afl draft chances in the vafa?

rick James said:
Well your assumptions are wildly incorrect. VAFA boys tend to make these mistakes, as many of them are delusional to the point that they think their league, and indeed their very existence, has any relevance.

Maybe you should use these forums constructivley. Looking at other posts of yours you seem to get enjoyment out of being a complete ignorant fool. Grow up mate were not all as childish as you are. Why dont you let these forums be for what they are titled.

Start your own, im a fool and i speak crap, someone post some crap back

Bigfootyfan said:
Maybe you should use these forums constructivley. Looking at other posts of yours you seem to get enjoyment out of being a complete ignorant fool. Grow up mate were not all as childish as you are. Why dont you let these forums be for what they are titled.

Start your own, im a fool and i speak crap, someone post some crap back

So you think VAFA is as hard as EDFL?

I think the argument can be decided by one simple truth.

When AFL players retire, and go to play EDFL or DVFL or whatever, they almost always perform very well. When VFL players get released, they do likewise.

When AFL players retire, and go to play in the VAFA, they are rarely dominant. When VFL players get released, likewise.

This doesn't necessarily mean that a VAFA team would beat an EDFL or DVFL team every time, but it does mean that VAFA team's play a brand of football that is more similar to AFL. An ex AFL player can rely on their smarts, and a base of fitness to get them by at suburban level because the game is slower. Whereas in the VAFA, the old man bodies struggle to cope without the five or six training sessions and three massage sessions per week they were used to in their heyday.

In summary, VAFA is better.

whispers81 said:
I think the argument can be decided by one simple truth.

When AFL players retire, and go to play EDFL or DVFL or whatever, they almost always perform very well. When VFL players get released, they do likewise.

When AFL players retire, and go to play in the VAFA, they are rarely dominant. When VFL players get released, likewise.

This doesn't necessarily mean that a VAFA team would beat an EDFL or DVFL team every time, but it does mean that VAFA team's play a brand of football that is more similar to AFL. An ex AFL player can rely on their smarts, and a base of fitness to get them by at suburban level because the game is slower. Whereas in the VAFA, the old man bodies struggle to cope without the five or six training sessions and three massage sessions per week they were used to in their heyday.

In summary, VAFA is better.

Do you reckon Old Scotch could take Noble Park or Vermont at the moment?

rick James said:
In a word, wrong.

Why ask the question if you're not gonna like the answer?

Every suburban league has a serious case of small man syndrome.

Give me one good reason, beyond the oft used "EDFL is tougher than VAFA" argument, as to why Vermont or Noble would beat one of the top VAFA teams?

Toohas said:
They're stars...Vermont and Noble are in the EFL (Eastern). EDFL (Essendon District) is a different league.

Right you are, my mistake. Was definitely referring to EFL. EFL used to be EDFL in juniors I think, but have changed to EDFL.

whispers81 said:

.In summary, VAFA is better

Good points whisper. Ammos is far superior. Take a side like Xavs. In there 6 flags between 95-03, you had players like A.MacDonald, J.MacDonald, B.Cranage, Craig Kelly, Tim Fleming, Matt McCarthy, Andy Gowers, Cadyn Beethem, Leoncelli in their sides. These players, whilst excellent, were never stand-outs. It was guys who didn't even reach afl level like Bloods, Bowens, Ockleshaws, Landrigans etc who were just as dominant.
Have watched a little of all leagues, mainly Ammos, and an Old xavs would smasha Vermont. Maybe not preseason, maybe not mid-year, but come finals....Comfortably!

rick James said:
Right you are, my mistake. Was definitely referring to EFL. EFL used to be EDFL in juniors I think, but have changed to EDFL.

You have just shown how much of a clown you are, don't even know the name of the competition.

Surely there is a reptiles board for you losers to post your crap on. Funny how you never see any of the VAFA boys trolling your boards claiming that the E(D?)FL is soft.

Your posts are typical of the suburban league culture, thats just another reason why the VAFA is regarded as superior to other competitions.

What a knob, trying to spray everyone and doesn't even know the name of the league, goes to show how smart the blokes from these leagues are!!

I have seen a lot of both leagues and my opinion is as follows

Ammos - Sides are generally not as big as in the EFL but they run a lot harder and the games are a lot quicker than EFL. Guy's are not worried about how much cash they get ect just love the game and want to play with mates (And half of them probably earn more coin at work than a whole EFL team put together)

EFL - Ususally bigger blokes, great skill level but no way could they run with a VAFA side for more than a Quater or 2. Consider themself to be tough but the players go no harder at it than any other domestic league in VIC.

A Friend of mine played EFL 2-3 years ago and is now playing Ammo's and he thinks the Ammo's is a better league both on and off the field.

Just quietly dont want to big note myself or anything but there has been rumours around the OE stables that Skurrie and my name have been thrown into the mix, apparently Essendon and Richmond scouts have been eyeing off many of the OE games and the Vic state game to which I played in...

rick James said:
Mate you watch/play VAFA, you probably haven't met anyone tough, period.

VAFA - just a bunch of never-was hacks wishing they were back in high school when people actually gave a sh*t about them.

