AFL allocates Zones to Victorian Teams

mapvic.jpg

mapnt.jpg
Might as well just re-name Victoria Richmond, we own half of it. :D

You absolute f'ing ripper - Crows will get half of SA allocated to us and that is worth much more than 1/11th of Vic. Crows and Power, WCE and Freo to become undisputed powerhouses of the future.

Vic clubs asked for academies, now we'll all get them and Vic clubs will start to go downhill! McGuire and Newbold should have been more careful in what they wished for!! Suck it up current Vic powerhouses, your days at the top are numbered ;-)

You do realise this doesnt give priority access to all players drafted in those zones right? Its a select few who arent coming through the normal development pathways and probably wouldnt have ended up playing without it. You arent going to be suddenly taking half of SA's footy talent.

Based on what they have done with the NT would it be too far fetched too assume they plan on given port and adel some parts of W.A in the process

Its not the be all and end all, but if SA teams shared SA we are so far better off than the victorian teams its ridiculous, WA would have a slight better indigemous talent than ourselves but the gap isnt large.

You do realise this doesnt give priority access to all players drafted in those zones right? Its a select few who arent coming through the normal development pathways and probably wouldnt have ended up playing without it. You arent going to be suddenly taking half of SA's footy talent.

It will give teams some assistance in how they trade lower picks for points instead of using draft choices that may be more of a punt, but it isnt a licence to get the best talent for nothing.

Looks like there will be some conditions, but it may be just an expansion and some actual player rights to those that comes through your existing academy. What is the point for Port currently apart from community involvement and grassroot development/relations?

It all seems a bit ambiguous at the moment, but I have some serious reservations about it...

We've always had strong links to the indigenous communities of South Australia (and NT for that matter), primarily the West Coast regions of SA around Port Lincoln (the legendary Mallee Park team). Port Adelaide indigenous players who've come through junior ranks have included Greg Phillips, Gavin Wanganeen, Andrew McLeod, The Bond and Burgoyne brothers, Graham Johncock, Byron Pickett, Che Cockatoo-Collins and Lindsay Thomas.

The program at the moment is designed to give indigenous students a professionally run football environment to learn in, which is tied to strict levels of school participation and academic achievement. I believe Wayne Milera is the only current AFL player to graduate through the current program. Whilst he trained and played for the team as well as being part of the program he was also a member of Central Districts SANFL team.

So, yes at this stage it is Community involvement and grass roots development as you say, but it's been that way for 20+ years. It's surely not a stretch for this to be expanded to be run parallel with other academies and for the benefits to be the same.

Not sure how these VIC zones would work though.

Maybe the other Victorian clubs will get an area of South Australia, WA or Tasmania as well. Evans said that they were allocated partly based on historical ties, so maybe St Kilda get part of Tassie due to their historical connection there? Otherwise it seems pretty unfair for those Victorian clubs who missed out on the Northern Territory.
Are you serious in saying victorian teams will get part of WA ans SA?
Have you ever looked at a map of either state at where towns are and population sizes?

It would be a lot better if the kids are zoned into the house they spend their 5th birthday at.

At least then Eddie can't get his fat mits on some new houses for families with strong prospects

I would say 12th birthday as even at that age it is still super hard to predict how a kid will turn out playing wise and no AFL club is rich enough to speculate by relocating a 12 year olds family like that.

Posted in the "drafts" board, but reposting here:
So... according to the new academy system (assuming the bidding si the same) this is how last year's draft looks:
new academy clubs.png

Good work Carlton. You come last, but your first available player is Aaron Francis (pick 5). Unless they allow SA and WA clubs to get them too, in which case you get Jade Gresham (the 18th best player) as your first live option.

Meanwhile, Geelong get access to picks 5, 12 and 17, Richmond get 2 and 4, and Hawthorn get picks 9,10 and 21.

Oh, sorry bombers. You are behind Carlton, so you get Callum Ah Chee and Wayne Milera (picks 8 and 11). Unless there are WA and SA academies, in which case you get pick 21 Kieran Lovell as your first option.

The academy model and bidding system only works if it's limited to a few clubs. Open it up to everyone, and all of a sudden it becomes pure luck where the good young players live.

We can only hope the AFL sees sense, but given their track record, it seems unlikely.

I would say 12th birthday as even at that age it is still super hard to predict how a kid will turn out playing wise and no AFL club is rich enough to speculate by relocating a 12 year olds family like that.
Wouldn't it be easier just to say they are zoned to wherever the first junior club they play for is from? That's how Goodes got to play for Victoria instead of SA (Dream Team).

So... according to the new academy system (assuming the bidding si the same) this is how last year's draft looks:
View attachment 211542

Good work Carlton. You come last, but your first available player is Aaron Francis (pick 5). Unless they allow SA and WA clubs to get them too, in which case you get Jade Gresham (the 18th best player) as your first live option.

Meanwhile, Geelong get access to picks 5, 12 and 17, Richmond get 2 and 4, and Hawthorn get picks 9,10 and 21.

Oh, sorry bombers. You are behind Carlton, so you get Callum Ah Chee and Wayne Milera (picks 8 and 11). Unless there are WA and SA academies, in which case you get pick 21 Kieran Lovell as your first option.

The academy model and bidding system only works if it's limited to a few clubs. Open it up to everyone, and all of a sudden it becomes pure luck where the good young players live.

We can only hope the AFL sees sense, but given their track record, it seems unlikely.
You realise the Victorian academies are just for Indigenous/Multicultural/Diverse players, right? Not everyone.

View attachment 211542

Have another look over the criteria of players that enter these academies.

View attachment 211542

"youngsters from diverse backgrounds and indigenous heritage"

edit - beaten to it

You realise the Victorian academies are just for Indigenous/Multicultural/Diverse players, right? Not everyone.
Hawthorn dual Premiership player Paul Puopolo, Essendon’s David Zaharakis, Gold Coast Sun’s Nick Malceski, and Brisbane Lions’ James Aish will join current Australia Post AFL Multicultural ambassadors Nic Naitanui, Bachar Houli, Jobe Watson, Alipate Carlile, Stephen Coniglio, Jimmy Toumpas, Lin Jong and Patrick Karnezis in promoting some of the many diverse backgrounds engaged in Australia’s game.

Uh huh. Tell me more.

So if you have a parent with a foreign passport, you're in?

Could anyone with more knowledge about this than I tell me what current players belonged to these clubs?

Western Bulldogs – Western Melbourne, Wimmera, Mallee, South West Victoria, Ballarat, (North Ballarat Rebels & Western Jets)

Pretty much the only player of note recruited from the Wimmera region was Adam Goodes. Mallee has produced some quality players in the past like Akermanis, Herb Henderson and Matthew Knights.

Uh huh. Tell me more.

So if you have a parent with a foreign passport, you're in?
The video of the announcement seems to put an emphasis on "players from non-English speaking families". I would imagine that would rule out most of the ethnically diverse types like "Jobe Watson" and others from your list... :$

AFL allocates Zones to Victorian Teams