Analysis AFL grand final: Punt Road to break commercial record

Amazing changing the culture of trying to win a flag rather than trying to win a final does.Should have had 100k members by now if we adopted this in 2013 rather than opting for the safe way out in "STABILITY".
Cmon RFC we need GROWTH
Never change TI but maybe you could take a break to celebrate the now, stability has delivered more than most of us expected and was anything but the safe way out, the risk of sticking with what we had paid off.

I believed we had the team to win the flag around 2013-14. We won similar number of games those years, but never made changes to our FD and continued to gift games to spent old work horses like Newman in hope we could celebrate a finals win with him. Moving TV and Lids was nothing to do with stability , but an ingenious move of prosperity.
Kids were neglected bc of this and their development stagnated. Look at the kids who played in the GF. Graham Broad George Butler etc they would have been rotting away in the magoos at the expense of TV Hunt Morris Moore Griffin Conca Petterd Hammer etc etc. just like in those three failed EF
WELe didn’t move over these guys fast enough and genuinely believed their presence offered on field stability, but they were list cloggers.
If everybody is thinking the same then someone isn’t thinking were my views of our FD.
Stability is a bullshit term and no organisation would dare to suggest it , even when on top. As for celebrating mate I’m doing that, but if a topic other than celebrating opens up I think I’m just as privileged as you to give my view.
I’m the happiest guy on here atm and believe me a lot of us on here we’re calling for changes over stability and thank goodness Benny conducted a review ( which I at the time thought it wasn’t going to achieve much- I was wrong here) and then Balmey come in with a broom. Hardly stability here don’t you think.? I thought after this we would be two years away as our kids may have needed another year to regroup and get back on track, but I underestimated Caracalla, leppa and co with the MMA man and Mrs KDH getting KDH to get his shit together. Mate all of this totally suggests growth and the contrary to stability.
Love your work and respect you’ve shown to me over the journey , but don’t underestimate my passion combined with impatience with me being negative as people who have met me on here would suggest I’m more the opposite.
I told people on here in person that the flag was ours after the Geelong game.
I was so confident our club had grown teeth and claws again and were strong and bold not only physically, but with their decision making.

Yeah, nah...

as per last years financial report, 'gaming and hospitality' made $1M net. Given that that would include far more than pokies (e.g. food and beverage, post game...) it's not that huge.

That said, I've got no problem with keeping the pokies....If they're going to be out there and legal, why shouldn't we be the ones making the money off them rather than woolies? If the government was the remove/reduce licenses, then I'd happily sell them back, but what gain does it provide to people just to change their owners?

All the income figures are gross. while margins differ as a generalized idea if we want to replace $5m in pokies revenue, we need $5m in revenue from somewhere else each year. Merchandise for the gf and Brownlow, this is as one off as things get

Ok we won a premiership.

Stop boasting about how much money we can or will make as it is now starting to piss me off after donating so much money during the SOS time and after to help the club stay alive.

******* suit wearing scum.
Why?
If not for people like you we wouldn't have won last week and now be in the position where they will never have to ask the members for money again.

All the income figures are gross. while margins differ as a generalized idea if we want to replace $5m in pokies revenue, we need $5m in revenue from somewhere else each year. Merchandise for the gf and Brownlow, this is as one off as things get

Yep makes up about 8% of our yearly revenue, no small amount.

For that item, they have revenue and expenses with the same title, and the difference is roughly $1M, so that's the sum that needs to be made up (actually less, as items like food and beverage, especially at PRO, would remain).

I agree on the one offs....and while some will doubtless be spent on things to improve and expand our success, and other money will just be splurged, I'd like to think much of it will be invested in other revenue streams (increasing and expanding the health club businesses perhaps?) for the long term good of the club.

For that item, they have revenue and expenses with the same title, and the difference is roughly $1M, so that's the sum that needs to be made up (actually less, as items like food and beverage, especially at PRO, would remain).

