AFL Cairns - 2010 season

Flinstone its under 12's football mate, I couldn't careless:thumbsdown:. It sounds like you are suffering a little bit of "ugly parent syndrome". This level of football should be played for fun and enjoyment of kids. Not for the enjoyment of parents who want to relive their careers through their children. This is what happens when you make junior football competitive. Juniors DON"T play for sheep stations.

Saints have been very successful for many years and good on them there've had a pretty settled loyal core group of players that have made them this way. Kennedy, Walsh, Martin and Coatsworth.

This year however the crocs have managed to hold onto the players from last year and they've built on it with new arrivals. If these players stick around Port could be in for a number of very successful years.

Cant wait for the game this weekend. Centrals will want to beat Port to prove Ubergang wrong for leaving!:mad:
Quagmire, I couldn't agree with you more. It is only U12's Football and yes they should have fun. I'm far from living sport through my kids and for you to say that and not even knowing my background is an insult in anyones language. I have never nor would I ever push my kids in their chosen sports. In fact I have tried to steer them away from sports that I played and/or excelled at. In most cases I have been successful. Your comments my learned forum friend are completely false and misleading. Getting back to your other comment, if U12's is for fun, then please explain to me why U12 Premiers Coaching Staff placed so much emphasis on winning. All of the waterboys were coaching during both the season and finals. The team goal umpires were coaching from the goals. Three Runners were required for each game and if you were lucky they have worn a runners shirt.

So answer me this Quagmire, How am I suppose to keep my kids confidence up and get them to keep turning up each week when they constantly see opposing teams conduct themselves in this manner? How am I suppose to keeps my sons interest up when he is tagged by no less than three opposition players each week? I also ask you, if we're not playing for "Sheep Stations" why would the opposition need to do these antics?

One more thing Quagimre, you should get your facts straight before you get on here and start commenting on things that you clearly have no idea about or have turned a blind eye to.
:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Dan Smith (Port) beat our skipper Tennick by a few votes. Tigers veteran Dean Uebergang won the 2's.
I hope you're right with the tips Flinstone:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Watsons I would love nothing more then to see Norths win the Ressies. I think it'd be great for both the club and morale.:thumbsu:

Spot on mate. The club needs something to celebrate. I know its only a reserve grade flag, but its a start and I know it would help club morale to no end. I'm tipping Port for seniors though.

Good Luck to the cairns saints boys on the weekend. Fantastic club that is obviously still the envy of cairns judging by a lot of the rot written on these boards. three in a row would be a massive achievement but 4 grand finals in a row is an amazing effort itself

Spot on mate. The club needs something to celebrate. I know its only a reserve grade flag, but its a start and I know it would help club morale to no end. I'm tipping Port for seniors though.
Don't sell a ressies flag short Watson's. Some people play their whole career without playing in a grand final let alone a flag no matter what the level. I know i never won a flag in my playing days and it was the biggest disapointment i had as a player.

Let's hope North's get up for the Ressies Flag, they have been the team most of the year in that grade. To me a flag is a flag for the club and all accolades should go to them.

In saying this, someone bagged me earlier this year for being proud my club won a reserve grand final flag in 2009.

I say winners are grinner s whatever grade.

Don't forget most---- of the senior team players started or came back after injury through the RESERVE GRADE.

I don't only go to watch a senior game, I'm there early and cheer on the Ressies as well, other than helping set up the ground when the sparrow farts.

Still in Hong Kong and can only find jockey's, gunna give up soon.

Watsons heard a rummer today that Richter is coaching at Norths in 2010 is thus true and whats happening with lord did he get over looked

Ricther is a big tip to coach next year as Wes was only ever helping out when needed by his own admission, and maybe to start a new rumour, there may be not 1 but 2 former AFL players next year as assistant/playing coaches at north cairns. Big things for the Tigers install!

Dan Smith (Port) beat our skipper Tennick by a few votes. Tigers veteran Dean Uebergang won the 2's.
I hope you're right with the tips Flinstone:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Gav Miller from Hawks was runner up, and Stevie Wilesmith - a 17 year old kid (from Hawks) that weighs around 58 kilo was runner up by 1 vote in the reserves and only played 8 games.

I reckon Smith was a terrific winner, speedy tough hard working and fair, all the things those kids should aspire to be.

Port will flog Saints in the seniors, dont care in the twos.

Ricther is a big tip to coach next year as Wes was only ever helping out when needed by his own admission, and maybe to start a new rumour, there may be not 1 but 2 former AFL players next year as assistant/playing coaches at north cairns. Big things for the Tigers install!

Richter approached hawks last game of year, reckons the club is sunk and wants out...heard it with my own ears. What the bet he stays at norths though, hawks knocked him back coz he's an 8 pointer, and he did the wrong thing by them this year. And if you're talking about tyson lane, well haha, good luck.

