AFL Canberra Div3/Div2

I think one of the most impressive statistics of cootamundra cooma and Yass is that with a population of around 8000 they compete strongly with Goulburn who has a population of close to 40000. Ainslie and the Canberra clubs all fielding four and five teams would probably average out to 8000 or less as well. Batemans bay right up there as well with two teams and perhaps about 10000. Brings new meaning to the phrase strength in numbers :)

Wow you are one special man. I'm not sure what that post was other than you hate goulburn. Perhaps you should take it to the tribunal.
For mine whoever wins today will be making up the numbers. Coota will be way too strong.
Ainslie should halt Wodens impressive run but momentum is with the blues.
Goodluck to all teams except Goulburn. They have more numbers the cheats!

I don't know that town numbers contribute that much. Quite a few of our players and also cootas are not from our serviced area. Good luck to all today.

Thanks stats man, you really dampen all of Yass' good work this year with comments like that. Makes the club look pretty weak with a clubman like you making comments like that to just upset other teams.

Boys quick, we better call the AFL and say that Sydney and GWS have an unfair advantage to Melbourne teams due to population.

It was a simple statement congratulating the smaller towns on a great effort to go so well this year. Read it as you will john. Not sure how it dampens what Yass and the smaller towns have done.

Well done to Yass today, one of the best games I've seen for a while. Exciting stuff. Condolences to Goulburn. Sets up a cracker vs Coota next week.

Looking forward to seeing our 3s in the GF this week after a narrow win over Woden.

It was a simple statement congratulating the smaller towns on a great effort to go so well this year. Read it as you will john. Not sure how it dampens what Yass and the smaller towns have done.
Hey Ando. Why don't you elbow another 75 year old bloke. Weak as piss you are. Funny that Yass win and you decide to attack Goulburns 75 year old team manager. All class champion.

Unbelievable weekend of footy. Yass showed massive amounts of pride to get over the line. Best game of the day! Next weeks GF will go either way, it's going to be a cracker.

Ainslie too good in every other grade. Very impressed with efforts from Woden though.

Hi boys this is my first time posting but I have followed this page for a while and is a good read. Well done to yass on the win against us and good luck in the grand final . You are all a good bunch of blokes and enjoyed a good hit out every time we played each other . On the incident that happened to out manger after the game, u did not see wat happened but I can't see why our 75 year old manager would lie about coping a elbow to the back . For those of you who don't know what happened our 75 year old manager was hit from behind by ando with the comment of couldn't of happened to a better team . Now for one your were a shit footballer and I dunno y u are still hanging around bringing yass down with you who are actually a good bunch of blokes and 2 I'm just glad I didn't find this out yesterday because I know bobby deliberately didn't tell us boys at the ground because be knew what would of happened . All I have to say is you are a dog ando and the sooner you get away from the is league the better. Come back at me with what you will but I will personally see to it that booby has the last say . Ps your a poor campaigner

If that was true I would be pissed off too but I didn't touch anyone let alone elbow an old man. Maybe that's why brad Armstrong sent me a threatening message. This is a bigger lie than what your coach wrote for your goal umpire at the tribunal. You guys need to learn to lose without making up bullshit excuses. I already copped a suspension for swearing at one of your players. Any other club would not really care about something so trivial but Goulburn had to write a complaint that was full of lies and now this complete bullshit.

Congrats award winners, well deserved. For people that were there, Did they do the usual GF speeches to both teams last night? What was said coming out of both camps?

A lot can be said behind a computer but it would have been interesting to hear what was said in front of the everyone last night.

Congrats to the boys who took home the medals last night.

Congrats two the teams who have progressed to the last game of the year, Coota/Yass and Molonglo/Ainslie both games should be absolute crackers. Commiserations to Goulburn and Woden they both played tough games and the results could have easily gone in their favour.

Best of luck to all involved in the games this week.

I'm am really impressed with Yass' s progression through the finals so far. Really a tough team full of belief that they can win any game. That being said Im tipping Coota to win the gf by 6 goals. I think Coota have the mids to compete and Yass have 2 good tall backs in Steve and Marty but Coota have 3 big forwards which I reckon will be too hard to stop

I agree with this comment think coota will have to much run for yass . Also think that Molonglo will win there first GF in there new jumper .Well done to all involved on getting to the last game of the year.

I think both teams in the Division 2 are playing in the first ever GF, I know Ainslie definately are! Going to be a ripper!

Congratulations to coach Webb on winning the Division 3 league best and fairest after missing the first 5 games of the year. That is indeed an awesome effort.

Congratulations to all award winners from Sunday night. Terrific effort by AFL Canberra to acknowledge the contributions of voluntary support and outstanding player achievement. Congrats to Webby on picking up the league medal and to Ben Serafin with a dominant season for Yass Roos. Also a top effort by Sandy collecting the goal kicking with 72 majors.
A fierce battle in the Preliminary Final with Yass scraping home. Credit to the Goulburn fellas on a fantastic display and solid season to finish top 3. We turn our attention to a Yass outfit riding on plenty of confidence. A couple of hard fought wins in this finals series will have them primed for a big showing. We will take in plenty of confidence, solid fitness base and community support to shoot for the title in 2014

Very quiet build up on here for grand final week. Must be plenty of nerves.
FWIW my opinion for tomorrow.
No disrespect to Yass but I think they may have played their grand final last week. Have done really well to get to the granny but Coota has more depth than Goulburn and this will be hard to stop whilst trying to create scoring opportunities themselves.
If I was Yass I would put a massive emphasis on the midfield. Win clearances and you're a chance. If Coota get on top it could be ugly. Try and clog up space defensively as Coota open up gaps for their key targets and make the game a scrap which was what they did so effectively against Goulburn. Fwds must apply pressue from behind the contest to force rushed decisions when Coota always handball out the back. Cootas ball winners Webb, Chant, Bird, McDermott will get their possessions but force them to kick to contests. Defenders must help out as 3rd and 4th man up. Take you're scoring chances.
If I were Coota win the midfield battle and spread hard. Yass don't have the quality of runners to go with them. Quick ball movement and deep F50 entries will help lock the ball in. In defence run and overlap to create drive that has worked well all year. Yass have some slower fwds who will struggle to apply pressure with quick spread and switching. Cover serafin and waseley with your best shutdown players. Get on top early.
That being said Coota will get up comfortably. No disrespect at all to Yass as I'm hoping for a great contest but Coota by 70.
Haven't seen enough of 2nds but will go with Molongolo to win by 15 with Big Hill kicking 7 sausage rolls.
Goodluck to all teams!

AFL Canberra Div3/Div2