• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Cairns - 2012 Season

A couple of interesting games this week.

Port v Hawks a replay of last years preliminary final.
Both teams have been beaten by Saints by 20+ goals and both teams have beaten Souths. I think the young guys at Port will bounce back at home and win this one by 10 goals. I think Port will be a 10 goal better side at home all year this year due in large part to the age of their key players. Would expect these two to be very close at Cazalys.

Souths v Centrals.
Both teams have beaten the Lions only. Big game for morale at these clubs. A loss would drop the odds of making finals significantly. Centrals have played one less game but lost their captain Crathern (for how long?). Souths may have a decent forward in Gascoyne and a spread of youngsters while Centrals are reliant on a select few. This will be very close but I'm tipping Souths by 9 points.

Saints will notch up a normal cricket score (up here most cricket teams only seem to make about 100 runs). Hopefully the Lions can get together a reserves side to make it a decent day of football.

Port and Souths will have big wins in the reserves.

The Goalkicking usual suspect Walsh is 6 goals clear. Gascoyne and Gill the only others in double figures. I'm tipping one of the Port boys to kick a big bag this week, but barring injury, Walsh might be out to an unassailable lead.

After watching Port on Saturday they do look like a dry track team thats for sure. With no real key forward to key to and relying on guys trying to take speckies the wet wont help them at all. So in saying that i think the weather will determine how much Port will win by. If its dry 10 goals if wet 2 goals.
Souths and Centrals will be a close one. Both teams will think they are a chance of finals so will want to have a good showing in this one. Maybe Centrals just.
Not sure about the Saints and Lions game. Lions showed a bit in their first game. Saints are keen on not letting up and not giving anyone a sniff so saying that Saints to win by 100-150pts.
The only person to get within 50 goals of Walsh could be his team mate Gill. Walsh hasn't been at his best and still is kicking bags. With Walsh,Gill and Braybon up there its hard to find 3 quality backs to stop them all at once. Liddy will kick around 50 i reckon and the big fella from down the highway may kick something similar.

After watching Port on Saturday they do look like a dry track team thats for sure. With no real key forward to key to and relying on guys trying to take speckies the wet wont help them at all. So in saying that i think the weather will determine how much Port will win by. If its dry 10 goals if wet 2 goals.
Souths and Centrals will be a close one. Both teams will think they are a chance of finals so will want to have a good showing in this one. Maybe Centrals just.
Not sure about the Saints and Lions game. Lions showed a bit in their first game. Saints are keen on not letting up and not giving anyone a sniff so saying that Saints to win by 100-150pts.
The only person to get within 50 goals of Walsh could be his team mate Gill. Walsh hasn't been at his best and still is kicking bags. With Walsh,Gill and Braybon up there its hard to find 3 quality backs to stop them all at once. Liddy will kick around 50 i reckon and the big fella from down the highway may kick something similar.

Port to beat Hawks
Cutters to get over Centrals
Saints to flog the Lions
:cool:

Port & Hawks in a draw
Centrals to cruise past cutters
Saints by 30 goals, Walsh to kick 15

Hawks close :eek:

Souths very close, toilet paper close ;)

Get real :D Saints only by 10--14 goals

The dog shows start again this weekend so wont get to see any matches this round, :(

Well tamba I was fairly 'real' in my prediction, being only 5 goals off as saints treated lions like witches hats to win by 25 goals.

Walsh slotted 14, not quite the 15 I predicted but it could have been 20!

Saints unbackable for the flag.

Maybe unbackable for the top spot, but anything can happen during finals. Port, Norths and Hawks are all still capable of beating Saints.

Lions showed they're at least a 10 goal better side than last year. Their players took the game on and scored the same as Norths did against Saints. Pity for them the forwards for Saints were firing.

Hawks beating Port was big, shows the Hawks will be up there again.

Souths a strong win over Centrals. Can they topple one of Hawks, Port, Norths or Saints to crack the finals? Or will it be like last year where the final 4 was pretty settled well before the end of the season?

Goalkicking race has changed a bit, Walshy will race for the ton, with the round he kicks it being the main question. Gascoyne will be racing for 2nd spot with Macqueen and Gill close behind.

From all reports Hawks were/are always going to improve, but I still thought Port would have toppled them.

Souths need to beat Centrals to be finals contenders, the matches between them and Hawks might decide 4th spot going by current form. Going down to Hawks last week might come back and haunt the Cutters.

Walsh has averaged 6 or more goals throughout his time in Cairns, pity he averages about 6 games per year as well. Hopefully this year he stays fit as it is a pretty handy forward set up with him, Gill and MacQueen.

The dread locked CHF for Lions is the best player in the league.

After 4 rounds the Cairns site tippers ladder looks like this

Saint 11
Lachrilly 7
Tamba 7
Dr R Kimble 6
Waton 6
Sweet Undies 4
Flintstone 4
Dontargue 3.5 he tipped a draw
Dick Pepper 3
Tommy Gun 3
Collo 3
Happy Feet 2

if you don't tip ya get nothing ;)

After 4 rounds the Cairns site tippers ladder looks like this

Saint 11
Lachrilly 7
Tamba 7
Dr R Kimble 6
Waton 6
Sweet Undies 4
Flintstone 4
Dontargue 3.5 he tipped a draw
Dick Pepper 3
Tommy Gun 3
Collo 3
Happy Feet 2

if you don't tip ya get nothing ;)

Souths v Norths Anzac Day match mmmmmm, Norths are going very well had the weekend off, Souths on the other hand going mid road played a tough match now backiing up 4 days later. No major injuries out of them but some might be sore Souths won this game last year fairly well but a season has passed if ground firm , no rain Norths will trouble them. If no side sleeps in the 3rd Qtr will be worth the admission. Those who want have a beer with me I'll be wandering around as usual not far from the bar in all my finery.

Still Souths for me darn close

Hawks to have fun with the Lions 10 goals

Port to bounce back & give Centrals a lesson

Souths are on the improve which is good to see, hopefully it continues for the whole season. I think they'll throw it right up to Norths for the first half, but the week off for them combined with the short break for Souths will see Norths sneak away with it late in the 3rd and blow it out in the 4th. I think the breaks will be the key factor, I reckon the first half will be a great contest.

Hawks will beat the Lions by under 5 goals, thanks in no small part to the home ground advantage. Will be high scoring.

Port to flog Centrals by 20 goals. Serong to kick a big bag.

In the ressies, Norths (thanks to the break), Hawks and Port (same as seniors.)

Norths to stop the Cutter charge in its tracks. Norths by 50pts
Hawks over Lions. Hawks by 6 goals
Port to bounce back over CTB. Crocs by 4 goals

In the 2's Norths by 5 goals, Hawks by 3 goals,Port by 150pts

Norths to beat Cutters by 6 goals.
Hawks to beat Lions by 3 goals.
Port to beat Centrals by 12 goals.

Reserves
Tigers over Cutters by 4 goals.
Lions over Hawks by 1 goal.
Port to thrash Centrals by 120 points.

Interesting to see Norths sign Lukas, not overly impressed with that. I will continue to support them until he stuffs up. Why would Manunda deny his clearance? It must be a financial thing, I wonder who will cough the money up... (roll eyes). Please Watsons, don't let this bloke have the wood over the Tigers.

From all reports Hawks were/are always going to improve, but I still thought Port would have toppled them.

Souths need to beat Centrals to be finals contenders, the matches between them and Hawks might decide 4th spot going by current form. Going down to Hawks last week might come back and haunt the Cutters.

Walsh has averaged 6 or more goals throughout his time in Cairns, pity he averages about 6 games per year as well. Hopefully this year he stays fit as it is a pretty handy forward set up with him, Gill and MacQueen.

The dread locked CHF for Lions is the best player in the league.

Both Cutters grades posted convincing wins. Too soon to spruik, but Saints are definitely the hot favourites to win the flag this year. Tips for this round are -

• Cutters to get up in a very tight one against Norths:cool:
  • Hawks to account for the Lions (but only just, although I wouldn't be surprised if the Lions come out all guns blazing):eek:
  • Port to beat Centrals:)
Centrals had a very good crowd at Fretwell on Saturday, maybe the supporters could get them home.

Finally,

LEST WE FORGET;)

Yeah must say I was surprised (pleasantly) to see us get the week off while the Cutters have to back up. I guess it would have caused major headaches with the draw to do it otherwise and it will be our turn next year:confused:
Souths have definitely improved but I think we will be too strong at home. 44pts
Hawks by 55pts, probably running away with it in 2nd half.
Port by 20pts, Dogs always seem to go ok against the Crocs. esp at home.

Norths to beat Cutters by 10 - 15 goals
Hawks to beat Lions by 20 goals
Port to beat Centrals in a close one

A draw at the G

"Lest We Forget"

How can people pick South's today??? All things being equal Nths are a 10 goal better side.. however Nths had the week off and Souths have had 4 day turn around..
Norths by 18+ goals

How can people pick South's today??? All things being equal Nths are a 10 goal better side.. however Nths had the week off and Souths have had 4 day turn around..
Norths by 18+ goals
Nice call Dr. K, Tigers by 121 points today, great day, big crowd, Richter BOG again. Ressies by 3 goals :thumbsu:

Norths by 18+ goals

Only Tamba actually tipped them. I was trying to pump up the contest, but Norths were always going to win. Probably didn't think they'd win by as much as they did, though.

Does yesterdays result make what everyone thought a sure thing, that unless Hawks improving that its really a 2 horse race. I know its early but i doubt Saints or Norths will lose to anyone except for each other.Like we always say anything can happen in september which is true but Saints and Norths will finish 1-2 with Hawks Port and maybe Souths fighting for the other 2 spots. Cities have improved but wont in many games and CTB have gone backwards from last year. But who knows, a team could pick up 6 or 7 Darwin recruits or from somewhere else and all of a sudden be a contender.

AFL Cairns - 2012 Season