AFL Canberra - Division 3 & 4 - 2011 Season

Take a chill pill people !!! liked this site when i used to read it when it was about footy now its going downhill

i completely agree, if you want to fight with each other take it up somewhere else....

I've managed to see a few games this season and i agree that some of the umpiring has been absolutely abysmal. And before anyone goes and says 'why don't you go do it', I'm currently umpiring in a different league so i feel like i can comment on this subject!

My playing days are over so i enjoy umpiring, but watching a few games when I've been back in Canberra has been really worrying. Some umpires have been incredible as well so credit has to be given to those guys. There were two or three that I've seen that are sensational.

The worrying ones were terrible though. I was visiting friends in Yass and saw the Harman Vs Yass game (I'm pretty open and honest saying that I'm an ex Queanbeyan person so i have ties with Harman) but the Yass umpire was awful. I was happy that Yass still won the game because they were the better side on the day, but I've never been at the point where i thought an umpire was being deliberately biased towards their side until that game.

Sometimes the umpires are just bad or nervous and make the wrong calls but Yass's was about as close to cheating as I've seen. I saw several incidents that made me cringe and the umpire was looking directly at it and did nothing about it. It was scary in parts because it was violent and unnecessary, but he didn't blow the whistle. The result of the game ended up being secondary for me and a friend of mine who is an ex Yass player. We were genuinely concerned someone was going to be badly hurt. The Yass umpire set a dangerous precedent by not controlling the game when punches were thrown by Yass players and it stunk of bias.

I understand this probably comes across as whinging or complaining about Harman losing that match, but like i said, i think Yass were the better football side on the day and deserved to win. What was shocking to me was the umpire not protecting both sides, which i feel is his number one priority. I've been out of the game as a player for long enough now that while i enjoy seeing Harman win, i don't really have strong connections to affect me when they loose so this isn't about that.

I know Yass people will have a go about me, but I think it needs noting and perhaps addressing somehow as well. I'm not sure how they do that, but this forum is a good way to share ideas. I'd probably come back and umpire here to help if it wasn't for the fact that i get more money doing it in another league, and i travel for my work and can't do it every week.

I've sen other games this year as well but i won't go on any longer. I'd love to hear how things could be improved to get better umpires in Canberra though! I understand they pay reasonable money here, but i think maybe they need to pay more or provide some other incentives. I enjoy it, despite not being perfect and getting my fair share of abuse. It's a great way to stay involved in the game, but you have to have a thick skin and take honest feedback. I've had my fair share of bad games and been told by our umpires coach and it made me conscious of wanting to improve.

I've managed to see a few games this season and i agree that some of the umpiring has been absolutely abysmal. And before anyone goes and says 'why don't you go do it', I'm currently umpiring in a different league so i feel like i can comment on this subject!

My playing days are over so i enjoy umpiring, but watching a few games when I've been back in Canberra has been really worrying. Some umpires have been incredible as well so credit has to be given to those guys. There were two or three that I've seen that are sensational.

The worrying ones were terrible though. I was visiting friends in Yass and saw the Harman Vs Yass game (I'm pretty open and honest saying that I'm an ex Queanbeyan person so i have ties with Harman) but the Yass umpire was awful. I was happy that Yass still won the game because they were the better side on the day, but I've never been at the point where i thought an umpire was being deliberately biased towards their side until that game.

Sometimes the umpires are just bad or nervous and make the wrong calls but Yass's was about as close to cheating as I've seen. I saw several incidents that made me cringe and the umpire was looking directly at it and did nothing about it. It was scary in parts because it was violent and unnecessary, but he didn't blow the whistle. The result of the game ended up being secondary for me and a friend of mine who is an ex Yass player. We were genuinely concerned someone was going to be badly hurt. The Yass umpire set a dangerous precedent by not controlling the game when punches were thrown by Yass players and it stunk of bias.

