AFL Canberra - Division 3 & 4 - 2011 Season

Take it up with jock what a joke as far as i can see unless you play higher grades they dont care.In fact id go as far to say that the leauge would be happier without div 3 and div 4.
Jock created the monster,Apparantly and according to the Harman officials the Harman umpire was abused by Murrumbidgee last weekend so he went to jock and jock told him he has the power and is within his rite to send officals from the game.And so he did i always said that a club umpire would cost a team finals and it now could be mine.
Club umpires have now turned the game i love into something i no longer want to be a part of .And givin what ive said to umpires in the past i cant believe i got sent from the ground for telling an umpire i wasnt talking to him.And neither can the other umpire who is a leauge umpire !!!!It,s a sad day when opposite players and officals tell you that they didnt deserve to win a footy match.

My experience with Big Dave from Harman is that he does make mistakes but he calls it how he sees it. Just like every other club umpy.
And he makes it very clear before and during a game that he won't take any crap and that because there are always lots of families with young kids at Harman games he wont tolerate any bad language and he sticks to that. One warning and then frees and then yellow cards.
If the message isn't passed on to the rest of the players by a club captain or the coach then it is the capatain and the coach that are to blame if any free kicks are paid for language or players are sent off for abuse.
And I have no problem with that. :thumbsu:
I don't wanna bring my kids to the footy half the time nowadays coz I know they're gonna come home with a few new four letter words in their vocab. Especially when Yass are playing! Just show a bit of bloody respect! :mad:
Yass need a seriously big change to their club culture IMO. Abusing and just going on and on and on backchattin to umpys is NOT part of the game. Abuse and backchat towards the opposition and punchin blokes behind play is NOT part of the game. Bit of sledging is fine but they always take it way too far.
Someone said a while back and I reckon I agree that Yass and the way they carry on is a big reason div4 only have club umpires now!
And losing coz you blow up at the umps ? Wouldn't be the first timee southcab :D I guess we'll hear all about it in the Tribune this week tho, huh? :rolleyes:

Own Supply I think your wrong this time champ.
I was at the game and was on the sidelines supporting the team that won the game.

The game was a great game of footy until a couple of incidents happened. I have to say two bad calls and this happens but I think you have the wrong idea they are a hard side tackle hard not dirty and what i saw on the weekend was to hard sides. Harman are also hard at it and sometimes get labled the same way Yass do. There was no swearing and it was still family friendly. If anything our crowd was worse than the players !!!!

I was talking to the Yass coach after the game ( who ive known for years through footy and work) and he didnt balme the umpiring all together agreed it changed the game. I have to say he is getting on a bit but still plays good footy and he and killer had a great tussle in the middle.

Own if you have a grudge about Yass which you seem to go and watch a few more games of theres to get a true indication. They are a good side and i hope they make finals cause they are a good side just had a down day.

Great heart shown by Hawks 4ths on Saturday. Started with 2 on the bench quickly down to 1 then none. Continued until only 15 were left on the field in the last term, but still they kept fighting against a top side in the comp, Harman. A loss but great effort by the boys.

You guys have a 4th grade team. Why couldn't you call two players up?

My experience with Big Dave from Harman is that he does make mistakes but he calls it how he sees it. Just like every other club umpy.
And he makes it very clear before and during a game that he won't take any crap and that because there are always lots of families with young kids at Harman games he wont tolerate any bad language and he sticks to that. One warning and then frees and then yellow cards.
If the message isn't passed on to the rest of the players by a club captain or the coach then it is the capatain and the coach that are to blame if any free kicks are paid for language or players are sent off for abuse.
I don't wanna bring my kids to the footy half the time nowadays coz I know they're gonna come home with a few new four letter words in their vocab. Especially when Yass are playing! Just show a bit of bloody respect! :mad:
Yass need a seriously big change to their club culture IMO. Abusing and just going on and on and on backchattin to umpys is NOT part of the game. Abuse and backchat towards the opposition and punchin blokes behind play is NOT part of the game. Bit of sledging is fine but they always take it way too far.
Someone said a while back and I reckon I agree that Yass and the way they carry on is a big reason div4 only have club umpires now!
And losing coz you blow up at the umps ? Wouldn't be the first timee southcab :D I guess we'll hear all about it in the Tribune this week tho, huh? :rolleyes:
Thanks for that own supply,for a bloke that by his own admission is only new to canberra you certainly formed an opinon of yass quickly.There is merit in some of what you say and i dare say truth as well.Starting with yass do need a change in cultre if your not playing perhaps you could assit us with this next year :D I often wonder how we would go if we trained and picked a side before saturday mornings and actually had 22 players :)Secondly yes i have blown up at umpires in the past so i guess its karma catching up with me,however for your umpire to say that i swore directly at him and to say that i contniued on with verbal abuse directly to him is a very poor mis representation of the truth and i believe he knows this.I hope we dont read about it in the tribune but you never can tell.
Lastly its a bit rich to lay the blame squarly on yass for the lack of leauge umpires and the need for club umpires if this was the case why is it that div 3 will be same next year and by the way how good will finals footy be with club umpires you bloody beauty cant wait .Guess we have yass to thank for something after all.Oh yes one thing you forgot yass roos are to blame for the carbon tax as well.You should bring your kids to the game own supply im sure there vocabulary wouldnt change to much from that at nappy valley.:thumbsu:

