AFL Canberra - Division 3 & 4 - 2011 Season

Massive win by the Rams to effectively secure the minor premiership in Div 3. Huge effort in conditions that didn't suit them against a bigger bodied side.

Wow, massive win by ADFA.

I hear Jets 3's won against Ainslie? Anyone know the score?
How did the 4's go?

Anyone have a score for Goulburn, Coota & Cooma?

What happened to Eastlake 4's this year? Worst position for a couple of years from what I have been told, am considering going there, Belco or Ainslie when I come back next year (dependant on where I am living... just won't be south side)

Wow, massive win by ADFA.

I hear Jets 3's won against Ainslie? Anyone know the score?
How did the 4's go?

Anyone have a score for Goulburn, Coota & Cooma?

What happened to Eastlake 4's this year? Worst position for a couple of years from what I have been told, am considering going there, Belco or Ainslie when I come back next year (dependant on where I am living... just won't be south side)
Hey snap shot, goulburn beat belco by 27 points yesterday. Was a good effort by our boys and I thought we might have been able to pinch a win early in the last quarter. Goulburn were just a bit too strong though and their better players like cummo and sam treloar dragged them across the line.

I have to say that the combination of umpiring yesterday in what was awfull weather was outstanding.Cowboy the juggs umpire has found his calling and is as good as any i have seen.And i reckon im a tuff judge well done Ross and well done cowboy:thumbsu:I also have to say that its very refreshing to see a side enjoying there footy as much as the juggs div 4.the combination of youth and expirence will see them improving soon.It was good to have a beer with them aswell and i believe that the bus increased the revenue of our loca.l sponsor the australian hotel.All in all a good day was had by all

Where are the fianls being played this year? I'm keen to come and watch a few games.

hey mate,
all finals are at footy park this year i am told, and as usual features womens, 4s and 3s from 10am, midday and 2.15pm

sat 27 aug 2nd semi (1v2)
sun 28 aug 1st semi (3v4)

sun 4 sept prelim final

sat 10 sept grand final

looks like ANU v Eastlake next weekend just might be an elimination final if results go as expected this weekend...

First time poster - but read the thread all the time. The chat on this thread leaves the NEAFL thread (where I also have an allegance) for dead:thumbsu:.
Been living overseas now since the start of the season and I am keen to get some thoughts on the form of ANUAFC in both grades and whether or not they can make the finals in Div 3 especially and if there whether they can have an impact? If the Div 3 team makes it it will continue a fabulous record of finals football for the club stretching back to the mid 90s.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.:D

So I posted this on the NEAFL board and was advised to query over here....
For those involved with a club that has a Div 1&2 side currently or even previously...

What is the relationship like with the Div 3/4 components of the respective clubs? Is it an us and them culture?

I may be coming back to Canberra mid next year and was looking at clubs to play for. I looked at Eastlake's site (just as an example) a few nights back and they have the main site for the premier divisions but a whole separate site on what seems to be a different URL and host for Div 3/4.

Seeing Ainslie play different grades at different times at their home ground, the 'support' for the div 3 side was obviously vastly different from the 'premier' sides.

When I was in Canberra and with the few training sessions with the Jets, it was mentioned that other clubs are divided between the divisions. Do the Div 2 tend to have many fringe players down in Div 3?

(happy for any correction on the above, just a query)

Cheers

Did anybody else see the full page ad in the the Canberra Times recognising the 50th anniversary of the ANU footy club. Was quite a spiffy page, looked very good.

Well done ANU, never thought I would say that.

Still areas to work on though, maybe one day all your players will wear the same shorts and socks....;)

ANU over Bidgee by about 80 in 4's, ANU over Tugg by about 130 in 3's.

Keen to hear the result in the Yass vs Goulburn game and Coota vs Belco game.

Pretty good game against Coota. Belco 6 goals down early in the second, worked back into it, drew level 10 minutes into the last, but Coota kicked the last four goals to run away.

I know they cop a lot of shit about having 'home' umpires. But today was the best umpiring I have seen in two or three years at this level. Fair, no home town decisions and playing the man going the ball.

Good luck to the Blues in the finals.

ADFA had a win against the Jugs in the 3s. The Jugs won the last quarter which was a great effort from a good bunch of blokes who play the game in terrific spirit!

With the uni celbrating 50 years this weekend it,s like uni wrote the script.The winner of the threes game with eastlake will go on and play finals and with the deamons having the bye in div 2 it should make for an interesting contest.When was the last time eastlake made the finals in districts?I bet there arent to many at the friday nights cocktail party from the thirds.
The fours should be a decent game as well with both uni and yass already assured of finals.Uni has had the wood on yass of late but well see what we can do about that :DI know tuggeranong are hopeing thats it a very phisical game as they are set to play uni the following week.Id also bet that tuggers are barracking for uni in the threes too, so those threes who are qualified to play fours are unavailable :p Tuggers wouldnt have to many threes available for fours as they werent good enough to make the fours this year:eek: Any way should be a good day of footy all round and congrats to all at uni on the 50 years :thumbsu:Is Tuany the only life member still running around btw.

Player got 1 week, i got a reprimand

Never said i would complain to the leauge,suspect they know what goes on.

Theres a big difference between an umpire and a guy who weres a saftey vest and borrows a toy whistle,but yeah lucky a ;)

That's the spirit! Take it on the chin like a real man... oh wait...

So I posted this on the NEAFL board and was advised to query over here....
For those involved with a club that has a Div 1&2 side currently or even previously...

What is the relationship like with the Div 3/4 components of the respective clubs? Is it an us and them culture?

I may be coming back to Canberra mid next year and was looking at clubs to play for. I looked at Eastlake's site (just as an example) a few nights back and they have the main site for the premier divisions but a whole separate site on what seems to be a different URL and host for Div 3/4.

Seeing Ainslie play different grades at different times at their home ground, the 'support' for the div 3 side was obviously vastly different from the 'premier' sides.

When I was in Canberra and with the few training sessions with the Jets, it was mentioned that other clubs are divided between the divisions. Do the Div 2 tend to have many fringe players down in Div 3?

(happy for any correction on the above, just a query)

Cheers

I have often wondered the same thing. Not being involved with a club like Ainslie, Belco I wouldn't know.

Anyone able to answer this query?

AFL Canberra - Division 3 & 4 - 2011 Season