I understand this probably comes across as whinging or complaining about Harman losing that match, but like i said, i think Yass were the better football side on the day and deserved to win. What was shocking to me was the umpire not protecting both sides, which i feel is his number one priority. I've been out of the game as a player for long enough now that while i enjoy seeing Harman win, i don't really have strong connections to affect me when they loose so this isn't about that.

I know Yass people will have a go about me, but I think it needs noting and perhaps addressing somehow as well. I'm not sure how they do that, but this forum is a good way to share ideas. I'd probably come back and umpire here to help if it wasn't for the fact that i get more money doing it in another league, and i travel for my work and can't do it every week.

I've sen other games this year as well but i won't go on any longer. I'd love to hear how things could be improved to get better umpires in Canberra though! I understand they pay reasonable money here, but i think maybe they need to pay more or provide some other incentives. I enjoy it, despite not being perfect and getting my fair share of abuse. It's a great way to stay involved in the game, but you have to have a thick skin and take honest feedback. I've had my fair share of bad games and been told by our umpires coach and it made me conscious of wanting to improve.

seems pretty honest to me and i hope that the yas guys dont get on you about it because its obivous that you are genuine, i dont think that anyone would disagree with you about yass being an aggressive side, thats how they get there results but when punches are thrown and not acted on, thats unforgivable. perhaps the yass umpire is scared he is gonna get belted himself.

I saw the Harman/Adfa games on Saturday as well which were just incredible games! It'll probably be the last I'll see in a few months so i stayed and watched both grades and they were incredible.

The Div 4 match was a ripper and i thought they both played really well. The attack on the footy and the skill level was really impressive for that grade of football. I honestly thought ADFA would run over the top of Harman in the last quarter, but to the hogs credit they rallied and kicked on. It was such a good game to watch.

ADFA have some BIG boys in both grades! I don't think I've seen a taller set of teams in any division. The DIV 4 boys were pretty big and the Div 3 were bigger.

Div 4 was such a fun game to watch because i don't think anyone was really sure of who was going to win until the last few minutes.

Div 3 was about as good a football game that I've seen at that level. In absolutely every aspect of the game it was first class. What really impressed me was that when it got really tough and physical, both sides didn't go the niggle or throw punches. It often descends to that in these grades but it was just a first class match all the way through.

I think Harman were probably flattered in the end by the scoreline because ADFA missed a ton early, but if you were watching closely most of those shots seems to be from the boundary so no surprise there. Once ADFA started to control the midfield it was game over, because the ball was delivered in front of goal and they went from there.

ADFA were terrific all over the park and i really struggle to see where they will be beaten regularly. I really hope they can keep that group together and not have to lose players through their work because they were exciting to watch. I think they will be in the GF from what i saw, despite being 3rd on the ladder right now. They've played one less game than Harman so the ladder might look like Harman,ADFA soon. I think that may be the two that battle it out in the GF this year, but i haven't seen enough of Belco to right them off.

I hate that i won't be able to see many more games for a while because that was just downright brilliant to watch!

Looks like to Yass v Anu game was a good game , anyone wish to comment on the game itself ?
I would hope that all the club umpires umpire to the rules and if there was a free kick deserving then they would give it. Maybe the Umpire coordinators need to have all the club umpires come in and have a chat. Nothing serious just a reminder of the way the game neds to umpired and whilst you are umpiring you need to take your club hat off.I have seen a few games but didnt see any on the weekend but from the games i have seen it seems that some clubs have some very good ones and others need to put some time and effort into training and maybe finding a regular umpire.
I dont think you can say it is just Div 4 cause as southcab says not all players can play Div 1 and for some teams Div 4 is all they have. Not sure of the solution but no one wants umpires being treated unfairly but also they must make sure that they do a fair job with both teams and call it as they see it.

