AFL Dream Team 2007

So by saying 'more experienced coaches' you mean you? Just because someone might have only just joined this site doesn't mean they're not experienced when it comes to dreamteam coaching.

Your comments come across as condescending and I suspect that most of the people you be-little on here have more of a clue about what they're doing than you do.

Think what you want.

Again, another wonder move by theone5.

Strengthen ur Bench fodder while ur starting 22 is a mess.

Haha.
A mess?
My backs and centres are stonger than yours and i have 9 trades left with $80,000 in the bank.
I still can not believe you have left yourself with only 3 trades?
LMAO. :D

Yes, yes they do.
We were all "newbies" at some stage so i still respect everyones opinion on here.
I just like to reiterate the fact that they are 'newbies' because they get annoyed by it and so they should because there are too many of them on here with big heads who give no respect to anyone, especially to the more experienced coaches.

For someone who thinks of themself so highly and seriously believes that they are a good coach, you make some mighty bad moves. Mate, quit hiding behind the 'league win' tag and cut the crap and admit that your no good at DT. Congratulations also must go to you, as you've won yourself the tag of Big Footy member. Seriously mate, well done. You've been chatting on an internet forum longer than me... I take my hat off to you. I suppose you think newbie posters are new to this forum THEREFORE they must be new to Dream Team.

Oh and by the way Einstein, Burton is crap.

You stalker you.
How did you find my side?

Here it is:

BACKS
C.Cornes
A.McPhee
D.Milburn
J.Adcock
J.Bowden
H.Shaw
N.Bock

X.Ellis
T.Williams

CENTRES
K.Cornes
H.Scotland
C.Bruce
L.Hodge
L.Ball
N.Lappin

B.Houli
J.Oakley-Nicholls

RUCKS
A.Sandilands
B.Hudson

S.Taylor
J.Griffen

FORWARDS
M.Pavlich
J.Brown
L.Franklin
N.Riewoldt
M.Lloyd
J.Koschitzke
B.Burton

M.Campbell
T.Hawkins

Trades: 9
Cash: Approximately $80,000

Haha.
A mess?
My backs and centres are stonger than yours and i have 9 trades left with $80,000 in the bank.
I still can not believe you have left yourself with only 3 trades?
LMAO. :D
I'll give u a hand, u need it.

The game needs to be analysed every year. Every year they throw new spins on the same game and u have to be work out what they are.

Im ratshit this year, made way to many mistakes from day1, but what i have done is got my team to the best possible shape with 22 guns in my starting line up. This year with the increase salary cap and reduction in the players prices. It meant we started with 15-16 Premium Studs from Day 1. Way more Premiums than we had last year, so the quicker u upgraded ur team to 22 guns, the better position u could be in. All that was left for u to do was sit back and enjoy the ride and pray for minimal injurys (Huge weakness in the 2007 comp, but hey we gotta play what is served up to us)

3 trades isnt ideal, i admit that. But with guys like

JWS

Gibbs
Schmidt

Hudson
Griffen

Gray

All on the bench, it does give me a little cover for some small time injurys.

The bet was made before the season started and at that stage i was aiming for a high ranking like everyone else on here.
Things change though and i altered my plans accordingly.

Just wondering, what has changed?

I had my eyes set on that trade ALL WEEK but i had already used my two trades and i figured that there are always solid, cheap forwards popping up every week so there was no urgency to get him.

care to name those forwards that will step up in the coming weeks. Dare I say it, missing out on Robbie Gray, given the current state of your side was a 'newbie mistake'.

Again, another wonder move by theone5.

Strengthen ur Bench fodder while ur starting 22 is a mess.

shhh. Just let him do the trade, it's a good move :p

Sorry champ, my mistake. We must've been fourth then... I think we were around top 3 for most of the year if my memory serves me correctly. VERY competitive. Something like 4 in the top 100 at the moment. What league are you? Good to see someone on here who knows there stuff

Talk about going back on what you originally said.
Rate me or do not rate me.
I do not give a crap.
I know where i stand though.

No.
B.Burton is a GUN.
Again, another 'newbie' call with no substance.
He is inconsistent and injury-prone but so are most of the forwards.

In terms of averages, he was ranked 55th last year in Dream Team.

He beat players like B.Stanton (breakout dt year this year), J.Bowden (point well taken), A.Simpson (became more of a tagger than a prolific ball winner in recent times), D.Milburn (point taken), A.Embley (point taken), D.Kerr (ok i guess - yet you told me he is no dreamteamer), C.Tarrant (not a dt gun, not a football gun, nor a gentleman gun), T.Lockyer (breakout year this year), A.Carrazzo (he is no gun - with stevo and others out you expect his current form - not last year), A.McPhee (injured at end of last year), G.Ablett (hit top form this year), etc, etc.

All of those players listed above are classified as "guns" on this board.

Brett Burton can be a top quality dt forward as many say.

You picked many injury prone players. He was one who got injured early (unfortunate, but only to an extent).

I'll give u a hand, u need it.

The game needs to be analysed every year. Every year they throw new spins on the same game and u have to be work out what they are.

Im ratshit this year, made way to many mistakes from day1, but what i have done is got my team to the best possible shape with 22 guns in my starting line up. This year with the increase salary cap and reduction in the players prices. It meant we started with 15-16 Premium Studs from Day 1. Way more Premiums than we had last year, so the quicker u upgraded ur team to 22 guns, the better position u could be in. All that was left for u to do was sit back and enjoy the ride and pray for minimal injurys (Huge weakness in the 2007 comp, but hey we gotta play what is served up to us)

3 trades isnt ideal, i admit that. But with guys like

JWS

Gibbs
Schmidt

Hudson
Griffen

Gray

All on the bench, it does give me a little cover for some small time injurys.

Your team is not full of guns just yet.
Example: G.Birchall

I know what you are saying but basically, you have taken a big risk as you have left yourself in a very vulnerable position.

Also, your depth is not as good as you think.
B.Gibbs and B.Hudson are the only two players who are "guaranteed" to play all season.

I know what you are saying but basically, you have taken a big risk as you have left yourself in a very vulnerable position.

B.Gibbs and B.Hudson are the only two players who are "guaranteed" to play all season.

I can pretty much guarantee you Smith will play the rest of the season barring injury of course.

JWS is definately guarenteed to play all season and the way Gray is performing he could to.

Talk about going back on what you originally said.
Rate me or do not rate me.
I do not give a crap.
I know where i stand though.

From the amount you talked yourself up and said the right things, it seemed as though you knew what you were talking about. I was way off the mark there. Then I saw your team. How things change...

It's getting close to July mate. I reckon it's time you started the 2008 thread and get some tips off others for next year. Try not to make so many newbie mistakes next time.

Just wondering, what has changed?

care to name those forwards that will step up in the coming weeks. Dare I say it, missing out on Robbie Gray, given the current state of your side was a 'newbie mistake'.

What has changed?
Ahh, the fitness and form of my players. :rolleyes:
What a stupid question.

Those forwards:
Well, S.Gumbleton and D.Whyman should debut this year at some stage and then there is still the chance that someone like J.Riewoldt will come back into the side and hold his spot.
I can jump on any of them at any given time.
Plus, there are "always" players who make their debut that we have rarely heard of due to the vast amount of injuries at their respective clubs.

From the amount you talked yourself up and said the right things, it seemed as though you knew what you were talking about. I was way off the mark there. Then I saw your team. How things change...

It's getting close to July mate. I reckon it's time you started the 2008 thread and get some tips off others for next year. Try not to make so many newbie mistakes next time.

Haha.
Post your team.
Also, what were my 'newbie' mistakes? :rolleyes:

What has changed?
Ahh, the fitness and form of my players. :rolleyes:
What a stupid question.

Those forwards:
Well, S.Gumbleton and D.Whyman should debut this year at some stage and then there is still the chance that someone like J.Riewoldt will come back into the side and hold his spot.
I can jump on any of them at any given time.
Plus, there are "always" players who make their debut that we have rarely heard of due to the vast amount of injuries at their respective clubs.

TBH I don't see Whyman getting a game this season. Now he has to compete with Harding.

Haha.
Post your team.
Also, what were my 'newbie' mistakes? :rolleyes:

Cornes
Mcphee
Bowden
Shaw
Birchall
Adcock
Koschitzke
(Ellis, Hamil)

Cornes
Judd
Bruce
West
Hodge
Lappin
(Hadley, Browne)

Sandilands
Hudson
(Griffin, Warnock)

Pavlich
Riewoldt
Johnson
Chapman
Brown
Hall
O'Keefe
(Gray, Campbell)

10 trades left, $50,000 in the bank. Hadley>Boak, Hudson>Fraser/Cox next week.

Well, for starters you persisted with Burton when he was clearly playing injured. You didn't jump on Gray or Westhoff.

Everyone's players have changes in fitness and form. If that's your excuse for changing to going for a league win instead of an overall one, that's pretty soft.

Well, as i copped injuries and played with 21 players for a few weeks, i decided to cut my losses with LH15 and aim for the bigger fish which is winning my league.

Cornes
Mcphee
Bowden
Shaw
Birchall
Adcock
Koschitzke
(Ellis, Hamil)

Cornes
Judd
Bruce
West
Hodge
Lappin
(Hadley, Browne)

Sandilands
Hudson
(Griffin, Warnock)

Pavlich
Riewoldt
Johnson
Chapman
Brown
Hall
O'Keefe
(Gray, Campbell)

Well, for starters you persisted with Burton when he was clearly playing injured. You didn't jump on Gray or Westhoff.
Good side mate.
Backline depth is a real worry though with both your bench players likely to score plenty of 0's in the run home.
However, you only need to upgrade Kosi and Hudson, perhaps Birchall and your team will be set, with about 5 trades left for injuries, improving your bench or perhaps upgrading Birchall.

Cornes
Mcphee
Bowden
Shaw
Birchall
Adcock
Koschitzke
(Ellis, Hamil)

Cornes
Judd
Bruce
West
Hodge
Lappin
(Hadley, Browne)

Sandilands
Hudson
(Griffin, Warnock)

Pavlich
Riewoldt
Johnson
Chapman
Brown
Hall
O'Keefe
(Gray, Campbell)

Nice team.
At least i am man enough to admit that.
We have 15/22 of the same players though so there is not much difference.
We are also in a similar position trades/cash wise so you are in no position to talk down to me.