AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist)

Yass are taking some pretty damned good form into their extended break!
They'll be cheering - to have the extra week to get any of their blokes with niggling injuries right for the remainder of the season - and will be pretty confident of finishing the home-and-away season undefeated.
Then again, two weekends with no game, they might just drop a bit of the form they've been building up and come out flat come Round 16...

Someone must be doing a very good job out at Yass, they have improved near every year since coming into the competition. Will they have the numbers to put 2 teams in the CD comp in the next few years?

With Qbn and hoggs they can ask a few players to play up but it is still up to the player to say yes or no it has happenend in the past but players have played both games since we normally play on a sat and qbn on sun

Someone must be doing a very good job out at Yass, they have improved near every year since coming into the competition. Will they have the numbers to put 2 teams in the CD comp in the next few years?

Ainslie & Yass are talking affiliation, hope it doesn't happen but money talks......:(

Its not so much one person out at Yass thats building the team,
if you look at the playing list and the coaching staff 90% of the players have been there for a while now so when that happens with the potential of most of the players things click.

Surely it could only be good for the league if Yass affiliate with Ainslie. Hopefully it will make Ainslies 3 division more competitive and it gives the young Yass players a team to move up into if they want to improve their football.

I'm all for it. It all depends if the players are happy to travel to Canberra every weekend to play a match for Ainslie in 3rd div or premier divisions.

Afiliations do work but it needs to be a two way process not just the Premier league sucking the District teams dry of all their good players. We don't see often enough players that are coming back from injury or are slightly out of form get dropped back to District sides from premier division within the past afiliations.

Surely it could only be good for the league if Yass affiliate with Ainslie. Hopefully it will make Ainslies 3 division more competitive and it gives the young Yass players a team to move up into if they want to improve their football.

I'm all for it. It all depends if the players are happy to travel to Canberra every weekend to play a match for Ainslie in 3rd div or premier divisions.

Afiliations do work but it needs to be a two way process not just the Premier league sucking the District teams dry of all their good players. We don't see often enough players that are coming back from injury or are slightly out of form get dropped back to District sides from premier division within the past afiliations.
Yass would dearly love to stand alone .The problem is player numbers while numbers are good this year the list is getting on as well.Players from a c t dont want to go to yass to train let alone play once a fourtnight ainslie seemed the only option and thats no disrespect to ainslie who have been very good during talks about affilation.Ive heard several players from the current yass side want to have a crack at a higher grade of footy so good on them for offering to make that ainslie and thus allowing ainslie players to drop back and bolster the ranks i only hope it sits well if infact it happens with those ainslie players that are asked to play for yass.Anywon got any other ideas.

Looking at the results from the two comps one would think a straight swap Ainslie players play in the yass jumpers and vice versa seems this year the yass boys would be competitive in the 1's.

I would like to see Yass stand alone. It is obviously easier to say this with the current successful situation they are in, but I think it is also important as a community.

In general, it is a great challenge for opposing teams to travel to these small towns and play in front of a local (and generally parochial) crowd that is made up of the people from the township, from the players' relatives, to the past players and even the local sponsors like the publican! I worry that if you get an outside organisation (whether it be Ainslie or whoever) with their external cash and priorities, you could potentially lose the community spirit involved with the game.

As BigHill has mentioned, this will be affected a lot by the agreement that the clubs come to terms with. I hope that Yass can survive on their own, and not have to rely on a Canberra based club.

Looking at the results from the two comps one would think a straight swap Ainslie players play in the yass jumpers and vice versa seems this year the yass boys would be competitive in the 1's.
Hey dead eye dick i think that mite be how the attraction to anislie got started with there side under acheiving and yass maybe over acheiving a little .

Southcab, my concern in your message is that if Ainslie players don't want to travel to Yass and the current Yass senior players want to have a crack at a higher grade (which is fair enough) you will be short of players for Yass in the next year or 2. If Yass are not doing the development and recruitment work locally anyway you have short term future as you can surely not be relying on Ainslie. Whatever money Ainslie are going to tip in will prove very cheap if Yass fold and their players automatically go to Ainslie.

