Autopsy AFL 2021 First Semi Final - Lions v Bulldogs Sat September 4th 7:20 EST (Gabba)

Who will win and by how much?

• Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 3 2.7%
  • Dogs by a goal or less

Votes: 8 7.1%
  • Lions by 7 - 20

Votes: 30 26.5%
  • Dogs by 7 - 20

Votes: 46 40.7%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 12 10.6%
  • Dogs by a lot

Votes: 12 10.6%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 1.8%

Take it up with the umpires. Don't blame the Dogs. The umps award frees. Been that way forever.
I don't blame the Dogs at all. You guys play an awesome brand of football and are arguably the best team in the comp at your best.

Yeah, it's a shame when the umpires detract from it. Look, I thought both teams played brilliant footy tonight, and it was a ripping game. But I don't think a reasonably umpired final quarter would have been 10-2 free kicks. I don't think there's any real conspiracy, but I do think the umpries made a number of errors, and those errors, for the most part, went against Brisbane.

the worst one of the night for me was the Neale HTB call. I think that says enough. I even posted it on our board mid game.

Take it up with the umpires. Don't blame the Dogs. The umps award frees. Been that way forever.

I am not angry at the Dogs or Dogs fans. I do want to know you are favoured so heavily in games though? I don't subscribe to conspiracies about AFL agendas etc, but it boggles the mind.

Tonight was absurd.

We wernt undisciplined, maybe a couple. There were SO MANY soft holding calls, unrewarded holding the balls, soft marking contest calls, that Oscar deliberate where he missed Robbo with a handpass by a foot that led to a shot on goal. The non rolling the ball on Mcrae, the block..

It was 100% the difference tonight. It is really ****ing painful knowing all week you were going to get rorted by the umps and hoping you could overcome it, to then, predictably, fall short due to umpiring in a semi, is utterly devastating.

This isn't being salty, it was 1 point, and we were butchered by umpiring.

It ****ing sucks.

I am not angry at the Dogs or Dogs fans. I do want to know you are favoured so heavily in games though? I don't subscribe to conspiracies about AFL agendas etc, but it boggles the mind.

Tonight was absurd.

We wernt undisciplined, maybe a couple. There were SO MANY soft holding calls, unrewarded holding the balls, soft marking contest calls, that Oscar deliberate where he missed Robbo with a handpass by a foot that led to a shot on goal. The non rolling the ball on Mcrae, the block..

It was 100% the difference tonight. It is really ******* painful knowing all week you were going to get rorted by the umps and hoping you could overcome it, to then, predictably, fall short due to umpiring in a semi, is utterly devastating.

It ******* sucks.

Only thing you can do is go back to our finals.. see who has umpired in those games and work out who has money on us for the flag..? Dunno.

let's be real here.

It is simply in the best interest of the AFL that a modern powerhouse in the Western Bulldogs is showcased at the highest level to a national & worldwide audience.

I see complaints from Lions, Dons, Swans and WC supporters, but you have to ask yourselves honestly - why on god's green earth would any straight thinking exec give your club a legup over the dogs?

The AFL is a commercial enterprise and the success of a roaring bulldogs outfit is paramount to its longetivity and long term commercial growth. Unless your clubs start improving their appeal and begin to play some proper, scintillating football, the invisible hand will forever stop you from touching the monolith.

Prove me wrong

Pro tip: You can't

Literally the least relevant statistic in football. If a team doesnt infringe much they wont give many frees away.

Somebody needs to assess the validity of frees given or not given, raw numbers mean nothing

You got heaps of soft or non exsistant frees, we got **** all. 23-11 ofter 1/4 time. An absolute farce. Assessment completed.

Personally, I'd generally liked to have seen less free kicks paid so far this finals series. By far the easiest way to stop matches becoming whinge fests about the umpires is to pay less free kicks. If you don't pay less soft ones both ways, there's going to be far less contentious calls.

This isn't specific to this match either, by the way. I actually thought the umpiring was overall decent last night, but if they'd paid less soft free kicks, there wouldn't be nearly as much to complain about. Just pay the obvious ones both ways.

