• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra - Season 2011

Re: Afl canberra part 3

Thanks guys, well done to Mitch on back-to-back.

I see the Team of the Year was also named. Does anyone have the full team, I see Mark Armstrong, Toby Conroy, Mitch Daniher and James Kavanagh from the Tigers made it

Thanks guys, well done to Mitch on back-to-back.

I see the Team of the Year was also named. Does anyone have the full team, I see Mark Armstrong, Toby Conroy, Mitch Daniher and James Kavanagh from the Tigers made it
AFL Canberra's Team of the Year 201015 September 2010
All Division 1 club coaches were asked to nominate players and then ACT representative coach, with some input from the Managing Director, selected the final team for AFL Canberra's Team of the Year for 2010.

From the backline:
Backs: Simon Curtis (Belconnen), John Van Meurs (Eastlake), David Love (Ainslie)​

Half Backs: Marcus Crook (Ainslie), Sam Reid (Sydney), Matthew Hearn (Ainslie)​

Centres: Toby Conroy (Queanbeyan), Dylan McNeil (Sydney), Leigh McMahon (Eastlake)​

Half Forwards: Trent Denis-Lane (Sydney), James Kavanagh (c) (Queanbeyan), Dean Roulstone (Eastlake)​

Forwards: Nick Paine (Ainslie), Mark Armstrong (Queanbeyan), Jay Kickett (Tuggeranong)

Rucks: Rowan Andrews (Ainslie), James Rice (Tuggeranong), Josh Jennings (Belconnen)

Interchange: Rob Shirley (Ainslie), Patrick Vezpremi (Sydney), Chad Gibson (Eastlake), Mitch Daniher (Queanbeyan)​

Glad to see the Mulrooney Medalist just squeeze in on the bench otherwise we would have had another Lenny Hayes oversight.

Where are all the ainslie nay sayers now, especially all the bad comments directed to rourkey as coach. hope they win it

Mate your shooting your mouth of a couple days to quick. Probably should have posted this after the GF. You could look like a goose if Ainslie don't win now. Eastlake by 4 points and Ainslie to have 4 players reported by the end of the game.

Belco to win by 2 goals in the 2's. Should be 2 cracking games.

Belco to win by 4 goals in the 18's.

Love/Gibson to win BOG in 1st grade

Eckers/Porter to win BOG in 2's.

Harper/Collins to win BOG in 18's

Any reason this comment was attached to a post of mine?
yes i clicked on the wrong post, yours was one of the last posts. no disrespect to you abh and codola, wasnt saying ainslie were going to win and dont really care but just thought all the knockers early in the year needed to be reminded that ainslie had made it to the big one. nothing more, not really worried about your reply codola as you make a fool of yourself on here every time you post. harsh but true :)

Havent seen much of the other sides elong so I am having to tip Conroy. He is a ball magnet who generally sets up alot of Tiger attacks.

As for Tri's v Dees....experience counts on the big stage and after coming so close last year I think the tricolours might take it in a thriller. I expect the likes of Shirley, Inkster to step up when it matters most.

Could even be a draw!

Conroy has been an amazing asset to the tigers this season.....was extremely surprised he didn't poll better. Two of his games had 40+ touches and 50+ touches. What more does this player have to do to be picked by the umpires. Tigers need to sign him for next season before Ainslie contacts him again. Great season Conroy, great player to watch and great example for younger players.

Well done to Pav and his Super 2's on the most comprehensive of victories. Belco were never in the contest after 1/4 time.

Pieman, Licka, Bones, Moss, Mackie were outstanding and Hollis had Eckers totally covered.

5 GF's in a row for 3 flags and back to back!

Not bad for "a bunch of losers"

Well done boys, enjoy the week!

yes i clicked on the wrong post, yours was one of the last posts. no disrespect to you abh and codola, wasnt saying ainslie were going to win and dont really care but just thought all the knockers early in the year needed to be reminded that ainslie had made it to the big one. nothing more, not really worried about your reply codola as you make a fool of yourself on here every time you post. harsh but true :)

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Belco to win by 2 goals in the 2's. Should be 2 cracking games.

Belco to win by 4 goals in the 18's.

Eckers/Porter to win BOG in 2's.

Case rests

I have to say that was without a doubt the most boring game of football I've ever seen. Not just the most boring Grand Final, but most boring game. No atmosphere, neither side had a real red hot crack, no niggle, no desperation. My god it was like watching paint dry. It's a pretty poor reflection on the game when it's more exciting watching the belconnen and quenbeyan supporters during the game, and their teams weren't even in it!

I enjoyed watching the 18's and Reserve grade games so much more. I'll even go further and say the Div 3 and 4 games were far more entertaining and i don't know any of the players in those divisions.

To top it all off Shirley gets best on ground when i thought he was average at best. There were a half dozen or so players that should have felt rightly dirty that they didn't get that. If Eastlake had have won, i thought young McMahon was outstanding. ANd as much as it pains me to say it (every pun intended) Paine was pretty good for Ainslie and stiff to miss out, but there were at least 5 others i would have put ahead of Shirley. I don't know what they were thinking.

