• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist) Part 2

Backing up again. Doliver will go well, already installing a bit more of a serious approach to footy. Rick has runs on the board, that 98 season, Wildcats would of won the league.....if we had of entered an indoor soccer team.

Hey Jerk, I hear Ego's back from Cambodia is he going to play for the Blues or play Masters with Skuta?
In-fact why don't the Blues start their own Masters team. lol(your a lol)

Hey Jerk, I hear Ego's back from Cambodia is he going to play for the Blues or play Masters with Skuta?
In-fact why don't the Blues start their own Masters team. lol(your a lol)

You Are!

Yep seems eggo is playing blues, hasnt been to training yet but has already racked up about 40 I,I,I's and 20 Me,Me, Me's

Dj ,Only saint i got told yesterday that you have lost 8 players from your grand final side .I heard that both forans want be playing along with Chriss dawes.:D
Care to tell us who are the other 5 ?

Hey juicy yes we are losing a few.knew about b foran but m foran may still play apparently but not exactly sure.french and cox are moving on to easlake i think. woldnt have a clue about swinger.

one thing i can tell you is that dj has been training the house down for his umpiring debut hes lost something like 15 kgs. if only he was that commited to training when he was playing for the roos:p:p

Hey juicy yes we are losing a few.knew about b foran but m foran may still play apparently but not exactly sure.french and cox are moving on to easlake i think. woldnt have a clue about swinger.

one thing i can tell you is that dj has been training the house down for his umpiring debut hes lost something like 15 kgs. if only he was that commited to training when he was playing for the roos:p:p

LMAO because he knows how much running he HAS to do now...

DJ as an umpire you are going to get career high possessions every game :p
Well done on the weight loss and good luck with the umpiring mate :thumbsu:

LMAO because he knows how much running he HAS to do now...

DJ as an umpire you are going to get career high possessions every game :p
Well done on the weight loss and good luck with the umpiring mate :thumbsu:
im not sure if that is a compliment or not. not quite 15 kg yet, 12.6 after 5 weeks,17 kgs to go, maybe i will be to fit to umpire and have to play again. Juicy yes we have lost a few but also picking up a few so should still be a strong side this year. How are the jets shaping up, and long haul .... where have you been?
:thumbsu:

im not sure if that is a compliment or not. not quite 15 kg yet, 12.6 after 5 weeks,17 kgs to go, maybe i will be to fit to umpire and have to play again. Juicy yes we have lost a few but also picking up a few so should still be a strong side this year. How are the jets shaping up, and long haul .... where have you been?

12.6 after 5 weeks is still pretty impressive.. It will plateau after a while but you should be near your goal weight by then.

Mate I have been flat out doing nothing lol... I have beenwatching the forums every now and then... not a lot to say though :thumbsu:

The jets are just fine dj training is going well,is it true yass dont start untill the end of the month ?
If what im hearing is rite the roos will need you to play rather then umpire as the way i hear it numbers are far worse then first thought.

How did you and longhaul become so paly ? :D

The jets are just fine dj training is going well,is it true yass dont start untill the end of the month ?
If what im hearing is rite the roos will need you to play rather then umpire as the way i hear it numbers are far worse then first thought.

so who exactly do you hear these things from.are the jets up or down on numbers also how are other clubs shaping up, like goulburn cooma etc..

From one of your grand final players, and just for the record mr vp he tells me that you will missing 12 players and you are in trouble as far as numbers go.
It will be a real pitty if you dont have the numbers to make you competitive as it was a good comp last year as far as the top four went anyway.:D

Pals? Mate there was never any real animosity between us :p maybe slight misunderstanding which was sorted out in private :thumbsu:

Have you always played for the Jets Juicy?

From one of your grand final players, and just for the record mr vp he tells me that you will missing 12 players and you are in trouble as far as numbers go.
It will be a real pitty if you dont have the numbers to make you competitive as it was a good comp last year as far as the top four went anyway.:D
well i couldnt tell you exactly how many arent returning and yes there are a few that i know of wont know until training starts and the next meeting is held but we will be doing everything we can to be there at the pointy end of the season

So, the thread has disintegrated into the "weight watchers forum" of a fat old ex footballer who has lost any credibility he had by becoming an umpire:D (Ando, that was a joke mate, please don't get all upset and write a reply).

I guess most teams will be starting their pre seasons in the coming weeks. I have heard a bit about Cooma (and Woden?) organising a pre season carnival in Cooma. Can anyone provide more details? It would be good to help the Cooma boys out a bit with some good support and representation by the Canberra based clubs.

