AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist) Part 2

Mate, if your Auntie had balls she'd be your uncle as well.

Picking a GF side is never going to be easy. Do you pick blokes who played in the districts grades all year (a side that only lost one or two games) or do you pick blokes who are dropping down from reserves, have played maybe one or two games in districts and when asked directly by the coach said that they would prefer not to play as they didn't feel comfortable taking the spot of someone who had been there all year.

Bern made the decision to pick blokes who had played the majority of the year in districts, had done the job all year and had beaten Gungahlin 3 times during the year rather than stacking his side with blokes from a higher grade. I don't even know how much difference they would have made. Jets wanted it more in the second half and so it turned out. That's footy sometimes.

I reckon if you've still got a problem with it 5 months on from the day you might want to have a word to Bern about it directly. He's down training with us and I'm sure he'd be happy to discuss it with you personally if you make yourself known to him.

Cheers
Ugg

Anyone looking in from the outside can see that Bern didn't pick the right team. One bloke wasn't comfortable with taking a spot. As for the others Bern didn't pick them cos they aren't his mates, end of story.

Bern's about as stubborn as they come, no point trying to reason with the bloke. He picked his mates he lost the grand final, what an idiot.

Anyone looking in from the outside can see that Bern didn't pick the right team. One bloke wasn't comfortable with taking a spot. As for the others Bern didn't pick them cos they aren't his mates, end of story.

Bern's about as stubborn as they come, no point trying to reason with the bloke. He picked his mates he lost the grand final, what an idiot.

Maybe the players who had been with side all year had something to say about guys dropping back just to win a flag. How much would it have meant to players who had been up all year to come down and win a flag with guys they barely know? Not much at all, it would be like winning a touch football comp. Empty because you haven’t worked hard with your team mate i.e. pre-season and general training all year. They weren’t there when we slogged out tough wins to be where we were. Don’t get me wrong the players who weren’t picked are my mates but I was glad we ran out with the side that got us there.

Just for the record every player in that side are Bernie's mates.

What players are you talking about mate?? which ones just made the side cause they were his mates??

Maybe the players who had been with side all year had something to say about guys dropping back just to win a flag. How much would it have meant to players who had been up all year to come down and win a flag with guys they barely know? Not much at all, it would be like winning a touch football comp. Empty because you haven’t worked hard with your team mate i.e. pre-season and general training all year. They weren’t there when we slogged out tough wins to be where we were. Don’t get me wrong the players who weren’t picked are my mates but I was glad we ran out with the side that got us there.

Just for the record every player in that side are Bernie's mates.

Beans,

I always thought that sports clubs , no matter what sport you played were designed to select your best players on merit of talent for 1sts then 2nds then 3rds etc... etc...

If our club was fortunate enough to have limited injuries late in the year and around GF time then sorry it should be case of selecting talent over friendships.

There were some devastated guys who missed plaing in a GF so a thirds premiership would have softened the blow.

We are supposed to be one club - people in lower grades need to accept that those who strive to play higher and commitment levels are higher deserve to be treated better:(

Beans,

I always thought that sports clubs , no matter what sport you played were designed to select your best players on merit of talent for 1sts then 2nds then 3rds etc... etc...

If our club was fortunate enough to have limited injuries late in the year and around GF time then sorry it should be case of selecting talent over friendships.

There were some devastated guys who missed plaing in a GF so a thirds premiership would have softened the blow.

We are supposed to be one club - people in lower grades need to accept that those who strive to play higher and commitment levels are higher deserve to be treated better:(

Hey guys,

I followed this thread for a long time but this is my first time posting on here.

BRK,

What are you actually trying to say?? that because you play higher your a better person or that you deserve more oppurtunity's??

What about blokes who are just as commited to their side if not more commited because they make the choice to stay down a grade to play for their 'TEAM', at finals time you should just drop these blokes that have played most of the games all season for their team. Thats possibly the worst idea ive ever heard, something they might think at Ainsle for instance.

I played in last years 3rd grade GF for belconnen and i can not think of 21 other blokes i would of rathered to step on that feild with that day, win loose or draw. Thats what playing CD football is about, its not about bringing in ringers that might have just qualified for 3rds.

If i were you i would consider dropping this argument and maybe slipping in an apology to Bernie as he was a fantastic Coach all year and deserves more respect than you are giving him.

Hey guys,

I followed this thread for a long time but this is my first time posting on here.

BRK,

What are you actually trying to say?? that because you play higher your a better person or that you deserve more oppurtunity's??

What about blokes who are just as commited to their side if not more commited because they make the choice to stay down a grade to play for their 'TEAM', at finals time you should just drop these blokes that have played most of the games all season for their team. Thats possibly the worst idea ive ever heard, something they might think at Ainsle for instance.