Anyway enough negativity! Congrats to Marist and Belco for putting on a cracker of a game. For me that was the best out of the three by far and just great to see two young teams have a real red hot go. There was everything you'd want in a GF, and i was amazed at some of the skills shown by the guys. It was a ripper game, and Belco can feel rightly disappointed for not coming away with the flag after that game. The last quarter fade out was all that separated them from it. Marist kept themselves in it all day, but edged ahead at the end and ran away with it. Congrats guys!

As for the twos game, congrats to Queanbeyan. After the first quarter i really thought it was going to be a tight game, but the tigers just came out and blitz the pies. ALl credit to Belconnen though, they stuck it out to the end. I didn't see them drop off much even though they went down by nearly 10 goals. I thought they may have reverted to playing dirty and sniping after they knew they couldn't win it, but they stuck at it and kept everyone entertained with some good footy at times. To be honest the 50 points win wasn't reflective of how entertaining the game was, but it was reflective of how impressive the tigers were. They were a very good side and deserved the win.

All in all not a bad day. If the ones game had have been slightly entertaining then the whole day would have been a ripper, but in the end it was the 18's and reserves that stole the day.

Congrats to Ainslie, Queanbeyan, and Marist!

What a garbage crowd. After the two's game finished the crowd would have dropped by 60%.

I remember back in the day, when clubs all had their own tent with their own catering, that there would be a pretty good turn out from all clubs, even the non-competing ones. I guess as long as we are selling GWS memberships and Tuggeranong make a few grand from the canteen the garbage crowd and atmosphere means nothing.

As for the twos game, congrats to Queanbeyan. After the first quarter i really thought it was going to be a tight game, but the tigers just came out and blitz the pies. ALl credit to Belconnen though, they stuck it out to the end. I didn't see them drop off much even though they went down by nearly 10 goals. I thought they may have reverted to playing dirty and sniping after they knew they couldn't win it, but they stuck at it and kept everyone entertained with some good footy at times. To be honest the 50 points win wasn't reflective of how entertaining the game was, but it was reflective of how impressive the tigers were. They were a very good side and deserved the win.

All in all not a bad day. If the ones game had have been slightly entertaining then the whole day would have been a ripper, but in the end it was the 18's and reserves that stole the day.

Congrats to Ainslie, Queanbeyan, and Marist!

Cant say I totally agree with your description of the margin not being a true indication of the game FF...Tigers did kick 12 unanswered goals during the 2nd and 3rd terms in a dominant display.

What impressed me most was there ability to control the tempo.

When they needed to go up a gear they did and when they required controlled possession the did that to.

Belco were smashed in all departments during this period and the margin was a true reflection of Qbn dominance IMO.

Congrats to former Canberra umpy Razor Chamberlain who has been given the knod to do his first AFL Grand Final. Different cat but isn't a bad umpy.

Conroy has been an amazing asset to the tigers this season.....was extremely surprised he didn't poll better. Two of his games had 40+ touches and 50+ touches. What more does this player have to do to be picked by the umpires. Tigers need to sign him for next season before Ainslie contacts him again. Great season Conroy, great player to watch and great example for younger players.
You can bet a million, Ainslie wont contact him.

everything has been a bit quiet on here... any movement at clubs so far? hear belconnen are loosing quite a few players next season including their best and fairest, jennings? john van meurs has topped of an excellent season winning the eastlake best and fairest... best and fairest winners at other clubs? also, big news or maybe rumor that ainslie have ex collingwood player, paul medhurts signature for 2011... can anyone confirm this? has belconnen named a coach yet? jim rice signed with narrandera in the riverina footy league?

Any truth with the rumour of Ben Hughes signing with Peel Thunder with a 2 year contract? also news coming out of the tricolours is Rob Shirley already signed on as coach and speaking with SA pair Jarrhan Jacky and Glenn Dawson?
belconnen loosing a few players, not 100% with Jennings from what i hear. Underwoods brother has moved back for work, expect him to pull on the boots next season.

Any truth with the rumour of Ben Hughes signing with Peel Thunder with a 2 year contract? also news coming out of the tricolours is Rob Shirley already signed on as coach and speaking with SA pair Jarrhan Jacky and Glenn Dawson?
belconnen loosing a few players, not 100% with Jennings from what i hear. Underwoods brother has moved back for work, expect him to pull on the boots next season.

Not sure about Hughes, but he was looking to move last season so i wouldnt be surprised if he left. havent heard anything about the tri-colours, but dont doubt they would be chasing some SA boys with Shirley's contacts.
I didnt think he would ever play at belco again speaking to some of their players, underwood's brother that is.

Have belconnen signed a coach yet? Tuggers looking like they might be in a bit of trouble with kickett retiring, rice possibly leaving?

Rice has signed for Narrandera according to the Wagga Advertiser last Friday.

Good signing for Narrandera, even if he is at the end of his career.