• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra

The WC players voted last week for the merger on the conditions that Gormo and Horney would be co-coaches and that Geoff Bartley would be Football Manager. This was agreed on by both Tuggies and the Creek prior to the vote.

Doesnt this need approval from a board or are the players running the club??

Will the league now attempt to get one of the 'Big 4' to prop up the reserves comp again this season to get that 6 team comp?

3GM would Belconnen be interested in doing it again?

Speaking as a player, no. Speaking as a club, highly unlikely.

And we wouldn't want Murrumbidgee disputing 10 goal thumpings again come finals time on eligibility grounds anyway.

What is the league doing? It's hard not to be so critical! Surely a 6 team reserve grade comp is better than 5 team comp? Can't see the leagues logic on this one, unless it is sour grapes, or the league was trying to get rid of WC the whole time?

And no I am not going to nominate for a board position on the league, however i don't think it would be hard to do a better job. Just incase anyone was wondering or thinking of suggesting the old "well if you think you can do a better job, then you nominate for the board"

Why not - you certainly think you could do a better job !!!!

Guys,

I have just heard a person on a local TV station (who resigned from his full time position recently at Canberra Wildcats) accuse AFL Canberra of going backwards.

Hello !!! This is Mr Negativity. Has anyone ever heard a positive word from his mouth ? This is a bloke who has been involved with the following now NON EXISTANT CLUBS - Acton, West Canberra, Manuka Weston, Tuggeranong Cowboys and now Canberra Wildcats. Common denominator - I think so. His 50 years of service has delivered what ? Over the last couple of days he has been pawning Canberra Wildcats players to other clubs. How do I know this - he offered my Club - the Magpies four such players. Do you honestly think this bloke who turns up on TV tonight, expressing his views of the current situation after resigning last week has the League at heart. Isnt this the bloke who four year ago went to the Wildcats Club in a full time position and over the last three years the following has resulted: 2005 - 3 teams, 2006 - 2 teams and 2007 1 team. Yet its everyone elses fault !!!!!

His SOLUTION was to amalgamate with Tuggeranong. Thats exactly what was happening and just because he wasnt going to get a full time position with the ammalgamation he has basically stuffed the whole process by way of his negativity and media press releases undermining the whole process. Guys wake up. The League can only do so much and are trying to cover all bases.

For a bloke who 'loves' the creek that much Bartley certainly loves slagging them out over a beer or four up at Magpies. FIM is spot on with the player offers as well. Although the offer doesn't come cheap - he is looking for a bit of quid quo pro - maybe a gig in the box eh Geoffrey. Stay away Magpies - you should have learnt your lesson from this bloke 10 years back.

Guys,

I have just heard a person on a local TV station (who resigned from his full time position recently at Canberra Wildcats) accuse AFL Canberra of going backwards.

Hello !!! This is Mr Negativity. Has anyone ever heard a positive word from his mouth ? This is a bloke who has been involved with the following now NON EXISTANT CLUBS - Acton, West Canberra, Manuka Weston, Tuggeranong Cowboys and now Canberra Wildcats. Common denominator - I think so. His 50 years of service has delivered what ? Over the last couple of days he has been pawning Canberra Wildcats players to other clubs. How do I know this - he offered my Club - the Magpies four such players. Do you honestly think this bloke who turns up on TV tonight, expressing his views of the current situation after resigning last week has the League at heart. Isnt this the bloke who four year ago went to the Wildcats Club in a full time position and over the last three years the following has resulted: 2005 - 3 teams, 2006 - 2 teams and 2007 1 team. Yet its everyone elses fault !!!!!

His SOLUTION was to amalgamate with Tuggeranong. Thats exactly what was happening and just because he wasnt going to get a full time position with the ammalgamation he has basically stuffed the whole process by way of his negativity and media press releases undermining the whole process. Guys wake up. The League can only do so much and are trying to cover all bases.

Well said mate.

Can someone explain to me how with 6 sides, the fairest draw would not be each team plays the others 3 times?? Thats 15 rounds, a general bye for rep duties and maybe a split round to have the season run over 18 weeks before commencing the finals series. :thumbsu:

But no we have 18 rounds with the Tigers playing Swans, Belco and Eastlake 4 times and Ainslie, Tuggers 3 times. :confused:

Can someone explain to me how with 6 sides, the fairest draw would not be each team plays the others 3 times?? Thats 15 rounds, a general bye for rep duties and maybe a split round to have the season run over 18 weeks before commencing the finals series. :thumbsu:

But no we have 18 rounds with the Tigers playing Swans, Belco and Eastlake 4 times and Ainslie, Tuggers 3 times. :confused:

I would like to say it is the league protecting the vunerable side(s) in the competition and guaranteeing 9 home games for gate/canteen revenue and sponsorship agreements after they lost 2 home games last year:thumbsu:, however I think the Swans agreement probably has a little more pull....:rolleyes:

So the next obvious question is why don't we have 20 games everyone plays 4 times, 10 home games for the strugglers, the swans get more games and everyone is happy! :) ..... except for those clubs whose footy budgets will be blown out by a rumoured $20-$40k by playing 2 extra games. Looks like we have a few more chook raffles to compete next year boys....

Went out to training last night at MDO and was very happy to see 52 players training for the 1st's and Super 2's. Numbers are good (with a few faces not in attendance that would walk into 1st Grade) and the vibe is one of anticipation for the season ahead. Boys look hungry!

Boys have a training camp at Jindy this weekend so they will endure plenty of km's.......Nice to be retired!! To be retired, nice!!!

How are numbers at other clubs on the track??

