AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist) Part 2

come on heywood, you are just jealous, not sure about the fisticuffs with juicy . i am a bit confused because apparently he is actually a she, a partner of someone involved at the jets, but she cannot say who because of the concern it will cause her partner, either that is true or he is trying to confuse everyone, anyway i sent him/her a message and we are not friends but i think the bickering will cease, is andy ingold playing at the jets again, he told me he wasnt but you know how it is. go hawks

I'm still in the dark in regards to Juicyfruit. None of us other Jetters on here have any idea who it is!!! :confused: We're not even sure if this person really is a Jets' supporter, to tell you the truth.

Growler, you will indeed. And I might just let you in on a little secret. My people are currently talking to some people at a local radio station. There could be a weekly radio gig on the cards. Watch out Ando! ;)
If the gig is anything like your match reports you want last long.:D

Growler, you will indeed. And I might just let you in on a little secret. My people are currently talking to some people at a local radio station. There could be a weekly radio gig on the cards. Watch out Ando! ;)
is that on am radio heywood 2ca isnt it, the last time i was talking to kiwi g he was negotiating with the powers to be about even hosting the show again. I havent heard anymore but funny you mention that because early on last year it was funny, someone rang david wark saying he did a crap job on the radio show, but he said he was on another station then rang me to complain. at the start i was given about 30 seconds to do a preview , wark rang the station to pull some more airtime so i could make it a little interesting instead of like a weather report. but also apparently this disgruntled person wanted to do the show as he had done something in years gone by and was trying to get rid of me and was trying to get wark and co to pull some strings, cam sullings told me it was funny and he said its his radio show and pretty much go jump.that wasnt you was it heywood. oh well radio is a cut throat business. maybe you will have a better head for radio than me heywood, perhaps i could fill in for fellow yass boy and legendary weather reporter daniel gibson on the box . Haha. is that a bit of in fighting between you and juicy, ? dont want off field dis harmony to influence the players on the field !!:):):thumbsu::thumbsu:

Stream of consciousness writing is the new black I guess ....

Didn't you know the Yass Roos Book Club did James Joyce and T.S. Eliot last year?
The reason they've had so few at training is due to Southcab setting a shorter than normal reading time for their next book, "The Sound And The Fury" by William Faulkner.
Expect them to be full strength by round one and Southcab revving them up with such lines as "A gentleman can live through anything, even kicking against a three goal breeze" and "A mule will labor ten years willingly and patiently for you, for the privilege of kicking you once, but I'll be damned if we're gonna go down to these c#nts!"

Didn't you know the Yass Roos Book Club did James Joyce and T.S. Eliot last year?
The reason they've had so few at training is due to Southcab setting a shorter than normal reading time for their next book, "The Sound And The Fury" by William Faulkner.
Expect them to be full strength by round one and Southcab revving them up with such lines as "A gentleman can live through anything, even kicking against a three goal breeze" and "A mule will labor ten years willingly and patiently for you, for the privilege of kicking you once, but I'll be damned if we're gonna go down to these c#nts!"
shanefoss or should I address you as professor? Most of my blokes got chucked out of kindergarden for cheating in finger painting so as far as a book club goes we try to stick to the glossy ones but thanks for the William Faulkner tip I'll be sure to check it out!

"Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow,
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day
To the last syllable of recorded time,
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
The way to dusty death.Out,out, brief candle!
Life"s but a walking shadow,a poor player
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
And then is heard no more:it is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury.
SIGNIFYING NOTHING. "

"Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow,
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day
To the last syllable of recorded time,
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
The way to dusty death.Out,out, brief candle!
Life"s but a walking shadow,a poor player
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
And then is heard no more:it is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury.
SIGNIFYING NOTHING. "

Anyway...

Back to the footy. Any word on practice games on the weekend? Belco had an intra-club (we won) and I heard ANU and Harman didn't keep score, but had a good hit out.

This week the Cooma comp for Belco, Cooma, Eden and Tuggeranong.

Anyway...

Back to the footy. Any word on practice games on the weekend? Belco had an intra-club (we won) and I heard ANU and Harman didn't keep score, but had a good hit out.

How do you judge the results of an intra-club game at Belconnen? is it which team chokes the least wins?

Anyway...

Harman and ANU both fielded some new faces on the weekend and were both short of a few of their regular first graders from last season.

Although no scores were kept honours probably went to Harman in the first and last quarters and ANU in the 2nd and 3rd. I think both coaches were reasonably happy with the hit out at the end of the day.

Both teams should improve on last years result. Although I do think the competition will be as tight as last year. At this stage of the year it looks like at least 6 teams are looking the goods to fight it out for 4 spots at the end of the year in 3rd grade.

Only 6 teams Rowdy? Last year there were 8 quality teams (Eastlake drew with the Jets and caused another couple of upsets) and 2 struggling. Who do you see getting worse in 09?

Harman and ANU both fielded some new faces on the weekend and were both short of a few of their regular first graders from last season.

Although no scores were kept honours probably went to Harman in the first and last quarters and ANU in the 2nd and 3rd. I think both coaches were reasonably happy with the hit out at the end of the day.

Both teams should improve on last years result. Although I do think the competition will be as tight as last year. At this stage of the year it looks like at least 6 teams are looking the goods to fight it out for 4 spots at the end of the year in 3rd grade.

Any standouts from the game rowdy? I got there a little late, but was impressed with a few guys from both ANU and Harman. I don't really know many of the names but it wasn't a bad hitout. I've got to say that the skills for a pre season match were pretty good.

