AFL Canberra

Despite all that has gone on in the past month numbers have been strong down at Tuggers as well, they're getting 50 odd to training most nights....The boys put in an impressive showing in 36 degree heat against Albury Tigers last week in Albury as well, led at 3 Qtr time but played the last 15 minutes with 16 players...and couldn't hold off the Tiges.

Heard from a couple of people who watched both the Albury/Tuggers game as well as the Lavy/Ainslie game and they seemed more impressed with Tuggers than Ainslie...so it's not all doom and gloom in the valley.

Well you would say that wouldn't you.

The rumour mill is going wild on where the ex-Creek boys have ended up

With the CT reporting the Mathis lads signing with Ainslie, I heard yesterday that Gorman and Eckersley have followed the money to Gungahlin.

A few have reportedly turned up at Harman following the Pearl, and potentially a couple of others taking $500 a week at Wagga (East Wagga?)

Anyone else seen or heard where others have gone - or is all of this grapevine gone wrong?

The rumour mill is going wild on where the ex-Creek boys have ended up

With the CT reporting the Mathis lads signing with Ainslie, I heard yesterday that Gorman and Eckersley have followed the money to Gungahlin.

A few have reportedly turned up at Harman following the Pearl, and potentially a couple of others taking $500 a week at Wagga (East Wagga?)

Anyone else seen or heard where others have gone - or is all of this grapevine gone wrong?

$500 a week:eek::eek:
Where do I sign!!

Hey, so much for the cultural change at Ainslie so well publicised in recent years. Isnt this the club that reduced payments on contracts so as to bring their junior players through. They lost heaps of quality players to other clubs and now this !! My calculations have it that they have signed 14 players from all over the country for mammoth amounts of coin including a former SANFL player reportably on over $35,000 !!!!! Now they sign the Mathis twins for a cool $500 per game each plus sign on fee. Hello !!! Is this the good old times for our ultra rich club. How come the current blokes in charge got rid of the former administration for over spending and now all of the above. Betcha ya, some of these blokes have been conned and end up playing ressies for sweet f..k all. They would have better down at Tuggers and would have added stability to the League. The "shreck" needs to have as good look at himself. He must be turning green with a truck load of $$$$$$$$$$$$$ to spend !

Your info is wrong here, no money is paid at the JETS except for coaches. We certainly wouldn't say no to those two having a run for us though:D

Theres the solution. Push all the Wildcat players to the Jets and push them into the Reserve grade comp. No more bye and the road to a team in the AFL Canberra Seniors.

Looks like a few of the WC boys may have ended up at Woden as well. Could be a challenging year down in CD's.

I guess the affilliation between the Wildcats and Juggernauts wasn't that successful either.....would have thought those wanting to play 3rd grade would have gone there.....:confused:

Tough gig for Gosling, David Wark and the AFL Canberra boys lately trying to get a good result out of this situation.Dunno where the Labor club $$$s ended up but if gone it is a big setback.

Belco probably missed out on the Creek recruits too 'cause he didn't get the GM job there when it was last advertised.

Some of the Creek players perhaps have seen it as their chance to get some dollars out of footy and logically there wouldn't be much at Tuggers in a merged arrangement.

They also might find they have to train and compete for spots at the other clubs!!

You are right though they should be playing with Tuggers.

The Gosling factor, and Warke were two pretty major reasons why players havent gone to Tuggers or Qbn. AFL Canberra have a lot to answer for, and would not be suprising to see the tuggers not in the comp next season. Rumor has it that they didnt pay players yet issued tax group cerificates for the players concerned. Ainslie has offered big $$ for a few of the WC boys, double the amount that Eastlake offered. Good luck to them, I reckon. Interesting though as suggested by someone that Shrek is buying a team after all those promises to play the juniors, you can buy players but you cant buy culture.

Nice bite G :D
How are your mob shaping up for 08?

Hook, line...:p

Looking OK, we have won both practice games but stil have plenty of room for improvement. Some very handy players have walked into the club which is always good. Downside is we have lost more then we hoped from the grand final side lat year, some blokes have found the couch just too comfy since September.

Plenty going on for us off field as well thanks to that great strategic plan from the geniuses at AFL Canberra:confused::eek:. That beautiful piece of work cost us our major sponsor and drinking hole, but the JETS will live to fight another day...and drink at another place as well:thumbsu:. Until then the President's bar is doing a roaring trade.

And for all those calling for us to push up, we will get there without interferance...sorry help...from the above mentioned geniuses but could take us longer then planned now thanks to their cunning plans:mad:

The Gosling factor, and Warke were two pretty major reasons why players havent gone to Tuggers or Qbn. AFL Canberra have a lot to answer for, and would not be suprising to see the tuggers not in the comp next season. Rumor has it that they didnt pay players yet issued tax group cerificates for the players concerned. Ainslie has offered big $$ for a few of the WC boys, double the amount that Eastlake offered. Good luck to them, I reckon. Interesting though as suggested by someone that Shrek is buying a team after all those promises to play the juniors, you can buy players but you cant buy culture.

There's that f%$#@ word culture again. If you blokes knew what you were talking about then no problem, but i'm sure none of you know anything about what the culture at Ainslie has been like. It's too easy to say 'Ainslie has no culture'. There are many juniors getting opportunities at Ainslie, more so than in the past.

I don't think your bombshell that we offered the creek boys big money is entirely accurate. Why would we offer big bucks to players from a team who have won 2 games in 6 years? Coach and recruiting people were told to tighten the purse strings a while ago.

Morning All, good to be back in sunny Canberra where the people are always willing to blame someone else for the predicament that they find themselves in.... doesn't seem to matter who they blame as long as it is no-one from their own back yard!!
I guess Warky and Gossling have made a couple of mistakes in their roles since they took them on; who hasn't made mistakes in their day to day job? We should all stop and think back to before the AFL decided to include all regional leagues under their banner in the "interests of making the game more sucessful against the sinful opposition codes"; there were good times and bad times. AFL Canberra did reasonably well but it was at the cost of a poorly run CDFL. The League has most likely been given it's mandate from the AFL to ensure that all junior and "pub" leagues are improved and not treated like poor cousins. Understandably though, the top level clubs and teams would want to be looked after more than the CDFL clubs - the Australian Rules standard is only ever really judged by how well the top teams are going. Although, like everyone else on this web site I believe that the League has sometimes got it wrong; they are helping to raise the standard of Aussie Rules in the region as a whole. Over the last 10 years, the big 4 have managed to drag themselves out of the survival fight and have employed good management (although in Ainslies case I think it's just good luck) with solid plans for longevity. Unfortunately for the League not all clubs have been able to employ good management because of a lack of funds or knowledge. It's great to have a licensed club attached to your entity but if the licensed club is run incorrectly the football club will go down as well. I think that both Tuggers and the Creek are now victims of their own legacy; previous management decisions and actions or inactions have placed them at the mercy of the League. We may all think that the League are being unreasonable in their actions but I doubt very much that their motives are anything other than in line with their own five year management plan (AFL approved) which would be solely to ensure the survival of the regional aussie rules identity.
It's very sad to see the demise of any sporting club, even more so if you are invloved or have been involved with that club. I'm certain that a lot of the older members of this web site will remember when the Creek were very competitive and looked like they had their $h!te in one sock; unfortunately they couldn't get the off field management right and they slowly deteriorated to where we are today. I only hope that the appointment of the "Big Guy" at Tuggers this year will help them see where they went wrong in the past and and to also see where they will end up (like the Creek) if they don't pull their fingers out and get a plan in place. Doesn't matter how outrageous the plan is, or even if everything on it is achievable or not; if you don't have one, you don't have direction!!:(

Enough of the serious crap, saw Tuggers go around on the weekend against a depleted Sydney team; the Hawks pulled out an almost new side after half time and managed to pull away by about 8 goals. They looked a bit rusty but that might just be the mix of players they were using, I think their best 22 will be reasonably competitive against the other 4 clubs in the region but not against Sydney.
ABH, how did your Tigers go in Jindabyne on the W/E? FIM, have the Magpies played any other trial matches and if so how are they looking? And has anyone here heard what Eastlake are up to? Do they even have any representation on this site?

