AFL 2006 Talk

Norm Smith - no, it didn't make it in time but we have it set for inclusion in 2007.
Club Best & Fairest - Yes, it's in (but it's based on the best scoring player from each side in the Brownlow)
All Australian Team - definitely on the cards for 2007
Jumper number assigning - definitely in for 2007 as well as assigning jumpers for games and captain/vice-captain.
Anzac Day Medal - on the cards for 2007
Rising Star - on the cards for 2007
Brownlow Medal - shown at the seasons end & comes with comments about player performance
Camera Angles - unfortunately the request for no camera angles or rather cutscenes wasn't able to be implemented in 2006 but will be looked at for 2007

Also set for 2007 are training modes for use in Career/Season mode, multiplayer modes, more management options, deeper career mode, in-depth player/team stats, selectable jumpers, player editing (possible creation tool) and much more...

But don't get me wrong...2006 is a great version. It vastly improves the gameplay area of the game and has much more depth for player management and development. It sees the game heading back on the right track.

RoosterLad said:
Gee theres a lot of stuff missing there.. surely having captains, best on grounds in anzac day/grand finals etc wouldnt be that hard to put in!!

A bit disappointing

Wait until you play the 2006 version, you'll understand where our focus has been this time around and why extra stuff like that listed above needs to be added after the gameplay has been improved upon. I don't think I'm the only one who thinks that the gameplay was the area that really needed addressing.

I understand that it looks light because you guys have 2005 still in your minds but I reckon you'll see 2006 as a big improvement when you play it. The game still has a fair way to go but like I have said on numerous occassions already it's heading in the right direction.

Fiery Hawk said:
Wait until you play the 2006 version, you'll understand where our focus has been this time around and why extra stuff like that listed above needs to be added after the gameplay has been improved upon. I don't think I'm the only one who thinks that the gameplay was the area that really needed addressing.

I understand that it looks light because you guys have 2005 still in your minds but I reckon you'll see 2006 as a big improvement when you play it. The game still has a fair way to go but like I have said on numerous occassions already it's heading in the right direction.
Gameplay is far more important that the minor adjustments. Slowly but surely getting a good game hopefully.

One slight question. Is the brownlow voting changed from last year, where a CHF would get 3 votes each game ?

Fiery Hawk said:
It's a PS2 exclusive title.
Yep and one has to wonder why THQ won't or cannot release a PC version like they did in 2005.

Oh, read this article about what Dell Computers has just done.
Dell to acquire Alienware

Dell has agreed to purchase gaming PC maker Alienware, in a rare acquisition designed to improve Alienware's supply chain and boost Dell's standing among PC enthusiasts.
Now if PC games are not worth bothering about or publishing games on PC version, then why would a company as large as Dell do this!!

http://www.cnet.com.au/desktops/pcs/0,39029439,40061368,00.htm?ref=search

So FH IF you do have a contact at Sony EA or Irgurus, maybe they should read this article and have a rethink!

Now re AFL 2006 on PS2 For those interested, Read todays Sun Hearld, article in there

In the meantime I'll look very much forward to the next Version of MS Flight Simulator X, 64bit version.
Being a private pilot in real life, this suits me just fine!

remind said:
Yep and one has to wonder why THQ won't or cannot release a PC version like they did in 2005.

Oh, read this article about what Dell Computers has just done.
Dell to acquire Alienware

Dell has agreed to purchase gaming PC maker Alienware, in a rare acquisition designed to improve Alienware's supply chain and boost Dell's standing among PC enthusiasts.
Now if PC games are not worth bothering about or publishing games on PC version, then why would a company as large as Dell do this!!

http://www.cnet.com.au/desktops/pcs/0,39029439,40061368,00.htm?ref=search

So FH IF you do have a contact at Sony EA or Irgurus, maybe they should read this article and have a rethink!

Now re AFL 2006 on PS2 For those interested, Read todays Sun Hearld, article in there

In the meantime I'll look very much forward to the next Version of MS Flight Simulator X, 64bit version.
Being a private pilot in real life, this suits me just fine!

boyplane.jpg

Anyone see AFL 2006 being demoed on Today morning show this morning.