Also is Cam injured? Noticed he didn't play. Who was missing from Harman? Also anyone from ANU care to give any match details? There were a few quality players there too. Having two number 4's on the ground confused me though! :)

hey guys,

Just moved over to Canberra from Adelaide. Looking for someone to give me a quick rundown on how footy works over here. A league and a district comp?

Played alot of footy and looking to get into a team somewhere down my way (tugg)

If anyone has a spare minute let me no the best way to find a club and what sort of comp i will be able to get into

cheers

Gazzman

This is the deal

In Canberra we have 4 grades of seniors - AFL Canberra 1sts (which the Swans Reserves and 5 local clubs play in) and Reserves, and amateurs which are badged 3rd's and 4ths, but known to everyone as Canberra District 1sts and 2nds (CD1's and CD2's).

If you are in Tuggeranong, you have 3 choices.

Tuggeranong have 3 sides in 1's, ressies and a team in CD1's. Tuggies are all about club spirit and youth policy as they have no money to buy premierships like the other clubs in town. Their best players eventually get poached and they inevitably get belted every year in the lower grades as their kids are all playing in 1sts... However, if you want to play at the highest level you can and money isn't an option, this is the place to go.

Murrumbidgee have a team in CD1's and 2's but are a pack of feral inbred centrelink dwellers :D

The third option is my mob, the Woden Blues who play in CD1's. We train and play at Stirling, and love a drink as much as we love our footy. If this sounds like your idea of keeping fun footy, contact the club at wodenblues@hotmail.com

Only 6 teams Rowdy? Last year there were 8 quality teams (Eastlake drew with the Jets and caused another couple of upsets) and 2 struggling. Who do you see getting worse in 09?

GF,

I guess you are right and it's very early days still. However, I have heard ADFA have lost a couple of quality people along with their senior coach (PJ to QBN Tigers). They also have two weekends worth of leave period which decimates their team for those rounds. Unfortunately this must be putting them behind the 8 ball before the season even starts. Anyone from ADFA land out there?

By all accounts Tuggers should also improve this season.

Has anyone else got practise games in the pipeline?

Any standouts from the game rowdy? I got there a little late, but was impressed with a few guys from both ANU and Harman. I don't really know many of the names but it wasn't a bad hitout. I've got to say that the skills for a pre season match were pretty good.

Also is Cam injured? Noticed he didn't play. Who was missing from Harman? Also anyone from ANU care to give any match details? There were a few quality players there too. Having two number 4's on the ground confused me though! :)

Cammy wasn't feeling 100%, not from injury, which gave him a good opportunity to look at a few of the new players from the sideline.

Because of the rotations both teams were using it is hard to pick any real standouts for either team. Although some of the followers in the 3rd term for ANU were impressive.

Hey,

Been running over the threads and thought id throw in an Eastlake voice. We've been up and running for about a month and had about 50 or so guys come down to training. While we lost a few big names from last year we've managed to pick up some guys from Adelaide who look good. Got a new coach this year for the threes as well.

Playing a practice match against ANU down at Calwell next week which should give us an indicator of where we are for the year.

very funny spoiler
How is footy out Bugendore way ? or are you too busy chasing sheep in your gumboots?

BTW
Tuggies won Cooma Cup with half their senior side playing?

Gazzman

This is the deal

In Canberra we have 4 grades of seniors - AFL Canberra 1sts (which the Swans Reserves and 5 local clubs play in) and Reserves, and amateurs which are badged 3rd's and 4ths, but known to everyone as Canberra District 1sts and 2nds (CD1's and CD2's).

If you are in Tuggeranong, you have 3 choices.

Tuggeranong have 3 sides in 1's, ressies and a team in CD1's. Tuggies are all about club spirit and youth policy as they have no money to buy premierships like the other clubs in town. Their best players eventually get poached and they inevitably get belted every year in the lower grades as their kids are all playing in 1sts... However, if you want to play at the highest level you can and money isn't an option, this is the place to go.

Murrumbidgee have a team in CD1's and 2's but are a pack of feral inbred centrelink dwellers :D

The third option is my mob, the Woden Blues who play in CD1's. We train and play at Stirling, and love a drink as much as we love our footy. If this sounds like your idea of keeping fun footy, contact the club at wodenblues@hotmail.com
Growling,looks like your numbers are on the rise with 4 new rego,s and the same number in clearances .Does this mean that cooma will have access to good numbers ?.How many are you getting to training now and do many of the cooma boys train with you ?

Southie

We've gained a few and lost a fair few older blokes to retirement or dropping down a grade back to the Cats (but available for us if required). In this we have obviously lost a lot of experience but gained a lot of pace...

Goals for 09 are to make the finals, and long term we are hoping that a couple of young blokes who have joined the club this year enjoy themselves and stick around and become 100 game players.

The last few years we have had a team with an average age over 30 - this year we have a couple of teenagers and around 4 or 5 new blokes under 25. Its been a big boost at training and the kids seem to be enjoying it... We're getting over 20 a night on average, and some nights we have one or two Canberra based Cats, other nights up to 6 or 8. Its good for both clubs.

How's Yass looking? Have the numbers picked up?

Sorry to back-track to an ancient post, but DJ, to answer your question about 2CA, I have absolutely no idea what you're on about! So no, I wasn't the disgruntled person you're talking about! :confused: But while we're on the topic, I'll be making my radio debut on Friday 20 March on 2CC. I'll be doing a light-hearted weekly segment every Friday at 4:50pm, chatting to Mike Welsh about the AFL and local Aussie Rules. I'll probably only last one week, so the three or four listeners who tune in better make the most of it!