Hmm interesting suggestion......I dare say that the 4s would not consider it, which is strange given that they played Eastlake and dicked them! Are the two connected through the club at all? Do they train together?

A team of 22 was named and was expected to play. But very late notice some players pulled out, also 4th grade players did play up. The tuggers district teams do train as one team.:)

I wouldn't take my kids to a Harman game, but not because of the swearing, I just don't want to see and be in any way influenced by the terrible skill less football Harman try and pass off as football year in year out.

A team of 22 was named and was expected to play. But very late notice some players pulled out, also 4th grade players did play up. The tuggers district teams do train as one team.:)

Well if a few played up and they train as a unit why not bring up a few others rather then saying the 3s played with 'great heart' for being players down. When it is something their own club could have rectified.

Apparantly and according to the Harman officials the Harman umpire was abused by Murrumbidgee last weekend so he went to jock and jock told him he has the power and is within his rite to send officals from the game.
A bit of a stretch from your Harman source Southcab, complaint mentioned and withdrawn by Harman President at the game after clarification there had been some miscommunication from his club personnel.
Club umpires are being instructed to be fierce on any backchat with freekicks and penalty cards, which is leading to some over zealous decision making and then to escalated tension. Some more experienced club umpires are ignoring the instruction and letting the game flow and not getting too technical and resulting in more reasonable contests where the umpire is not an obvious influence.
The other obvious disappointing loss is the lack of social after match interaction between teams because of possible tension with Club umpires.

A bit of a stretch from your Harman source Southcab, complaint mentioned and withdrawn by Harman President at the game after clarification there had been some miscommunication from his club personnel.
Club umpires are being instructed to be fierce on any backchat with freekicks and penalty cards, which is leading to some over zealous decision making and then to escalated tension. Some more experienced club umpires are ignoring the instruction and letting the game flow and not getting too technical and resulting in more reasonable contests where the umpire is not an obvious influence.
The other obvious disappointing loss is the lack of social after match interaction between teams because of possible tension with Club umpires.
My source the harman runner Div 4 ,Its all well and good for umpires to be giving instruction to be fierce problem now is they need to be instructed how to inforce it.The major complaint i have is not the inconsistancy but more when the club umpire plants himself in his own foward half he may aswell kick the goal.Has a player been given a yellow or red card this year by his own club umpire ? for what ever reason.

The major complaint i have is not the inconsistancy but more when the club umpire plants himself in his own foward half he may aswell kick the goal.Has a player been given a yellow or red card this year by his own club umpire ? for what ever reason.

Must say I agree with you there Southcab. Why is it that the less competent club umpires always seem to be umpiring the end their team is kicking to? Or umpiring from about a hundred metres away!
Having said that, my experience this year has been that the good club umpires seem actually to be far harsher on their own side than the opposition.
On the weekend we had two blokes from Gungahlin umpiring and, while they didn't get every decision right, I thought they were two of the better umpires we've had this season. And they were terribly harsh on their own blokes (and copped numerous sprays for it too!)

I believe Steve Armstrong got sent off earlier in the season by the young bloke that umpires Goulburn games.
He trained with us a few times and seemed very sure of himself when he said he had no qualms in sending players off - regardless of which side they were on. That's a good thing I suppose.

I wouldn't take my kids to a Harman game, but not because of the swearing, I just don't want to see and be in any way influenced by the terrible skill less football Harman try and pass off as football year in year out.

lol What?? I hope this is sarcasm because Harman have some of the better skills in the comp. I'm thinking this is just pure trolling because that's some of the more ridiculous calls i've heard on this board and that's saying something.

I'm guessing the fact you aren't at Harmans games is a good thing.

lol What?? I hope this is sarcasm because Harman have some of the better skills in the comp. I'm thinking this is just pure trolling because that's some of the more ridiculous calls i've heard on this board and that's saying something.

I'm guessing the fact you aren't at Harmans games is a good thing.
I didn't say I wasn't at Harman games. What I said was that I wouldn't take my kids to them.