Magpies played East Coast in a practice match on Saturday up at Amaroo. Touched them up by about 25 goals in a six quarter game (3/4 with a reserves squad and 3/4 with a likely senior squad). Not sure how much you take out of pumping a Sydney side - although last time we played them in 06 we only got up by 6 goals. So either we've improved or they have dropped off bigtime.

Enough of the serious crap, saw Tuggers go around on the weekend against a depleted Sydney team; the Hawks pulled out an almost new side after half time and managed to pull away by about 8 goals. They looked a bit rusty but that might just be the mix of players they were using, I think their best 22 will be reasonably competitive against the other 4 clubs in the region but not against Sydney.
ABH, how did your Tigers go in Jindabyne on the W/E? FIM, have the Magpies played any other trial matches and if so how are they looking? And has anyone here heard what Eastlake are up to? Do they even have any representation on this site?

Thanks for asking DO7. Ainslie played North Shore and were up by about 150 points at half time. Game was called off 10 mins into the 3rd quarter, due to a combination of the heat and them being belted. Ainslie looked slick, with many to still return. In saying that, North Shore couldn't have beaten time with a stick.

Tigers had a tremendous camp in Jindabyne. Full credit to the Coaching staff and the volunteers who attended. It was facilitated by the Coaches in a very professional manner.

Thanks for asking DO7. Ainslie played North Shore and were up by about 150 points at half time. Game was called off 10 mins into the 3rd quarter, due to a combination of the heat and them being belted. Ainslie looked slick, with many to still return. In saying that, North Shore couldn't have beaten time with a stick.
How paranoid are you AFC1?
You have been the only ainslie rep on this board and when you get forgotten.............:D:D:D
Bring on April 5.

Tigers had a tremendous camp in Jindabyne. Full credit to the Coaching staff and the volunteers who attended. It was facilitated by the Coaches in a very professional manner.

Who is on the coaching staff at the Tigers this year? And who is coaching the reserves team? Last night I herd mcginley is getting back in the navy then today I'm told he will be working at the football club full time? Is he still at the club? or is he leaving and if so, who is coaching the reserve team?

:D Didn't ask `cause I had already heard but didnt take anything out of it so didn't bother mentioning it. By all accounts the new Ainslie players seem to have gelled quite well together considering there were only about 8 players who knew each other prior to the start of pre-season and they all played together at Box Hill!!!:eek:
Strange that everone should be rumouring about a State League with players from all around representing a single Club... I reckon Ainslie will be doing that everytime they field a team.:D Good luck to them if they can get almost a complete new team together in a couple of months, pay them a $h!t3 load of money and have them playing as a complete unit ready for the start of the new season. I guess only time will tell if they are all still mates at the end of the season; lots of different players from lots of different areas means lots of different personalities.:(

When you can play as well as either of them clubs over at wagga might ring you mate

It was tongue in cheek mate, Ive had my time playing against Wagga's best.

Would have taken more than 500 to get me to goto Wagga...Nice place to visit.... but.....

Have we even been told who they are??

It was tongue in cheek mate, Ive had my time playing against Wagga's best.

Would have taken more than 500 to get me to goto Wagga...Nice place to visit.... but.....

Have we even been told who they are??
Only a couple of waggas best ever played with wagga tigers in ACT mate.95 % of the best footballers in wagga would never be seen playing for them.They are mostly just jerks and you fellas gave them a good belting for us while they played over there and we are all thankfull for that.

Who is on the coaching staff at the Tigers this year? And who is coaching the reserves team? Last night I herd mcginley is getting back in the navy then today I'm told he will be working at the football club full time? Is he still at the club? or is he leaving and if so, who is coaching the reserve team?
Senior Coach: Mark Armstrong
Assistant Senior Coach: Jamie McGinley
Reserves Coach: Adrian Pavese
18's Coach: Doug Daniel