• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra

Looks like Ainslie are trying to rule the comp with there money again :mad:
They have the tribunal on there side - can someone tell him how a player can be found GUILTY of head-butting and get a reprimand??? :mad::mad:

Southcab - are you able to expand at all?????
jdjt the player i mention played a trial for a sydney team agaisnt the tigers before rourke moved to ainslie and buy all accounts was clearly best on ground in a beaton side.He was a big chance to go to ainslie last year but didnt due to family commitments Has both won the sydney medal and also been runner up. As for head butting intersetinly he is the only player to get a reprimand for that charge must have been his first ever charge.

Hey southcab,

Cheers for the info - will look forward to see if it eventuates.
Maybe it was the players first charge, but surely if you are found guilty, the number of charges should be irrelevant? :confused:

ABH - hope that the Tiges have a red-hot crack at knocking of Ainslie and finish the season on a good note?

Hey southcab,

Cheers for the info - will look forward to see if it eventuates.
Maybe it was the players first charge, but surely if you are found guilty, the number of charges should be irrelevant? :confused:

ABH - hope that the Tiges have a red-hot crack at knocking of Ainslie and finish the season on a good note?

JD - I expect them to win to leave them wondering what could have been:rolleyes:

jdjt the player i mention played a trial for a sydney team agaisnt the tigers before rourke moved to ainslie and buy all accounts was clearly best on ground in a beaton side.He was a big chance to go to ainslie last year but didnt due to family commitments Has both won the sydney medal and also been runner up. As for head butting intersetinly he is the only player to get a reprimand for that charge must have been his first ever charge.

Recruitment seems to be high on the aggenda for the Ainslie club & its manager. their football manager is so keen to recruit he approached a few Belconnen players back at Ainslie FC after the Magpies lost to the tricolours a couple of weeks ago and was quoted as asking the magpies, "if they need any work, or if their is anything else that the 3 magpies players would like to dicuss with him to give a him a call" then proceeded to hand out his mobile number. what sort of a slimey club asks you back for a drink while your football manager propositions opposition players. No wonder Ghobbers fits right in over there.

so dont worry about them starting to spend up look at their pleyer payment budget this year

Non Playing football coach = $65k
Bourke assistant coach = $40
Neely = $36k + incentives
Box Hill boys x 4 = $30k each + incentives
Lewis $20k
Ghobriel = $15k + incentives
Daniel = $15k
Love $15k
then the players like Harris, Lawless, Mcfarlane, stone etc who are on approx $500 a game. Even the Mathis boys are on approx $450 a game so dont worry about them starting to spend up big (approx $350k in player payments alone this year), its a little late for that

Recruitment seems to be high on the aggenda for the Ainslie club & its manager. their football manager is so keen to recruit he approached a few Belconnen players back at Ainslie FC after the Magpies lost to the tricolours a couple of weeks ago and was quoted as asking the magpies, "if they need any work, or if their is anything else that the 3 magpies players would like to dicuss with him to give a him a call" then proceeded to hand out his mobile number. what sort of a slimey club asks you back for a drink while your football manager propositions opposition players. No wonder Ghobbers fits right in over there.

so dont worry about them starting to spend up look at their pleyer payment budget this year

Non Playing football coach = $65k
Bourke assistant coach = $40
Neely = $36k + incentives
Box Hill boys x 4 = $30k each + incentives
Lewis $20k
Ghobriel = $15k + incentives
Daniel = $15k
Love $15k
then the players like Harris, Lawless, Mcfarlane, stone etc who are on approx $500 a game. Even the Mathis boys are on approx $450 a game so dont worry about them starting to spend up big (approx $350k in player payments alone this year), its a little late for that

Wonky; welcome to the thread mate - the more the merrier.. Just quietly though, between you and me :rolleyes: unless you are an independent auditor or can name credible resources for gathering the information you have; no-one on this site can view any of your "payment allegations" with any credible light...
Perhaps the Football Manager did approach these players, it wouldn't surprise me one little bit as it has happened before and will likely continue to happen until the laws are changed. Rest assured though, any Club that loses a player to another Club in the ACTAFL is generally compensated very well by the Club gaining the player.
PS. You should read the Chiefs post on the Home Page about slandering the character of individuals on this site.. it's OK to say they are an ordinary player but you cant say they are an ordinary person.. You can think it though..:p

Not bad Wonky,

just as an observation, could you list what you think all the Belconnen players would be on this year?

