AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist) Part 2

Hi Juicy, yes it is very quiet. I was trying to pen a response to the last comment i was slammed on. still thinking.... I trained with yass on tuesday night and morale was very good. :). Jets v yass round one. should be good . I wonder if that may be my first official game as umpy. If so make sure you rib me enough juicy so i can work out who you are.
So tell me dj will fortune favour the brave?

We've lost a few of the veterans and a couple of younger blokes OS, and gained a couple less at this stage, but its not even Australia Day yet and we don't traditionally start training until the last week in Jan....

So ask how we look at the end of February and I'll let you know - last years R/U in the B and F didn't turn up until a fortnight before the season started! :)

Hey DJ,
As a former player who recently took up umpiring I'd strongly suggest not umpiring your old club until you've got a couple of games under your belt. The added pressure and scrutiny is something you could do without until you know a bit more about what you are doing. If you are going to have to perform in front of former teammates and friends it might be best to wait until you are more comfortable with being an umpire. Although I played 20 years of senior footy in Canberra I was surprisingly nervous before my first game. Those nerves will only be compounded if the game is also your old club.
My first game as an umpire was a shocker. I'm sure Goulburn and RMC would probably agree - and some out there might suggest I haven't improved much!!
There's not many former players umpiring in Canberra - is there anyone out there willing to join us? It's a great way to keep active and involved in footy.

Hey DJ,
As a former player who recently took up umpiring I'd strongly suggest not umpiring your old club until you've got a couple of games under your belt. The added pressure and scrutiny is something you could do without until you know a bit more about what you are doing. If you are going to have to perform in front of former teammates and friends it might be best to wait until you are more comfortable with being an umpire. Although I played 20 years of senior footy in Canberra I was surprisingly nervous before my first game. Those nerves will only be compounded if the game is also your old club.
My first game as an umpire was a shocker. I'm sure Goulburn and RMC would probably agree - and some out there might suggest I haven't improved much!!
There's not many former players umpiring in Canberra - is there anyone out there willing to join us? It's a great way to keep active and involved in footy.
Hi michael, yes i understand exactly what you are saying, I was only suggesting that because i dont have to travel, seeing i travel in everyday for work plus gigs on the weekend. dont mind where i go and i will have to be a quick learner, but i am looking forward to it.

Hey DJ, there's plenty of people on both sides of the fence that would like to see more players get into umpiring so its good to have you on board and good luck. I do however have to apologise....I thought the sledges a while back from Juicyfruit and Growling Ferret were piss funny. But I'm sure you took them in the manner they were delivered. Get used to sledges, you'll even cop it at training!! Fieldies usually give it to Boundaries, and they give it back just as well. We even have an annual grudge match between Fieldies and Boundaries at the end of the season. Anyone who witnesses those games realises why some of these guys are umpires and not players!! Ballwork drills at training can be quite a laugh.

Hey Juicy, I got an email saying you'd made a reply to me but I can't see it here. What did you want to know?

Hey DJ, there's plenty of people on both sides of the fence that would like to see more players get into umpiring so its good to have you on board and good luck. I do however have to apologise....I thought the sledges a while back from Juicyfruit and Growling Ferret were piss funny. But I'm sure you took them in the manner they were delivered. Get used to sledges, you'll even cop it at training!! Fieldies usually give it to Boundaries, and they give it back just as well. We even have an annual grudge match between Fieldies and Boundaries at the end of the season. Anyone who witnesses those games realises why some of these guys are umpires and not players!! Ballwork drills at training can be quite a laugh.

Hey Juicy, I got an email saying you'd made a reply to me but I can't see it here. What did you want to know?
micheal, he probably sent you a private message, juicy likes to hide under the covers but is like a cockroach at night. He is probably trying to offer you money to be biased towards gungahlin, just like he offered me as soon as he knew i was going to umpire. I didnt like the sneaky way he went about it, but i took the money and said i will do my best!!!!. One day juicy will slip up and we will all know who he is. :D:D:D. havent heard much from juicy fruits mother or southcab of late, must be too busy preparing for the upcoming season

Hey Juicy, back in my playing days I'd heard rumours in the mid-late 90s about Gungahlin being the next team to join ACTAFL (now Div 1 and 2). I believe there was even a five year strategic plan developed which the ACTAFL tried to fastrack to get it down to three years and have you in the comp by around 2000. Obviously the elevation to Div 1 and 2 didn't happen back then but are things on track these days? I've umpired a few of your games, but only one at your home ground which was a good size but a little exposed and sloped a bit toward the northern end. I didn't get out there last season. Have you made any improvements? Do you have a licensed club or local drinking hole to support you? You've had some success in the past few years, especially getting a few ex-Ainslie players that I played quite a few games against (are you one of those?), it would be good to see more teams in Div 1 and 2 and Gungahlin seems the logical club.

still a fair few years away from that happening i would think, not enough talent or depth their yet, but they must increase div 1 very soon, jets v sydney swans ............. mmmmm sorry jets guys but keep building and see what happens

had more time to think on that one, hopefully the jets have sacked the 4th div coach from last year or did he have enough balls to resign. I have never seen such ill discipline from a coach. It is a hard job but the body language and foal language coming from his mouth early in the game, the players didnt have a chance. The coach was a disgrace and so was the captain. Bit hard to win if the leaders are acting like that. Jets players seem totally ok to me, nice bunch of blokes, but maybe if this change has been made. might sound harsh, but jets deserve better than that as coach. good luck in 09. If you guys win div 3 and div 4 next year then maybe the next step will be decided for you. go for it
Dj i hope for your sake the weight loss program you are on also has a drug rehab,By the sounds of the above quote you are going to need it.
Didnt your mother ever tell you if you haven,t got something nice to say then dont say anything at all ? You have just put yourself on a hidding to nothing !!you must only open your mouth to change feet.Who the f are you to quote on the coaching and captaincy of a rival club to that of your own ?You know nothing of the club, such outlandish statements only back up the argument that you are the biggset loser :mad: Happy days when you come to umpire at kzo,not!!!!!!.I only hope that the leauge is smart enough to not let you umpire the jets as you have shown your true coulors towards the club and i would have to wonder if a fair decision would ever be made loser loser loser.:mad::mad::mad:

Dj i hope for your sake the weight loss program you are on also has a drug rehab,By the sounds of the above quote you are going to need it.
Didnt your mother ever tell you if you haven,t got something nice to say then dont say anything at all ? You have just put yourself on a hidding to nothing !!you must only open your mouth to change feet.Who the f are you to quote on the coaching and captaincy of a rival club to that of your own ?You know nothing of the club, such outlandish statements only back up the argument that you are the biggset loser :mad: Happy days when you come to umpire at kzo,not!!!!!!.I only hope that the leauge is smart enough to not let you umpire the jets as you have shown your true coulors towards the club and i would have to wonder if a fair decision would ever be made loser loser loser.:mad::mad::mad:
I was only stating what i saw from gf. i wished the jets all the best and have no ill feelings towards the club or any players including yourself, sorry to upset you so much

Geez youve hit a nerve there ando

Maybe youve just narrowed down his identity to either the coach or the captain:D:p
thats what i thought saint, but i dont think he could be either of those. Its sad how he can bag everyone else out but cant take any heat himself, keep hiding juicy. this statement was written after a disgruntled conversation of a no longer jets player so i wasnt just gobbing off, just one observation that i saw for myself, and yes he did get very angry about something so little.

DJ There is a difference between baging and personal attack,.Bagging is when i say i think as an umpire you will suck !!! Personal attack is when i say as an umpire i know you suck. If the statement as you say was just a comment then why did you delete it? .
Take a look at the jets website and see if you still think your comments were warranted,as you well know there is a lot that goes into making a club succesfull.To personaly attack some one over what he may or may not have done during what is the most stressfull game of the year is in my opinon grossly unfair.
Feel free to bag,sledge,or simply run amuck but you should leave the personal attacks alone .
Even more so if you intend to become a whistle blower .
Have good day Dj

DJ There is a difference between baging and personal attack,.Bagging is when i say i think as an umpire you will suck !!! Personal attack is when i say as an umpire i know you suck. If the statement as you say was just a comment then why did you delete it? .
Take a look at the jets website and see if you still think your comments were warranted,as you well know there is a lot that goes into making a club succesfull.To personaly attack some one over what he may or may not have done during what is the most stressfull game of the year is in my opinon grossly unfair.
Feel free to bag,sledge,or simply run amuck but you should leave the personal attacks alone .
Even more so if you intend to become a whistle blower .
Have good day Dj
fair enough, but the same goes for you

Not sure if this has been picked up previously. But, I was listening to the Big Sports Breakfast on 2KY this morning (Sydney station low on the FM dial, great for the morning slog to work) and was amused to hear a Goulburn listener had asked about a rumour that Tod Carney is playing for the Goulburn Swans this year. Apparently he had visa troubles o/s and can't play League here...

MG,

Jets wont step up - big fish , small pond

If Bernie had selected 4 or 5 guys who missed out on playing reserves BMFC would have trounced them in GF. But he selected his mates ahead of talent

BMFC 1s Vs Jets - 45.32 to 0.1:thumbsu:

long way off yet -;)

Not sure if this has been picked up previously. But, I was listening to the Big Sports Breakfast on 2KY this morning (Sydney station low on the FM dial, great for the morning slog to work) and was amused to hear a Goulburn listener had asked about a rumour that Tod Carney is playing for the Goulburn Swans this year. Apparently he had visa troubles o/s and can't play League here...

Yeah, just like Joel Smith, Shane Crawford and Nathan Thompson playing for Yass and Tadhg Kennelly playing for Woden...
maybe the league should look to a yass/goulburn merger for the next div 1 team with players like that running around !!!!!

MG,

Jets wont step up - big fish , small pond

If Bernie had selected 4 or 5 guys who missed out on playing reserves BMFC would have trounced them in GF. But he selected his mates ahead of talent

BMFC 1s Vs Jets - 45.32 to 0.1:thumbsu:

long way off yet -;)

Mate, if your Auntie had balls she'd be your uncle as well.

Picking a GF side is never going to be easy. Do you pick blokes who played in the districts grades all year (a side that only lost one or two games) or do you pick blokes who are dropping down from reserves, have played maybe one or two games in districts and when asked directly by the coach said that they would prefer not to play as they didn't feel comfortable taking the spot of someone who had been there all year.

Bern made the decision to pick blokes who had played the majority of the year in districts, had done the job all year and had beaten Gungahlin 3 times during the year rather than stacking his side with blokes from a higher grade. I don't even know how much difference they would have made. Jets wanted it more in the second half and so it turned out. That's footy sometimes.

I reckon if you've still got a problem with it 5 months on from the day you might want to have a word to Bern about it directly. He's down training with us and I'm sure he'd be happy to discuss it with you personally if you make yourself known to him.

Cheers
Ugg

Training must be back into full swing and everyone too knackered to get on here to sledge each other. After the heat of last week I wouldn't be surprised to hear half the AFL playing community had died from heatstroke! Madness!
Either that or the interweb connection to Yass has been cut. :D
So, what are the various teams doing as far as practice matches go?
I know about the Cooma knockout comp and apparently there's one out at Temora (don't know if any Div 3 or 4 teams are going to that one though).