AFL Dream Team 2008

As for using all four trades before round three - absolutely not IMO.

I have Lucas and my initial thought was get him outta there but on reflection (and discussion with a source of mine :D) I've decided to bench him for this week at least and chuck Rioli on.

As someone who is relatively new to dt i could easily stand corrected but what would be the motive for keeping Lucas. He's gone for 10-12 so isnt keeping him on your bench a waste of 360k odd?? By trading him up to a SJ or Chappo woulda you be guranteeing an extra 30+ points over a bloke like Riolo...or in my case avoiding the inside of a dognut

The motives are:

1) I don't want to waste a trade after round one when I have someone on the bench who will play and will probably go alright.

2) After one round its really impossible to tell whether players who scored well in round one will do so again next week and the week after.

3) I may keep Lucas until after round three depending on the BE's. Lucas won't drop in value as he only played one game. Other players of the same ilk might.

But at the end of the day it depends on your own strategy. If you're not prepared to take the potential hit of lower points early in the season then go for it. I'm just not going to trade after one round. :thumbsu:

look at the benefit from each trade
eg i got bird and looking at lonergan
lets imagine bird plays and lonergan plays (assuming lonergan keeps up wat he has been doing)
then we get to rd 8/9 and lonergan is like 230k and bird is 180k..is that 50k really worth a trade? also remembering that watever u cash in has already had a trade sacrificed for it

weigh up the benefit/cost of eahc trade and scrutinise each trade as much as u can..if there are still no negatives then go for it!

Say Houli averages around about 90 for the next 2 weeks he will rise 218,400 grand, making his value worth at $414, 200 grand. So seeing as though he has scored 71 thus far, he is a big chance of averaging 70s for the next 2 rounds. You would imagine his value would be worth the trade, trading Dyson for Houli at this stage would probably be a very good idea, imo.

my mates 15th doesnt even spend much time on his team and he had 21 players
Now this might sound like sour grapes, and I guess given I'm raising it, it is, but it gives me the irrits that the fella in 3rd place is walloping me, yet has Darren Glass in his backline. *

I mean, come on. AA FB? Yep. But DT backman? I spend hours poring over stats, about a million team permutations, and I'm getting my butt kicked by Darren Glass?

* (no offence, fella in 3rd - it's higher than I've ever achieved in any week, so congrats)

Say Houli averages around about 90 for the next 2 weeks he will rise 218,400 grand, making his value worth at $414, 200 grand. So seeing as though he has scored 71 thus far, he is a big chance of averaging 70s for the next 2 rounds. You would imagine his value would be worth the trade, trading Dyson for Houli at this stage would probably be a very good idea, imo.

Don't forget we're playing Geelong this week...

he wont go BANG straight up 218k. I dont know exactly how much he will go up with an average of 70 or 80 after 3 weeks. Maybe 40 or 50k?? im not an expert on the forumla and how it works, but i do know that the players price wont reflect his average immediately as initial price is taken into account.

Don't forget we're playing Geelong this week...

There is no reason why Houli can't score 70+
I wouldn't be suprised if Dyson gets tagged again, he is a beautiful kick of the footy, though sometimes his kicking may be off on some occassions, but on a good day, his kicking could be leathal.

But for those who were thinking of using either of Dyson and Houli as trade baits, after their prices rise, swapping Dyson for Houli now would be a good move I think.

he wont go BANG straight up 218k. I dont know exactly how much he will go up with an average of 70 or 80 after 3 weeks. Maybe 40 or 50k?? im not an expert on the forumla and how it works, but i do know that the players price wont reflect his average immediately as initial price is taken into account.

Say if Houli did average 84 for the first 3 rounds, he would go up 218k. Seeing as though he is on track to average 60+, he is in a much better position than Dyson at the moment (lvalue for money and trade bait purposes).

There is no reason why Houli can't score 70+
I wouldn't be suprised if Dyson gets tagged again, he is a beautiful kick of the footy, though sometimes his kicking may be off on some occassions, but on a good day, his kicking could be leathal.

But for those who were thinking of using either of Dyson and Houli as trade baits, after their prices rise, swapping Dyson for Houli now would be a good move I think.

Except that Geelong has the best midfield in the comp.

