AFL Canberra - Division 3 & 4 - 2011 Season

Why do you think that??

Southcab you're right just on what I have seen. I think both teams are fit but overall, I think the Harman boys are a bit harder bodied. Dont get me wrong ADFA has some big boys, but overall I think Harman use their mobile size more effectively, and maybe a bit more polished in the skill area too. They will have to put it all together to get the result I predicted but think they are up to it. Happy to be proven wrong, just my tip!

yass roos 14/7/91 Anu 15/10/100.
uni too good for yass today, however i have to say that club umpires have #$cked the game.Even worse when they were clothing that clashes with the oposition jumper.We will lose players in droves if this continues.
And we get to pay $7000 dollars for it.:thumbsdown:

ADFA beat Harman in Div 3 today by about 4 goals.

ADFA had about 3 times the scoring shots but Harman kicked extemely straight and stayed in it until the last 10 mins.

Harman were in front by 3 goals at 1/2 time but ADFA kicked 6 goals to 0 in the 3rd Qtr to set up the victory.

Both teams played a great brand of footy and the next clash is going to be a ripper!!

yass roos 14/7/91 Anu 15/10/100.
uni too good for yass today, however i have to say that club umpires have #$cked the game.Even worse when they were clothing that clashes with the oposition jumper.We will lose players in droves if this continues.
And we get to pay $7000 dollars for it.:thumbsdown:

... Probably just like we've lost umpires in droves, huh Southcab? And who's played a big part in that do you think? Pretty sure I know where I wouldn't want to umpire if I was a young kid just getting into umpiring! But then again, some club goal umpires do their best to "#$ck" the game too at times, but that's been happening for years out at Yass. :rolleyes:

You are fair dinkum kidding yourself shane.Hows your goal umpire yesterday calling goals points,passing of touched balls as goals and then when questioned tells everybody to F /Off throws the flags onto the feild,throws the score card and walks off stoping the game .If you think that ive played a big part in umpires leaving the game than once again your kidding.My comments re umpires where not just judged on yesterday,but while were on yesterday when was the last time you played a side and never gave away a free kick.There is no doubt you were the better side yesterday as i stated earlier but to not earn 1 free kick not 1 i find very hard to take.
I dont have the answers and nor would i be an umpire i simply made a satement that club umpires in my opinon have #ucked div 4.Its now park footy and im glad that i want be part of its future.

yesterday was the first time ive heard an umpire drop the f bomb at a player pretty poor. if you cant take the heat get out of the kitchen, perhaps if you werent soi one eyed then maybe you wouldnt have copped the abuse

So what is the answer? Where do you get umpires from and how do you make people want to umpire this division? Noting all of this BS that goes on.

No point insinuating anything nor is there any point in throwing barbs about something that has now passed. How about being a little proactive and control what you can control.

There is always those players who are constantly give guidance, calling every tackle or deeming something a penalty and they like to give advice to umpires whilst they are playing, or gobbing off from the side line.They won't pick up a whistle and give it a go though. Note there is a difference between calling it every now and then and doing it ALL game.

Put yourself in their shoes and think about how you react when people speak AT you in a negative light. I reckon a majority of players who are guilty of it and who know all of the rules while playing, would take exception.

It is Div 4 Footy, if you think abuse towards a club umpire or any umpire is warranted then you need to have a good look at yourself. Without them, regardless of bad decisions etc you wouldn't be playing. If you want to play for sheep stations then look at going up to Div 1.

So what is the answer? Where do you get umpires from and how do you make people want to umpire this division? Noting all of this BS that goes on.

No point insinuating anything nor is there any point in throwing barbs about something that has now passed. How about being a little proactive and control what you can control.

There is always those players who are constantly give guidance, calling every tackle or deeming something a penalty and they like to give advice to umpires whilst they are playing, or gobbing off from the side line.They won't pick up a whistle and give it a go though. Note there is a difference between calling it every now and then and doing it ALL game.

Put yourself in their shoes and think about how you react when people speak AT you in a negative light. I reckon a majority of players who are guilty of it and who know all of the rules while playing, would take exception.

It is Div 4 Footy, if you think abuse towards a club umpire or any umpire is warranted then you need to have a good look at yourself. Without them, regardless of bad decisions etc you wouldn't be playing. If you want to play for sheep stations then look at going up to Div 1.
LongHaul
There is value in what you say untill the last paragraph and there lays the problem,Try telling country kids that its only Div 4 and you are allowed to be treated differently because its only Div4.Try telling them that they have to improve 1000 % and play div 1 to be treated fairly,and then tell them that they have to play there now without proper grounding and without learning the game and going through the grades. And last but not least try telling them they play for a preimership that dosent mean anything because it,s only div 4.If you have to play higher grades to be treated differently or for footy to mean something then the system is #ucked all together.I can almost garuntee that a team will miss finals this year due to club umpires would you like it to be yours ?

