• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist) - 2010

By the sounds of it I think Belco will be hard to beat in both grades. Some quality players from Div 1 and 2 to play in there 3's which will help there 4's.

Wow really interesting article. Hadtobe i would like to know where Paul Smith had premiership success in seniors ACTAFL. Any word on how much you plan to raise from 30 sponsors? i dont know who is driving that but thats a huge effort. Looks like Yass are the 1's to beat in 2010.

Go Yass and Damo Phillipa!
I wonder if coates hire is a sponsor .:p

Wow really interesting article. Hadtobe i would like to know where Paul Smith had premiership success in seniors ACTAFL. Any word on how much you plan to raise from 30 sponsors? i dont know who is driving that but thats a huge effort. Looks like Yass are the 1's to beat in 2010.

Go Yass and Damo Phillipa!

Hi speed racer, just need to clarify a few things. I sent an email to the paper with some details for the article, but a few things werent mentioned and a few were wrong. Paul Smith has coached at tuggeranong and has coached premiership teams, but the words were muddled. to be totally honest, i havent met with him to discuss things yet, we got him through one of my assistant coaches craig smith. Paul smith and clayton govan own transform building solutions and they will be our new shorts sponsor and craig has talked both of them into joining the club. clayton has played about 50 senior games at tuggers and finished in 2007 as r/u best and fairest at harmen div 1. will be great for us and looked really good at training last week. clearance put in today. mick haddley is another assistant coach and has been behind bringing louise grosse (ainslie) matt vosalla james bray ( northern jets) and paul blackmore (holbrook) all recruited from cricket and work connections. Benny mccallum wasnt mentioned in paper but i played with him in batemans bay and he made a drunken promise that if i coached he would come back, he has also bought a massive 6 foot 5 ,22 year old from tuggers juniors with him. Callum walker from leeton/ binalong just rocked up to training and we helped him get an apprenticeship, he is 6 ' 4 and still growing. Shane lees owns a house in yass and his brother in law chris doyle played last year so that was great and he will be very good and will help to cover the lost of sero. Ryan cox and troy scanes are back after a year off. As for the sponsors, i just wrote a letter and dropped it off to local businesses , i was trying for 15 but eventually got 24 on the back of our polo tops and slater and gordon on the front. It was a cheap way of businesses advertising and has helped us out a lot. I also have 5 shops sponsoring a towel as an award and now have a sponsor for our goal posts, shorts sponsor and sock sponsor. our jumper sponsors and actew agl and major sponsor aussie hotel are still on board. we dont have any real big sponsors so a lot more smaller sponsors has helped us and them out as well. capital sports and trophies and kombat also helped out with discounted costs on the gear. We have some good experienced players around now which have bought more players to the club and the best part is that they are all playing for nicks. with our new club rooms and canteen yass should be a much more enjoyable trip and with the gift of a carton of beer to each opposition team and an invite to join us at the aussie for a few beers before the trip home, we are all hoping it will be much more hospitable out at yass this year. Cooma round three will be the first team to find out. good to see the hawks back on top !! Ando
ps had to be , i am pretty sure you would know that yes yass do have a league team this year, 3 in fact and 2 rugby union teams and soccer.
and southcab, i have no idea what you mean about coates hire as a sponsor ? do you !