Div 4 looks to be a tight comp this year anyone wish to give a rundown on who the main contenders are ? Cooma the big improvers ?
Div 3 is tight at the top with the usual suspects any team look better than the others ?

div 4 is looking alot different this season
The main contenders seem to be TUGGERANONG which hasnt lost a game and seems to be stronger then the div 3 side (dont get me started...)
ANU looks the goods again except for the loss to harman which was a great game i went to.
YASS seems to be strong again but i've heard a few rumours they are missing a few players..
HARMAN is up there again and looking great but im not sure what happened in the 5 goal loss to TUG'S?
COOMA is a big improver, from what i know they have picked up some good young players and going well
GOULBURN has lost a few big names i believe but they always seem to be competetive aswell
COOTAMUNDRA is about as random as ive seen any team, big wins then big losses.. possibly a home and away thing
ADFA also suprising with some very close results with big teams, maybe picked up a few players?
BELCONNEN is struggling but i can vision this team possibly making a big run in the second half of the season
EASTLAKE havent heard or seen much, dont seem to be doing so well judging the ladder
MURRUMBIDGEE same as eastlake..
GUNGAHLIN the only thing ive heard is that they are struggling and have struggled since the div 2 team was forced on them

Div 4 this year seems to be more competitive then the previous few. I feel there is about 8 contenders for the top 4. Tuggers is clearly the side to beat with some great older players that are just having fun playing with their mates. They are definitely beatable, but a team will need to play 4 good quarters of footy to win.

ANU are right up there with Tuggers and should rap up 2nd spot on the ladder. As for the other 2 spots, who knows. The teams that can stay injury free and keep their playing group together will probably be the teams that make finals. I am sure come round 18 people will be talking again of a Top 5 or 6 in this Div because of the number of teams that could/should play finals.

Goulburn I think will miss the 4. They are still a very competitive side, however I think they are missing a few key players from previous years that took them to 2 minor premierships.

Yass are a good side, especially at home. However I think they are struggling for numbers and it will affect them as the season goes on. They will be up there for sure, as even with 17 players they are still one of the hardest teams to beat

ADFA are an interesting side in the 4's, as they can have an absolute cracking side one week and then have a completely different side the next. Lets hope they will keep the same side as they did on the weekend, as their tall, fit boys made a serious impact and were able to run out the game and put on a lot of pressure right up until the final whistle.

Cooma and Coota I am yet to play, however by the look of some of the results they are a lot like us out at Harman, we have had a couple of young guys in our system for the past few years and are all coming together as a playing group. Let's just hope we don't lose too many to injury/Div 3

As for the rest, I think it will almost be mathematically impossible to make the 4. You can't lose to many in this grade.

It has been a great start for the year with most of the games played in good spirits. Let's hope it continues for the rest of the season.

Cooma and Coota I am yet to play, however by the look of some of the results they are a lot like us out at Harman, we have had a couple of young guys in our system for the past few years and are all coming together as a playing group. Let's just hope we don't lose too many to injury/Div 3

Are you playing? Just curious to hear how you found it? I've seen some really new faces come through the 4's for Harman that i don't recognize from last year that seem pretty handy. Some big lads for you that I've never seen.

I see the older blokes like Aida, SPud and a few others have moved on which i thought was going to make it really tough for you guys, but you've played some pretty good footy so far. You must be happy sitting 3rd this time of the season with a cooma trip this week?

Are you playing? Just curious to hear how you found it? I've seen some really new faces come through the 4's for Harman that i don't recognize from last year that seem pretty handy. Some big lads for you that I've never seen.

I see the older blokes like Aida, SPud and a few others have moved on which i thought was going to make it really tough for you guys, but you've played some pretty good footy so far. You must be happy sitting 3rd this time of the season with a cooma trip this week?

Yeah I have a crack from time to time. Most of the guys have played juniors at Queanbeyan and have decided to start playing again. Aida is coaching the 3's this year. We haven't been short on numbers yet, so he hasn't had to play. As for Spud, I think he comes off suspension this week due to the 7 games he got in the final game of last year, but he has been posted to a ship somewhere I believe.

