AFL 2007 talk

I think the frustrating thing that people are complaining about is:-
The harder the difficulty, the longer it takes to complete the kick animation.
AND therefore
The harder the difficulty, the more times you get your kick smothered.

The time it takes to kick the ball probably shouldn't be changed with difficulty, and was also a problem with 2006. Now that smothering is more frequent, you notice it a lot more.

My advice is to handball more...and only try to kick when you're completely clear. I've got the top 5 out of 10 players in the league for handballs....and I've won every game so far (on Normal)....so if you're getting frustrated, try it.

I like that the kicking takes longer with the higher difficulty. I think it is good because it encourages more handballing with the smothering which was missing from 2006.

People who say almost every kick is smothered just can't play the game! There are more smothers than in normal footy but generally the game matches football quite well. How many times is there a congested situation and someone is able to pick up a ball and kick a accurate 50m kick to a fellow player?!

Got it this morning, definately a markable improvement on last year. Smothering hasn't hampered me too much, although I've only played on normal thus far. The blokes who wrote negative reviews must've had little to no knowledge of, and passion for football. Only niggle for me that hasn't been mentioned in here is, the kicks fly too low - if you have a shot from around fifty usually it only flies around half-3/4 post height. Great effort though, commend you blokes at IR Gurus, bring on 2008.

FH, there's alot of Channel 7 adboards around the ground, is there anything stopping you guys from getting a Channel 7 (or 10) TV overlay in the next version?

Got it this morning, definately a markable improvement on last year. Smothering hasn't hampered me too much, although I've only played on normal thus far. The blokes who wrote negative reviews must've had little to no knowledge of, and passion for football. Only niggle for me that hasn't been mentioned in here is, the kicks fly too low - if you have a shot from around fifty usually it only flies around half-3/4 post height. Great effort though, commend you blokes at IR Gurus, bring on 2008.

FH, there's alot of Channel 7 adboards around the ground, is there anything stopping you guys from getting a Channel 7 (or 10) TV overlay in the next version?

I think it's because I have so much passion and knowledge of the game that I find it frustrating. I play it on hard because I spanked Essendon easily in my first game on normal. I do like the handballing and I also like doing stop start footy because that's quite easy with the lead indicators. Kicking is a big issue though because I'll have an easy break on someone, go to kick and they will end up miraculously smothering it from behind me.

However, I'm coming down with a cold so I have nothing better to do than try it out again.

Just had a close NAB cup match on hard mode and here are some thoughts:

Positives:

-The game is quite challenging though I'm already competing very well on hard mode after only a couple of games so it may be too easy.
-Training the players is quite good though I haven't seen any affects yet.
-It is actually worth using handballs this time.
-Tactics seem to have some bearing on the game.
-Heritage jumpers are a nice addition.
-Players stamina decreases at a good rate.
-Intro video is very good. If you showed that to anyone overseas they'd immediately ditch their current sport for footy.

Negatives:

-Graphics are pretty bad but it's using dated technology so that's understandable.
-Commentary is as poor as ever. I was told that I sucked throughout the whole game even though I came from 21 points down at quarter time to only lose by 7.
-Centre clearances still have too much of an impact as 80% of opposition kicks inside 50 from the centre-clearance are marked on the lead with not much that the defender can do about it.
-The amount of smother is excessive. While it does quell the impact of centre-clearances slightly, it makes pack football highly unrealistic.
-Every tackle I've seen bar one has resulted in a holding the ball if the ball doesn't spill free. I do have the umpires on moderate so maybe I need to use lenient?
-The menu system is terrible. It isn't that hard to use but X should be okay/confirm all the time, not have a constant switch with TRIANGLE.
-Computer doesn't use the interchange bench.
-No lists of statistics in the game, only the matchup statistics.

Overall I'll now upgrade my opinion of it from unplayable to playable but cringe-worthy. It will appeal to footy fanatics who are desperate to fill in the terrible week long void between matches but the aging engine still shows no signs of fluency that'd let it compete with more prominent sports games (yes, I know about budget issues etc).

Hey fieryhawk are there any cheats for this years game. like fights,extra long kick or anything.

Also what am i surposed to do with injured players at the training menu because my players that had an injury but arent on the injury list still have the crap stats yet are able to placed into the side like normal players but they are crap because there stats suck.

I've also noticed another huge problem with the game. The tackle button is the same as the mark button. Every now and then when I go to take a contested mark I end up tackling my opponent, giving off a 50 metre penalty.

And how do the rest of you mark the ball? I cannot line up the marking reticules properly in conjested play, you don't have enough time to even see the reticules. I've found out that rapidly pressing X will usually mark the ball. It doesn't seem very skillful to me, so I'd like to know if there's a good way to get a mark besides the old button mash technique.

I'd also like to know why my players don't lead. When I'm looking for players on the lead, I can never see any, they always run WITH their opponent, not in front of them. I've tried using different tactics but I've never once seen a leading player. Everytime the opposition gets the ball (even in easy mode), they seem to find team mates so easily. Everytime they kick the ball, they find an open team mate pretty much every single time. Even if they kick to a contest, their player seems to be able to run ahead of my own with ease (Note that I do have tags on). This makes their forward 50 an absolute death trap, as about 98% of times they enter their forward 50 they will find an uncontested mark. And if they're too far out to score, they always find another uncontested mark closer to goal.

Lastly, I've noticed a bug in the centre bounce. Sometimes my ruckman will be penalised for stepping into the circle, when I don't even touch the analogue sticks. One time it happened about 6 times in a row.

argh this is killing me, i have no money for the game to buy it, does anyone know of current competitions to win it?

I've also noticed another huge problem with the game. The tackle button is the same as the mark button. Every now and then when I go to take a contested mark I end up tackling my opponent, giving off a 50 metre penalty.

