• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra - Season 2011

Re: Afl canberra part 3

Care to elaborate further?

Just that a few people around town thought that the search for a Rep Coach couldv'e gone a little wider and been a bit more "open." Especially for a two year appointment, Big M might've still got it, but who knows who might have thrown their hat in the ring as well.

I am not aware of the process to find a Rep coach so I cant comment.

I would say now the coach has been selected we get behind the team and hopefully the game gets advertised appropriately and people turn up to see not only the new AFL side but Canberra's finest young talent.

I am not aware of the process to find a Rep coach so I cant comment.

I would say now the coach has been selected we get behind the team and hopefully the game gets advertised appropriately and people turn up to see not only the new AFL side but Canberra's finest young talent.

Correct, I'd be happy to see 22 x 22 year olds having a crack.

I hear that a couple of players have been nominated that haven't played in the League yet, not ideal I would've thought. Nor ideal for Clubs to let their recruits "outta the bag!!!"

Clubs were asked to nominate 7 players for the initial squad.

As far as I was aware the squad has not even been announced yet so not sure who leaked you information unless you are in the know?

They will train together 5 times before the match.

This game deserves its share of publicity.

Clubs were asked to nominate 7 players for the initial squad.

As far as I was aware the squad has not even been announced yet so not sure who leaked you information unless you are in the know?

They will train together 5 times before the match.

This game deserves its share of publicity.

Just heard it on the grapevine via a footy emplyee, just said that theere was some "newies" nominated.

I like the idea of two boys getting a run in GWS NAB cup squad.

I have noticed on the AFL website that quite a few of the articles are written by a guy by the name of Ben Broad. Just wondering if any of the Belconnen readers of this forum can confirm if it is the same Ben Broad that played Full Forward for the Magpies in the late 90s. I used to have some pretty good battles with Ben and was just curious if this was him or not. Sounds like a dream job - watching AFL and talking and writing about it all day.

I am pretty sure that it is the same Ben Broad, whilst he was playing for Belconnen he was doing a journalism degree and was writing match reports for the Chronicle. After he finished with Belco he returned to Geelong.

Whats the go with these clubs. Only Qnbo and Belco publise their gains on their websites. !!! Hate to say it but the Tigers website absolutly craps on all others for info etc.

Whats the big secret with big spenders Eastlake and Ainsie ! Everyone knows they have gone out spending so why not tell us who they have. It might just promote the league - and their own club.

The Magies influx of players from Cairns should be interesting. Wonder if they will be up to the standard. Reports have it we also have a former Tuggers fullforward in the mix plus a few returning. The Magies will be back in 2011 for sure.

And what of the southeners. Tuggers had a great seaon last year - have they picked up any.

Has someone any idea of gains and losses for each club ????

ACT U23's to play GWS on 12th of Feb.
ACT Team is from

Team
Will Griggs Queanbeyan
Andrew Swan Queanbeyan
Paul Slater Queanbeyan
Todd Dickinson Queanbeyan
Ryan Price Queanbeyan
Jake Oram Queanbeyan
Sam Daniel Queanbeyan
Nick Perry Eastlake
Mitch Frail Eastlake
John Van Meurs Eastlake
David Cummins Eastlake
Aaron Bruce Eastlake
Daniel Ryall Eastlake
Mark Kimball Eastlake
Sean Ellis Tuggeranong
Phil Lovett Tuggeranong
David Smith Tuggeranong
Ben Cleaver Tuggeranong
Chris Murch Tuggeranong
Chris Robinson Tuggeranong
Matthew Bernasconi Tuggeranong
Mal Douglas Belconnen
Sam Rutland Belconnen
Rhys McAlister Belconnen
Nick Collins Belconnen
Jordy Harper Belconnen
Daniel Jordan Belconnen
Ryan Turnbull Belconnen
Ben Hughes Ainslie
Nick Paine Ainslie
Michael Lawless Ainslie
Marcus Crook Ainslie
Rob Touhey Ainslie
David Love Ainslie
Ash Harris Ainslie

Should be an entertaining game at Ainslie.

Coaching panel - Coaching Panel

Coach - Mark Armstrong
Asst Coaches - Chris Rourke, Guy Cannon, Michael Horne
Bench Coaches - Adrian Pavese and Ian Muir
Runner - Michael Niesen

Very reticent of me not to acknowledge ABH in his official capacity...

