AFL 2006 Talk

Fiery hawk,
Are there any chances of the commentators giving there 3,2,1 votes after each game.
Also I dont suppose there would be any unlockables like special teams or Videos or something?
What about create-a-players? Any chance of them?
Thanks and sorry if any of these have been suggested but i dont fancy going through 147 pages.

Kerr4PM

Please Reply back and tell me what you think of these suggestions

Unlockables is a MUST. If its too much trouble with copyright business, then atleast make it some pictures or something along those lines. Or one or two players per team who used to play, that you can now use in regular games.

Yeah that's a very good point. Will bring that up!

Actually compared to 2005 and earlier versions, this has improved.

Still it is kind of out of wack if the user has played a 10 minute a 1/4 match and scores 125 pts to 60 pts, maybe one other game has a looser having so much aganist them. Makes the For and Aganist scores on the ladder look wrong after about 12 rounds or so.

Ciao

If any of this has already been posted, I apolgise in advance.

Would also like to see a 3.2.1 given by commentataor at end of a game and then also have the brownlow at the end of home and away season as a seperate poll, like it is in real life.

Please bring back running stats, that is, most marks, kicks, tackles, coleman medal ladder after each round for whole comp and also for the user's team as well.
Why did these features get dropped from 2005, 2004?

They are very useful to know if your going to have a career mode, then u know who is doing well in what area.

Thanks

have a cry matera goal
Go fondle Michael Jackson roosterlad :)

Hey Matera_goal,

Sorry, yes I did forget to reply to your post. For that I apologise but reading through it I'd appreciate it if you worded things in a more constructive and somewhat less offensive manner (but that's just me). I can fully understand your frustration at the issues stated below and here are my responses...

Yep we identified this bug too late in production. Should be right now.

The umpire interpretation may need some tweaking by the sounds of it.

We had no stop n' prop animation/control implemented for 2006 which would cause this problem. It's on the to-do list for 2007.

Can't really explain why that happens. Will do some research into that area and get back to you. May just require a set-in-concrete interpretation of what is and what isn't holding the ball (but that would open a whole new can of worms). Also I'm not sure if this is a factor in it but have you taken note of where the umpire is standing in relation to the contest?

Hoping to get more detailed profiles into the draft this season. If we have time the changes we want to make will definitely cater to your needs.

Fair enough. It's something (again) that we fully intend to implement into the game for 2007.

Yep that's one that should be sorted with more extensive bio's and stats for all players.

Appreciate the tone of your question, and yes, it's something we will work on for 2007.

That's an interesting one. Currently there are no restrictions placed on teams trading/delisting apart from being under the salary cap. So you'll find that teams trade willy-nilly (not a realistic outcome but as some have said in forums it's something that they can appreciate from a gamer perspective). The way to stop such mass swapping of players is to tie them to contracts and only allow players with one year or no years left to be the ones who can be traded between teams. It cuts down the available players and teams won't trade unless there really is something they want.
Whether contracts go in this year is still up for discussion so you'll have to wait on this one.

We are well aware of this and are looking to implement a new system that should eradicate such thinking. More on that later though...

Currently clubs do it to add more players and remove the expensive/injury riddled/near retirement players. I know this isn't the right thinking and a combination of contracts and the new system should eliminate this problem.

The problem was we had no time to implement a rookie draft so after 2006 what is to become of the rookie players in career mode? Until you have the functionality to draft/nominate rookies there's no point in adding them unless it's for a single match/single season mode. In the end we made the choice to remove them for 2006. The idea for 2007 is to have them along with the new rookie rules and a rookie-specific draft.

Definitely a bug and one we'll look at rectifying.

Thanks Matera_goal, keep 'em coming. Hope I was able to answer your questions.

FH
No worries mate. Just happy to have a whinge and give some feedback as well as point out bugs :)

As for the bold, are you being sarcastic :p

As for the italics, I'd guess it wouldn't be too hard to implement seeing as it was in for 2005.

Sorry about my tone, I understand why you don't like it

Cheers

MG

P.S The team selection layout should be like the one from 2005 (the ground view and press circle to view all players). Plus in the 2005 layout you can see the opponent's names, stats and height so you know who to assign to them. With 2006 and new draftee forwards, it's all guesswork as you don't know whether to put a tall back or a small back on them. Also in 2006, since you can't see their stats you can't tell the type of defender to assign to them.