Cooma will be good this week, it is always a fun trip down the Monaro, unfortunately only the 4's are playing there this year. The Casino night last year was a cracking night and should be more trips like that. Cooma and the Hogs have had some pretty good games over the past few years, hopefully this weekend will be another.

can anyone give me any information about either the
GOULBURN vs COOTAMUNDRA ? i wasnt expecting that result
or
BELCONNEN vs EASTLAKE? belco mustve come good eh?

LongHaul
There is value in what you say untill the last paragraph and there lays the problem,Try telling country kids that its only Div 4 and you are allowed to be treated differently because its only Div4.Try telling them that they have to improve 1000 % and play div 1 to be treated fairly,and then tell them that they have to play there now without proper grounding and without learning the game and going through the grades. And last but not least try telling them they play for a preimership that dosent mean anything because it,s only div 4.If you have to play higher grades to be treated differently or for footy to mean something then the system is #ucked all together.I can almost garuntee that a team will miss finals this year due to club umpires would you like it to be yours ?

You have completely mis-interpreted what I said Southcab and putting words in my mouth.

I am not in any way shape or form suggesting Div 4 should be treated any different to Div 1. I am also not saying that a premiership means nothing. Playing Div 4, I have had not so good umpires and also played in a losing GF side, not good.

I am saying that if you think abusing an umpire is warranted because of a bad call then you need to look at yourself. If you want clarity of a decision then get your captain to approach the umpire at qtr time.

I'm willing to bet a pretty penny you have made mistakes in your time, as have I and many others. I have been on the wrong end of penalities. Wrong or right the man in white is always right. That is what I was always taught from when I started playing Footy.

Whether he is in fact right is of no consequence, they call it as they see it. Anyone giving a verbal spray to an umpire is not providing his team with any benefit. Umpires will continue to pay against you, anyone who says they don't is deluded.

So, like I asked initially. What is the answer? How do you make people want to umpire Div 4 if they are going to get a spray for every contentious decision?

Most are happy to have counter productive discussion regarding other teams and whether they supply umpires who are one eyed or not, whether they play the man or the ball, but don't want to actually provide constructive ideas how to fix said problem. :rolleyes:

As for your last point SC, I highly doubt a bad club umpire is going to cost my team a spot in the finals lol

Div 4 this year seems to be more competitive then the previous few. I feel there is about 8 contenders for the top 4. Tuggers is clearly the side to beat with some great older players that are just having fun playing with their mates. They are definitely beatable, but a team will need to play 4 good quarters of footy to win.

ANU are right up there with Tuggers and should rap up 2nd spot on the ladder. As for the other 2 spots, who knows. The teams that can stay injury free and keep their playing group together will probably be the teams that make finals. I am sure come round 18 people will be talking again of a Top 5 or 6 in this Div because of the number of teams that could/should play finals.

Goulburn I think will miss the 4. They are still a very competitive side, however I think they are missing a few key players from previous years that took them to 2 minor premierships.

Yass are a good side, especially at home. However I think they are struggling for numbers and it will affect them as the season goes on. They will be up there for sure, as even with 17 players they are still one of the hardest teams to beat

ADFA are an interesting side in the 4's, as they can have an absolute cracking side one week and then have a completely different side the next. Lets hope they will keep the same side as they did on the weekend, as their tall, fit boys made a serious impact and were able to run out the game and put on a lot of pressure right up until the final whistle.

As for the rest, I think it will almost be mathematically impossible to make the 4. You can't lose to many in this grade.

It has been a great start for the year with most of the games played in good spirits. Let's hope it continues for the rest of the season.

Any thoughts on Div 3?

Seems Adfa and Harman played out a good game on the weekend. Looks like a similar year for Eastlake, Uni, Bidge and Woden all at a similar level with results for each not being predictable. Ainslie look to be big improvers and the Jets and Tuggeranong occupying the lower tiers.

