AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist)

Codola, appreciate your very thorough analysis, but what's this nonsense about the centre of Ken Zimmer Oval being too high??!!? If anything's too high around here it's YOU son, with that statement!! Fair dinkum!!!

KZO is like a mountain!!!!!! When I am on the sideline (which is quite often) I cannot see the players over the other side of the ground!!!!

What's to like about KZO? Its green.

What's not to like? The Great Dividing Range going down the middle of it, the shale that comes through the playing surface, the worlds smallest changerooms, and that its so far away but yet not far enough away for a 'Road Trip' home involving a bus and 5 cartons of grog.

I hope Yass want to win promotion next season, just for the return of the road trip!

Murrumbidgee played some bloody good footy yesterday. They are the best drilled and arguably the fittest side in the comp. The game plan is to switch it from the backline, slowly work it up the field with hard running from the half backline, and then direct it to Hilly on the fat side of the ground.

It works. What are their weaknesses? The fast running team is also a small team and can get pushed off the ball a bit. If the opposition is also fit enough to semi-flood and can slow down the movement of the ball across the half back/centre line, they can struggle to move the ball on.

But they play an attractive style of footy, and BigHill is in some very good form at the moment. They are a better side than Harman and ADFA - and I haven't seen Belco since round 1 so I can't comment on them.

As for the Jugs 2's, they must have been ridiculously short if Boof and Donnie were recalled from their retirements. :) I'd expect Boof would still be sore this time next week!

I went to watch the big Azz playing for Woden and really enjoyed the game. Good flowing footy from both teams and good contests in the one on one match ups. On the basis of that form I expect Woden to cause problems for a few sides leading up to finals.

I also caught the end of the Div 4 game and wondered whether I was at the right game. Yass looked expectedly good and worthy of ladder leaders but where were the Bidgee boys, they just did not show up?? Did not look like the side that were challenging for finals a few weeks ago. Yass depth seems a lot stronger this year and they have a more even contribution.

I would have to agree that Woden will upset a lot of teams coming into the final series which could be the difference for some teams making the top 4. It is always a great game between the Juggs and Blues due to the history.

Not sure about Growling Ferrets comments about our game plan because it's a lot different then what I know but it is what worked for us against Woden. We only played woden a few weeks ago and needed to make some changes. both teams made some huge changes to match ups which were a bit surprising.

So does anyone have feed back on the Hogs vs Jets match?

The jets lead all day by a couple until Harman drew level in the last. Jets kicked the last 3 or 4 of the game to win. Good effort for the jets to beat the Hogs at home with 3 or 4 quality players missing from their lineup.

I do believe that the win for the Jets would move them into 4th spot and knocking out Harman on percentage. The next few weeks for both Harman and Gungahlin are pivital to them making the finals.

Harman face Murrumbidgee then ANU and the Jets face Eastlake and Murrumbidgee.

I do believe that the win for the Jets would move them into 4th spot and knocking out Harman on percentage. The next few weeks for both Harman and Gungahlin are pivital to them making the finals.

Harman face Murrumbidgee then ANU and the Jets face Eastlake and Murrumbidgee.

Heard on the grapevine that ADFA could possibly forfiet to the jets next week. If Harman bounce back aginst you blokes the jets will slip into 3rd possie on the ladder. Who would have thought this after their ordinary start to the year? Jets definately have the toughest run home but they are in the hunt. Haven't heard the result from the ANU v Eastlake match but if Uni got up they are not done with either. Six teams with a genuine chance to make the finals. I'm certainly no closer to picking the final four but one thing is for certain, the finals series should be an absolute belter!

All results are now up on Sporting pulse

Well mate,
It might come down to you and the boys at Juggers sorting out the top 4 seeing as you play Harman and Gungahlin in the last few rounds. Choose carefully!!!!

I have looked at the last 5 rounds for ADFA, Bidgee, ANU, Jets, and Hogs and come up with the following predictions:
ADFA will drop a game against Magpies.
Bidgee should win their last 5
Jets will win 3 more - Easlake, Woden, Harman
Harman will win 2 more - ANU, Tuggers
ANU will win 2 more - Tuggers, Ainslie

That gives me a ladder after round 18 of:
Belconnen
Murrumbidgee
ADFA
Gungahlin

Obviously my tips have been off anyway and this last month is going to be full of uncertainty. Harman v Gungahlin round 18 - what a cracker!!! The Hogs were cocky after beating the Magpies, now brought back to earth after losing to the Jets.

