Zevon
Suns v Cats, Thursday night: The Cats were already weakened by injury, then they pretty much waved the white flag altogether when they rested - um, sorry “managed” - half the side that was available for selection. The Darwin Suns took full advantage in a game that put paid to any idea that high scoring isn’t possible in the Top End.
Swans v Blues, Friday night: Somebody stop us!! Ah never mind, nobody can. I’ve seen enough. Booking business class flights to Melbourne and a penthouse suite somewhere fancy for grand final week with all that moderator money that Chief and Wosh pay me.
Magpies v Crows, Saturday arvo: The poor old Crows do seem to cop a lot of agonisingly close finishes against the Pies. As opposed to the Pies themselves who love to inflict agonisingly close finishes on… well everyone. Another ripper between these two, but I can imagine Crows fans must be wondering when it's their turn to win one.
Giants v Dogs, Saturday twilight: This might have looked close-ish on the scoreboard, but 30 scoring shots to 13 tells a very different story. Only inaccuracy stopped it from being a real blowout, and the Dogs aren’t exactly world beaters themselves. Methinks the Giants are in a much bigger hole than people realise at the moment. Watch this space.
Saints v Dockers, Saturday night: Choosing to do very little due diligence in re-hiring an out-of-touch coach who’d spectacularly walked out on them years earlier could go down as one of the worst decisions the Saints have ever made, and goodness knows they’ve made a few shockers. Quickly turning into a basket case of a situation. No wonder only 19,000 fans turned up. Melbourne footy folk know when they’re being sold a dud.
Lions v Tigers, Saturday night: Richmond 2024 is eerily similar to West Coast 2023. I’ve been pretty forgiving of the Tigers given that injury list they’re dealing with, but it would be good to see their few-remaining senior players fly the flag a little more. But anyway, the real question out of this game was did Cal Ah Chee just kick Jamie Elliott out of the front seat of his new car??
Bombers v North, Sunday arvo: Ok this is getting real now. The Bombers are second on the ladder. Put your hand up if you saw that coming at the start of the year. No, put your hand back down. Nobody believes you.
Port v Hawks, Sunday twilight: Mark this day down as the first time in my life that I have ever felt sorry for Hawthorn fans. That was an absolutely brutal outcome.
Eagles v Demons, Sunday evening: When the Hawks got overrun late I thought the huge boilover for the round had been avoided, but the Eagles had a huge surprise of their own in store. Think everyone except Melbourne supporters enjoyed watching this West Coast side pull off a well-planned ambush against the more highly fancied Dees.
Swans v Blues, Friday night: Somebody stop us!! Ah never mind, nobody can. I’ve seen enough. Booking business class flights to Melbourne and a penthouse suite somewhere fancy for grand final week with all that moderator money that Chief and Wosh pay me.
Magpies v Crows, Saturday arvo: The poor old Crows do seem to cop a lot of agonisingly close finishes against the Pies. As opposed to the Pies themselves who love to inflict agonisingly close finishes on… well everyone. Another ripper between these two, but I can imagine Crows fans must be wondering when it's their turn to win one.
Giants v Dogs, Saturday twilight: This might have looked close-ish on the scoreboard, but 30 scoring shots to 13 tells a very different story. Only inaccuracy stopped it from being a real blowout, and the Dogs aren’t exactly world beaters themselves. Methinks the Giants are in a much bigger hole than people realise at the moment. Watch this space.
Saints v Dockers, Saturday night: Choosing to do very little due diligence in re-hiring an out-of-touch coach who’d spectacularly walked out on them years earlier could go down as one of the worst decisions the Saints have ever made, and goodness knows they’ve made a few shockers. Quickly turning into a basket case of a situation. No wonder only 19,000 fans turned up. Melbourne footy folk know when they’re being sold a dud.
Lions v Tigers, Saturday night: Richmond 2024 is eerily similar to West Coast 2023. I’ve been pretty forgiving of the Tigers given that injury list they’re dealing with, but it would be good to see their few-remaining senior players fly the flag a little more. But anyway, the real question out of this game was did Cal Ah Chee just kick Jamie Elliott out of the front seat of his new car??
Bombers v North, Sunday arvo: Ok this is getting real now. The Bombers are second on the ladder. Put your hand up if you saw that coming at the start of the year. No, put your hand back down. Nobody believes you.
Port v Hawks, Sunday twilight: Mark this day down as the first time in my life that I have ever felt sorry for Hawthorn fans. That was an absolutely brutal outcome.
Eagles v Demons, Sunday evening: When the Hawks got overrun late I thought the huge boilover for the round had been avoided, but the Eagles had a huge surprise of their own in store. Think everyone except Melbourne supporters enjoyed watching this West Coast side pull off a well-planned ambush against the more highly fancied Dees.