AFL Canberra Part 2

Didn't see Saturdays game ITKM but from all reports Eastlake were let down by a slow start.

I was at yesterdays game and IMO both sides were ordinary with Ainslie marginally better than a poor Queanbeyan.

I cant see Ainslie playing that badly again but I did think to myself that Eastlake would have little to fear on that Ainslie performance yesterday.

Funnily enough I would quite enjoy a Ainslie V Belco GF as I think it would be a more physical clash with spot fires everywhere but I will talk about that if it actually occurs.

Tigers never got going against Tri's. Far to many turnovers and dumb decisions when going forward....God only knows why they continue to kick to 2,3 and at on stage 4 on 1 in the forward line...Dumb, dumb, dumb and f*ck knows who was on #4 from Ainslie, never had an opponent all day.

Plenty to do over the summer for Queanbeyan, they have plenty of good kids but they are 2-3 years away from being a consistant side.

ABH,

For me the standard wasn't 'ordinary' probably some poor decision making from both teams and lacking a bit of composure but it wasn't that bad. If AFC had a bit more composure going forward the game could have blown out. AFC 26 scoring shots to QFC 16.

2 weeks ago I said AFC would give this comp a massive shake up. I think Eastlake will be a lot less comfortable having to play AFC as opposed to QFC.

reasonable crowds over the weekend, also Whattos mark yesterday in the last qtr for the tiges was prob Mark of the year, unreal courage.
I disagree,

as good as it was, #32 (dingo) for Eastlake had a stunner on Saturday, huge mark taken over a pack.

Also, its not often Ainger is used as a step ladder, but Rodgers did it to him in the last.

I disagree,

as good as it was, #32 (dingo) for Eastlake had a stunner on Saturday, huge mark taken over a pack.

Also, its not often Ainger is used as a step ladder, but Rodgers did it to him in the last.
I disagree again,

Whato's mark was something special and generally only seen at AFL level :thumbsu:

The courage shown by him will go into Tiger's history for ever!

Dingoes was spectacular and good pack mark, but completely different to whattos.

The game was almost dead and he still went back at full tilt with big andrews and irwin coming back the other way. That is exactly what QBN is built around and why they can never be discounted as a threat. honestly thought someone was gonna die in that contest. unbelievable stuff football at its best at any level.

Belco/Ainslie granny crowd of 5,000 and good tough uncomprimising football through the middle and very talented forward lines.

Dingoes was spectacular and good pack mark, but completely different to whattos.

The game was almost dead and he still went back at full tilt with big andrews and irwin coming back the other way. That is exactly what QBN is built around and why they can never be discounted as a threat. honestly thought someone was gonna die in that contest. unbelievable stuff football at its best at any level.

Belco/Ainslie granny crowd of 5,000 and good tough uncomprimising football through the middle and very talented forward lines.
Different is true.

Dingo's was cleaner in my opinion, probably why I like it more. That is not to take anything away from whatto though, he certainly was brave in going for that contest.

I hope you're right about the 5000, that would be an absolutely stunning turnout. :thumbsu:

The QBN toughness is a thing of the past, they have not shown that they are any tougher (mentally or physically) then anyone else in 09 and that is why they are not in the finals race anymore. They need to have a big look in the mirror before the 2010 season if they want that 'toguh club' label in the future!

Team of the year is announced at a lunch on Friday.
All of the players know already if they are in and you were pretty close Manuka man

Dingo's mark was redic!!! Good to see Roy get some hang time on Ainger!
Belco played the best I have seen them play this year shame they wanted to fight instead of playing footy...again!!!
Eastlake will go well this week...be a good to finally see Eastlake vs Belco grand final
Go Demons!

The QBN toughness is a thing of the past, they have not shown that they are any tougher (mentally or physically) then anyone else in 09 and that is why they are not in the finals race anymore. They need to have a big look in the mirror before the 2010 season if they want that 'toguh club' label in the future!

I think part of what you say has truth to it BB.

Qbn is not the feared physical side as it once was and while they do have tough, hard players (if Daniher was 6 ft 3 and built like a brick out house he would kill someone) there is nobody that makes others around them stand a bit taller.

They dont have the harder, bigger bodies such as Cavendon and Carey in recent years and The Gilberts and Vizy's of the past who could make a path for others to go thru.

Tigers are rebuilding and it will take time for some of the younger bodies to develop.

Players such as Walmsley, Satchell, Griggs, Slater, Stevens, Kirkwood, Mannie, T.Dickinson etc, etc all need games under their belts firstly to believe they belong at that level and secondly they require time to develop the bodies to play consistant hard football week in and week out. Until this occurs they will be up and down in performance.

It will be a 2-3 years before Tigers are back competing for honours IMO.

ABH,

For me the standard wasn't 'ordinary' probably some poor decision making from both teams and lacking a bit of composure but it wasn't that bad. If AFC had a bit more composure going forward the game could have blown out. AFC 26 scoring shots to QFC 16.

2 weeks ago I said AFC would give this comp a massive shake up. I think Eastlake will be a lot less comfortable having to play AFC as opposed to QFC.

We differ on this one EF.

Qbn were well below their best and Ainslie only won by 19 points which suggests they were below their best.

How Ainslie didnt have the game iced by around half time or at worst 3/4 time shows they were not travelling as well as their coach would have liked.

IMO with both sides playing well below their best continually turning the ball over without pressure constitutes an ordinary game to watch.

Put it this way, Rourke would expect a much better performance than what was put out against Qbn otherwise his side will be defeated comfortably by Eastlake.

We differ on this one EF.

Qbn were well below their best and Ainslie only won by 19 points which suggests they were below their best.

How Ainslie didnt have the game iced by around half time or at worst 3/4 time shows they were not travelling as well as their coach would have liked.

IMO with both sides playing well below their best continually turning the ball over without pressure constitutes an ordinary game to watch.

Put it this way, Rourke would expect a much better performance than what was put out against Qbn otherwise his side will be defeated comfortably by Eastlake.

The only thing that enabled the tigers to stay in it was Ainslies inaccuraccy. There were at least 7-8 very gettable goals in the second half by the likes of hughes, tutt,mathis and andrews and the only dissapointing thing was that ainslie didn't win by 10 goals like they should have. Anyways thats over now should be a ripper this weekend. Tris by 25 points.

Bad kicking = bad football

Pretty simple really, Ainslie were just marginally better than Qbn who were average at best.

Eastlake would not have feared what Ainslie dished up on the weekend.

Good luck to both sides this weekend and may the best side deserve a crack at the big one!

Bad kicking = bad football

Pretty simple really, Ainslie were just marginally better than Qbn who were average at best.

Eastlake would not have feared what Ainslie dished up on the weekend.

Good luck to both sides this weekend and may the best side deserve a crack at the big one!

It would be fair to say that the winner of this week will be the winner of the GF wouldn't you say. Belconnen to come through with their usual September form and once again end the year with nothing in the cabinet.

bigunit101 good to see "your back" posting again.

Just a quick question. What would be the result this weekend "if" Ainslie missed those sodas again?

I agree the goals Ainslie missed were very gettable but im taking Eastlake even if the Tri's dont miss some sodas. If Ainslie dish up those shots on goal this weekend, it may get ugly score board wise.

Best of luck to you.

If they miss them sodas again there is no doubt that they will get done and yes it could be by a bit but it is something that can be worked on at training and should be improved this week. You would rather have that problem I believe than say have a problem with intensity or work rate for example. As i said the tri's will go in very confident as I believe they were a much better side than queanbeyan, especially in the second half. There midfield and backline was far superior last week so if the forwards can lift than ainslie should get the win

Key Position/Vinny Proud - One and the same, what are you playing at?

Key Position has been accused of being Vinnie Proud (Who ever he is?) then magically a new username appears - Vinnie Proud, and they both post on the same sites, what are you playing at.

As for this weekend, The Demons by 6 goals, the Half a million investment in N.Clarke will have to pay dividends won't it - eventually.....

6 years x ("Work" at the club + Playing costs + 5 years Coach) would have to be $500,000, at least.

Good if you can get it.

Which Coaches are in the Barrell? I'm sure there maybe a few to follow Horne?

It would be fair to say that the winner of this week will be the winner of the GF wouldn't you say. Belconnen to come through with their usual September form and once again end the year with nothing in the cabinet.

You would know Spoiler, you are an expert at losing to Eastlake in GF's. Goal after the siren ring any bells.

Come to think of it, you have never been part of a premiership side as a player or a coach (lame ass assistant doesn't count) at all the clubs you have been at.

‘All hail Spoiler, the King of not quite getting there, expert in all things failure.’

You would know Spoiler, you are an expert at losing to Eastlake in GF's. Goal after the siren ring any bells.

Come to think of it, you have never been part of a premiership side as a player or a coach (lame ass assistant doesn't count) at all the clubs you have been at.

‘All hail Spoiler, the King of not quite getting there, expert in all things failure.’

So who am I meant to be?

Draught, close but no cigar. Kp is a mate of mine and if its your desire to think/post we are the same person, well be my guest.
Dont mates post on the same threads at times or is that just not a possability. To me and most others, if i was kp, why would i post under my own name.
You've got issuses with clarke at Eastlake, so stick to talking him down.

Key Position/Vinny Proud - One and the same, what are you playing at?

Key Position has been accused of being Vinnie Proud (Who ever he is?) then magically a new username appears - Vinnie Proud, and they both post on the same sites, what are you playing at.

As for this weekend, The Demons by 6 goals, the Half a million investment in N.Clarke will have to pay dividends won't it - eventually.....

6 years x ("Work" at the club + Playing costs + 5 years Coach) would have to be $500,000, at least.

Good if you can get it.

Which Coaches are in the Barrell? I'm sure there maybe a few to follow Horne?

Dear Carlton Draught,

Im sure this site wasnt designed for people to have personal cracks at individuals and what they may earn doing their job.

Maybe you should stick to talking about what happens on the field and who is playing well or not playing well , who will win and who will not.

Although looking at all your posts you seem to be an antagonistic f-wit who watches from afar and wouldnt even know the people who you make comment on

For me , its seems you are jealous of the fact that N Clarke can make a living out of something that he loves and everyone I speak of at Eastlake rates nathan highly as a pesron and a coach.

Not sure who you are but pull your head in and talk about the footy and leave out the character assanations :thumbsdown:

Dear Carlton Draught,

Im sure this site wasnt designed for people to have personal cracks at individuals and what they may earn doing their job.

Maybe you should stick to talking about what happens on the field and who is playing well or not playing well , who will win and who will not.

Although looking at all your posts you seem to be an antagonistic f-wit who watches from afar and wouldnt even know the people who you make comment on

For me , its seems you are jealous of the fact that N Clarke can make a living out of something that he loves and everyone I speak of at Eastlake rates nathan highly as a pesron and a coach.

Not sure who you are but pull your head in and talk about the footy and leave out the character assanations :thumbsdown:

Well said Thats 50!!! N Clarke is highly respected even outside of Eastlake! He has done well with his young list and few additions over the years.
Quite fitting that today he and his younger brother make the Team of the Year together!

Stick to talking footy and not personal attacks and maybe praise the level of talent that we have here in AFL Canberra!