Toby Green did exactly what every non Vic fan would love to do purely for what our clubs have to endure in this biased league..
The AFL called it a bad look and dont want it at grassroots level, the irony is that kids all around the country have to watch cheating scum umpires on national TV every weekend but not carry that with them into their arena's.
Quality melt. Thank you.

let's be real here.

It is simply in the best interest of the AFL that a modern powerhouse in the Western Bulldogs is showcased at the highest level to a national & worldwide audience.

I see complaints from Lions, Dons, Swans and WC supporters, but you have to ask yourselves honestly - why on god's green earth would any straight thinking exec give your club a legup over the dogs?

The AFL is a commercial enterprise and the success of a roaring bulldogs outfit is paramount to its longetivity and long term commercial growth. Unless your clubs start improving their appeal and begin to play some proper, scintillating football, the invisible hand will forever stop you from touching the monolith.

Prove me wrong

Finally, someone said it.

let's be real here.

The AFL is a commercial enterprise and the success of a roaring bulldogs outfit is paramount to its longetivity and long term commercial growth. Unless your club improves their appeal and start playing some proper scintillating football, the invisible hand will forever stop you from touching the monolith.

Prove me wrong

I dont think it's a conspiracy, I think umpires just subconsciously think you play a way that has the other team negating you - I dunno? either that or it's just insanely bad luck, constantly, for those who you play againts? Tonight.... was.... a ......farce and it cost us a prelim, plain and simple.

Tonight was absurd.

It was 100% the difference tonight. It is really ******* painful knowing all week you were going to get rorted by the umps and hoping you could overcome it, to then, predictably, fall short due to umpiring in a semi, is utterly devastating.

It ******* sucks.

I reckon the umpires were going to award the game to Brisbane until they handed the Lions a shot on goal with that deliberate free against Daniel and Lachie Neale took the ball out of Charlie Cameron’s hands so he could butcher the shot instead. Neale shouldn’t have burned the umpires like that. They cracked it and decided to award it to us instead, since we know how to return their favours. Amateur stuff from Neale.

Just imagine how proud you would have been if they won the game.

Was a good game and best team won
Takes a real loser to come take potshots at a team that's lost a final when your team didn't even make it. Bravo.

Tonight was absurd.

It ******* sucks.

How much of a difference did the umpires make in Rd 23 when you qualified in 4th spot by 1 point?

let's be real here.

Prove me wrong

So in this scenario, where does the AFL stand with the GF with a potential 20K Port supporters ready to travel to Perth vs 0 from Doggies due to the Vic lockdown? From a commercial standpoint from airlines, hotels & hospitality which team would provide the best financial return to the AFL?

How much of a difference did the umpires make in Rd 23 when you qualified in 4th spot by 1 point?
About as much as when they didn't pay the HTB to Bailey against Geelong.

And I thought the bias umpiring in the Essendon final was blatant.
I don't know what McInerney did to give away that free in the dying minute of the game but it was something that wouldn't have been paid 9 times out of 10 and everyone defending the call knows it. I would've loved to seen the game go into overtime, I think both teams played excellently but when it comes down to a point, not even a scoring shot, just a clumsy drop that just happened to go over, that's not footy, that just leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

Anyway, the Bulldogs won't be able to pull off that bullshit again in Adelaide, especially with the bont looking worse for wear by the end there.

let's be real here.

Prove me wrong

Assuming you are taking the piss here, an upward trending bombers side is 10 times more valuable to the afl in terms of dollars

I dont think it's a conspiracy, I think umpires just subconsciously think you play a way that has the other team negating you - I dunno? either that or it's just insanely bad luck, constantly, for those who you play againts? Tonight.... was.... a ......farce and it cost us a prelim, plain and simple.
You kicked 11.12 and had at least one out of on the full. Did the umpires make you miss all those shots? Be more accurate next time

Autopsy AFL 2021 First Semi Final - Lions v Bulldogs Sat September 4th 7:20 EST (Gabba)