ACT Team is from

Team
Will Griggs Queanbeyan
Andrew Swan Queanbeyan
Paul Slater Queanbeyan
Ryan Price Queanbeyan
Jake Oram Queanbeyan
Sam Daniel Queanbeyan
Nick Perry Eastlake
Mitch Frail Eastlake
John Van Meurs Eastlake
David Cummins Eastlake
Aaron Bruce Eastlake
Daniel Ryall Eastlake
Mark Kimball Eastlake
Sean Ellis Tuggeranong
Phil Lovett Tuggeranong
David Smith Tuggeranong
Ben Cleaver Tuggeranong
Chris Murch Tuggeranong
Mal Douglas Belconnen
Sam Rutland Belconnen
Rhys McAlister Belconnen
Nick Collins Belconnen
Jordy Harper Belconnen
Daniel Jordan Belconnen
Ryan Turnbull Belconnen
Ben Hughes Ainslie
Nick Paine Ainslie
Michael Lawless Ainslie
Marcus Crook Ainslie
Rob Touhey Ainslie
David Love Ainslie
Ash Harris Ainslie

Coach - Mark Armstrong
Runner - Michael Niesen

What is with Ainslie nominating Hughes, Paine, Crook and Love? Lawless, Touhey and Harris are understandable... You wouldn't be very happy if you were a youngster trying to get an opportunity would you? I know it is U23 but those guys would be considered their senior players wouldn't they? I just think the game was designed to give some young ACT talent a crack at maybe getting picked up on the GWS list...

Cant talk about the other guys but Hughes is only 21/22 YO.

Deserves to put his talents up in front of the GWS talent.

From memory was 2nd highest goals in last years Carnival so wouldn't you play him.

Is he in the best 30 odd U/23's in the league...Absolutely!

That's probably a fair comment, thought he may have been older.. Should be interesting

Mate they are all under 23, how can you say if you were a youngster and they got picked ahead of you you would be dissapointed. Those guys are up there with the best in the competition not just U23, they should defs have a crack at makin GWS, crook should be drafted anyway. If they were not selected and other players at ainslie given a chance to play it would be crazy and mediocre. This is why Ainslie are so strong most of their best players if not most of the list are btween 19 and 23, every year they get better.

How many are former juniors ???????

4 out of the 7 selected in that side are local juniors. Hows that sound??? You blokes are clutching at straws probably half the premiership side from last year were local juniors. Not too mention the fact that over the last 4 years Ainslie has had 98% retention over those years.

4 words "Benchmark of the competition"

by a long long way

4 out of the 7 selected in that side are local juniors. Hows that sound??? You blokes are clutching at straws probably half the premiership side from last year were local juniors. Not too mention the fact that over the last 4 years Ainslie has had 98% retention over those years.

by a long long way

How many in the Premiership side were Ainslie Juniors?

by a long long way

After one season? Try doing it for a decade bucko. Amazing how loyalty is transferrable though.

ACT Team is from

Team
Will Griggs Queanbeyan
Andrew Swan Queanbeyan
Paul Slater Queanbeyan
Ryan Price Queanbeyan
Jake Oram Queanbeyan
Sam Daniel Queanbeyan
Nick Perry Eastlake
Mitch Frail Eastlake
John Van Meurs Eastlake
David Cummins Eastlake
Aaron Bruce Eastlake
Daniel Ryall Eastlake
Mark Kimball Eastlake
Sean Ellis Tuggeranong
Phil Lovett Tuggeranong
David Smith Tuggeranong
Ben Cleaver Tuggeranong
Chris Murch Tuggeranong
Mal Douglas Belconnen
Sam Rutland Belconnen
Rhys McAlister Belconnen
Nick Collins Belconnen
Jordy Harper Belconnen
Daniel Jordan Belconnen
Ryan Turnbull Belconnen
Ben Hughes Ainslie
Nick Paine Ainslie
Michael Lawless Ainslie
Marcus Crook Ainslie
Rob Touhey Ainslie
David Love Ainslie
Ash Harris Ainslie

Coach - Mark Armstrong
Runner - Michael Niesen

Thanks for that GF :thumbsu: