AFL Evolution 2 Realism Thread (game sliders, player ratings, player likeness, tactics)

I literally turned all the free kicks down to zero for a bit or realism. Holding the ball, throwing the ball, charging etc..

Perhaps worked for charging and off the ball, but for everything else it has made absolutely zero difference. It's like the sliders didn't do anything.

The AI, or myself still literally have 0.245 seconds to dispose of the ball before its called holding the ball.

I've had times where I havent even received the footy yet, I'm literally spamming triangle or whatever, and the AI auto tackles me instantly for holding the ball.

In real footy, prior opportunity is a few steps or attempting to break a tackle, but in this it's whatever dice is rolled in their formula.

You have to slide the 'time allowed for holding the ball' (or whatever it's titled) up, not down. I put it up to 80 and there's about 2 extra seconds of leeway given before you're pinged. Perfect imo

Question for those who know about custom teams...

I'm hesitant to stuff up my actual proper lists. If I had a custom team and wanted to put someone from an AFL list on a custom team - is he gone from his original AFL team after I recruit him to a custom team?

Is there a way to duplicate?

I've downloaded some custom teams that seem like they are duplicates. But if I try to recruit, then the player seems to disappear from his original AFL team.

I'd like to avoid, for example, putting Jack Darling in the custom WA side I downloaded if it means he's no longer on the official Eagles list.

Question for those who know about custom teams...

I'm hesitant to stuff up my actual proper lists. If I had a custom team and wanted to put someone from an AFL list on a custom team - is he gone from his original AFL team after I recruit him to a custom team?

Is there a way to duplicate?

I've downloaded some custom teams that seem like they are duplicates. But if I try to recruit, then the player seems to disappear from his original AFL team.

I'd like to avoid, for example, putting Jack Darling in the custom WA side I downloaded if it means he's no longer on the official Eagles list.
You can create duplicates for players that don't have a facescan, but for those who do you need to recruit them meaning they are no longer on the original team. You can use custom teams in career mode though as you can replace the afl teams. You also need to keep a minimum number of players on the original team meaning you'll have to create some players to fill the void. I've done this for Port Adelaide and am using them in coach career so that I have the prison bar jerseys and others. I'm loving it but there's now no team song or crowd chants as it's a custom team

Thanks mate. Argh, they were so close with the customisation in this. Wonder why they made this a limitation?

Wondering if you can switch a player to a custom team, upload the custom team, then put player back in original team and then download the custom team. Because I've downloaded a heap of custom teams with facescanned players that hasn't affected my original lists...

Also noticed that after I did the player ratings update, there were some no names in a few of the custom sides I already had. So I re-downloaded those sides, but the no names stayed in my delisted players list, along with some custom players as well, despite me saying I didn't want them.

So now I have duplicates of a bunch of no names (like from Canada, or various state leagues) in my delisted players that I can't actually delete. The created players I can, but these duplicates won't delete and they're still in their normal teams... how do I delete them for good?

I've done this for Port Adelaide and am using them in coach career so that I have the prison bar jerseys and others. I'm loving it but there's now no team song or crowd chants as it's a custom team

Just on these custom guernseys, another frustration because there's so many cool ones people have made and you can't add them to any of the official sides. Another really lame limitation. I feel like I may as well delete the cool heritage guernseys people have made, as how can I use them apart from making a custom team, which is limiting in terms of players you can use. I guess I'll just wait for people to make full custom teams and then download them as they come.

Thanks mate. Argh, they were so close with the customisation in this. Wonder why they made this a limitation?

Wondering if you can switch a player to a custom team, upload the custom team, then put player back in original team and then download the custom team. Because I've downloaded a heap of custom teams with facescanned players that hasn't affected my original lists...
Unfortunately I've tried and it just downloads said player without a facescan. Everything else will be the same but they'll have a generic face

Posted this in main thread, but thought it might help some here - had heaps of experience/trial and error with Evo 1 sliders.

FINALLY got the game (bloody AusPost/Christians ;) ) and straight away implemented as many of the slider adjustments I could remember from Evo 1.
This includes turning up to the highest difficulty straight away. (Not because I’m good, but so AI plays smarter. I then balance this out below)

I then played a few test games to balance out the CPU to make an even contest.