I'm not dissing your logic. I agree with what you're saying but I would wait until next week to make the decision. I'm prepared to give Dyson another chance. Regardless of how much he might actually go up, if this week pans out like last week (Dyson vs Houli) and considering Houli is cheaper to start with it'll be a trade I consider very seriously (not withstanding other results).

Say if Houli did average 84 for the first 3 rounds, he would go up 218k. Seeing as though he is on track to average 60+, he is in a much better position than Dyson at the moment (lvalue for money and trade bait purposes).

No he wouldn't. He would need to average that over an extended period. 3 weeks of an 84 average may see an initial increase of 30-50k (not exactly sure).

Except that Geelong has the best midfield in the comp.

I'm not dissing your logic. I agree with what you're saying but I would wait until next week to make the decision. I'm prepared to give Dyson another chance. Regardless of how much he might actually go up, if this week pans out like last week (Dyson vs Houli) and considering Houli is cheaper to start with it'll be a trade I consider very seriously (not withstanding other results).

I understand what you're saying, and Geelong do have the best midfield int he compition, arguably. It doesn't mean Essendon's midfield won't get a touch of the footy, and i don't think Houli would be in the top 4 players for the Bombers to be tagged.....yet. But we will find out after this weekend, should be exciting though.

What the hell are you talking about mate? If Houli gets 71 in the next two games, he will go up 28k (224k overall). Then if he get another 71, he goes up 21k (245k overall). Don't see him averaging 71 every week though, considering he got 26 touches and only got 71

No he wouldn't. He would need to average that over an extended period. 3 weeks of an 84 average may see an initial increase of 30-50k (not exactly sure).

Hmm, well I got this information from that fantasyfreako email, have you seen that? I may be wrong, but i took it as if, that's what would happen to player prices if they averaged 'that' score for however many rounds. For example in the Nab Cup matches, Houli had scores of 79, 74, and 98. An average of 84 after 3 rounds, resulting in him rising $218, 400.

See http://dreamteamtalk.com/resources/ for a calculator.

Price rises work like this:
Initial Price = “Magic Number” x Ave Pts in 2007
Recent Market Value = “Magic Number” x Ave Pts in last 3 games
New Price = (3/4 x Current Price) + (1/4 x Recent Market Value)

Houli with a 71, 90, 90 would go up 41.6K after Rd3

Handy piece of information. Thanks and well done.

I will wait but Symes was terrible on the weekend and i cant see him holding his spot if he continues to play like that but even if they do retain him in the side i doubt very much he can give you reasonably consistant scores over the year

Symes won't get dropped. Besides, Vince was far worse.

Hmm, well I got this information from that fantasyfreako email, have you seen that? I may be wrong, but i took it as if, that's what would happen to player prices if they averaged 'that' score for however many rounds. For example in the Nab Cup matches, Houli had scores of 79, 74, and 98. An average of 84 after 3 rounds, resulting in him rising $218, 400.

That price assumes he averages that over a season, if he did that that would be his eventual price, no player will ever increase 200k after the initial 3 rounds or in any 1 week.

Well black is injured and Solomon is out for 2 weeks so it seems very logical that those two will come straight in.

They should stay in the team is the likes of Mcmanus, M. Carr, Ma.Johnson and co dont perform better against the hawks and Eagles.

Well that's exactly what I'm thinking.
Just reading a few posts from ten pages ago it sounded like it was Ibbo or Palmer.

Not Ibbo or Palmer, Ibbo in front of Palmer.

I would think if you are concerned with Dyson a more sensible move would be to bring in Jack, Geary or Dempsey who are all capable of averaging 50-70 and using the cash elsewhere. With and average of 60 Jack will rise to 260K by Rd 6 making a profit of 170K as well as freeing up 110K in the Dyson trade. Houli will not make anywhere near this much and IMO only average 10 ppw more.

Personally I want another look at Dyson this week before making any decisions.

i highly doubt jack will average 60.

I wish. Although that side ain't great.

Oh ok...A couple of the top sides aren't great as they have heaps of injury prone players, and I was thinking the other day what was wrong with my side for round 1, and I couldn't think of anything else besides poor form....
I thought to myself would I swap my team with a couple of the top teams and I thought, no way....:eek: