.

Take the rose coloured glasses off FFS.
That site is an abomination pure and simple .
From all reports it gets worse and worse and why any person with an ounze of grey matter would go near that site baffles me .

I wish you guys would stop basing your view of 'thugby' fans and THEIR view of AFL on those that post at LU. Hell, even I as a Storm fan get call a victard. Hehe. Oh well.

I know plenty in Syd/Bri and in north qld where I'm now living that are RL fans but admire AR. In fact, more then those that dislike it. Probably more that dislike RU. After all, Swans and Lions crowds are as big if not bigger then RL crowds often so not too much to complain about!!

I'd LOVE to see Storm games being attended like it was on Monday, like that every game. And if they WERE getting 20,000+ every week, would you guys or the AFL be worried? I highly doubt it.

Good marketing - for a change. Only thing they got wrong was that Collingwood supporters should've only got a 10% discount. Don't want too much of their kind at Storm games. :D

God this stuff is annoying, NRL and AFL are both amazing games yet the corporate and journalistic side of NRL is predominately filled with *******s.

Then I ask them why they don't like the sport. Most have no answer. Then I ask if they have ever seen a game. Then i do a deal where I will watch a league match with them if they watch a football match afterwards. Usually works, and most won't become a football fan but they will start stopping their mates from calling it gayfl. Generational change ... a wonderful thing

I basically had the same experiences .
It seems people might have moved on a little , but that might only be my perception moving in different circles now.Or it could be that AFL has established itself in Sydney and Brisbane and now we're at the point of having two additional teams that if you're anti-Swans you must be pro-Giants or anti-Lions then you must be pro-Suns .

The NRL is advertised at AFL matches in Melbourne.

Meanwhile, up in Sydney...

Invasion of the Sherrin

The difference in attitude between the two cities is amazing.
That is so paranoid it's laughable. Smell the fear! :p

DT produces these anti-Aussie Rules almost weekly. Last week's was the AFL invading Western Sydney and stealing all their kids :rolleyes:

THE AFL has escalated its invasion of western Sydney with GWS Academy coach Paul Kelly promising to poach the best talent from rival codes in the club's draft zones.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...rs-on-young-kids/story-e6frexwr-1226041138091

cos789 said:
Take the rose coloured glasses off FFS.

After you take your eye patch off.

cos789 said:
That site is an abomination pure and simple .
From all reports it gets worse and worse and why any person with an ounze of grey matter would go near that site baffles me .

There are plenty of good parts on the forum. TFC is to be avoided at all costs unless your sole aim is to troll fans of other sports.

The AFL section has some potential of that I have no doubt. Stop fueling the fire and try promoting the code rather than just bashing Rugby league. You might actually be surprised by the outcome.

Now usually i couldn't care less about this type of stuff until reading numerous anti afl posts from NRL fans over the past yr or so. Yesterday at the anzac day game, first we have advertisements on the big screen before the game 'get down to watch storm after the game and get a 20% discount', then im walking through the carpark outta the ground and theres a leaflet on every bloody car in the mcg carpark under the windscreen wiper 'go to the storm game with a 20% discount.'
I found it a bit rich when they change their fixtures to try to effect the new AFL teams and also try copy the AFL's success of the anzac day game that they then go to the step of advertising their sport at the AFL's biggest day ramming leaflets and advertising for their game down peoples throats.

I thinks it's cool that the NRL think that their advertising dollar will reach more people during an AFL game than it will at one of their own.

God this stuff is annoying, NRL and AFL are both amazing games yet the corporate and journalistic side of NRL is predominately filled with *******s.

And you should NEVER give a compeditor a free leg up.

RL and the slimey biased Sydney media who somehow think their thuggish game is be better than Australian Football and who do all in their power to slag AR are the main problem for our game north of the Murray.
Talk about an inferiorty complex They must grind their teeth when the see crowds of 90,000 and 80,000 on consectutive days at the mighty MCG.

The opposite is true in Melbourne where Rupes rag the HeraldSun gives their team a massive amount of free PR and still they struggle to get decent crowds.

Now usually i couldn't care less about this type of stuff until reading numerous anti afl posts from NRL fans over the past yr or so. Yesterday at the anzac day game, first we have advertisements on the big screen before the game 'get down to watch storm after the game and get a 20% discount', then im walking through the carpark outta the ground and theres a leaflet on every bloody car in the mcg carpark under the windscreen wiper 'go to the storm game with a 20% discount.'
I found it a bit rich when they change their fixtures to try to effect the new AFL teams and also try copy the AFL's success of the anzac day game that they then go to the step of advertising their sport at the AFL's biggest day ramming leaflets and advertising for their game down peoples throats.

I'm with you.

This would never happen the other way say in Western Sydney ,with RL teams.

the NSWRL will never get a cent out of me, **** the Storm they can piss off back to Sydney. :cool: They show no respect for our game.

Don't confuse the ramblings of a gutter tabloid (with vested financial interests in the NRL to boot) with the general population of Sydney.

I think you'll find it is having some effect. AFL v NRL is becoming an us v them situation you can't support both, that is the message from the Daily Telegraph.

Look at the TV ratings for Swans games in the last 2 years.

The Herald Sun avoid these AFL v NRL wars as it is not in their interests to pick a fight with the AFL in Melbourne. It's about co-existence in Melbourne, invasion in Sydney.

Josh Massoud just a NRL cheerleader serving his News Ltd bosses well. He should admire the AFL at the MCG it is the greatest sporting spectacle in the country for a reason.

Usually the "lolol GAYfl" people are massive bogans with Southern Cross tattoos. The best way to counter them is simply to continue to remind them that Aussie Rules is the indigenous game and by hating it they are hating Australia. They won't be able to process it and their heads will explode :p

Seriously though, the whole 'war' crap is so stupid.

Anywayz... I wouldnt mind seeing the nrl and afl work together when it comes to Anzac day . Maybe next year they could have the swans vs Giants and roosters vs dragons double header in sydney or something similar in Melbourne

Usually the "lolol GAYfl" people are massive bogans with Southern Cross tattoos. The best way to counter them is simply to continue to remind them that Aussie Rules is the indigenous game and by hating it they are hating Australia. They won't be able to process it and their heads will explode :p

Seriously though, the whole 'war' crap is so stupid.

I agree, it seems to me that non-bogans are increasingly supporting both codes

Advertising for NRL at an AFL game?