Also how many Box Hill palyers have Ainslie got, I thought Stone was one of them, obviously not.

I know for a fact Belconnen were still trying to coax Bourke across well after he had signed and began coaching at Ainslie last year. The then footy manager rang him to see if he wanted to jump ship because of the lousy predicament Ainslie was in, so don't think Belconnen have clean noses.

The tight Footy community in Canberra is always going to have issues like these.

As for ex-Ainslie players returning, maybe the Tri-Colours wouln't want them, it seems to me they may be on the right track.

Ainslie seem to have their fingers in a few pies at the moment. Fancy offering to 'assist' Gungahlin to field a senior ACTAFL side in the next few years by taking control of the Gungahlin area for junior development. And fancy getting the AFL Canberra board to agree to the proposal. Money talks I guess.

I was wondering when everyone would jump back on the 'bag the shit out of Ainslie' train again. Here we are about to play finals again and all you blokes can talk about is Ainslie and all their money. Whoever made the outrageous claims of player payments has no idea. Some may be close but just ridiculous.

For the record Ainslie would love to have R Jaques and Kav back, but we know they are happy at QBN and no chance of returning. DJ will retire, Prickle retired, JAck Foster may not play again, Ty Lehman lives with Kav and won't go back either so we can definitely bury that rumour.

It was Kav I heard that had been considering coming back, but apparently not anymore... A few Jets boys are coming back, possibly for a crack at twos, but most likely to play third grade.

And old mate you are no where near right on the pay at Ainslie... Love is nowhere near that money. Was on the base contract until last year, and I believe blokes like Lawless, Harris etc aren't on much more.

Box Hill players are Crook, Holmes, Stone, Wilson from memory...

It was Kav I heard that had been considering coming back, but apparently not anymore... A few Jets boys are coming back, possibly for a crack at twos, but most likely to play third grade.

And old mate you are no where near right on the pay at Ainslie... Love is nowhere near that money. Was on the base contract until last year, and I believe blokes like Lawless, Harris etc aren't on much more.

Box Hill players are Crook, Holmes, Stone, Wilson from memory...
Isnt it interesting the Belco chose to "turn the other" cheek against Ainslie a couple of weeks ago, only to see those reported from Ainslie get off (what a surprise, you have to dismember someone to get a week) Also heard that Ainslie were big noting themselves at 3/4 time that they were literally "bashing" the Pies and they couldnt handle it. Im gonna make sure I make the trip to Canberra the next time those two play, square ups galore!

Ainslie seem to have their fingers in a few pies at the moment. Fancy offering to 'assist' Gungahlin to field a senior ACTAFL side in the next few years by taking control of the Gungahlin area for junior development. And fancy getting the AFL Canberra board to agree to the proposal. Money talks I guess.
Spoiler i thought the jets ainslie thing was all but dead and buried is that not the case??

Isnt it interesting the Belco chose to "turn the other" cheek against Ainslie a couple of weeks ago, only to see those reported from Ainslie get off (what a surprise, you have to dismember someone to get a week) Also heard that Ainslie were big noting themselves at 3/4 time that they were literally "bashing" the Pies and they couldnt handle it. Im gonna make sure I make the trip to Canberra the next time those two play, square ups galore!

itktm,

Being at the game as a neutral, it was interesting to hear the 1/4 speech from the Ainslie Coach asking how many players had belted someone!!! :(
If this has been passed onto the Belco players, the next time they meet will be interesting - am hoping that it does not happen though

I think Belco is being let off a little easy by you blokes here... Surely you could not have missed Knowles dropping Montague and then jumping on top of him and continuing to throw them... He didn't even get reported??? In fact, no Belco boys got reported?