I played in last years 3rd grade GF for belconnen and i can not think of 21 other blokes i would of rathered to step on that feild with that day, win loose or draw. Thats what playing CD football is about, its not about bringing in ringers that might have just qualified for 3rds.

If i were you i would consider dropping this argument and maybe slipping in an apology to Bernie as he was a fantastic Coach all year and deserves more respect than you are giving him.

Mate the point he was making is that the entire club is ONE team. Stop thinking of yourself as exclusive. 3rd grade benefit from 2nd graders getting dropped all year, this is the advantage in having teams above you in the senior ranks. Then when it comes time to make some hard decisions about less talented players during finals time bernie didn't have the guts to do it. He let down the CLUB. I'm glad the current third grade coach took some time down at pre-christmas training :)eek: that's right pre-christmas, this is around the time you boys are sinking piss 7 days a week) to see the amount of work that players pushing for seniors put in.

Put yourself in the shoes of the blokes that didn't get to play a single final at all grand, semi or prelim... And now think about the extra time they put into their footy every week.

If you don't want to have this worry go play for ANU or gungahlin where you can be the big fish in a small pond without premier sides above you. If you wanna play for a division one team which has premier division teams above it then you have to expect that players will get dropped whether it be round 1 or grand final day.

Mate the point he was making is that the entire club is ONE team. Stop thinking of yourself as exclusive. 3rd grade benefit from 2nd graders getting dropped all year, this is the advantage in having teams above you in the senior ranks. Then when it comes time to make some hard decisions about less talented players during finals time bernie didn't have the guts to do it. He let down the CLUB. I'm glad the current third grade coach took some time down at pre-christmas training :)eek: that's right pre-christmas, this is around the time you boys are sinking piss 7 days a week) to see the amount of work that players pushing for seniors put in.

Put yourself in the shoes of the blokes that didn't get to play a single final at all grand, semi or prelim... And now think about the extra time they put into their footy every week.

If you don't want to have this worry go play for ANU or gungahlin where you can be the big fish in a small pond without premier sides above you. If you wanna play for a division one team which has premier division teams above it then you have to expect that players will get dropped whether it be round 1 or grand final day.

Bam,

Thanks for the advice on clubmanship, although the whole idea of going on a public forum to bad mouth club legends at your own club does seem to be a pretty sh!t way to voice your outrage, And as a person that has attended pre-christmas training (this might give away my identity but i dont really care) i understand what is going on from both points of view and what i am saying is that people playing third put just as much into their football emotionally and physically as someone playing 1st grade.

Maybe if the club had a bit more respect for people playing third grade they would also be happy to play in higher up grades which most if not all of third grade last year had the ability to do. However we are under new management and things are looking great for a new season in 2009, maybe it will even lead to you guys having to spend less on kleenex's in september.

Bam,

Thanks for the advice on clubmanship, although the whole idea of going on a public forum to bad mouth club legends at your own club does seem to be a pretty sh!t way to voice your outrage, And as a person that has attended pre-christmas training (this might give away my identity but i dont really care) i understand what is going on from both points of view and what i am saying is that people playing third put just as much into their football emotionally and physically as someone playing 1st grade.

Maybe if the club had a bit more respect for people playing third grade they would also be happy to play in higher up grades which most if not all of third grade last year had the ability to do. However we are under new management and things are looking great for a new season in 2009, maybe it will even lead to you guys having to spend less on kleenex's in september.

Funny line...

I certainly appreciate that everyone puts a lot into their footy. And i agree things certainly are looking good for the new year.

Bam,

hi steve and all others who have a secret identity, if you bag out people or clubs and remain unknown, i think that is weak. If you have the balls to make a big comment then how bout backing it up with your true identity, something to hide or gutless. I have made a few remarks but i have never hidden who i am. speaking of hiding behind their name.... where is juicy fruit, who is juicy fruit and by the sounds of things juicy is not as popular as he thinks..... be careful juicy. also to stevo an apology from a previous post, i blabbed your name but it was a case of mistaken identity, completely wrong person, i made a mistake and owned up to it. while we are at it how about we concentrate on this year and forget last year. if people think umpiring is hard you should try coaching. you need to be a friend an enemy a physchologist a teacher a prick a nice bloke and a role model to families and friends. Before you think a coach has done something wrong, have a go and see how hard it is. go hawks

We are 7 weeks of the 2009 season and there are way too many people still on about last season (which ended after Grand final). Time for a lot of people to go to bunnings, buy a can of toughen the f*&k up and get over it.

Come on Jerkster - its funny seeing Belco boys bickering like kiddies...

Shanefos - how are the boys coming along under Quinny as coach? Have some of the fossils given it away, or are Tuanie and Joel getting one more year out of the legs?

3GM - will we see you back as a 3GM, or are you and Skip going to bludge in 4's getting cheap kicks?

Hilly and Boof - what's news from the Cauldron aka Needlestick Park?

Any Harman boys read this? Surely Rowdy is a lurker...

Who have the Jets recruited? Raided Ainslies reserves again or are the first batch of 18's coming through the system?

hi steve and all others who have a secret identity, if you bag out people or clubs and remain unknown, i think that is weak. If you have the balls to make a big comment then how bout backing it up with your true identity, something to hide or gutless. I have made a few remarks but i have never hidden who i am. speaking of hiding behind their name.... where is juicy fruit, who is juicy fruit and by the sounds of things juicy is not as popular as he thinks..... be careful juicy. also to stevo an apology from a previous post, i blabbed your name but it was a case of mistaken identity, completely wrong person, i made a mistake and owned up to it. while we are at it how about we concentrate on this year and forget last year. if people think umpiring is hard you should try coaching. you need to be a friend an enemy a physchologist a teacher a prick a nice bloke and a role model to families and friends. Before you think a coach has done something wrong, have a go and see how hard it is. go hawks

DJ, I think these guys have put the lovers tiff you and Juicy have been having here to shame:) Speaking of Juicy, I did PM him to see if he would give me an indication of who he really was, as I still dont think he has anything to do with the Jets. The only reply I got was "you know who I am" speaking to some Jets no-one can pinpoint the real person hiding behind a false name. Heywood J you out there and care to add to this?

I think he has gone into hiding, perhaps we will find him in a cave or a hole with an overgrown hair and beard just like sadaam hassain. I think the real jets guys are sick of the crap he is saying and are trying to find out who he is. On another matter, i have been asked by kiwi g at 104.7 to do the afl canberra preview/review on balls n all again this year. I told him i will be umpiring this year so not sure if it will be a conflict of interest. I think it would be funny to have an umpire doing the preview. I doubt i will be umpiring div 1 or 2 so i think it should be ok. what are everyones thoughts, especially michael gosier. or maybe i could use my alias name dj ando so no one will no who i am .... ha ha ha.

Shanefos - how are the boys coming along under Quinny as coach? Have some of the fossils given it away, or are Tuanie and Joel getting one more year out of the legs?

GF, I only dragged my sorry carcass to training for the first time on Tuesday.
Numbers are looking very, very good for ANU at this time of year with a lot of new faces and Quinny and Kirky are doing a great job getting the squad up and running (literally). Great enthusiasm amongst the boys so early in the year (which all began with big numbers attending pre-pre-season training before Christmas!!!) and we're looking at increasing those numbers once uni starts back in earnest.
Haven't heard what the old blokes are doing yet, but knowing those two they'll wander in come round one and tear it up like they always do.

Come on Jerkster - its funny seeing Belco boys bickering like kiddies...

3GM - will we see you back as a 3GM, or are you and Skip going to bludge in 4's getting cheap kicks?

Hilly and Boof - what's news from the Cauldron aka Needlestick Park?

Any Harman boys read this? Surely Rowdy is a lurker...

Who have the Jets recruited? Raided Ainslies reserves again or are the first batch of 18's coming through the system?

Hey GF,

Unfortunately 3GM and Skip have both failed to see the writing on the wall and have chosen not to retire. Seeing as they are both too old, fat and slow to even be considered for 3's, they will both be going round in 4's again. As for cheap kicks, I would think they would both just be happy getting any kicks they can :eek:.

Lovers tiff give yourself an uppercut 2old i cant believe you and dick jerker are communicating now what next .There is a chance you will be thrown out of the jets membership leauge for befriending him.
Heywood j also sent me a pm showing me the error of my way so i thought id pull my head in a bit.
Thats why ive been a little quite id like nothing more than to stick it to dj every time he opens he,s big fat mouth ,believe me :D:D.
Now the real question can anybody from yass confirm or deny that you want have the numbers this year? Rumor has it that there have been no more than 6 players at pre season training .

Lovers tiff give yourself an uppercut 2old i cant believe you and dick jerker are communicating now what next .There is a chance you will be thrown out of the jets membership leauge for befriending him.
Heywood j also sent me a pm showing me the error of my way so i thought id pull my head in a bit.
Thats why ive been a little quite id like nothing more than to stick it to dj every time he opens he,s big fat mouth ,believe me :D:D.
Now the real question can anybody from yass confirm or deny that you want have the numbers this year? Rumor has it that there have been no more than 6 players at pre season training .
you are so full of shit juicy, no one at the jets knows you or likes you, must be nice to be hated by your so called team, let me know who you are and i will gladly shut your mouth for you , you gutless prick. as for numbers at yass well i went to the first few weeks and their was 26 the first night, we struggled for numbers all last year but still won the flag you idiot. Probably wont be as strong this year but will still be amongst it. Be a man and come out of your hole or dig it deeper and bury yourself, we will all be better off.

Ill take that under advisment and get back to you dick jerker,Seems as though you cant count either another of your trades i suggest, as i done a drive by on thursday evening and counted the grand total of 4 players yes 4 add to that cab and the desperate fellow leaning on the fence drinking stubbies and there was half a dozen.I also no for fact that your canberra connection want be playing for yass this year either.Now no one out at zimmer land will lose sleep over yass not having enough players but it dosn,t look good for the comp with yass being the easy beats again.New complex no players makes perfect sense to me:D:D As for no,one liking me at jet land we must have something in common after all.

I think he has gone into hiding, perhaps we will find him in a cave or a hole with an overgrown hair and beard just like sadaam hassain. I think the real jets guys are sick of the crap he is saying and are trying to find out who he is. On another matter, i have been asked by kiwi g at 104.7 to do the afl canberra preview/review on balls n all again this year. I told him i will be umpiring this year so not sure if it will be a conflict of interest. I think it would be funny to have an umpire doing the preview. I doubt i will be umpiring div 1 or 2 so i think it should be ok. what are everyones thoughts, especially michael gosier. or maybe i could use my alias name dj ando so no one will no who i am .... ha ha ha.

DJ,

based on your posts which seem to come from a 13 year old about to choke the chicken for the first time:eek: , I m not sure you are the best person to talk about afl canberra on the radio!!

Mabye you should handover to ABH who seems to know everything about anything in AFL canberra :D

and you are umpiring this year?? impartial ?? i dont think so:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Ill take that under advisment and get back to you dick jerker,Seems as though you cant count either another of your trades i suggest, as i done a drive by on thursday evening and counted the grand total of 4 players yes 4 add to that cab and the desperate fellow leaning on the fence drinking stubbies and there was half a dozen.I also no for fact that your canberra connection want be playing for yass this year either.Now no one out at zimmer land will lose sleep over yass not having enough players but it dosn,t look good for the comp with yass being the easy beats again.New complex no players makes perfect sense to me:D:D As for no,one liking me at jet land we must have something in common after all.
i said their was 26 on the first night , maybe their was only 4 last thursday, i wasnt there so i dont know. I have a pretty good idea of who you are now, and now it all makes sense, your an idiot behind your alias name and yet a bigger idiot in real life... keep it up juicy
as for you knowing for a fact that the canberra connection wont be playing then i guess you know more than the players involved. They dont know where they will be playing yet so how would you. ????

i said their was 26 on the first night , maybe their was only 4 last thursday, i wasnt there so i dont know. I have a pretty good idea of who you are now, and now it all makes sense, your an idiot behind your alias name and yet a bigger idiot in real life... keep it up juicy
as for you knowing for a fact that the canberra connection wont be playing then i guess you know more than the players involved. They dont know where they will be playing yet so how would you. ????
Jerker let me just clarify what i meant about canberra connection i speack of ramsy and mowbray .If i confused you than good my job is done !!!:D

they let us know they wouldnt be back next year grand final night. thanks for the update. I just got 16 pms asking who you are.. maybe time to change your identity. juicy fruit is something that people chew on then spit out or worse still swallow and shit it out in a few weeks. i guess your nickname is very suitable
p.s how about you learn to spell or use a spell checker you nutter

So where are Ramsay and Mowbray playing next year DJ or aren't they playing at all? Mowbray is certainly handy and did a fair bit of damage to us in the Prelim last year - would be a handy pick up for anyone.

I know Frenchy has gone to Eastlake, has anyone else gone/gone back to Canberra sides this year that you're aware of.

So where are Ramsay and Mowbray playing next year DJ or aren't they playing at all? Mowbray is certainly handy and did a fair bit of damage to us in the Prelim last year - would be a handy pick up for anyone.

I know Frenchy has gone to Eastlake, has anyone else gone/gone back to Canberra sides this year that you're aware of.

not sure if they are playing anywhere pie, mowbs hurt his knee pretty bad in finals and they were both talking retirement, both very handy players. I think coxy was going to eastlake with frenchy. dont know of any others heading to canberra. a good thing came out of us winning gf. last year we battled to field 1 under 10,s combined age side and this year we are looking like having under 12 under 10 and 8 s . are you playing again this year