I.E a 182cm quick forward flanker. You'd put Nicoski on him.
A medium sized strong marking forward (Mark Williams or Ben McKinley type)? Put Brett Jones on him

Hope this helps

matera matera

Also Wondering If the instant replays could be fixed abit.. easier to control camera angles, pause, slow etc.

And Something else that would make the new game awesome would be at the end of the year when the brownlow and the coleman are announced that an all-australian team announced and maybe a rising star :)

Also Improved training like 2005 premiership edition.

Please reply back

Fiery hawk,
Are there any chances of the commentators giving there 3,2,1 votes after each game.
Also I dont suppose there would be any unlockables like special teams or Videos or something?
What about create-a-players? Any chance of them?
Thanks and sorry if any of these have been suggested but i dont fancy going through 147 pages.

Kerr4PM

Please Reply back and tell me what you think of these suggestions

1. Commentary is up in the air at the moment. All depends on whether Dennis is commentating in 2007. With regards to 3,2,1 votes we have recently implemented a B.O.G. award and the best of the rest for each team as a display at the end of a game so you'd reckon we'd record some commentary for that. Will let you know if we record the commentary.

2. There are special bonuses set for 2007 but whether they are unlockable is yet to be decided. Rest assured that there is extra content for 2007 on the cards.

3. There's edit-a-player which is essentially a create-a-player because you can change height/weight/number/hair colour & style/skin colour etc. The hope is that you can edit attribute ratings too so in essence it is what you are asking for.

4. no stress. I'm the poor bastard who has to go back through all the pages every now and then to see if there's anything we have missed! :eek:

have the brownlow at the end of home and away season as a seperate poll, like it is in real life.

I have come up with a system to allow for this. It is also flexible in that it records who are the top 5-10 best players for a particular club and this goes towards club awards. At the moment it's a question of whether we can get it in on time. But at least you know we have it all planned out...

Please bring back running stats, that is, most marks, kicks, tackles, coleman medal ladder after each round for whole comp and also for the user's team as well.
Why did these features get dropped from 2005, 2004?

With seasonal stats and league leader tables you'll these back in 2007. Why were they removed? Different people running the show? I dunno. Can't really answer that one. I did however object to having the brownlow medal total showing throughout the season!

As for the italics, I'd guess it wouldn't be too hard to implement seeing as it was in for 2005.

With everything it's always a case of if we have time to put stuff in. We're more than capable (skill wise) of doing all these things but we cannot slow down time to get them in. We'll do our best, trust me.

Sorry about my tone, I understand why you don't like it

No biggy, it just makes discussions more constructive when stuff is written rationally I guess.

The team selection layout should be like the one from 2005

Already sussed and sorted.

Also Wondering If the instant replays could be fixed abit.. easier to control camera angles, pause, slow etc.

And Something else that would make the new game awesome would be at the end of the year when the brownlow and the coleman are announced that an all-australian team announced and maybe a rising star :)

Also Improved training like 2005 premiership edition.

1. Not sure about instant replay tweaks...they may go into the 'if we have spare time at the end' basket.

2. We'll see what we can do...;)

3. Training has been overhauled in our other sports titles and it will be brought into the new AFL game. How you train will greatly influence the development/stamina/durability of your players. You'll be able to train individuals, groups or personally select which players do what. It's more in depth and more along the lines of a management game. But for those who want to keep it simple you can simulate or skip it.

3. There's edit-a-player which is essentially a create-a-player because you can change height/weight/number/hair colour & style/skin colour etc. The hope is that you can edit attribute ratings too so in essence it is what you are asking for.

4. no stress. I'm the poor bastard who has to go back through all the pages every now and then to see if there's anything we have missed! :eek:

For #3: Can you change the name, boots and socks up/down too? Also preferred positions?

For #4: Ouch.

Hey FH Just a few more suggestions.

1. You should Be able to select Single Match and be able to choose to play Pre-season cup rules. At the moment if you want to play pre-season cup rules you have to play through season mode.