You have completely mis-interpreted what I said Southcab and putting words in my mouth.

I am not in any way shape or form suggesting Div 4 should be treated any different to Div 1. I am also not saying that a premiership means nothing. Playing Div 4, I have had not so good umpires and also played in a losing GF side, not good.

I am saying that if you think abusing an umpire is warranted because of a bad call then you need to look at yourself. If you want clarity of a decision then get your captain to approach the umpire at qtr time.

I'm willing to bet a pretty penny you have made mistakes in your time, as have I and many others. I have been on the wrong end of penalities. Wrong or right the man in white is always right. That is what I was always taught from when I started playing Footy.

Whether he is in fact right is of no consequence, they call it as they see it. Anyone giving a verbal spray to an umpire is not providing his team with any benefit. Umpires will continue to pay against you, anyone who says they don't is deluded.

So, like I asked initially. What is the answer? How do you make people want to umpire Div 4 if they are going to get a spray for every contentious decision?

Most are happy to have counter productive discussion regarding other teams and whether they supply umpires who are one eyed or not, whether they play the man or the ball, but don't want to actually provide constructive ideas how to fix said problem. :rolleyes:

As for your last point SC, I highly doubt a bad club umpire is going to cost my team a spot in the finals lol

I very much agree LongHaul! I grew up with the white maggots being right no matter the decision. If you disputed it you were rightly given a 50 m against.
I think the problem stems from abuse, the numbers of umpires have dwindled due to humiliation, for example a young umpire gets something wrong and cops abuse the rest of the game. He wont come back if that is the norm.
Club umpires are filling the spot vacated by these poor young fellas who copped the spray. No matter the division of standard of umpiring they need to be respected.

Great game. ADFA were able to get some space in front of them in the third and Harman unable to stem the momentum.

ADFA's 18 man zone after scoring a point contributed to their many scoring shots. It is hard to crack especially with the tall timber they have out wide on the 3rd line. Tall boys with great skills overhead.

I'm sure both teams learnt a lot in preparation for future contest not only about their opponents but also their own lists.

Well done ADFA.

div 4 is looking alot different this season
The main contenders seem to be TUGGERANONG which hasnt lost a game and seems to be stronger then the div 3 side (dont get me started...)
ANU looks the goods again except for the loss to harman which was a great game i went to.
YASS seems to be strong again but i've heard a few rumours they are missing a few players..
HARMAN is up there again and looking great but im not sure what happened in the 5 goal loss to TUG'S?
COOMA is a big improver, from what i know they have picked up some good young players and going well
GOULBURN has lost a few big names i believe but they always seem to be competetive aswell
COOTAMUNDRA is about as random as ive seen any team, big wins then big losses.. possibly a home and away thing
ADFA also suprising with some very close results with big teams, maybe picked up a few players?
BELCONNEN is struggling but i can vision this team possibly making a big run in the second half of the season
EASTLAKE havent heard or seen much, dont seem to be doing so well judging the ladder
MURRUMBIDGEE same as eastlake..
GUNGAHLIN the only thing ive heard is that they are struggling and have struggled since the div 2 team was forced on them

lol.... depends who you ask ;)

From all reports, numbers for Div 2 are becoming very healthy which should flow down and make Div 3 & 4 a little more competitive, which should be a positive on the score board.

I have not been anywhere near training for sometime and have watched parts of a couple of games. Ports (while I know he is on here) is doing well with his playing group and from what I have been told is having a positive impact on the core playing group that he has to work with. As we all know when you get a new group together, especially with varying skill and experience it takes a while for things to gel.

One would hope that he sticks with it next year, it would be good to see that what is being developed, will be built on next season. What do you think Ports?