I agree on the one offs....and while some will doubtless be spent on things to improve and expand our success, and other money will just be splurged, I'd like to think much of it will be invested in other revenue streams (increasing and expanding the health club businesses perhaps?) for the long term good of the club.

most income we earn is gross, memberships we have to buy the seats/access, sponsorships have costs we need to facilitate and maintain them, corp events we have to pay for the rooms. only income we get that is effectively net is the contribution from the AFL

I believed we had the team to win the flag around 2013-14. We won similar number of games those years, but never made changes to our FD and continued to gift games to spent old work horses like Newman in hope we could celebrate a finals win with him. Moving TV and Lids was nothing to do with stability , but an ingenious move of prosperity.
Kids were neglected bc of this and their development stagnated. Look at the kids who played in the GF. Graham Broad George Butler etc they would have been rotting away in the magoos at the expense of TV Hunt Morris Moore Griffin Conca Petterd Hammer etc etc. just like in those three failed EF
WELe didn’t move over these guys fast enough and genuinely believed their presence offered on field stability, but they were list cloggers.
If everybody is thinking the same then someone isn’t thinking were my views of our FD.
Stability is a bullshit term and no organisation would dare to suggest it , even when on top. As for celebrating mate I’m doing that, but if a topic other than celebrating opens up I think I’m just as privileged as you to give my view.
I’m the happiest guy on here atm and believe me a lot of us on here we’re calling for changes over stability and thank goodness Benny conducted a review ( which I at the time thought it wasn’t going to achieve much- I was wrong here) and then Balmey come in with a broom. Hardly stability here don’t you think.? I thought after this we would be two years away as our kids may have needed another year to regroup and get back on track, but I underestimated Caracalla, leppa and co with the MMA man and Mrs KDH getting KDH to get his shit together. Mate all of this totally suggests growth and the contrary to stability.
Love your work and respect you’ve shown to me over the journey , but don’t underestimate my passion combined with impatience with me being negative as people who have met me on here would suggest I’m more the opposite.
I told people on here in person that the flag was ours after the Geelong game.
I was so confident our club had grown teeth and claws again and were strong and bold not only physically, but with their decision making.
Is stability tweaking what we already have? Or throwing the whole shebang in the bin and starting again?

Benny and Balmey time to throw our weight around. We deserve an answer as to how long we are expected to prop up minnows. We get more to training than GWS get to a final. At what point do the AFL walk away from Norf, GCS, GWS et al? There must be some plan and Richmond members have a right to know.
RFC built this organicly despite all the obstacles the AFL put in front of us. RFC would be even in a better position if it were not for us having to support them in perpetuity.
Without minnows, players could be paid more and membership fees lowered. We have a right to know when this subsidising ends.
Agree this is where we need to go to the MCC and get a better deal and more stands for our members to use.

What do yo think we should do sit on hands or make hay whilst the sun shines?
I'm asking you. Does stability mean no changes or tweaking some things? Is instability changing some stuff or sacking everyone? It's really shades of grey, we kept the coach, and most FD employees and moved on FJ(thank ****, don't let the door hit you on the arse) and just about all the assistants.

So it appears stability was not practiced then . It’s important that you always tweak things especially after you lose three consecutive EF. We still need to do fine tuning and looking ahead.

I think its the way we are interpreting stability that is different, agree with your last post about not playing youth etc early enough, my idea of stability though is more on the admin side as in not throwing the baby away with the bathwater, I dont think that means we shouldnt grow and change in required areas.
Even next year we have to change, go in with the same plan and players as this year and we will likely have a season like the Dogs.
I can see no reason we cant compete for more flags over the next 4 or 5 years, our age demographic, draft position and finances should allow us to improve on this year, we did have a bit of luck but with the way our reserves went we have a good core with plenty of boys that can step up.
Pressure of failure that we have endured for years is off so we can now apply pressure to the team in a positive manner.

Damn it's a good feeling to be winners again, it feels a little like the late 60's early 70's felt, timing couldnt be better.

I think its the way we are interpreting stability that is different, agree with your last post about not playing youth etc early enough, my idea of stability though is more on the admin side as in not throwing the baby away with the bathwater, I dont think that means we shouldnt grow and change in required areas.
Even next year we have to change, go in with the same plan and players as this year and we will likely have a season like the Dogs.
I can see no reason we cant compete for more flags over the next 4 or 5 years, our age demographic, draft position and finances should allow us to improve on this year, we did have a bit of luck but with the way our reserves went we have a good core with plenty of boys that can step up.
Pressure of failure that we have endured for years is off so we can now apply pressure to the team in a positive manner.

