AFL Canberra Part 2

How true is the rumour that AFL Canberra lost to Sydney today ? If so what happened. Anyone know who actually went from each club ?. Seriously the Sydney League is crap in comparison to ACT so something is astray if they beat us !!!!!!
Sydney AFL 15.12 (102) d AFL Canberra 12.6 (78)

If any of you are interested, my (Sydney-centric) match report and pictorial are now online.

There doesnt seem to be any name players in the AFL Canberra Squad. What happened to the Ainlsie / Adelaide connection of Lewis, Inkster and Pratt and also Hughes. They are four of the best who didnt play. Also the two best rucks in the comp in Dickinson from Qnbo and Porter from Magpies. Where were they ?

I was lucky enough to be in Sydney and caught the game (in between catching up with friends, so it may not be the best review).

There were certainly a tonne of players out. From the talk around the ground, at least 17 decided they had better things on that weekend. Pretty poor effort really. The game was ok. Not the best i've seen at all. To be honest, i've seen better Div 1 matches this year. It wasn't very fiery, nor were the skills particularly great.

Not having Dicko and Porter in the ruck hurt to some extent. But i think it was number 21 (longmore??) played a terrific match. I saw he was named as ACT's best. Where has he been? THe other ruck was someone from belco who i've only ever seen play in the forwards, so that hurt. I think he was beaten in the ruck, but looked very good in the forwards.

Aaron Bruce was pretty good all day, as was Clarke. They got a lot of ball, but we gave it up a bit too often going into the forward line. The use of the ball around the ground was ok, but the delivery to the big boys was lacking. I just didn't see that many stand outs for the game. It was fun to watch, but not that memorable. I think it was Ainger that stood up ok as well. Not sure who was kicking out either, but there were some forgettable kickouts for that young guy :D

Sydney just looked like they wanted it more. When they kicked a goal, they would celebrate. The ACT boys didn't look that pumped up at all. It actually looked like it meant something to Sydney.

Anyway that's all i've got so far. Maybe more when i've finished some work.

Did anyone else get to the game?

I was lucky enough to be in Sydney and caught the game (in between catching up with friends, so it may not be the best review).

There were certainly a tonne of players out. From the talk around the ground, at least 17 decided they had better things on that weekend. Pretty poor effort really. The game was ok. Not the best i've seen at all. To be honest, i've seen better Div 1 matches this year. It wasn't very fiery, nor were the skills particularly great.

Not having Dicko and Porter in the ruck hurt to some extent. But i think it was number 21 (longmore??) played a terrific match. I saw he was named as ACT's best. Where has he been? THe other ruck was someone from belco who i've only ever seen play in the forwards, so that hurt. I think he was beaten in the ruck, but looked very good in the forwards.

Aaron Bruce was pretty good all day, as was Clarke. They got a lot of ball, but we gave it up a bit too often going into the forward line. The use of the ball around the ground was ok, but the delivery to the big boys was lacking. I just didn't see that many stand outs for the game. It was fun to watch, but not that memorable. I think it was Ainger that stood up ok as well. Not sure who was kicking out either, but there were some forgettable kickouts for that young guy :D

Sydney just looked like they wanted it more. When they kicked a goal, they would celebrate. The ACT boys didn't look that pumped up at all. It actually looked like it meant something to Sydney.

Anyway that's all i've got so far. Maybe more when i've finished some work.

Did anyone else get to the game?

very quiet on here, is everyone still in shock or denial about losing to sfl.

Well I read in the record there were 14 players under 22 in the side, so any loss shouldn't have been a surprise at all!!

Looks like Tuggers had a nice close match, nearly threw a spanner in the Tigers' works. Was the game as good as the scoreline suggests?

Spoke to senior player out Tigerland and he admitted that Qbn were awefull and lucky to win the game.

They have been poor for most of the year.

4 wins v Tuggers and 1 win against Eastlake & Ainslie shows they dont deserve to play finals again!

My 10 cents worth:

First quarter photos from Round 15 Ainslie v Hawks is now available for you personal viewing pleasure.

www.flickr.com/photos/red3photography :thumbsu:

Rep Game: I seem to recall a very recent GM really talking it up, saying how this was about the ACT stamping its authority/pride/passion ra ra ra....

Hawks v Tigers at Greenway: Quite exciting, not particualrly great football but still some extremely good passages, the team in orange won it. Sorry if I'm way out of line here, but from where I was standing (on the boundary line at the scoreboard end) there were only two field umpires there that day and a third bloke dressed in orange.

AFL Canberra really needs to pay First-Grade Umpires more, (a) to maybe increase the size of the umpire pool, and (b) to provide an incentive to umpires to keep their skills in top condition (ie have a shocker and you're back in reserves for a week or two at reduced pay).

Maybe the ACT Government instead of trying to lure one AFL game to Canberra should tell the AFL to get stuffed, and instead pour the $400k into getting local bums on seats to see the quality ganes that regularly occur every weekend!

Sorry if I'm ranting, but I watch a bloody lot of local footy, and I think we have a great product that's going largely unnoticed.

Spoke to senior player out Tigerland and he admitted that Qbn were awefull and lucky to win the game.

They have been poor for most of the year.

4 wins v Tuggers and 1 win against Eastlake & Ainslie shows they dont deserve to play finals again!

Did the senior grade player you spoke to actually play and if so was he one of the "awefull" ones. Did he mention how good the young blokes were or just how "awefull" the senior players were. There are positives to everything. Shame some people just rely on negatives when commenting on others.

Did he mention who played and who didnt or is that just one of those excuses again !!