I believe Steve Armstrong got sent off earlier in the season by the young bloke that umpires Goulburn games.
He trained with us a few times and seemed very sure of himself when he said he had no qualms in sending players off - regardless of which side they were on. That's a good thing I suppose.[/quote]

If its Bobby your talking about, a bloke told me today he sent dawso off with a yellow as well.He also sent a couple from yass and had no qualms about it either :D

What happened at the tribunal with the reports from Harman V Yass?
Did you complain to the League about the umpire in the end southcab?
Gees lucky the league don't fine anyone who hang sh#t on the umpires like in AFL! :D

He trained with us a few times and seemed very sure of himself when he said he had no qualms in sending players off - regardless of which side they were on. That's a good thing I suppose.

If its Bobby your talking about, a bloke told me today he sent dawso off with a yellow as well.He also sent a couple from yass and had no qualms about it either :D[/quote]

Belco v Woden on the weekend had a guy umpiring that i have recognised from 1st grade/NEAFL. He is a great umpire (bounced the ball about 50m into the air too - and straight)
One thing that makes a big difference in my opinion (aside from his competence!) is that he gives feedback when you ask about a decision. I certainly dont condone guys losing their sh!t on the field and screaming abuse at an umpire about why/why not a decision was made, but if you ask "how come" or disagree, this guy would give his version of events, and then both player and umpire move on. On one occassion one of our players asked about a missed free kick - his response was along the lines of "I didnt see it from my position mate" and that was enough to satisfy our player. The umpires even made the effort to have a decent chat to the captain prior to the game - important I believe.
I reckon a bit of feedback from umpires (doesnt have to be a complete analysis of the contest/whatever) during the course of the match would be better than being an ignorant pr!ck and then just giving away 50s for players passionately asking a question? Of course, any player that goes apesh!t should be penalised accordingly.

If its Bobby your talking about, a bloke told me today he sent dawso off with a yellow as well.He also sent a couple from yass and had no qualms about it either :D

Belco v Woden on the weekend had a guy umpiring that i have recognised from 1st grade/NEAFL. He is a great umpire (bounced the ball about 50m into the air too - and straight)
One thing that makes a big difference in my opinion (aside from his competence!) is that he gives feedback when you ask about a decision. I certainly dont condone guys losing their sh!t on the field and screaming abuse at an umpire about why/why not a decision was made, but if you ask "how come" or disagree, this guy would give his version of events, and then both player and umpire move on. On one occassion one of our players asked about a missed free kick - his response was along the lines of "I didnt see it from my position mate" and that was enough to satisfy our player. The umpires even made the effort to have a decent chat to the captain prior to the game - important I believe.
I reckon a bit of feedback from umpires (doesnt have to be a complete analysis of the contest/whatever) during the course of the match would be better than being an ignorant pr!ck and then just giving away 50s for players passionately asking a question? Of course, any player that goes apesh!t should be penalised accordingly.[/quote]

exactly right their two bobs. I have only umpired about 4 or 5 games this year and i did exactly that, if i couldnt see it i didnt blow the whistle. i said that a few times and the players understood. i really dont think club umpires should be able to report anyone, we are just their so the game can go on.

Oh dear - he's back writing himself up in the 3rd person

After a few tough weeks both on and off the field, it was great to see us give the Belco boys a real scare today.

There were a few Willi awards given out today for great games over the past couple and solid efforts at training and around the club:

Chris Chivers who has been a regular at training over the past couple of weeks. After his 1 touch game last week, he tripled his possessions this week. Well done Chiv!

Junior Maher who has been rock solid this year and a great club leader.

Viss who is stringing some games together and looking fantastic up forward.

Big Lukey, who has trained hard all year and has been an awesome clubman.

Ryno, who played his heart out today and always give 100%.

Budge who filled in today and played a great game.

Ahahahahaha

Pumpa, you are a sad loser with a monumental chip on his shoulder. If only you bothered to put those energies into something positive rather than having a crack at me anonymously on an internet forum. You are a coward and a two faced one at that.

Shame half of the content on the Blues site isn't written by me any more - for an example, the post you referred to. I didn't even know it was there until you made that comment!.

So thanks for improving our stats which we sell to our sponsors - speaking of which, make sure you look after the Woden Blues sponsors

Canberra Irish Club
NAB Fyshwick
Luton Real Estate
Canberra Business Limousines
and
VIP Cleaning

Cheers

Budge

Twobobs - completely agree. Excellent umpire, took control, made decisions, stuck by them, then explained afterwards.

What happened at the tribunal with the reports from Harman V Yass?
Did you complain to the League about the umpire in the end southcab?
Gees lucky the league don't fine anyone who hang sh#t on the umpires like in AFL! :D

Player got 1 week, i got a reprimand

Never said i would complain to the leauge,suspect they know what goes on.

Theres a big difference between an umpire and a guy who weres a saftey vest and borrows a toy whistle,but yeah lucky a ;)

AFL Canberra - Division 3 & 4 - 2011 Season