Have heard that the Tigers are recruiting hard this year, but are looking for positions bigger than the coach. The president is the heart and soul of that club and I've heard that they (husband and wife) feel their time has to come to step back. Can't blame him at all, I believe the admin support at a lot of clubs is scarce.

On that note hats off to all club presidents for season 2010, its a full time job with no financial benefit that goes all year and all the administration staff deserve all the acolades that come at each clubs presentation night. Some players in leagues show up for a total of 100 hours work for the year and get $15,000 plus. Footy only goes for 30 weeks of the year, the club goes for 52. Well done admin.

Richter approached hawks last game of year, reckons the club is sunk and wants out...heard it with my own ears. What the bet he stays at norths though, hawks knocked him back coz he's an 8 pointer, and he did the wrong thing by them this year. And if you're talking about tyson lane, well haha, good luck.
You're kidding mate, you knocked him back cos he's an 8 pointer, yet you take Ehlich and Alex Carter (both 8 pointers)??? I know which of those 3 I'd like at my club. Have heard the rumours about Richter coaching but as far as I know, that is all they are. As far as club being shot, couldn't be further from the truth, some fresh blood has been injected to the committee and there is true belief that we are on our way back..

I think it would be more to do with his actions at the start of the year than the fact he is an 8 pointer. Not sure what you mean by the "I know which of those 3 I'd like at my club" comment because on current and future football ability, the three are very close.

I doubt that this is true, and sitting at the bar imagining what people might be saying is hardly hearing it with your own ears!
Now upthemiddle, instead of bagging out other clubs and the league admin staff how about getting involved in your own club my more than just propping up the bar.
Every time someone gets on a forum like this and bags other clubs prospective players from other areas must just shy away and think 'why would I play up there', now that not only hurts that specific club but the league in general.

I heard president has had enough, (and by the way well done to him and all presidents for their effort) but im telling the truth watsons, richter enquired about another go back to hawks but as u said they have too many 8 pointers now, although carter as a 16 year old recruit being an 8 pointer is ludicrous! Hawks said thanks but no thanks coz he played them against norths at start of year. Hawks are apparently gonna put more work into their kids next year and they have picked up a couple to compliment that. Be honest watsons, is norths really ganna come back or not?

I doubt that this is true, and sitting at the bar imagining what people might be saying is hardly hearing it with your own ears!
Now upthemiddle, instead of bagging out other clubs and the league admin staff how about getting involved in your own club my more than just propping up the bar.
Every time someone gets on a forum like this and bags other clubs prospective players from other areas must just shy away and think 'why would I play up there', now that not only hurts that specific club but the league in general.

Bagging?? Na its truth telling and the sensitive sooks that call it bagging can't handle it. React the right way and DO something to correct a comp going down the gurgler..I reckon I never saw more than 100 at a game all year, and they were players and staff and few wives!!! That's just bloody horrific figures for the best product in the world in Aussie Rules footy. And I HEARD it big fan, heard it as I was standing in the conversation. Couldn't care about quantifying myself, you either take what I say as advice or you can heckle it and go nowhere. Lets see if they can get a crowd at the Grand Final, if not - game dead.

I heard president has had enough, (and by the way well done to him and all presidents for their effort) but im telling the truth watsons, richter enquired about another go back to hawks but as u said they have too many 8 pointers now, although carter as a 16 year old recruit being an 8 pointer is ludicrous! Hawks said thanks but no thanks coz he played them against norths at start of year. Hawks are apparently gonna put more work into their kids next year and they have picked up a couple to compliment that. Be honest watsons, is norths really ganna come back or not?
I am being honest, the president is going nowhere and there are several new faces on the committee, and we all fully believe that we are headed in the right direction. Of course nothing in life is certain, all I can say is that we are still alive and kicking strongly. And I will guarantee there will be 100 Tiger supporters there today, let alone other clubs. Would be silly of Hawks not to push their kids into seniors. Didn't your 18s go undefeated? We are in the same boat, juniors very strong, good core of senior players, just need to recruit well and we will be a force next year.

I agree, reckon norths were up there as far as tough competitors goes. But I am sure your pres said he stepping aside?? Hope you guys hang in there, clubs need to generate club spirit and nurture the youth from now! In 10 years aussie rules will over take league up here coz the numbers are huge in juniors compared to league now.

no congratulations mate it was all the umpires doing was it ????? afl cairns gave saints 3 in a row did they!!!!!! winners are grinners douche you've had a great year!!!!!

Sorry to interupt the arguing but who actually won today? Can't seem to find the game results anywhere. Haven't been posted on Sportingpulse.

Cairns Saints go tup by 6 goals...amazing club with a great culture...There are a lot of blokes who knock the Saints, but after yesterdays effort it highlights that they are September specialists and are the REAL deal...go Saints!

Mmm, very disappointing for Port Douglas after a year in which they dominated. Played a few junior games for Port when I lived up there and never liked playing the Saints.