Well mate,
It might come down to you and the boys at Juggers sorting out the top 4 seeing as you play Harman and Gungahlin in the last few rounds. Choose carefully!!!!

I have looked at the last 5 rounds for ADFA, Bidgee, ANU, Jets, and Hogs and come up with the following predictions:
ADFA will drop a game against Magpies.
Bidgee should win their last 5
Jets will win 3 more - Easlake, Woden, Harman
Harman will win 2 more - ANU, Tuggers
ANU will win 2 more - Tuggers, Ainslie

That gives me a ladder after round 18 of:
Belconnen
Murrumbidgee
ADFA
Gungahlin

Obviously my tips have been off anyway and this last month is going to be full of uncertainty. Harman v Gungahlin round 18 - what a cracker!!! The Hogs were cocky after beating the Magpies, now brought back to earth after losing to the Jets.

It seems Harman and there on and off year continues, but don't count them out of the finals yet, i did notice they had a lot of changes from last week when they played Belconnen i think i counted 6, was that due to injuries or were they choosen for reserve grade?

Three more injuries to Qbn in the 1's yesterday could spell the end for the hogs if players are needed to be drafted up to their (qbn) 2's so that they can fill the 1's.Interesting couple of weeks for the hoggies boys.Great to have an association with one of the big clubs especially when everything is going strong but has its drawbacks in times like these.

BigHill's tips for this week are:

ANU to beat Tuggers
Belco to beat Eastlake
Woden to beat Ainslie
Gungahlin to beat ADFA (Due to school holidays)
Juggs to beat Hogs

Lets just hope that ADFA can put a team together this week so that the Jets don't get an easy win under their belt to help their final chances. I couldn't see Gungahlin beating ADFA at their full strength.

BigHill's tips for this week are:

ANU to beat Tuggers
Belco to beat Eastlake
Woden to beat Ainslie
Gungahlin to beat ADFA (Due to school holidays)
Juggs to beat Hogs

Lets just hope that ADFA can put a team together this week so that the Jets don't get an easy win under their belt to help their final chances. I couldn't see Gungahlin beating ADFA at their full strength.
Why are they forfieting is it to do with school holidays and everyone going home.Early in the week for tips big hill.Most clubs haven't even trained yet and wouldn't have a handle on their injuries if any from the weekend.Obviously not so down juggers way.

Just noted the notation on big hill blog sorry boys should look closer and wouldn't need to ask stupid questions.

DED - Most games this week are easy to pick. There is only the Jets vs ADFA match and Hogs vs Juggs match that could go either way. ADFA will be undermaned due to the holidays so you would expect the Jets to win and of course I have to back my own team the Juggs to beat the hogs.

ADFA has Belco, Eastlake, Harman and ANU to finish. If they forfiet to the jets and ANU pick up the win over Tuggers this weekend, there's only a game and percentage seperating ADFA and ANU with four rounds to play.

Unless ADFA are at full strength they will struggle to win any of their remaining four games, (perhaps with the exception of the Eastlake clash) and could miss a finals berth altogether.

Like I said yesterday, the race for the final four in the coming weeks will only be bettered by a cracking finals series between four evenly matched sides who have busted their rses to get there. Can't wait.......:thumbsu::thumbsu:

DED - Most games this week are easy to pick. There is only the Jets vs ADFA match and Hogs vs Juggs match that could go either way. ADFA will be undermaned due to the holidays so you would expect the Jets to win and of course I have to back my own team the Juggs to beat the hogs.
And you should to,I think the hogs will be undermanned as I said yesterday.Qbn has a mass of injuries and suffered three more on Sunday you would think that they will be depleted trying to fill up for Qbn,Has to go both ways and they had all the good for the last couple of years with few injuries and now it all seems to be hitting at once.The other games could be very easy picks however thats when a team will jump out of the ground and bite someone.

Latest news: ADFA have forfeited against YASS and Gungahlin for this weekends matches. This means YASS will not be playing for 3 weeks due to bye next week.