Hi speed racer, just need to clarify a few things. I sent an email to the paper with some details for the article, but a few things werent mentioned and a few were wrong. Paul Smith has coached at tuggeranong and has coached premiership teams, but the words were muddled. to be totally honest, i havent met with him to discuss things yet, we got him through one of my assistant coaches craig smith. Paul smith and clayton govan own transform building solutions and they will be our new shorts sponsor and craig has talked both of them into joining the club. clayton has played about 50 senior games at tuggers and finished in 2007 as r/u best and fairest at harmen div 1. will be great for us and looked really good at training last week. clearance put in today. mick haddley is another assistant coach and has been behind bringing louise grosse (ainslie) matt vosalla james bray ( northern jets) and paul blackmore (holbrook) all recruited from cricket and work connections. Benny mccallum wasnt mentioned in paper but i played with him in batemans bay and he made a drunken promise that if i coached he would come back, he has also bought a massive 6 foot 5 ,22 year old from tuggers juniors with him. Callum walker from leeton/ binalong just rocked up to training and we helped him get an apprenticeship, he is 6 ' 4 and still growing. Shane lees owns a house in yass and his brother in law chris doyle played last year so that was great and he will be very good and will help to cover the lost of sero. Ryan cox and troy scanes are back after a year off. As for the sponsors, i just wrote a letter and dropped it off to local businesses , i was trying for 15 but eventually got 24 on the back of our polo tops and slater and gordon on the front. It was a cheap way of businesses advertising and has helped us out a lot. I also have 5 shops sponsoring a towel as an award and now have a sponsor for our goal posts, shorts sponsor and sock sponsor. our jumper sponsors and actew agl and major sponsor aussie hotel are still on board. we dont have any real big sponsors so a lot more smaller sponsors has helped us and them out as well. capital sports and trophies and kombat also helped out with discounted costs on the gear. We have some good experienced players around now which have bought more players to the club and the best part is that they are all playing for nicks. with our new club rooms and canteen yass should be a much more enjoyable trip and with the gift of a carton of beer to each opposition team and an invite to join us at the aussie for a few beers before the trip home, we are all hoping it will be much more hospitable out at yass this year. Cooma round three will be the first team to find out. good to see the hawks back on top !! Ando
ps had to be , i am pretty sure you would know that yes yass do have a league team this year, 3 in fact and 2 rugby union teams and soccer.
and southcab, i have no idea what you mean about coates hire as a sponsor ? do you !

Good work Jason Anderon, that is amazing. you obviously work very hard and seem to have put some good things in place for Yass. your offers of a few beers are very hospitable.

i would hate to be your boss/wife/partner because you wouldnt have much time at home.

I like your comment that all players are playing for "knicks", i would hate to think of anyone being paid to play 4th grade footy.

I would hate to think anyone, and I mean anyone, would be paid to play CD's. The Blues have never ever paid anyone a cent - and everyone pays their fees to play each year.

Has there been a history of players being paid in CD's? Am I just ignorant of how other clubs work?

Good work Jason Anderon, that is amazing. you obviously work very hard and seem to have put some good things in place for Yass. your offers of a few beers are very hospitable.

i would hate to be your boss/wife/partner because you wouldnt have much time at home.

Thanks speed racer, it has been busy, i will be handing over all the sponsorship stuff at my last committee meeting tonight so i can concentrate on coaching, the idea of the beers should be good, our major sponsor the aussie hotel will be supplying two cartons each home game, one for us and one for opposition, 22 players and 24 beers, i might even dig out the two spare beers and offer to the umpires, seeing they used to get stuck in a really small room with no showers or the mens toilet block to change and have never really liked coming out to yass, their new change rooms are huge with an ensuite toilet block and showers, perhaps if we spoil them they might like us a bit more !! have to think about that one. and hopefully after the taste of a cold lager and a nice hot shower and the invite back to the aussie, we might see an influx of people back to the aussie before the trek back home. a few clubs came back last year, but this year i would like to see evry team back their, we got beaten by eastlake last year and then flogged in the sculling race as well, so they left a very happy team. as for money in div 4 , i wouldnt expect the bigger clubs to pay, but one team towns like yass coota goulburn and cooma, it is realistically our div 1 team. i know coota have been paying players but they had to just to get the numbers, we have been lucky. yass were close to folding last year after winning the flag the year before, our main aim now is to stabilise the club as we now have under 8 , under 10 , 12 and 14 s so soon we will need a senior club for them. My wife is a bit stressed with me coaching as she has a business as well and we have 4 kids, but she is a sponsor and giving a hair cut award and towel award as well, once i start the ladies committee, hopefully she will come on side. I always say to her that she married me when i was coaching footy, so she knows what she is in for. we also have the under 14s training with us on wednesdays and they are loving that, so all going well yass should be around for a long time. :)

Good to hear all is well in Yass !!! Ok now back to footy how is all teams looking after pre-season any predictions on who will be the movers up the ladder and who may move down ?

Pretty hard to tell MadDog

In Div 3, its looking to be a very open year.

Haven't heard much from ANU other than Quinny the elder is probably back playing.

Harman have allegedly picked up a heap of Queanbeyan ressies players and are looking strong and fit after being flogged all summer.

Hilly is looking fit at the Jugs, but only he knows if he really is or isn't playing. I think the 5 or so games to get to 100 milestone will see him pull the boots on again in 2010. The rest of the usual suspects are up and firing.

ADFA are an unknown quantity as always, and have not had any big transfers in or out for the season.

Belco can talk about themselves - 3GM, Codola and Lightning Dunn can enlighten us on the clubs CD's outlook.