I recall Ainslie winning just four games in 1987, making the finals and then winning the GF. These things happen, doesnt matter how "awefull" things are at the time.

Nice to have you back Original...

I wasn't at the game but from the games I have seen (except the Eastlake win) most of the Senior players have been average at various times.

Far to many have been well below their best on far to many occassions and to many have not improved their football as they have matured.

I have commented on several times on radio and this thread how well the young guys have performed this season and the future looks bright.

Credit to the senior player I spoke to as he did mention a few young blokes who did stand up.

Again nice to have you back mate:thumbsu:

Think Ainslie may need one of those "panic" meetings that manuka man suggested they had.

Think you're right KP.

Was an interested on looker on Sunday for a half or so and if the boys from Tri-hard land want to make in roads come "September" (in August), then they will need to harden up in the next couple of weeks against the Tigers and particularly the all conquering Pies. The boys in teal, white and black have one hand on the cup and have proven far too physical this year against Ainslie.

Out of the wood's they come, welcome to bigfooty FawnTwenty, enjoy your stay, and i mean that from the base of my nut's.
Belco have one hand on the cup and you've got one hand on babbling bubba's love stick. I remember watching the Wakefield silver spoon's defeat Belco by 3pts(by memory) on a very ugly wet day at Manuka. So your theory that they cant go with Belco in the hardness stake's hold's not a drop of water for me. That particular day you could only win with physicality/hardness.
Im happy to report that my 2 close mate's had a major influence on that result.
Next week i took a little peep at my mate's that play for Eastlake, and you guessed it, they had Belco. FawnTwenty, please correct me, but didnt the Demon's bop Belco to the tune of 40pts?
I understand only 2 game's lost for the season is a great effort, but the 2 sides that have beaten Belco are the same 2 side's hunting them. Your coming accross like Belco hav'nt lost a game and no one has got with in 10gls of them.
Ainslie to a panic meeting, and you to a reality meeting. I also know you'll take my astute opinion on board, because not only am i a bigfooty god, im adored by the oppsite sex(sometimes same sex given my look's), which sometime's can be a burden.
Finally iv'e got free ticket's to the Mi Mi club if anyone want's them. I walked past the place and it was as if the lovely ladies inside senced an adonis cruising past, hence the free ticket's.

It’s pretty hard to argue with 11 in a row KP. I’m just calling it as I see it from the side line. I don’t think it was necessary to get personal.

While we’re at it though: How can I take your “astute” diatribe seriously when clearly you are still completing year 3 at Ballarat Primary? Ask your teacher how to use apostrophes correctly you illiterate moron. :D

In a moment some more photos from Round 15 Ainslie v Hawks will be on their way to flickr (for your personal viewing pleasure).

Reading through Facebook this morning there is a lot of angst being expressed by Hawks players. Reading between the lines, I think a night of long knives may be nigh. I don't know much about the internal workings of any of the clubs these days, and my knowledge of what's happening at AFL Canberra level has been close to zero this year, but where there's smoke there's also often fire.

Cheers

Interesting match tomorrow Tigers v Ainslie. My pick Ainslie - just - which ends Qnbs season. Without a couple of key players including Jarkes, and young kirkwood they will struggle against players of the calabre if Inkster, Lewis, the two Tutts and the other adelaide bloke.
Too qucik for theTigers.

Belco to flog Hawks and Demons to inflict defeat on a weak Swans combination.

Well it got a comment out of you:cool:.

Get a sence of humour:p.

Give us a topic to discuss then. Abh i just dont like it when people come flying out of the wood work when their team is on the rise, they are called fair weathered supporters, so i expressed my dissapointment.

Just general banter, ill pm you next time i want to post, ill make sure i get the green light off your good self first:rolleyes:. My apolagies to the entire thread.

I love a laugh as much as anyone but the humour needs to be funny....I unlike your good self dont find your stuff amusing....We just have differing opinions on what is funny KP...

Could be the age difference mate??

First half (really just the second quarter; I arrived late) of Round 15 Queanbeyan v Sydney is heading to flickr (for your personal viewing pleasure.

I have a gut feeling that it's going to be an all-Canberra finals series....

Cheers

Wrong !
For that to happen Tigers have to beat Demons next week. Thats not gonna happen Flicker. Otherwise Hawks have to beat Sydney in Sydney - thats not gonna happen Flicker !!

The final four will be Belco (obviously), Eastlake, Ainslie and Swans. The last two are pretenders with the Triclours having too many internal problems(again) to have any show and the Swans just wont want to show after a injury riddled year in both grades. Magpies to win comp with ease come Sept 5 as predicted nine months ago !!!

Wrong !
For that to happen Tigers have to beat Demons next week. Thats not gonna happen Flicker. Otherwise Hawks have to beat Sydney in Sydney - thats not gonna happen Flicker !!

The final four will be Belco (obviously), Eastlake, Ainslie and Swans. The last two are pretenders with the Triclours having too many internal problems(again) to have any show and the Swans just wont want to show after a injury riddled year in both grades. Magpies to win comp with ease come Sept 5 as predicted nine months ago !!!

Meh. Whatever.

The rest of Round 15 Queanbeyan v Sydney is heading to flickr (for your personal viewing pleasure).

Cheers.

Howdy gents, can anyone tell me how Tommy Daniel is playing at Ainslie? Tim Inkster kicked many. Had a look a the ladder and it looks like its going down to the wire. Thought Ainslie may have had a better year than they have...... season isnt over i guess. Belco have got a better than average side together again. Whats happened to the mighty Tigers?