Any other pre season news? Has ANU appointed a coach yet? Has Hilly put a media ban on himself? All this talk about Yass losing numbers - I hope not. Can the Jets do 4 in a row, and what is this I hear of aiming for teams in ACTAFL 1s 2s as well as CD teams in 2011? Good luck with it Jets, it is a step in the right direction for AFL in Canberra, lets hope the plan gets good support from everyone!

Belco had some good numbers at training on Monday, couple of new faces mixed with the old. Is there anyone from Ainslie on this thread? How are you guys looking numbers wise? Would be good to see a more competitive Ainslie in 2009.

Bring on Round 1 already!!!!

yes we start then, but i think the key to a div 4 premiership is to time your run, we started late last year and i dont think we even had a practice match, maybe the jets went too hard too early or something like that, not going to play at this stage juicy so you will have to put up with me umpiring, as for long haul, i didnt think we were enemies.

No practice matches for you this year either dj,Wats the go with moving your first home game of the year to the rmc ground against bidgee.

Will you be umpiring yass games ?
Longhaul the answer to your question is no.

No practice matches for you this year either dj,Wats the go with moving your first home game of the year to the rmc ground against bidgee.

Will you be umpiring yass games ?
Longhaul the answer to your question is no.
Havent even looked at the draw yet, not sure about that one. I have spoken to the umpire coach and yes i will umpire yass games, I have requested to do as many yass home games, because i travel into canberra everyday for work and also dj gigs so not having to travel in again would suit me, plus they have trouble getting umps to come out to yass and have to pay travel, so i think it makes sense, dont worry I will be fair, I may also travel to coota and goulburn and will do games in canberra when i have to.

...dont worry I will be fair...

I bet that's what the Cootamundra umpires said too... ;)

To be fair, the best umpiring we had all last year was the first quarter in a game when the umpires didn't turn up until quarter time so we just got a bloke from each side to do the job!
So maybe each club getting a couple of blokes to pull on the orange shirt to officiate with someone from the opposing side isn't such a bad idea. Would make the league a bit of a joke though I suppose, if they couldn't even provide neutral umpires each week... Scrap that idea...

To be fair, the best umpiring we had all last year was the first quarter in a game when the umpires didn't turn up until quarter time so we just got a bloke from each side to do the job!
So maybe each club getting a couple of blokes to pull on the orange shirt to officiate with someone from the opposing side isn't such a bad idea. Would make the league a bit of a joke though I suppose, if they couldn't even provide neutral umpires each week... Scrap that idea...

Was that against us? Because I remember either early last season or the one before we had none turn up till half time out at Jamison. It went well because the umpies generally let the game flow. There were a couple of really good umpires running around last year though. The blokes at Coota who make up their own rules are not in that category though!

Was that against us? Because I remember either early last season or the one before we had none turn up till half time out at Jamison. It went well because the umpies generally let the game flow...

That was the one. Was it half time they showed up? Maybe it was, but only felt like a quarter because the game flowed so much better than usual and wasn't being held up by d!ckwads trying to be over officious all the time.

I have heard a bit about Cooma (and Woden?) organising a pre season carnival in Cooma. Can anyone provide more details? It would be good to help the Cooma boys out a bit with some good support and representation by the Canberra based clubs.

For info - here is some info about the preseason carnival

Cooma Show Ground
Cromwell Street
COOMA NSW 2630

Date
28th February 2009
Time 10 am

Minimum 3 games played

Prize
1st $600.00
2nd $300.00

After the game
Presentation of Cup and Trophy

Function
Back at Coffey’s for dinner and drinks
6 Short Street
COOMA NSW 2630

no seriously shanefos, nothing worse than a biased umpie trust me i have been on the wrong end of quite a few. Some of the twats i have come across over my career were using the whistle to gain some feeling of control or something or have something to prove... I have nothing to prove and no sour grapes to any players or clubs, all i want to do is still have a run around and stay amongst footy, and hopefully in the process do a good job with the whistle. maybe i might start with the cooma comp, that sounds like a good carnival, just needs a lot of clubs to commit and $600 buys a lot of beer

Perhaps you can shed some light on the looming "umpire crisis", DJ?
Are you training in Canberra? What are numbers like?
I have spoken to umpire coach and he sent an email, training starts soon i think, i have no ideas on numbers but he did say they lost heaps 2 years ago so numbers are not great, perhaps if i lose the other 15kg i might be able to do double headers!!. will let you know more when i find out. Does anyone have any contact details for whoever is organising cooma carnival

I'd like to know which teams are playing in the Cooma carnival! Is it open to anyone? Also is it possible for other comps teams to come down and have a crack? I know there used to be a carnival in Dubbo that atracted big dollars and had some pretty impressive teams show up. I know the cooma one isn't huge dollars but it'd be nice to have some more teams in it.