Players aren't on that much. I too thought they were on heaps before. But most of the expenditure is on sign on fees hence why they can spend next year coz most of ainslies players are on 2 year deals. The most Neely would be paid is $1,000 a game, which would equal around $20,000 a year add incentives make it $24,000 and that would be it.

If that is what ainslie got Neely for i want to follow corey around for a couple of weeks and learn his secrets,the social committy spill more then that most weekends .

Not bad Wonky,

just as an observation, could you list what you think all the Belconnen players would be on this year?

Also how many Box Hill palyers have Ainslie got, I thought Stone was one of them, obviously not.

I know for a fact Belconnen were still trying to coax Bourke across well after he had signed and began coaching at Ainslie last year. The then footy manager rang him to see if he wanted to jump ship because of the lousy predicament Ainslie was in, so don't think Belconnen have clean noses.

The tight Footy community in Canberra is always going to have issues like these.

As for ex-Ainslie players returning, maybe the Tri-Colours wouln't want them, it seems to me they may be on the right track.

Boys, sounds like a few of you dotn trust my sources. my sources are trustworthy and very close to Ainslie. example the Love $$$ was told to me by his brother. the rest told to me by a board member so, mostly pretty close to the mark. Yes Carlton Draught i made a mistake with Stone being a Box Hill guy.

Good luck for the Ainslie guys to belt the Belconnen guys, its good for them to show their cards early. It might work in a final if they had of held back but the expectation is now set.

The other question posed was regards to Bourke and i can gaurantee that Magpies haven't chased or asked Bourke to play football for our club. when the romour was that he was coming back to Canberra we made contact, discussed a figure of approx 60% of Ainlsie offer and it went no further. PLus Bourke wanted a coaching description as psrt of package and we had already signed Knowles to that role.

As a guess to the Belconnen boys some thing like this would be close.

Coach inc playing payments $40k
Assistant $25k
Ainger $15k
J. Bennett $12k
A Bennett $9k
Underwoods $12k each
Raadts $12k
Snake campbell $10k

Guys like Jeffery, Curtis, Rhodes, love $6k

Approx $170 - $190k all told

As a guess to the Belconnen boys some thing like this would be close.

Coach inc playing payments $40k
Assistant $25k Is Knowles the assistant?? If so you mean to say he has gone from 60-80K at Ainslie (granted as coach) to 25K....In your dreams
Ainger $15k @ 20 games = $750 possible after tax:)
J. Bennett $12k @ 20 games = $600 (Captain of the club):eek:
A Bennett $9k @ 20 games = $450 (BS my friend):p
Underwoods $12k each @ 20 games $600 (BS my friend):p
Raadts $12k (best defender in club, Cmon Wonky):
Snake campbell $10k (after tax maybe):

Guys like Jeffery, Curtis, Rhodes, love $6k @ 20 games = $300 (yeh right)

Approx $170 - $190k all told

Bahahahahaha....oh Wonky you are cracking jokes!

Season being 18 games plus 2 finals this year I think your numbers are way out!

What about Illet, Jennings and the other first graders??

With the players figures you have put together that equates to $156K for 12 players. Most teams would have around 28 - 30 contracted players. So you mean to say that the other 18 players (including Illet and Jennings and York etc, etc) have between 14 - 34K to share...

I use to receive every clubs financial reviews thru work. Are you telling us your payments have declined since then in a market that needs to raise more funds to attract footballers and you have 3 licensed premises??

Sorry but your not convincing anyone

Neely loves the money and fair enough but he would have got more to stay in SA so i would suggest he is on way more than 24K at Ainslie

I think Belco is being let off a little easy by you blokes here... Surely you could not have missed Knowles dropping Montague and then jumping on top of him and continuing to throw them... He didn't even get reported??? In fact, no Belco boys got reported?
After the way Ainslie treated him a few years back, if that is the worst thing Knowles does to Ainslie then you should think yourself very lucky

I think Knowles is the one who got off lucky mate. Bish specifically told players they would not play the following week if they started any shit with Knowles in his first game against Ainslie, and there was more than a few blokes wanting to give him one.