A few in game shots but not much to go on. As usual there is obviously a demo out there but us poor suckers - the consumers - have had nothing but a few still screen shots...I think the marketing department for these games is a few 12 year old girls with no idea

Game was confimed for 20th July ...

yeah page 31 of the sun yesterday had something in there with brock mclean, pretty normal stuff, FH, is there going to be a website or not?

i think us consumers dont deserve the treatment we got last year as we were made to wait for ages and then receive the **** that we got.

I am definetly not buying this version rather hire it and decide after that. i THINK we all should

Or just wait until a better developer get's their hands on the rights to the branding. From what I've read about 2006, it is not more than a tweak of 2005 and updated team lists, they could of charged people a download fee for a patch. Microsoft and Ea do that to fix bugs in a game.

Even though some don't want to believe it, limiting a game like AFL when there is already a limited market for it, to just one platform has to be as bad a marketing decision since a Major Soft drink manufacturer changed the Falvour or the cola in the 80's and realised ASAP they did a big mistake.

If you have for argument sake a potential market for AFL of 50k across 3 platforms, you don't have to be a maths teacher to realise what your potetntial market is on one platform only.

I really don't give one breath about it being PS2 exclusive this year or next, I worry about the future of the compuater game, that Sony will realise like EA Sports did in 2000, it is not worth doing and then we all loose!

God Damn I cant wait for this game to come out!

I dont know what you guys are on :confused: Probably just ****ed that its only coming out on PS2.

Missions, Salary Caps, Contracts, New Gameplay, New team lists, In-game Tactics etc.

Tweaked version of '05? Me thinks not :D

B-Rock said:
Nah i gotta ps2 mate.

:rolleyes: .......... He was talking about Brock McLean dude.

In some dissapointing news , I visited my local EB games again to check on what the dude thought of his AFL 2006 demo,
and again he told me he's been too busy playing XBOX360 Live and the demo is just sitting somewhere on the floor at home. :mad:

He drew this kind of reaction from me ....

KarpolWeb.jpg

Nbrown7 said:
i think us consumers dont deserve the treatment we got last year as we were made to wait for ages and then receive the **** that we got.

I am definetly not buying this version rather hire it and decide after that. i THINK we all should

I'm not going to buy it or hire it cause I don't want to be forced into playing it on a PS2
And I have bought every single PC AFL game released so I'd be a definate buyer for a PC version

Hawkers said:
I'm not going to buy it or hire it cause I don't want to be forced into playing it on a PS2
And I have bought every single PC AFL game released so I'd be a definate buyer for a PC version
Hi Hawkers.
Your like me, Why should we be forced into buying a console for just one game!!
And buy 2008 when the exclusive deal runs out, Sony will dump the game because of low sales and we will be left we no AFL game at all, that is my main concern!

roguless54 said:
:rolleyes: .......... He was talking about Brock McLean dude.

In some dissapointing news , I visited my local EB games again to check on what the dude thought of his AFL 2006 demo,
and again he told me he's been too busy playing XBOX360 Live and the demo is just sitting somewhere on the floor at home. :mad:

He drew this kind of reaction from me ....

KarpolWeb.jpg

Gee shows how much interest there is in it!!

remind said:
Gee shows how much interest there is in it!!

What!!! :eek:

Just because one random dude doesnt want to play the game doesnt mean noone does.

Lol. What are you on about?

I really want to play the game.....does this now mean there is heaps of interest in it? :rolleyes:

illnino said:
What!!! :eek:

Just because one random dude doesnt want to play the game doesnt mean noone does.

Lol. What are you on about?

I really want to play the game.....does this now mean there is heaps of interest in it? :rolleyes:

No, i think it means you took the comment, so far out of proportion it's not funny, and kinda weird.

remind said:
Hi Hawkers.
Your like me, Why should we be forced into buying a console for just one game!!
And buy 2008 when the exclusive deal runs out, Sony will dump the game because of low sales and we will be left we no AFL game at all, that is my main concern!

It's the only AFL game out there, don't be surprised if/when it goes platinum.

AFL 2006 Talk