Affiliations should be about the top or bottom end fringe players from each Club continuing to have an opportunity to play, up or down a grade, not the long term survival of a club. I say good luck with the affiliation for the 2-3 players a week that might benefit by moving up or down grades but do not rely on it for future of your club. :confused:

Southcab, my concern in your message is that if Ainslie players don't want to travel to Yass and the current Yass senior players want to have a crack at a higher grade (which is fair enough) you will be short of players for Yass in the next year or 2. If Yass are not doing the development and recruitment work locally anyway you have short term future as you can surely not be relying on Ainslie. Whatever money Ainslie are going to tip in will prove very cheap if Yass fold and their players automatically go to Ainslie.

Affiliations should be about the top or bottom end fringe players from each Club continuing to have an opportunity to play, up or down a grade, not the long term survival of a club. I say good luck with the affiliation for the 2-3 players a week that might benefit by moving up or down grades but do not rely on it for future of your club. :confused:
Snidely thanks for the feedback yass are doing everything possible to develope jnrs problem is being only a small town with limited numbers we keep losing them to other act clubs 2 yrs ago yass had an affilation with the jets jnrs but that fell over when the jets had sufficent numbers of there own so lots of yass juniors now play for belco and thats a place they want return from.Yass have a development officer and auskick no,s are huge but without sufficent numbers in certain age groups yass lose them to act or leauge.It has certainly helped with the seniors enjoying some success jnrs are encouraged to come along to seniors training which several do then they go off and play for belco on weekends.As far as money goes that has nothing to do with affiliation talks and it has to be said that yass have approached ainslie not the other way personaly i dont care where the affilation goes i just want footy to survive in yass a few people have worked very hard for the 7 years yass have been in the comp.Yass will be looking for a new coach next year and i dont know how they will attract a coach from act without some sort of alignment.And as for the two or three yass players that go onto play higher grade next year they will go anyway some have already been spoken to by clubs other then ainslie i think it shows great loyalty by those who have infact been developed in yass to allow themselves to be used as bargaining chips so that those who follow can still play footy.Lastely dont you support cooma who have an affiliation with woden .

Div 3:
ANU
Belconnen
Woden
Harman

Div 4:
ANU
Goulburn
Gungahlin (but not by much! Don't envy the Jets this weekend - heading to the aptly named Snowy Oval!!!)
Belconnen

Obviously, with ADFA apparently forfeiting, I haven't bothered to tip their games.
Even if they were to go ahead, ADFA wouldn't have won either game V Gungahlin or V Yass.

Lastely dont you support cooma who have an affiliation with woden .

Cheers southcab.
Look all the best to Yass, I hope they do well this year and continue to do well in future. My comments are concerns going forward not critcism of the current or past. But regardless I want to see yass survive in whatever entity it can. You never know with a bit of success, the juniors may build over next couple of years and with a bit of league development support, who knows? Is AFL played at school in Yass?

The Cooma/Woden arrangement seems purely about sharing players to suit each other but it has helped Cooma out in struggle times. I am not sure there is much there about funds or anything further than a random weekly arrangement. It works for both clubs.

Hog + Qbn seems to have had a good relationship history, lots of player crossover but injuries are hurting now with players going up to fill holes.

Bidgee + Hawks ended in failure after some player sharing. Was there a money issue here as well?

And Bidgee + Wildcats, well who knows what happened there.

Is there anyone else?

Well the Bidge and Hawks was a failure because it was always going to be a one way street for the Hawks and they wouldn't pay the sponsorship fees to the Bidge. They still owe the Bidge $6K in payments but that's all lost in the hawks dept soup. Here's how to run a good club into the ground thanks to the useless ran committee of Tuggeranong.