Gungahlin couldn't get a combined 3/4's team together for a trial last weekend and have lost a few key players to injury, so they may struggle. It was always going to be a tough year for them moving up into ressies.

Eastlake will provide a few upsets as they do every year, and may knock on the door of the 4 with some luck.

Ainslie looked ok at the Cooma carnival, and Tuggies have a number of older players dropping down to play 3rds - I heard up to 3 or 4 guys with 1st grade and rep footy experience who are over 30 and looking at playing more social footy.

As for the Blues, we have picked up a few handy ex-Eastlake players and are looking ok at this stage. Biggest problem will be getting the same team on the paddock each week, as there are a number of key players going to miss chunks of the season though work, travel and other commitments with many away at the same time. Our best 22 is potentially very good, but will it ever get on the paddock?

Nice to hear Heywood spruiking football on 2CC yesterday afternoon. Should we set a challenge each week for a phrase to be incorporated into each weeks speil?
Cheers Growler, I'm up for the challenge! Yep, amazingly back on the radio again for a weekly AFL preview, including local footy - on the mighty 2CC, 1206 on the AM dial in Canberra, every Fridee arvo at around 4:40pm (Thursday this week). If you miss it and you're real hard up for something to listen to, you can check out the podcasts, updated each week at my website, linked here!

How good is it to have the footy back on lads?!?! Good to see this forum's on fire again, just wish I could get an update on Yass - all seems pretty quiet out there. And DJ Ando, I did get your PM, cheers, couldn't reply for some reason, but apology accepted, no grudges held (I go by the Tony Greig theory) - good luck for the season ahead!

And a quick work on the mighty Jetters. Unfortunately due to lack of numbers our U18's side had to withdraw from this season's comp, but they'll definitely be up and running next year (quite a few of the 16's from last year were young and still eligible for 16's again this year). As for the 2's, 3's and 4's, we're on track for Round 1 and pretty confident of fielding 3 very competitive sides! Bring it on!!!

Oh and for anyone who hasn't seen my silly little chat with the great man Aker, you can see it on HeyTube via this link. The great man was great value, oh and Aker goes alright too! ;)

Pretty hard to tell MadDog

In Div 3, its looking to be a very open year.

Harman have allegedly picked up a heap of Queanbeyan ressies players and are looking strong and fit after being flogged all summer.

I've been to a few games, and even the odd training session throughout the pre-season, and while i think they got a few from Queanbeyan, i think it's players returning after being away from footy for a while that i took notice of. I was really impressed with some of them. The match against the Queanbeyan reserve grade side (that won the div 2 comp last year) was impressive.

They will be competitive again this year, and should have a stronger side then last season. There are a few key players that i haven't spotted just yet, so i think they've moved on/retired. The big ruckman from last year, and Ross Hore seem to be a no show from what I've seen. I think the ruck will be ok though, because I've seen a few games now and they've done quite well there.

The backline was pretty strong last year, and so probably won't miss Ross too much, but he's always someone that i would want to see line up across the back somewhere.

I don't really recall seeing Cam Griggs much in the games. He has definitely played a little, but not full games, so I'm curious to see if he's got a little injury or if he's just doing his coaching at the moment.

I had a beer (or 19) this weekend with a few of the boys and there seems to be a good vibe from them about the club. Lots of new faces, some returning, and good practice matches to start the year.

It's hard to make any predictions before a game has been played, but I'd say they are a stronger looking side then last year, and only losing a couple of games all year last season should see them up there again. I'm not going to go out and say they'll win it, but they should easily make the top 4.

As for Div 3, i think from what i saw on Saturday, they'll improve this year as well. Yass looks to be going ok as well, so I can't wait for that match up. I think it's inevitable that Harman 2's will improve now that so many players have been added to the club. I'm not sure they'll make the 4 just yet, but a few rounds in and we'll get a good idea.

Bring on the footy!!

I see the sheds are going up at Footy Park. I haven't really looked at a draw but is this ground being used by the CD's this year?

I would like it on the record that I have never accepted payment for playing football......I have never been offered payment either.

Big Mac Daddy

We have 3 games scheduled there at the end of the year - and finals will be at Footy Park as well.

You going around again?

Hi Guys sorry to jump in but just thought i'd shed very minimal light on what i can.