RJ

The term "tough" doesn't refer to how many ex-girlfriends have restraining orders out against you or how many relatives you have in jail or how many tatoos you have or how many time you accidently married a cousin.

If you think that your league is better than ours, great, I hope it helps you sleep at night. We in the VAFA are quite happy with our lot in life. Have fun in your *****ty outer suburban "Kath and Kim" league where unemployed tradies cash in on their inbred parent's poker machine and cheap bourbon addiction.

Fond regards

SMG

Surely Damien Rayson would have to be a chance. He may be an arrogant little so and so but his form for the Bellers over the past two months has been nothing short of electric. He's proving that the Old Xav's Sheik may have been on the money with his pre-season predictions.

Ross Young from the Bullants (ex Uni Blues - 2004??) has to be a chance. In the best each week for the dominate bullants. I think he is only 22 which would qualify him for the Rookie draft ???

Slay Master G said:
RJ

The term "tough" doesn't refer to how many ex-girlfriends have restraining orders out against you or how many relatives you have in jail or how many tatoos you have or how many time you accidently married a cousin.

If you think that your league is better than ours, great, I hope it helps you sleep at night. We in the VAFA are quite happy with our lot in life. Have fun in your *****ty outer suburban "Kath and Kim" league where unemployed tradies cash in on their inbred parent's poker machine and cheap bourbon addiction.

Fond regards

SMG

Gold!

One of the better stitch ups I have come across on these forums. Keep up the good work SMG.

For what its worth, I reckon its pretty hard to maintain that ammos is a better standard than EFL, particularly this year as droves of ammos have headed to suburbia and country for coin.

It is interesting though that blokes seem to kick much bigger bags in the suburban leagues. For instance, Gerstman kicked a ton at East Ringwood and I think his highest at Scotch is about 70 (??) and Greig I think has kicked 99 this year while I assume he didn't get near that for OTs.

It must have something to do with the eveness of A grade. Thoughts?

Great stitching... However, I don't think we need to justify the VAFA footy. Let the creaton continue with his inferiority complex and get back to the topic. A lot of players playing in A grade come not only from suburban footy but from the country where some of the toughest (guessing creaton’s definition of tough) footy is played. The better grounds make for faster 'fleet of foot' footy that of course results in more one on one footy. Better grounds = faster footy = better skills and better footy. You do the maff!!

Would be hard pressed to see anyone from the VAFA getting drafted as a result of the apparent talent in the feeder competitions, however I have heard good reports about some of the St Bernard’s and DLS young players. With a lot of connections around the VAFA circles any pre – seasons been offered to any young blokes coming through? whispers?

You amaze me! said:
Ross Young from the Bullants (ex Uni Blues - 2004??) has to be a chance. In the best each week for the dominate bullants. I think he is only 22 which would qualify him for the Rookie draft ???

Hardly in the best each week. According to his Sportingpulse game log, he's played 13 senior games and only been in the top 6 on 5 occasions (mind you the last three in a row).

Al Neville (OT 2004) has been in similar form for Coburg and just turned 21. Might be a chance at a Richmond rookie spot.

Young was injured at the start of the year. Good time of year to put your name up in lights. I first saw him play a VFL final last year where he played exceptional well. In the best and kicked two goals. Maybe a bit small but certainly has the pace and skills.

Neville (you're right) appears to be a solid contributor each week. Looks heavier this year however, not sure if that’s a result of the gym or injuries? or my widescreen TV! He's a good bloke, so hope he gets a chance. Probably deserved a preseason at the hawks after a good (arguably better) season with Box Hill the year before.

Apparently there is a kid Collins from Haileybury (think it may be the school side) who is being seriously looked at.

You amaze me! said:
Young was injured at the start of the year. Good time of year to put your name up in lights. I first saw him play a VFL final last year where he played exceptional well. In the best and kicked two goals. Maybe a bit small but certainly has the pace and skills.

Neville (you're right) appears to be a solid contributor each week. Looks heavier this year however, not sure if that’s a result of the gym or injuries? or my widescreen TV! He's a good bloke, so hope he gets a chance. Probably deserved a preseason at the hawks after a good (arguably better) season with Box Hill the year before.

Apparently there is a kid Collins from Haileybury (think it may be the school side) who is being seriously looked at.

Collins has been invited to the draft camp which means he must me a real show. Was apparently B.O.G in the decider for the APS flag.

The nominations for the for the national draft camp are at club land and he isn't on it. It must be a screening camp invite ? Which means he recieived 1-4 nominations.

Five nominations or more have you at the National draft camp.

Doesn't seem to be any surprises (outside the National U/18s) attending the National Camp.

You amaze me! said:
The nominations for the for the national draft camp are at club land and he isn't on it. It must be a screening camp invite ? Which means he recieived 1-4 nominations.

Five nominations or more have you at the National draft camp.

Doesn't seem to be any surprises (outside the National U/18s) attending the National Camp.

Hes going to the Victorian one i believe, the talk around the club is that St Kilda are super keen

afl draft chances in the vafa?