Things like speed, endurance, man on man, tagging all go to single digits. (For both CPU an Player)
Then things like charging, throwing, in the back etc all get turned down to mid 30s, and both get their “time to prior opportunity” thingturned up to give more ball ups and less free kicks (initially I had this up really high to be like a real footy game, but to break up the ball ups, I’ve lowered it a bit to make u piers “pluck out a free” a bit more lol).

Tackle distance and effectiveness are down, as is CPUs tackle and pressure awareness.
Marking, I turn both spoiling up, and boosted my marking, and lowered theirs a bit.
^ these last 2, I’ve already slowly turned up as I get better and need cpu to stay with me.

Kicking, I turn in-play goal kicking down, especially for CPU. Also lower my mid and long range set shot kicking a fair bit to make it really challenging.

One thing I’ve noticed is that they’ve removed the “game speed” setting. Use to be 5 or 6 levels of “speed”, but they’ve taken this away? Would be good to find out from WW why they did this.

Edit: forgot to add, I went to team manager, and changed each of the 18 teams tactics. No one has man on man at kickout (either zone or press).
Most teams now play extra man back, but some play extra man on the ball.
Most teams press, either attack or neutral, some defensive.

Posted this in main thread, but thought it might help some here - had heaps of experience/trial and error with Evo 1 sliders.

FINALLY got the game (bloody AusPost/Christians ;) ) and straight away implemented as many of the slider adjustments I could remember from Evo 1.
This includes turning up to the highest difficulty straight away. (Not because I’m good, but so AI plays smarter. I then balance this out below)

I then played a few test games to balance out the CPU to make an even contest.

Things like speed, endurance, man on man, tagging all go to single digits. (For both CPU an Player)
Then things like charging, throwing, in the back etc all get turned down to mid 30s, and both get their “time to prior opportunity” thingturned up to give more ball ups and less free kicks (initially I had this up really high to be like a real footy game, but to break up the ball ups, I’ve lowered it a bit to make u piers “pluck out a free” a bit more lol).

Tackle distance and effectiveness are down, as is CPUs tackle and pressure awareness.
Marking, I turn both spoiling up, and boosted my marking, and lowered theirs a bit.
^ these last 2, I’ve already slowly turned up as I get better and need cpu to stay with me.

Kicking, I turn in-play goal kicking down, especially for CPU. Also lower my mid and long range set shot kicking a fair bit to make it really challenging.

One thing I’ve noticed is that they’ve removed the “game speed” setting. Use to be 5 or 6 levels of “speed”, but they’ve taken this away? Would be good to find out from WW why they did this.

Edit: forgot to add, I went to team manager, and changed each of the 18 teams tactics. No one has man on man at kickout (either zone or press).
Most teams now play extra man back, but some play extra man on the ball.
Most teams press, either attack or neutral, some defensive.
But how did you find the game

Well, I enjoyed Evo 1, and already this is better (and will be much better when bugs are squashed, like they were last time).

Played it quite a bit today, and a lot of the control has come back to me. Now there’s a lot less 50/50s and more control over the play.
When I’m taking a set kick, I usually use the target thing and select player targets, but many times it’s quicker to kick in a direction to a guy on his own.

Gotta get use to clearance kick button - hardly using it. Also gotta keep tuning the sliders to create more linkage handball chains.
And also going to bump up quarter lengths to more than 5mins, as from memory. The second half would see heaps of mismatches and free players as guys tired with the slider settings I mentioned.

Thoroughly enjoying it at this stage, can’t wait till some bugs are fixed, but they aren’t stopping me having fun games of footy.

Marking

Marking Boost - 0-5/0-5 - With equal numbers cpu takes more contested marks then you, but this may just be that they bang it into packs more then you. might have to set CPU higher so their strategy isn't completely nullified and they aren't too easy to beat. Even at 0 there is plenty of contested marks in the game.

Mark Fumbles - 60-65/65-70 - Again to try to reduce the number of contested marks (a higher number means more fumbles contrary to what was posted above). User is set lower because we still seem to fumble more marks when its equal.

Spoiling - 95-100/95-100 - Same as above in marking boost, potentially have user lower so CPU game plan of bomb to packs isn't nullified.

Speccy rate - 45/40 - CPU seems to do this more often when equal. At 50 seemed to be too many (2-3) per game.

Attributes

Rucking - 47/53 - CPU seems to dominate the centre bounces but you dominate around the ground (maybe just the ruckman I was using - Stefan martin). These numbers were getting it closer to equal overall.

Run Speed - 0/0 - Plays completely fine and feels like its lowering some of the RNG mechanics in the game.

Handball Distance - 60/55-60 - really we need a handball accuracy slider but increasing the distance did appear to make it the handball somewhat more useful and hit targets more.

Smothering - 50/50 - Could be lowered as guys seem to kick into the mark a bit.

Endurance - 50/50 - Haven't tested (not sure how one would)

Fatigure Rate - 50/50 - As above

Fending - 50/40-45 - AI seems to do them more then you when equal

Tackle effectiveness - 25/25 - controls how many hit-outs you get. these numbers seem to work.

Kick Power - 55-60/50 - Despite kicking around the ground seeming a little short (and tall forwards set-up out of range alot of the time) I had been unwilling to put this up as you can kick set shots easy from outside 50 (set shots seem to be further then regular kicks). Now that we play on from set-shots happy for it to go up, will need to test what number is suitable though.

Tagging - 0-10/0 - Helps get the uncontested marks numbers up and seems to play normally. Can be patient and wait for the open man and work it up field. AI has a much easier time locating that open man so could boost user tagging but not a must. Hopefully dissuades the AI from bombing to packs all game

General

Wind Impact - 50/NA - untested

Tackle Distance - 30-40/25-35 - If this is too high, you will get out ahead of a defender on the sprint and once you press kick he will teleport chase down tackle you and stuff your kick. User a little higher as our reactions and fine motor skills worse then the AI.

Hip and shoulder distance - 40-50/30-40 - AI seems to do this alot more succesfully then you do when the sliders are equal.

Injury Frequency - 50/50 - untested

Injury Severity - 50/50 - untested

Umpiring - Once you get the tackle numbers even using the other sliders the frees come out pretty even. Potential to make it so AI is called for more frees but I have no idea whether this is moving User or CPU sliders up or down.

No Prior Opportunity Time - 55/55

Throwing the ball - 50/50

Holding the ball - 50/50

High Tackle - 50/50

Push in the back - 50/50

Charging - 50/50

Off the ball - 50/50

AI Tendencies - These seem to have the most impact on how difficult the AI is (more so then the actual difficulty it kinda seems)
Play on - NA/50-60 - Pick your poison. Do you want the AI to bomb it to a pack, or do you want the AI to play on and miss a handball. Keep it around default for now.

Tackle Reaction - NA/50-60 - With tagging low keen to push this above default. Still testing and may go higher still.

Pressure Awareness - NA/50-60 - This may be the true 'difficulty' slider. May also solve our AI bombing it to packs all game. Have pushed above default and may go higher still with some testing.

Tackle Avoidance - NA/50 - Havent done to much with this. One to tweak to get the tackle stats to match up.

Ball tapping 0-50/0-50 - Went as low as 0 to try to increase contested possessions but as above that was futile. Played pretty normally at 0, but it also does at 50. Not a super important one.

Stay on man - 50-100/50-100 - Setting this too low means the second you break a contest or string together a handball the half backers will shoot off their men, giving you uncontested marks inside 50. Also worth having it high with tagging low. Seems to play fine at 100, as FB left the FF in square to contest a shot when I got to about 30 out (no earlier).

Will hone in on some better numbers over time hopefully. Would also love to know what people have been doing for some of the other settings. Constantly been switching camera angles and I think I'm at Dynamic Far now. Also gone to manual switching over semi or automatic. A player set would be a great help as there hopefully can do things that sliders can't (decreased set shot accuracy, increased handball accuracy, more discrepancy in speed, kick distance)
Will give these a whirl. Thanks mate 👍

Here's my slider settings. As mentioned earlier, only had this game for 3 days, but did have Evo 1 and played it a fair bit.
Note it's straight to Legend difficulty, but the sliders allow me to be competitve, and slowly I am turning the relevant ones up as I improve.
The final settings a list management, which lets you choose clubs, and then "team tactic". Most clubs are set up like Adelaide or the Dees (no man on man kick outs!)
Finding I'm getting pretty fun and competitive matches with these settings.
Also, I've dramatically reduced big men's running speed and acceleration - and turned up the speedsters.
And finally, I've turned down the kicking ability of all the Dees B and C graders, to create more contrast. (I only play as the Dees)
Enjoy and let me know what you think!