I have played a bit under Paul Smith and he is a great coach. He will do wonders with pretty much any squad you give him. I was training with them (div 3) when he coached a winning premiership side and then went through undefeated and won it the next year (i think, it was 10 years ago now).

Clayton and Craig (not sure if you mentioned if he was playing or not) are great players and will tear div 4 apart, especially if they stay away from the firewater *insert bait here* but I am assuming thats still not how they roll.:p

This years Hawks squad is very similar to last year with a few additions and the possibility of some 18's from time to time. We struggled in Cooma but that was always going to happen when 19 went down and 4 injuries shortened our numbers. Full credit to the guys though they never dropped their heads. Will be interesting to see how this year pans out. Quite ironic that a team with "not enough numbers" had 17 in a head count. Oooops Ahahaha.

Tos,
Interesting article,do league have a side this year ?.And were did your game day coach Paul Smith coach actafl preimerships,has he brought some senior players with him?.
Hey had tobe the pies are going ahead this year and are looking very strong.
Paul Smith has been coaching the likes of tuggeranong and harman for a number of years and will add plenty of experience to the coaching staff.
Most of our recruiting has come from an extremely proactive coach and assistant coaches and an excellent commitee which has this season shaping to be an excellent year for us. Andos work with the sponsors has been phenomenal:thumbsu:

Wow,

Things are a bit slow on here arent they???

OK my round one tips are as follows
CD1
Belco to beat Hogs
ADFA to beat Woden
ANU over Bidgee
Eastlake too good for the Jets
Ainslie over Tuggers

CD2
Belco over Yass
ADFA over Cooma
ANU to get the double over Bidgee
same for Eastlake over Jets
Gouburn to do it comfortably with home ground advantage over Coota

other tips:
3rd Grade Maggie not good enough to be a 4th Grade Maggie
M Coate for Belconnen to win leading goal kicker in CD1
C Griggs to win back to back league B&F
Top 4 for 3s Belco, ANU, Harman, ADFA
Top 4 for 4s Belco, Goulburn, Yass, ANU
DJ Ando/Jason Anderson to have a third alias on big footy by round 4
Ainslie to be big improvers in CD1 in 2010

Twobobs - it is very quiet leading into Round 1. I guess the interwebs has broken at Yass!

CD1
Harman to beat Belconnen
Woden to beat ADFA
ANU over Bidgee
Eastlake comfortably over the Jets
Tuggers over Ainslie

CD2
Belco over Yass
ADFA over Cooma
ANU over Bidgee
Eastlake over Jets
Goulburn by enough over Coota

Hilly to return to footy by Round 1
Ports to break just about every record in Jets history by the end of the year
3GM to work his way back into 3rds by Round 3

other tips:

League B&F - Tony Quinn ANU
Leading Goalkicker - Hilly!
Top 4 for 3s ANU, Harman, Woden, Belconnen
Top 4 for 4s Belco, Goulburn, ANU, Coota (with no idea how Coota is travelling...)

Hogs
Blues
Uni
Dee,s
Hawks.

Roo,s
Rams
Uni
Jets
Swans

Medal Div 1 Braybrook Div 2 Ebert.

Top 4
Hogs, Uni,Pies, Blues

Yass, Swans, Pies,Uni.
Prediction 1 team from each div to go through home and away season un defeated.Harmen in the one,s Yass in the two,s. And div 4 to umpire there own games !!!

Teams having to umpire their own games! God help us all! It's going to be an absolute shamozzle! I guess that means there won't be a tribunal for Div 4 then either?

And A.Quinn is OS, so no chance of him winning the Div 3 B & F, GF.

Tips for the round

Div 3
Woden
ANU
Belco
Eastlake
Ainslie

Div 4
ADFA
ANU
Eastlake
Swans
Belco

Div 3 B&F C Mcdivett
Div 4 B&F someone from the swans ( Not sure of names)

All the best to all teams playing on the weekend and its great to see footy back

AFL Canberra is desperate for umpires. Boys, if you club has any recently retired players who are keen to stay involved, get on the phone to Kevin Tingey at AFL Canberra.

Send a message out to your email lists, or get the info out any way you can, otherwise club umpires will be the standard for CD's rather than League umps...

Clearances have started to come through this week...

ANU have picked up a few from Eastlake and ADFA have a mountain of new recruits from some potentially strong leagues.

With the rumoured ins at Belconnen and Harman, it could be a belter of a competition. Former cellar dwellars Tuggeranong and Ainslie have had some experienced players drop back through the grades to strengthen their teams.