Now he goes out and belts a kid a good 25kgs lighter than him, who wasn't even at the club when he was there.

No wonder Kav refused to play rep footy with him.

Oops i did make a mistake A Bit High, the coaching costs for Mahar and Knowles would not come out of the $170 - $190 player payments. Illet and jennings would both be on approx $12k - $14kea

the $170 - $190 is dependent on who plays, people like the Bennetts, porter, rice, york, turnbull, McDevitt, Talsma, barton, J. love would all be considered "cheap" by other clubs standards and would probably be on less then Clint Mathis, Wescombe, or Clarke's Brother. so that is a 1/4 of our team on less then some very poor performers from other clubs.

Any one else you wan to know?

To reply to your other comment unlike queanbeyan i dont think Belconnen would relate the profits of their social club to player payments. i am sure that our social club board would be disappointed if we came cap in hand as Ron Fowlie has done in the past couple of years asking for money for Powell, kavanagh, and Jaques'. Anything else, A Bit High.

My guess is you may be on the $$$ of $190K for players + $65K for coaches AFTER TAX!!:thumbsu: Just add the tax component and you could be close!!

Never mentioned that profits of the 3 clubs goes towards the Football Payments - You mentioned that one!!;)
But if your trying to tell us that your Social Clubs dont provide funding for the Football Payments then I want some of what your on!!:p Or are your player getting paid via funds raised from raffles and the Jamison Kiosk...bahahahahahahahahah...stop it my stomach hurts

My guess is you may be on the $$$ of $190K for players + $65K for coaches AFTER TAX!!:thumbsu: Just add the tax component and you could be close!!

Never mentioned that profits of the 3 clubs goes towards the Football Payments - You mentioned that one!!;)
But if your trying to tell us that your Social Clubs dont provide funding for the Football Payments then I want some of what your on!!:p Or are your player getting paid via funds raised from raffles and the Jamison Kiosk...bahahahahahahahahah...stop it my stomach hurts

We all know that Ainslie pay their players the most :mad: :thumbsdown:, hence why Neely stayed and Gobbers went there. Tuggers pay theres the least. The other three are in the middle.
No wonder the Mathis brother's went to Ainslie - overpaid and over-rated :thumbsdown:

For all you boys out there getting on the bandwagon about Ainslie "bashing" Belconnen a couple of weeks ago, your comments must clearly be based on viewing the number of reports against Ainslie versus the number against Belco. Either that or you actually watched the game, but with one eye that was coloured teal and black. I had a very good view of the game and won't deny that Ainslie threw a fair few and that we probably should have had some players cop a few weeks. But we all know what a joke the AFL Canberra tribunal is. However, to even suggest that Belco players weren't throwing just as many, and often as the instigators to provoke players with short fuses such as hughes, ghobbers, bourke, is ludicrous. Just because the umpires refused to blow their whistle until an Ainslie boy retaliated, doesn't mean what happened before hand ceases to exist.

Also, on the topic of payments and reasons for players coming to the club, i'll comment on the situations i actually have information on. David Love has been on less than standard Ainslie senior match payments for non-contracted players (i.e $130) for the past 3 years and only this year was offered a better wage, most deservedly after holding up the Ainslie defence last year and being a valuable player since coming out of the u/18's. I don't know the actual figure.

As to the Mathis boys coming across to Ainslie, they weren't offered any more oney by Ainslie then any other club was willing to pay, the thing that clinched the deal was that Ainslie was willing to bring over and integrate into the club a large number of the Weston Creek boys, approximately 9 or 10 of them i believe. These players weren't offered money, just the chance to keep playing together and the chance to play frst grade if they earnt their spot. The Creek boys are a pretty tight unit and this was the major factor in getting the Mathis boys.