Autopsy AFL 2023 Round 5 Gather Round - Pies v Saints Sun April 16th 4:50pm AEST (AO)

Who will win and by how much?

• Pies by a goal or less

Votes: 3 4.2%
  • Saints by a goal or less

Votes: 5 6.9%
  • Pies by 7 - 20

Votes: 21 29.2%
  • Saints by 7 - 20

Votes: 20 27.8%
  • Pies by a lot

Votes: 14 19.4%
  • Saints by a lot

Votes: 6 8.3%
  • Draw

Votes: 3 4.2%

Congrats on your April premiership Collingwood.

It's a marathon and not a sprint.

We will keep our powder dry for September.

See you there and we will be at full strength then.
How?

Weren't Saints the March premiers just a week ago? Unbeaten and top of the ladder

Pies coming off a loss and using 6'3 forwards and 6'4 defenders as ruck all game being up 4 goals with 3 minutes left... only for a key defender to be taken behind play allowing Saints to rally late when Pies already put their feet up. Pies had 70% inside 50 rate all game and led throughout.... while playing far below their best.

How?

Weren't Saints the March premiers just a week ago? Unbeaten and top of the ladder

Pies coming off a loss and using 6'3 forwards and 6'4 defenders as ruck all game being up 4 goals with 3 minutes left... only for a key defender to be taken behind play allowing Saints to rally late when Pies already put their feet up. Pies had 70% inside 50 rate all game and led throughout.... while playing far below their best.
And yet our backline dominated. We’re the stingiest defence for a reason. Any team can bomb it in there 60 times a game but if you’re not scoring what’s the point?
Our unforced turnovers in the first half and missed opportunities in the last quarter killed us.

And our forward line was still a lot more inexperienced than yours champ. So depends how you look at it.

At least three weeks, actual dog shot with nothing to do with the play. Lucky he didn’t concuss him. Still think it warrants 4+
Ridiculous. Murphy started it, the St Kilda player retaliated, maybe went overboard and Murphy sooked it up. There will probably be a week or 2 suspension but I doubt there's much sympathy for Murphy. Needs to pull his head in.

42 touches looks great from a distance, 6 contested and 1 tackle looks odd up close.
You’re right.

42 possessions is a terrible effort. Going at 77% disposal efficiency is disgusting. No.1 in the competition for disposals whilst 186th (12) in the comp for clangers is an atrocious effort. 856 metres gained today is terrible. He should be dropped huh?

Yes, it was a pity that King and Membrey ripped you apart.
Yep and Sharman too.

Saying that... Yep it's a 23 game season.

I just think Freos narrow loss to the saints and kangaroos will bite Freo in the Kim Kardashian or in the bum when the 2023 season is over .

I think Freo will finish 10th to 12th sadly

You’re right.

42 possessions is a terrible effort. Going at 77% disposal efficiency is disgusting. #1#1n the competition for disposals whilst #1#186th12) in the comp for clangers is an atrocious effort. 856 metres gained today is terrible. He should be dropped huh?
Anyone can take kick ins and run out of the foam square (not kick it at straight to a team mate either) or scream at their team mates for a cheapie from blokes who have just taken a mark. Should swap numbers with Elliott, with the amount of receiving he does

We seem to be managing fine without a player getting 35 odd chips a game, sure.
You’re sitting on the bumhole of the 8 having yet to beat a side away after 5 rounds. If you’re content with that, you’re in for another stellar season by the Lions being easy beats in September.

Ridiculous. Murphy started it, the St Kilda player retaliated, maybe went overboard and Murphy sooked it up. There will probably be a week or 2 suspension but I doubt there's much sympathy for Murphy. Needs to pull his head in.
I agree that Murphy started it but he got chinned, no justification for that

If Saints actually had a forward line we'd have won by more mate
Maybe.... But Freo had their way with you for a fair bit of that game.

It's like the 2 games Freo and saints played each other in 2022.

Sure saints beat freo in round 2, but we returned the favour late in the season in docklands

Gotta love Supercoach. According to their ratings, Frampton was only better than Wilson and McStay for Collingwood today...

I reckon he was in our top 5 most important players on the ground today, with Moore, Murphy and Naicos.
Yeah the SC score doesn't reflect the game at all here. Frampton was great in the ruck today.

Anyone can take kick ins and run out of the foam square (not kick it at straight to a team mate either) or scream at their team mates for a cheapie from blokes who have just taken a mark. Should swap numbers with Elliott, with the amount of receiving he does
Stop being a sore loser Chuckie.

Congrats on your April premiership Collingwood.

It's a marathon and not a sprint.

We will keep our powder dry for September.

See you there and we will be at full strength then.
Nothing says salty like trotting out the “congrats on [insert month here] premiership” line.

Stop carrying on like Collingwood were fielding a full strength team while you guys were using a VFL side.

Great call champ…
Could’ve drawn and Lose by 6 points to a premiership team without our 3 best forwards and our captain and best midfielder in Steele. But yep failed miserably. Lol

I'm no champ.
I'm just a complete nobody like you ;)

But yeh, back to the game, you do realize Collingwood are missing Cox, Cameron, De Goey & McStay and had the flu all week?
Not to mention the odds drifted right in to your favor. It was a significant test failed.

Have a look how far the blokes knees are dropped by the time the contact hits

Just looked like a bit of push and shove until his head is at Caminiti's nipple height and then he drops like sack of potatoes

I'd be very surprised if that is anything close to 3 weeks
Well he’s out with concussion next week, so you might want to reassess.

As a neutral I have been more impressed with how the Saints have covered a more significant injury list given the perceived lack of depth on their list. Hence the comment.

Not everything has to be about Collingwood.
Pies game day thread bud, I’m allowed to respond to you.

Pies have been extremely impressive covering the loss of their most experienced defender (whilst also having his back up out injured) then come up against an undefeated side without their top 2 ruckmen (whilst the back up ruckman is also injured) and win despite losing their main KPF.

Not everything has to be about the Pies but you can also acknowledge the Pies having injuries too to hide abit of that bias.

Being given a concussion is hardly sooking it up…

You’re sitting on the bumhole of the 8 having yet to beat a side away after 5 rounds. If you’re content with that, you’re in for another stellar season by the Lions being easy beats in September.

Can I call Daicos the Rockliff of uncontested possessions or will that upset you?

Looks like he just snotted him.

The Collingwood guy seemed to give him one first, then the St Kilda whacked him back harder and dropped him.

Old school!
Murphy is as tough as they come.

Dog act, off the ball, elbow to the head.

With the big focus on concussions, I’d say he’s looking at 5-6 weeks

Autopsy AFL 2023 Round 5 Gather Round - Pies v Saints Sun April 16th 4:50pm AEST (AO)