I'd also like to know why my players don't lead. When I'm looking for players on the lead, I can never see any, they always run WITH their opponent, not in front of them. I've tried using different tactics but I've never once seen a leading player. Everytime the opposition gets the ball (even in easy mode), they seem to find team mates so easily. Everytime they kick the ball, they find an open team mate pretty much every single time. Even if they kick to a contest, their player seems to be able to run ahead of my own with ease (Note that I do have tags on). This makes their forward 50 an absolute death trap, as about 98% of times they enter their forward 50 they will find an uncontested mark. And if they're too far out to score, they always find another uncontested mark closer to goal./quote]

1)I had issues with the mark/tackle button being the same at the start but after 15 games or so i haven't suffered a 50 since. You just learn how not to.

2)Try changing the tactics cause i haven't seen either of that any more so than i would in a normal game of footy.

Serious? I paid $80 at Eb games in Sunshine. Assholes.

Anyway. Finished carrer mode first season. Trade time came and traded Sam Power for.....JUDD! And then picked up Goodes in the draft at 16! Yessssss!!!

I paid $67 at Kmart in Brimbank plaza. :p

I honestly think a good AFL game is impossible to make. Full credit to the guys that do try, but i've learnt from previous versions and won't be investing in this game.

I reckon that it'd be harder than soccer and definitely harder than rugby to make but it'd be doable if there was a profitable market for it. The reason why we have superb soccer games (PES and FIFA though I much prefer PES) is because there is healthy competition (although EA's license monopoly isn't nice) that continues the better the games. I'm not saying that IR Gurus necessarily take it easy with their AFL games because they have no competition but there isn't as much pressure as there is in other sporting genres.

Another thing is that the fact that the sport is so hard to replicate is a credit to its complexity which is one reason why it stands out from other ball sports :)

I still think IR Gurus do a bang up job on the AFL games. They get most things right, but just lack in others. Here's what I think would make the perfect AFL game.

Keep:
-The graphics, they're spot on for a PS2 game with this much detail. Although don't even slightly compare to games like PES, they're sufficient enough considering that IR Gurus is only a small company with limited abilities.
-The features, the combination of exhibition, season, career, training & missions is a good one. Although mini games could be re-added, the current set-up will suffice.
-The animations, you guys have pretty much nailed them with this game. In previous AFL games we've had some dodgy animations, like the way players mark & kick the ball, not to mention the way people tackled (they looked like girls). Everything is spot on now.

Get rid of:
-The goal kicking bar, though not entirely. I think we should only have the goal kicking bar when lining up for a goal from a mark or free kick. It's perfect for the situation. When running with the ball, we should just have a snap button like in AFL 2004. Although it will aim for goal automatically, it's less reliable as it's more of an express option. I know that almost every single person who plays this game has an issue with scoring on the run, so it seems logical to implement a quicker option that isn't as accurate, but actually allows people to get the kick off before being tackled. This will also free up most congested situations, allowing you to keep the mass smothering which you guys aimed for. Afterall, AFL is meant to be a fast paced game, there just isn't time to fiddle with a goal bar when trying to run away from 3 opposition players ready to tackle you.

Fix:
-The player setup menues. They could be so much easier to read. God knows why you guys chose to split the screen into two, not even being able to scroll down. Having the backline to the half forward line on one screen, the forward line & ruck in the second & the player list in another is just awkward. We need to either have the selected 22 in one screen and have the rest of the list in another, or have the selected 22 in a scrollable screen and the list in another.
-The marking reticule. Taking a mark can be impossible in certain situations. You'd think a shorter kick would be easier to mark, but they're harder to mark than a longer kick. When you kick a short one, the marking reticule will close in within 1 second, barely giving you time to see the reticule, let alone actually pressing the mark button. The reticule needs to be larger, and a lot clearer to see. I could also see the speccie marker being dumped, and just having speccies taken on the same marker as a normal mark, with the use of the R1 button.
-The glitches. Every game has glitches, so they're expected. But, this game has too many. Things like players running through each other, umpires penalising players for nothing, balls going out of bounds yet staying in play & commentators calling the wrong lines are some. Some of these glitches have continued throughout the entire AFL game series, so I have no idea why they're yet to be sorted out.

Add:
Nothing. I think the overall solution is to stop trying to add new things to the game, and instead fix existing issues. AFL Live 2004 was close to perfect in gameplay, but it lacked graphics, animations, features, and realism (realism in the sense that you could kick over 500 points in a match). If AFL Premiership 2008 took more out of AFL 2004 rather than out of the producers ideas, it would be closer to the perfect AFL game.

i went over to my friends and played it today, pretty good playing single matches, i won by 92 points, still pretty good, i was unstoppable i got cloke to kick straight:thumbsu:

after being impressed he showed me his career mode and that stopped me from buying the game :mad: he had all the massive guns like pavalich brown ect in his team and he told me he got most of them in the draft and he managed to trade waite and bannaster for judd which suprised me

if the post season stuff can be fixed this will be an awesome game, and also i reckon the time it takes a player to kick should be changed to a rating, if you play on hard it takes longer to kick the ball, maybe the speed the player gets the ball on to the boot can be linked to a agility thing or something like that

other than that good effort :thumbsu:

I agree with a lot of that except the graphics. The graphics have a lot of detail yes but they are very ugly up close and not smooth at all. A move into next-gen will change this and I'm sure a PC version would be able to smooth them out a lot too.

I borrowed the game today from my local blockbuster. It is pretty much the same, with some added stuff. I do like the training though, because it shows you how much your team improves. The gameplay is basically the same.

I have one question to ask. Do the oppisition seem to get better after half time or so? because they seem to come back against me in the second half