2. The Team set-up Needs to be like it was before. Eg.
BP FB BP
HBF CHB HBF
W C W
HFF CHF HFF
FP FF FP
FOL
INT

3. Will The Kick option be Changed? Torpedoes are hard to do at times. but the kick system works relatively well. Maybe a snap kick option would be good.

4. Are the Player graphics going to be any better? Are we going to be able to at least sort of recognise a player by there face?

5. Something that would be good is that if you included last years all australian team as a playable team or unlockable.

6. Sometimes when you kick at goal and it hits the post the decision is actually wrong. and also in pre-season when you hit the post sometimes it will bounce off and stay in play and sometimes it will be incorrect and call it a point.

7. more stats would be good. Like in season showing how many kicks the player has had and stuff and stat leaders after each round.

8. Also when you simulate matches there is AN ABSOLUTE ********LOAD OF INJURIES

9. it would be cool if you made a rookie list but only allowed them to be on the senior list after someone gets a long term injury like in real life

10. also when a player retires and it says the reason like 'starting a music career in surf rock'. Thats pretty funny at first but a bit unproffessional for a sports game.

11. more Details about the players in trade week is definatly needed.

12. I think it would be cool if you could choose a captain for your team and he withholds special attributes or something

13. Also It would be nice you made a few different jumpers for each team. EG Heritage, Home, Away, Clash and a few old jumpers and you were able to select them in single match mode.

14. It would be good if you made it so players that wear long sleeve jumpers actually wear long sleeve jumpers. And the same with strapping and gloves ect.

15. Maybe you could also Have a Trophy Cabinet for User profiles on the Game, Which Shows all Preseason Trophys, Premiership trophys, Norm Smith Medals, brownlow medals Etc.

16. another thing that would be cool would be to include State of origin. You could include In the players stats which state they came from and the same with draftees. You could make it so that the player can choose which state team to play and they can choose the players who are on the team or you can make the computer choose automatically.

Sorry If theres somethings that have already been mentioned

Please rely FH Thanks

Kerr4PM

Can you have each teams team of the century as unlockable?
that'd be pretty ripper
like they do in madden games

I think that the reason they cant do that Is because they dont own the players names therefore cant put them on the game. There was talk about changing the names so they are very similar ,EG. Jason Tunstall instead of Jason Dunstall, and letting us change the similar name to the real one. But If they were to do that then the commentary would be all screwed up. I Really do like the idea tho mckinale.

Yep they cant do that cos that would require individual licensing unfortunately.

Honestly if i was a past great i'd let them include me for free, i dont see what the big deal is.

I think most of the past greats would but it would just take so much time tracking them all down and getting individual permission

Yeah i guess so, im sure a few of us could help out and track the legends down to get them to sign a piece of paper ;)

I know in other sports, like Jordan in basketball, the champions ask for ridiculous fees.

I think asking for money is just ridiculous... But how good would it be if we could be able to unlock special teams on this game.

Does anyone else have any ideas for special teams that could be unlocked?

Yeah unlocking them after playing a certain amount of hours or winning finals or something would be cool. That would really help in taking the game to the next level

1. You should Be able to select Single Match and be able to choose to play Pre-season cup rules. At the moment if you want to play pre-season cup rules you have to play through season mode.

Yes you will be able to do this. I think we are also setting it up so you can choose to play a preseason or regular season GF.

2. The Team set-up Needs to be like it was before. Eg.
BP FB BP
HBF CHB HBF
W C W
HFF CHF HFF
FP FF FP
FOL
INT

Totally agree. We have gone so far as to show your team lined up against the opposition as they line up tactically. So if you have a spare man in defence you'll be able to see who it is and who is around him from the opposition. We think that'll help even more in your team setup.

3. Will The Kick option be Changed? Torpedoes are hard to do at times. but the kick system works relatively well. Maybe a snap kick option would be good.

Will look into that. I want torpedoes to be even more difficult so as to discourage their use in gameplay. At the moment it's just a bomb-session from one end to the other with the AI.

4. Are the Player graphics going to be any better? Are we going to be able to at least sort of recognise a player by there face?

The player model and textures are to be updated for 2007. Players should be more recognisable but it's too costly given ( a) the number of players and b) the amount of stuff on the screen) for us to guarantee fully recognisable players.

5. Something that would be good is that if you included last years all australian team as a playable team or unlockable.

Just quietly... that's a possibility in single match mode. ;)

6. Sometimes when you kick at goal and it hits the post the decision is actually wrong. and also in pre-season when you hit the post sometimes it will bounce off and stay in play and sometimes it will be incorrect and call it a point.

Will take note of this and pass it on.

7. more stats would be good. Like in season showing how many kicks the player has had and stuff and stat leaders after each round.

Season stats are included in 2007.

8. Also when you simulate matches there is AN ABSOLUTE ********LOAD OF INJURIES

Yeah it's not ideal but the idea is to discourage players from simming everything. We want the player who actually plays the game to be rewarded more. It's a balance thing but one things for sure - we'll reduce the number of injuries.

9. it would be cool if you made a rookie list but only allowed them to be on the senior list after someone gets a long term injury like in real life

That's the idea. If we are to add them we'll have to follow all the legit AFL rules including a mature age rookie.

10. also when a player retires and it says the reason like 'starting a music career in surf rock'. Thats pretty funny at first but a bit unproffessional for a sports game.

Haha some love it and some don't. In response to those who don't all I can say is that I spent a couple of days coming up with more traditional ones for use in 2007. The main reason for doing this is you can now coax players out of retirement for one more season after they have declared their intentions. It's a multiple choice response which turns into a mini game. You have three attempts in the offseason and any retired player is up for grabs.

11. more Details about the players in trade week is definatly needed.

We're onto it.

12. I think it would be cool if you could choose a captain for your team and he withholds special attributes or something

You'll be able to select who is captain. There's talk of assign extra roles to players but it all depends on available time. Like most things they have been designed but it's what we can get in with the time available to us.

13. Also It would be nice you made a few different jumpers for each team. EG Heritage, Home, Away, Clash and a few old jumpers and you were able to select them in single match mode.

Again, keep it under your hat but.... ;)

14. It would be good if you made it so players that wear long sleeve jumpers actually wear long sleeve jumpers. And the same with strapping and gloves ect.

In the player database we will be nominating the right players to have long sleeves. Also in wet weather the percentage of players wearing long sleeves will increase. Strapping is given to players who are injured or coming back from injury (or so I'm told) but yeah there should be particular players who always have strapping (e.g. Judd with his shoulders).

15. Maybe you could also Have a Trophy Cabinet for User profiles on the Game, Which Shows all Preseason Trophys, Premiership trophys, Norm Smith Medals, brownlow medals Etc.

I think we'll be recording that stuff for your profile but there won't be a visual representation of a trophy cabinet (well for now anyway but you never know!)

16. another thing that would be cool would be to include State of origin. You could include In the players stats which state they came from and the same with draftees. You could make it so that the player can choose which state team to play and they can choose the players who are on the team or you can make the computer choose automatically.

I'm hoping for every player to have a state of origin in their profile so that if we choose to have state sides (VIC, WA, SA, Allies) it'll be the best 22 players rated in positions from those states. And yes, the ability to go through an entire list of the players from that state and swap them around to your liking would be ideal. Hate to sound like a broken record but this is another of those 'if we have time' things. I can't see why we can't do it however. I for one would be pumped to have it in there!

Can you have each teams team of the century as unlockable?
that'd be pretty ripper
like they do in madden games

We could but we won't be able to use their real names (like in Ricky Ponting Cricket - Shane Worde). We have the licence for the current AFL players and all past players have to be negotiated on a one-by-one basis.

At the moment this goes into the 'if we have time' basket but in the coming weeks I might have some good news here for you....I might....

We could but we won't be able to use their real names (like in Ricky Ponting Cricket - Shane Worde). We have the licence for the current AFL players and all past players have to be negotiated on a one-by-one basis.

At the moment this goes into the 'if we have time' basket but in the coming weeks I might have some good news here for you....I might....
Maybe follow in Ricky Ponting Cricket style and only have a few unlockable players. That give you some incentive and you can use them in double wicket.

Any additional players will have to be for use in Single Match mode only. It's too hard to include 'extra' players into season/career modes as they have set list numbers. That's why we're looking at an 'edit player' rather than create-a-player because that way you lose a player to add a new player.

AFL 2006 Talk