I'm pretty new to Canberra but I've played footy (not at the top level) in two states. My observation is that some clubs have culture where 'unsociable football' is encouraged and rewarded, where it's all about going and belting someone and if you can leave an opponent injured even better. Worse though is some clubs also seem to think its fine to yell abuse at the umpires, officials, opposition, the crowd, whoever, it's just part of the game and pity the fool that tries to tell them otherwise. What kind of message does this send to young kids watching? Especially juniors who look up to these blokes. I think in places like Canberra region (eg not ACTAFL Div 1 & 2) where Australian Rules is struggling and not the main footy code it's important that the culture of 'unsociable football' is stamped out otherwise people will just stop playing and following it just like umpires have. I reckon any parents would prefer their kids take up any other sport instead of Aussie Rules (playing or umpiring) especially if they ever saw the way some clubs in Div 4 (not naming names) conduct themselvs. I dunno what the answer is to the umpire shortage in Div 3 & 4 at the moment but I reckon things need to change at club level first before things will change at league level. Bagging out blokes giving umpiring a crack so we can play the game we love is definitely not the answer!:thumbsdown:

Hey mate, from another league up north and umpired (club umpire) my 1st game on the weekend. It was very different from playing and it wasnt as easy as a thought it would be!! I just did my best to keep all players safe and made my calls on what I saw, how much do you guys get? in this league and the one you umpire in?

lol.... depends who you ask ;)

From all reports, numbers for Div 2 are becoming very healthy which should flow down and make Div 3 & 4 a little more competitive, which should be a positive on the score board.

I have not been anywhere near training for sometime and have watched parts of a couple of games. Ports (while I know he is on here) is doing well with his playing group and from what I have been told is having a positive impact on the core playing group that he has to work with. As we all know when you get a new group together, especially with varying skill and experience it takes a while for things to gel.

One would hope that he sticks with it next year, it would be good to see that what is being developed, will be built on next season. What do you think Ports?

Next year is a long way off Snap Shot. Just going to keep bringing these new blokes through and see what happens.

Oh, completely understand that.

If you are turning up positives every week with new players and successes on the field wouldn't you want to build on that for next season? From my understanding you are very much a stalwart at the club so the chances of you leaving it or leaving it in a lurch are very minimal.

Would be a shame to see it go backwards next season.

Just on the ladder, top 4..

What has happened to Eastlake, have they lost numbers or what? Both Div 3&4 are sitting pretty low and not look crash hot compared to previous seasons, same could be said about Belco particularly in the 4's.

From what I have heard, things aren't real peachy at Belco (not to sure what that means hence seeking clarification). Anyone from Belco care to share? Is this correct?

Looks to me like tuggers ,uni,harman,coomato fight out the finals in the fours.
The cats look like they will be hard to displace now with a game still in hand, the win over Harman yesterday has placed them in a very strong position. when was the last time cooma made finals?
The hawks are in a superb position and its a credit to them in what is there first season in div 4.
Last years preimers uni are also solid and more than capable of beating the hawks after the bye.
That leaves me with the Hoggs and my team yass fighting it out for the last position come finals time.I would really like to think that we are capable of stealing fourth but for that to happen we need to find players and quickly,we havent had a full team yet and the next couple of weeks looks no different.Harman on the other hand have an abundance of players and are more than worthy of a finals spot.
While im on about finals with two more teams set to enter div 4 next year taking the number of teams to 14 is it time we went to top 5 ?Even if we lose a team from this year it will still be 13 and top 5 would be a reasonable arguement.

The answer to your question cab is 94 and our game in hand is coota at coota so will be a real tuff road trip.
On the finals set up I think they need to look at it differently next year if there is going to be 24 teams over div 3 and div 4 they could make 3 div's of 8 teams to balance things out or perhaps making a north / south side conference set up in div 4 with top 3 sides from each conference to meet in finals just my 2 cents worth any one else have an idea?

AFL Canberra - Division 3 & 4 - 2011 Season