Went out to training last night at MDO and was very happy to see 52 players training for the 1st's and Super 2's. Numbers are good (with a few faces not in attendance that would walk into 1st Grade) and the vibe is one of anticipation for the season ahead. Boys look hungry!

Boys have a training camp at Jindy this weekend so they will endure plenty of km's.......Nice to be retired!! To be retired, nice!!!

Not many at the Creek it seems ABH!
Wonder if Ainslie or Eastlake have to pay transfer fees if they get a carload of ex Creek players? Suggest they should and the money go to pay a GM at Tuggers to get them rolling again.

Not many at the Creek it seems ABH!
Wonder if Ainslie or Eastlake have to pay transfer fees if they get a carload of ex Creek players? Suggest they should and the money go to pay a GM at Tuggers to get them rolling again.

Are Ainslie and Eastlake chasing a few??
If so who would set the transfer price....the league??

Giving the money to Tuggers would be a quick fix for them in the short term but other clubs may feel it should be divided evenly amongst all local clubs....

The league may feel it should goto them??

Ex WC identity may feel it should goto him as compensation??

Maybe it should go into my retirement fund!!:D

Are Ainslie and Eastlake chasing a few??
If so who would set the transfer price....the league??

Giving the money to Tuggers would be a quick fix for them in the short term but other clubs may feel it should be divided evenly amongst all local clubs....

The league may feel it should goto them??

Ex WC identity may feel it should goto him as compensation??

Maybe it should go into my retirement fund!!:D

Paper on Monday said the Mathis boys and a few others had settled on either Eastlake or Ainslie.Seems they are flogging themselves..??? around, but ruled out Belco and Qbn.

Perhaps the transfer $$s should go to a development officer fund for Tuggers/Weston creek,(soon to take off with the Molongo suburb starting),or Gungahlin.

You don't need the dough for retirement mate.Got free booze and work with the JD girls. Money can't buy some of that.

Whens the baby due? Guess you are pushing up hill at the moment!

Paper on Monday said the Mathis boys and a few others had settled on either Eastlake or Ainslie.Seems they are flogging themselves..??? around, but ruled out Belco and Qbn.

Perhaps the transfer $$s should go to a development officer fund for Tuggers/Weston creek,(soon to take off with the Molongo suburb starting),or Gungahlin.

You don't need the dough for retirement mate.Got free booze and work with the JD girls. Money can't buy some of that.

Development officer would be good but dont have it in the Valley as it will only assist Eastlake....Maybe the funds should go to all clubs for junior development with money only being spent at a junior level.

Baby due April 3rd mate and life will never be the same, but honestly I cant wait:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Do you think Tigers missed out even talking to the Matho boys and others because of the former "Gosling" involvement with the club across the border. Sure the former GM of Wildcats would not consider QT when hocking the players to Clubs. Wouldnt you think he would push them to Tuggers instead of the bigger clubs.

Tough gig for Gosling, David Wark and the AFL Canberra boys lately trying to get a good result out of this situation.Dunno where the Labor club $$$s ended up but if gone it is a big setback.

Belco probably missed out on the Creek recruits too 'cause he didn't get the GM job there when it was last advertised.

Some of the Creek players perhaps have seen it as their chance to get some dollars out of footy and logically there wouldn't be much at Tuggers in a merged arrangement.

They also might find they have to train and compete for spots at the other clubs!!

You are right though they should be playing with Tuggers.

Big numbers down at Belconnen as well. Around 60 last night from the looks. Should be a good season - even if it is a bit short on teams participating.

Was there much else at Weston Creek worth nibbling at apart from Mathis? It would be a bit like picking up players delisted by Richmond wouldn't it?

Big numbers down at Belconnen as well. Around 60 last night from the looks. Should be a good season - even if it is a bit short on teams participating.

Was there much else at Weston Creek worth nibbling at apart from Mathis? It would be a bit like picking up players delisted by Richmond wouldn't it?

Some of them would be first graders at most clubs. Ty Lehman had a great season last year at WC. Big Brown dog still goes ok and Eccersley kicked a shitload of goals at the end of last year. Can't imagine Patron and the Pearl playing on though.

Numbers healthy at Ainslie. This time last season we were looking at not having enough for 2 teams, so it has picked up again. Ainslie could be the darkhorse, but again will probably struggle with depth and injuries could cripple us.

I'm with you ABH, it's great to be retired, and i just had a kid too, so get as much sleep as you can now.

Some of them would be first graders at most clubs. Ty Lehman had a great season last year at WC. Big Brown dog still goes ok and Eccersley kicked a shitload of goals at the end of last year. Can't imagine Patron and the Pearl playing on though.

Out of these above I would say that Ty Lehman (needs to lose a few kg's)would be a v.good 2's player pushing for 1st's if form was up and injuries occur. (similar to Wainright a few years back)
Brown would be a handy 3rd or 4th backman even if Merv did kick 12 on him in a game last season..
Eckers needs to do more work on his fitness (he would agree) to play consistantly good footy at top pace week in week out. Can't pop in and out when you feel like it at good clubs. Wouldnt be able to fit in a Tigers forward line let alone a jumper!! That jumper belongs to DJ!!

Despite all that has gone on in the past month numbers have been strong down at Tuggers as well, they're getting 50 odd to training most nights....The boys put in an impressive showing in 36 degree heat against Albury Tigers last week in Albury as well, led at 3 Qtr time but played the last 15 minutes with 16 players...and couldn't hold off the Tiges.

Heard from a couple of people who watched both the Albury/Tuggers game as well as the Lavy/Ainslie game and they seemed more impressed with Tuggers than Ainslie...so it's not all doom and gloom in the valley.