Damn it's a good feeling to be winners again, it feels a little like the late 60's early 70's felt, timing couldnt be better.
Agree with all of that and yes our youth was given back to us. We went to see Winx today and i wore my black RFC shirt with logo and my indigenous tie and Tigers just came up to me to chat. Their expressions on their faces of happiness was heart lifting.I didn't have a punt today as I was still buzzing talking about the game with Tigers.It's been an amazing month of footy for my family .Unforgettable

Yeah Ive noticed it even in WA, very uplifting.

Ok we won a premiership.

Stop boasting about how much money we can or will make as it is now starting to piss me off after donating so much money during the SOS time and after to help the club stay alive.

We donated that money with the promise of success. They delivered, we got the return on our investment. Profits are a part of that success so I, for one, want to hear about it thanks.

Benny and Balmey time to throw our weight around. We deserve an answer as to how long we are expected to prop up minnows. We get more to training than GWS get to a final. At what point do the AFL walk away from Norf, GCS, GWS et al? There must be some plan and Richmond members have a right to know.
RFC built this organicly despite all the obstacles the AFL put in front of us. RFC would be even in a better position if it were not for us having to support them in perpetuity.
Without minnows, players could be paid more and membership fees lowered. We have a right to know when this subsidising ends.
Tiger island what bubble are you in there?
How small a league do you want? Is the criterea for your league based on membership numbers? Attendances? I think you might find a lot of the league's revenue is from TV broadcast rights. And having 9 games a week to broadcast = revenue for all. I think you'll find in traditionally rugby states NSW, QLD, attendances at games is low but TV viewer numbers make the league economically viable. So North is always going to have small numbers of everything, members and attendances, despite that 2017 would be the first year they've been out of the finals in a while wouldn't it?
GWS, have made the prelim 2 years in a row and are tracking well to become established in western Sydney. They had low attendances at their home final cos there was 2 or 3 other fixtures clashing with it. Poor scheduling by the AFL.
GCS is a concern. GAJ was good for many years. The facilities are improving. They need to start winning. Retaining players like Tom Lynch for starters And what they do well is make the game entertaining for 10 year old kids. Kick to kick, fun & games. The kids barely have to watch a game. But families, often relocated from AFL states anyhow, are being groomed to go to the Suns for their footy fix. Where I am, 1 hour away, people are happy enough to have their kids support the Suns. They'd rather that than NRL or soccer. There are GCS stickers on cars, the players come down here for school visits. There are pretty strong local leagues. Womens footy started this year. Its all building, slowly.
RFC building their success "organically". Organic of course meaning the megalomania of Graeme Richmond, Nearly going broke, SOS. Having Dermot Brereton having to buy a membership to save our ass? And the week after we win a flag after 40 odd years you are complaining instantly about the AFL setting up some obstacle course for us.
Well in many ways it has been that. Winning a flag in this era of national competition is way harder than it used to be in the 60s & 70s. And credit to our club for achieving this. I am a RFC member and what I want is a better fixture in 2018. I'll let the AFL carry on running the rest of its business.

Ok we won a premiership.

It's a newspaper article ya peanut. Nothing to do with the club.

Also, suit wearing scum? Are you talking about the CEO who played 200 games for Richmond and has led it out of the worst funk in its history?

Wow you need to check yourself pal.

Poker machines cause problems in society, however it is gambling that is the issue rather than a component.

Access to betting agencies have never before been so prevalent (e.g. phone applications, on-line etc.)

What does the AFL do about betting agencies sponsorship/advertising during games, TV & Radio telecast?

What do you do about alcohol abuse, how does the AFL/clubs tackle that issue?

Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation stipulates that 90% of revenue must be paid back to gamblers through poker machines. Poker machines don't cause problems in society. People who are stupid and careless with their money and lives cause problems in society, and blame it on someone or something else as part of the excuse to shift blame from them to someone else.

Betting sponsorship should be banned on all media especially in time slots where children could be watching.

What does alcohol abuse have anything to do with the AFL?

Analysis AFL grand final: Punt Road to break commercial record