WHEN CAN I PLAY? READ BELOW:
  • PlayStation (Physical): Thursday 4 May
  • PlayStation (Digital): 8:01am AEST Thursday 4 May
  • Steam: Currently 8:01am AEST Thursday 4 May, may be moved to 12:01am AEST
  • Xbox (Digital or Physical): TO BE CONFIRMED, unlikely to be 4 May

Those that pre-ordered PS versions will be able to play on Thursday, disks will have already been mailed by retailers, they will also be available in-store.

Steam will also be available Thursday.

Stating the obvious, we are still having issues with XBox.

Seriously, anyone that looks hard knows there’s issues - why do you think there are so many exclusives for a particular platform that are not marked as exclusive, but are only on that platform.

If I took that road, life would have been a lot easier.

Xbox digital and retail will release at the same time - that is not a decision we get to make.

It applies now and I will no doubt pay a price.

Re: commentary team
Hamish is still there, Daisy didn't make it into the final version of the game.

We added Gary and increased the workload of Harf.

Re: game availability/release dates
I can never give 100% guarantee about anything in the future, but as it stands today, the statement I am prepared to make it that all stock that is at retailers on 4 May will be available for sale.

As to the amount that will be there for sale, and whether it is enough, that is a question I cannot answer.

It will be made digitally available on the various platform holder electronic stores.

Clarifying, the game will not release prior to 4 May 2023.

I am vague as there is one platform that has had sufficient stock at retailers and the other has not, and I cannot name them (contractual reasons).

The game will not be further delayed because of the numbers of units in stock.

Re: Steam listing
I've already put in a request for the screenshots to be replaced with current ones, they'll probably only be there for a day.

As much as the feedback has generally been positive, these are old, meant to be placeholder only and were not meant to go live.

Re: playing lists
All playing lists are accurate for the 2023 season.

Re: content creator footage
This is all prior to day one patch (as some have noted updates like numbers etc are apparent)

Re: Career mode
A head's up on Career mode.

At the AFL 23 Launch night I mentioned the non-team based Individual Career Mode in an interview with Dean (Twistie3). As alluded to at that same event, we were working with the AFL and AFLPA to include as many past legends in the game as possible.

The great news is that we have received approval for far more AFL legends than were previously envisaged, but this has meant that we had to make the tough decision to divert resources away from the Individual Career mode development. The individual Career Mode function will not make it into AFL 23, Career Mode will be entirely team based. I expect this mode to be include in future iterations of the game.

Re: microtransactions
You do not have to make purchases, things can be earned.

Re: general development
So fundamentally flawed, in so many ways, it’s bananas.

We are doing AFL as it’s a passion project, without us doing it there would not be one being made.

So much more upside with making games that are played internationally, let alone one that will not even be played in every state in this country.

The build is not from the main branch, that is all that anyone who "knows", would need to know.
Everyone here supports the game and is clearly passionate about it.

I don't understand why you get passive aggressive and provide cryptic answers to people who provide feedback.

If that wasn't the finished product fine, just spend time to explain or give a heads up to people about the situation?

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Everyone here supports the game and is clearly passionate about it.

I don't understand why you get passive aggressive and provide cryptic answers to people who provide feedback.

If that wasn't the finished product fine, just spend time to explain or give a heads up to people about the situation?

Not his job though. His job is to make the best possible footy game by April 13. We are lucky to get any sort of developer-community communications at all. Most big titles don’t have anything of the sort, perk of having the game made by a smaller, local development team.

It is annoying having the channels avaliable but used very sparingly to the point where it creates more questions than answers, but having the channels avaliable at all is only a positive thing.

Not his job though. His job is to make the best possible footy game by April 13. We are lucky to get any sort of developer-community communications at all. Most big titles don’t have anything of the sort, perk of having the game made by a smaller, local development team.

It is annoying having the channels avaliable but used very sparingly to the point where it creates more questions than answers, but having the channels avaliable at all is only a positive thing.
Do you enjoy the taste of his boots?

I personally find it utterly bizarre for a CEO of a company to be so passive aggressive over genuine questions. Better off laying low IMO.
It doesn't matter how often we say it's not the final build, it's not from the submitted branch, the stats are not real (I posted the real ones from last October to try to overcome that), the responses are like listing to guys in the outer with NFI yelling "just kick it".

But yeah, I could probably make better use of the ignore button and answer the genuine questions.

Big Ant just need some sort of community engagement person if they want to have a presence on forums etc. Someone who can handle dealing with nutters without going full passive aggressive whenever things are queried.

it's easy too, a smiley here, a thumbs up there and always ending with an exclamation mark!

It doesn't matter how often we say it's not the final build, it's not from the submitted branch, the stats are not real (I posted the real ones from last October to try to overcome that), the responses are like listing to guys in the outer with NFI yelling "just kick it".

But yeah, I could probably make better use of the ignore button and answer the genuine questions.

That's all well and good, I'm just not seeing these as scathing attacks but simply asking for clarity in how old the build is/how outdated the general gameplay is. I don't think that is an unfair question or a need-to-know basis.

Fair enough, but others have given examples of 2k doing exactly the same thing with pre-release, dev builds prior to release for many of their titles - it's just the way it works.

Gameplay is a fine balance, particularly positioning, one bit out and the rest falls (dominos) - so until it's final, it's not final.

Fair enough, but others have given examples of 2k doing exactly the same thing with pre-release, dev builds prior to release for many of their titles - it's just the way it works.

Gameplay is a fine balance, particularly positioning, one bit out and the rest falls (dominos) - so until it's final, it's not final.

That's fair, the proof will be in the pudding. Hopefully you have the backing to support the game long after launch.

Ross, can you elighten me as to whether we can edit player ratings ourselves through the acadamy? Like, if ol' Fages hates the final ratings you guys have done, can he go through every player if he wishes and edit their attributes to his liking?

Hey BigAntStudios and JNT BA

I know that I have already mentioned it various times already in this thread and you have probably read it as well but thank-you so much for listening to me and others on here about your mob creating retro guernseys for all 18 clubs :thumbsu:

It’s only a small thing, but it makes me more excited to get the game in 21 days and play the hell out of it just like the good old times with AFL Live :smallfooty:

Black And White Hello GIF by Mia Page

Have uploaded footage to YouTube, should be better quality than Twitter. Chuck us a sub if you're feeling generous.

2 minutes in and I think I've seen one kick and one of you handball from the full back kick out. Appreciate the clip though mate

BigAntStudios , others have mentioned it but do you reckon it'd be worthwhile having a couple of your devs play a quarter, film it and chuck it up on youtube to give a good representation of how the game plays?

These youtube clips make me feel like I'm watching rugby

2 minutes in and I think I've seen one kick and one of you handball from the full back kick out. Appreciate the clip though mate

BigAntStudios , others have mentioned it but do you reckon it'd be worthwhile having a couple of your devs play a quarter, film it and chuck it up on youtube to give a good representation of how the game plays?

These youtube clips make me feel like I'm watching rugby
Haha, look I'll admit I was pretty terrible at it while trying to learn the controls

The set shot angle/graphics are great

But what put me off is seeing the players walking away and leaving the goal unattended during the set shot routine. After the kick suddenly they are all around the goals again LOL

Ross, can you elighten me as to whether we can edit player ratings ourselves through the acadamy? Like, if ol' Fages hates the final ratings you guys have done, can he go through every player if he wishes and edit their attributes to his liking?
Heard on the stream that we will be able to edit everything. Shout-out Tom Mitchell wanting to make himself a 99 overall and promptly being told he “can’t do that just yet”