EC2E5610-2C39-48C0-A067-D5D1765DDA23.jpeg
That was so much harder to make than it should have been.....

Here's my slider settings. As mentioned earlier, only had this game for 3 days, but did have Evo 1 and played it a fair bit.
Note it's straight to Legend difficulty, but the sliders allow me to be competitve, and slowly I am turning the relevant ones up as I improve.
The final settings a list management, which lets you choose clubs, and then "team tactic". Most clubs are set up like Adelaide or the Dees (no man on man kick outs!)
Also, I've dramatically reduced big men's running speed and acceleration - and turned up the speedsters.
And finally, I've turned down the kicking ability of all the Dees B and C graders, to create more contrast. (I only play as the Dees)

View attachment 859130
I'm giving these a go, thanks.

Hey mate, can you advise on how to duplicate a custom player? If it's super obvious, I'm missing it. :/

As far as duplicating real life players that don't have face scans, when you are in player editor and it asks you if you want to create a copy of this player you select yes. Then once you make your changes, those changes will be found on that player in either the 'delisted' players pool or 'custom' players pool.

View attachment 859130

I like the game style of these sliders but I’m still winning fairly comfortably on Legend difficulty. Have you made any further adjustments?

As far as duplicating real life players that don't have face scans, when you are in player editor and it asks you if you want to create a copy of this player you select yes. Then once you make your changes, those changes will be found on that player in either the 'delisted' players pool or 'custom' players pool.

Ah, so you can only do in-game players? And those with facescans will just duplicate and have the facescan removed?

Bummer, I really want to duplicate custom players (eg. Make someone like Dean Kemp and put him in a custom West Coast Legends side and a custom WA state side). Seems like I can't do that, which is a major inconvenience. Don't really want to make players multiple times from scratch, y'know?

Really frustrating how much customisation is there but is a tease because there's always a limit on what you can do. >_<

Ah, so you can only do in-game players? And those with facescans will just duplicate and have the facescan removed?

Bummer, I really want to duplicate custom players (eg. Make someone like Dean Kemp and put him in a custom West Coast Legends side and a custom WA state side). Seems like I can't do that, which is a major inconvenience. Don't really want to make players multiple times from scratch, y'know?

Really frustrating how much customisation is there but is a tease because there's always a limit on what you can do. >_<
I see what you mean. You're correct about the players with facescans duplicating without their scan, but I haven't tried with duplicating user-made players - certainly annoying if that's the case!

I like the game style of these sliders but I’m still winning fairly comfortably on Legend difficulty. Have you made any further adjustments?
Yeah I have been for the same reason.

I’ve definitely moved all the CPUs goal kicking sliders up a fair bit, CPU pressure awareness and the other one (tackle awareness) waaay up - this means far less dumb plays, almost no out in the fulls from full back.

I’ve also turned down my marking a touch, and bumped up their spoiling (Means I have to hit more leads and targets rather than taking continued contested marks).

I‘ll post my update sliders once I boot up the Xbox again.

edit: also have spent more time lowering a lot of the Dees (the team I usually play as) player stats. Lowered marking for all but our talls, which means effectively when I reduce the marking slider, it makes the talls back to the standard marking ability, and the smaller players less.
Also have continued to reduce many of my players’ kicking stats - I wanna see more mung kicks by the likes of Oscar McDonald, ANB etc.. (in game, not in real life)

Here are my current CPU/AI sliders now that I've improved a bit - these result in more accurate AI scorelines, and much better ball usage and decision making by AI.
(Only other adjustments I've made to my previous sliders is all marking is 50 for both User and CPU, with fumbles at 60 for both)
View attachment 866208

View attachment 866209

I haven't touched the game for a while, and won't be til the patch drops, but when I do I'll give these a whirl. Thx for sharing

Here are my current CPU/AI sliders now that I've improved a bit - these result in more accurate AI scorelines, and much better ball usage and decision making by AI.
(Only other adjustments I've made to my previous sliders is all marking is 50 for both User and CPU, with fumbles at 60 for both)
View attachment 866208

View attachment 866209
Legend for sharing you experiments with the sliders and showing us too how you have many of them.

AFL Evolution 2 Realism Thread (game sliders, player ratings, player likeness, tactics)