And the Bidge and Wildcats failure was all to do with lack of senior player numbers and poor performances on the field. Plenty of sponsorship money but no team to play with. There was a large amount of passion in the club and committee but needed to find another dozen committed players. If the players from Tassie came last year as planned it would be a different story this year. they had 6 quality players lined up and they all got home sick or injured before coming over pre-season 08.

Cheers southcab.
Look all the best to Yass, I hope they do well this year and continue to do well in future. My comments are concerns going forward not critcism of the current or past. But regardless I want to see yass survive in whatever entity it can. You never know with a bit of success, the juniors may build over next couple of years and with a bit of league development support, who knows? Is AFL played at school in Yass?
Snidely never took your comments as critcism was thankfull for the reply.In answer to your question yass now play afl in the primary schools infact they play in the Archer cup and as of next year im told the highschool is putting together a side should be great good luck on the weekend for whoever you support or play for.

The Cooma / Woden arrangement does not have any financial cross over whatsoever - it is purely a player sharing arrangement. Cooma have $ and 20 players - Woden have no coin but 42 guys on the books. Its turned out to be a very good arrangement for both clubs over the course of the last 18 months, and we're hoping it will grow in future years.

We will be hitting the League up for double headers next year.

There was even talk the other day into moving a Blues home game to the Cattery in 09 to tie in with a function to raise funds for both clubs.

The question is - who wants to come to Cooma for a club double away bus trip/Saturday night poker tournament and make the booziest weekend of them all?

The Cooma / Woden arrangement does not have any financial cross over whatsoever - it is purely a player sharing arrangement. Cooma have $ and 20 players - Woden have no coin but 42 guys on the books. Its turned out to be a very good arrangement for both clubs over the course of the last 18 months, and we're hoping it will grow in future years.

We will be hitting the League up for double headers next year.

There was even talk the other day into moving a Blues home game to the Cattery in 09 to tie in with a function to raise funds for both clubs.

The question is - who wants to come to Cooma for a club double away bus trip/Saturday night poker tournament and make the booziest weekend of them all?
GF if yass ainslie affiliate wouldn't that make a great bonding trip early in the season .

SC, I'm all for clubs expanding and helping out other clubs but it has to fit the purposes of both. The Ainslie / Yass combination would suit Ainslie long term and Yass short term; after that Yass would see a decline in numbers at training and eventually fold.
Long term, it would be better if Yass stayed their own entity and tried to attract more local sponsorship $$ to keep things afloat. I'm not privvy to the internal comings and goings of the Yass Roos but it's relaxing to stroll down to the local oval on a Saturday afternoon and watch the buys run around with a stubby. I'd hate not to be able to do that in the coming years..:(:(

Before getting too involved with Ainslie, ask Ports18 or G-Banger about the joy of having a partnership with the tricolours. It always ends up a 1 way street.

SC, I'm all for clubs expanding and helping out other clubs but it has to fit the purposes of both. The Ainslie / Yass combination would suit Ainslie long term and Yass short term; after that Yass would see a decline in numbers at training and eventually fold.
Long term, it would be better if Yass stayed their own entity and tried to attract more local sponsorship $$ to keep things afloat. I'm not privvy to the internal comings and goings of the Yass Roos but it's relaxing to stroll down to the local oval on a Saturday afternoon and watch the buys run around with a stubby. I'd hate not to be able to do that in the coming years..:(:(
Hey toodogs thanks for the reply .The problem here isnt the dollars suprisingly yass are ok that way.The problem is player numbers .The best thing to happen to yass was being directed to this web site .It has been very pleasing the response and advice givin about this subject.While i admitt i got a little excited about the prospect of an affilation with the tricoulors i can now see and agree with most that its not the best thing for the club.Maybe if they are succesfull this year more players might want to play in yass.Im pleased you enjoy strolling down and watching you should make yourself known your experience would be most welcome.Do i know you ? What would you do to attract blokes to play in a div 4 or for that matter a div 3 side in yass ?