Autopsy AFL 2023 Round 5 Gather Round - Pies v Saints Sun April 16th 4:50pm AEST (AO)

Who will win and by how much?

• Pies by a goal or less

Votes: 3 4.2%
  • Saints by a goal or less

Votes: 5 6.9%
  • Pies by 7 - 20

Votes: 21 29.2%
  • Saints by 7 - 20

Votes: 20 27.8%
  • Pies by a lot

Votes: 14 19.4%
  • Saints by a lot

Votes: 6 8.3%
  • Draw

Votes: 3 4.2%

Well while a win would have been nice, I am still pleased as we are heading in the right direction. And given most seems to rate the Pies as the best team in the competition at present only going down by a goal is a pretty good effort.

The Pies overall just had a bit more polish today.

There was more pressure more often applied by the Pies today than in any of our other games. Just look at the smothers!
Some our younger players wilted a bit today. But they will have learnt lot. Just have to keep getting games into them.

Plus we obviously need get some marking power up forward back. Cordy is a waste of a position.

1681639549670.png

Pies supporters must really hate how tense their games have been in the last 12 months.

Good footy but damn you guys must hate watching at times.
It was a shit show for the first 3 quarters before it finally opened up. Definitely didn’t need those final 4-5 min though.

How manny clangers? And how many possessions to a team mates advantage?
You aren’t actually upset at Crouch’s game are you? He was brilliant for you.

Ross Lyon was laughing in the last quarter, we weren't even trying that hard and we still nearly beat Collingwood with that last quarter comeback.

Tonight was a fact finding mission for us, we didn't care that much if we won or lost, but we found out that we can beat Collingwood when it counts.
Pies were average at best this game. Kudos to Saints coming back but Pies led the entire game and looked to be in control 5 goals up until the Saints come back. If Saints can repeatedly come back late games then and win then I would give them more kudos... but this game it looked like Pies let the foot off the pedal. Not to mention the entire game Pies looked behind their best.

Saints will win heaps of games this year….no doubt.

But it’s a false dawn.
That gamestyle of running 7-3 defensively isn’t stacking up all year….let alone in finals.

That’s a 30 pts win masked as a 6 point win.

Teams are far to good on offense these days.

But it’s a false dawn.
That gamestyle of running 7-3 defensively isn’t stacking up all year….let alone in finals.

Don't think anyone is expecting us to go deep into finals.

We are a young inexperienced side still. Over a 3rr of our 23 has played less than 35 games.

I think we are still a year or two away from being a serious threat.

But it’s a false dawn.

How so?
Score says 6 points no idea how you think it’s 30.

How manny clangers? And how many possessions to a team mates advantage?
5 clangers,
less than Ross or Marshall, who had fewer possessions
same as Clarke and Byrnes, who had 10 odd fewer possessions.

so yeah hate on

All the hate from collingwood fans in here because they know how lucky they are. Stupid Kilda showed up tonight, their ball use was terrible and their decision making was appalling. If they kicked 1/4 of the goals they missed in the last quarter collingwood don’t win, if they kick 2, St Kilda win.

It’s unbelievable that collingwood could only get up due to Leigh Fisher’s extreme hatred of Ross Lyon being on show. They got looked after big time, the proof of this was the goal disallowed due to the ball hitting the flag…which hangs behind the line.

Ross needs to have some balls this week and drop Gresham for sure and possibly Hill and Wanganeen-Milera who were our 3 worst. You can’t start the game with Brad Hill at CHF that’s just idiocy.

Collingwood aren’t as good as their supporters would make out, they should’ve won by 6 goals at least but goalkicking was shocking and their so called stars like Ginnavin and the over rated Dacios due to the media hype can't kick the ball anywhere near a team mate half the time.

Couldn’t have gotten any luckier tonight!

Pies were average at best this game. Kudos to Saints coming back but Pies led the entire game and looked to be in control 5 goals up until the Saints come back. If Saints can repeatedly come back late games then and win then I would give them more kudos... but this game it looked like Pies let the foot off the pedal. Not to mention the entire game Pies looked behind their best.
Wrong, St Kilda hit the front at least once

I’d like to know, at quarter time he had 11 possessions and only 4 were effective. Played well though
Was going to give you the benefit of the doubt but then I saw your tirade a couple of posts above.

Boo hoo.

All the hate from collingwood fans in here because they know how lucky they are. Stupid Kilda showed up tonight, their ball use was terrible and their decision making was appalling. If they kicked 1/4 of the goals they missed in the last quarter collingwood don’t win, if they kick 2, St Kilda win.

It’s unbelievable that collingwood could only get up due to Leigh Fisher’s extreme hatred of Ross Lyon being on show. They got looked after big time, the proof of this was the goal disallowed due to the ball hitting the flag…which hangs behind the line.

Ross needs to have some balls this week and drop Gresham for sure and possibly Hill and Wanganeen-Milera who were our 3 worst. You can’t start the game with Brad Hill at CHF that’s just idiocy.

Collingwood aren’t as good as their supporters would make out, they should’ve won by 6 goals at least but goalkicking was shocking and their so called stars like Ginnavin and the over rated Dacios due to the media hype can't kick the ball anywhere near a team mate half the time.

Couldn’t have gotten any luckier tonight!
Peanut.

This is poor by St Kilda.
Collingwood clearly not 100% and they are about to drop this one.

This is their first test against a genuine contender. Failing miserably.
Great call champ…
Could’ve drawn and Lose by 6 points to a premiership team without our 3 best forwards and our captain and best midfielder in Steele. But yep failed miserably. Lol

Autopsy AFL 2023 Round 5 Gather Round - Pies v Saints Sun April 16th 4:50pm AEST (AO)