Looks like to Yass v Anu game was a good game , anyone wish to comment on the game itself ?
I would hope that all the club umpires umpire to the rules and if there was a free kick deserving then they would give it. Maybe the Umpire coordinators need to have all the club umpires come in and have a chat. Nothing serious just a reminder of the way the game neds to umpired and whilst you are umpiring you need to take your club hat off.I have seen a few games but didnt see any on the weekend but from the games i have seen it seems that some clubs have some very good ones and others need to put some time and effort into training and maybe finding a regular umpire.
I dont think you can say it is just Div 4 cause as southcab says not all players can play Div 1 and for some teams Div 4 is all they have. Not sure of the solution but no one wants umpires being treated unfairly but also they must make sure that they do a fair job with both teams and call it as they see it.

Div 4 looks to be a tight comp this year anyone wish to give a rundown on who the main contenders are ? Cooma the big improvers ?
Div 3 is tight at the top with the usual suspects any team look better than the others ?

Games I've seen this year the club umpires have been fantastic. most of them have come from playing so understand the flow of the play and only call stuff that needs to be called.

There are always going to be bad eggs (cf going to Coota to play) but I reckon if the balance is right (at least one umpire from each club) the system works pretty well.

Shanefoss, you are a serial complainer, what a load of crap dribbling out of your mouth again.
for starters read the bylaws mate. a club umpire must wear correct attire, shirt shorts socks. to supply an umpire wearing a white tshirt is crazy. A club umpire should not favour their team otherwise the other umpire would have to even things out ending up being a very unfair result for both teams. It is obvious coota and goulburn dont abide by this rule.
most umpires dont like coming to yass because of the travel. although ross norgate, who i belive is one of the best umpires in our division did a lot of yass games last year and has offered to be our club umpire this year. He has no ties with yass but is keen to do it, obviously your comments on yass are incorrect. Also look at madaogs comment last week as to how hard and fair yass tackle. Yass are hard at the ball and if you get in the way fair chance you may get hurt. we pride ourselves on our hardness at the ball. We are not perfect and some players do complain but that happens every where. I have a feeling you are number 30 for uni, if so my assumptions are correct, if not maybe he is your brother.

ADFA beat Harman in Div 3 today by about 4 goals.

ADFA had about 3 times the scoring shots but Harman kicked extemely straight and stayed in it until the last 10 mins.

Harman were in front by 3 goals at 1/2 time but ADFA kicked 6 goals to 0 in the 3rd Qtr to set up the victory.

Both teams played a great brand of footy and the next clash is going to be a ripper!!

Happy to say I was wrong Boneless. I thought that when we played ADFA the week before they a lot of skill errors. Obviously against us they were able to recover and keep possession, but I thought that's where Harman may have exposed them. The boys obviously played very well to maintain that many scoring shots against them.

I wouldn't mind having a go at umpiring. Might look into it when I can walk again.

Id like to see that Big Daddy. Arm bar submission to any one that complains about your umpiring!! Good result on Sat night mate, win would have been better, but a draw is better than a loss.

Shanefoss, you are a serial complainer, what a load of crap dribbling out of your mouth again.
for starters read the bylaws mate. a club umpire must wear correct attire, shirt shorts socks. to supply an umpire wearing a white tshirt is crazy. A club umpire should not favour their team otherwise the other umpire would have to even things out ending up being a very unfair result for both teams. It is obvious coota and goulburn dont abide by this rule.
most umpires dont like coming to yass because of the travel. although ross norgate, who i belive is one of the best umpires in our division did a lot of yass games last year and has offered to be our club umpire this year. He has no ties with yass but is keen to do it, obviously your comments on yass are incorrect. Also look at madaogs comment last week as to how hard and fair yass tackle. Yass are hard at the ball and if you get in the way fair chance you may get hurt. we pride ourselves on our hardness at the ball. We are not perfect and some players do complain but that happens every where. I have a feeling you are number 30 for uni, if so my assumptions are correct, if not maybe he is your brother.

Yass = biggest whingers in the comp.

AFL Canberra - Division 3 & 4 - 2011 Season