Afl Known world wide?

About 20 years ago, Channel 4 in the UK had some kind of 1 hour highlights/round up show scheduled at an ungodly hour.

To put this in perspective, they were also showing Dominoes and Kabbadi to fill slots in their programme.

I can't remember a great deal about the show, as I didn't really make a habit of watching it, except that it was presented by a guy with a square jaw and blond mullet (probably not narrowing it down much with that description). There was an 'explain some point of the game to the foreigners' item, longer highlights of a feature match and then a quick round up of all the other results of the round. I'm pretty sure it was some kind of fairly unsuccessful attempt to offer an international audience an entry to the AFL, produced in Australia.

To be honest, I don't think Aussie Rules is a sport which lends itself to this kind of format - having come to Australia and been converted to the code, I think you really need to watch a few matches and understand the game in general before any 'highlights' start to make sense.

Having grown up in a Rugby Union stronghold in a nation where football is the dominant spectatot sport, I can honestly say I think Aussie Rules is superior to both to watch, once you understand it, but I'm not sure how that 'education' process would best be carried out (short of people visiting Australia and being exposed to it that way).

there seems to be a decent league of sorts in the USA. Does anyone know of any websites specific to overseas countries that cater to their interest? Individual clubs have them, but I was wondering if there are sites that covered the game in general.

www.usafl.com

That's the link to the governing body for footy over here.

There's also www.worldfootynews.com which has more general coverage.

When i lived in Ireland a few years ago you could get Footy on Santana sports and they had a weekly 30 min highlights package (usually 2 rounds behind tho) on one of there tv channels. A few Irish mates couldn't really give a stuff about it either, the only aussie pub in Dublin played Footy on 1 or 2 small screens leaving the big screen for rugby and soccer.When in Langkawi, Malaysia last month I went to a huge sports bar to watch the coll/Carl/rich nab cup game on the big screen , the place was empty apart from me and one other bloke watching it and soon as some one walked in they would look at the tv pause for a second and then walk out.It's hard enough for people that have grown up with the game trying to understand some of the rules let alone someone that is watching the game for the first time I reckon .

Rugby seems to outweigh Aussie Rules in the Australian sporting stereotype. I think it's due to a couple of reasons.
1. Sydney is rugby dominated and Australia is Sydney dominated so to speak. Americans are more likely to experience Sydney's culture before they experience Melbourne.
2. The whole facet that rugby is associated with many other countries all over the world including England helps to enhance the fact that rugby is our one true sport.

I hate people who engage in the stereotyped American bashing. People here are as friendly as you could possibly hope, and far less ignorant than the misinformed would try and believe (unless you go to some true redneck area, which wouldn't be much different to bogan strongholds of Australia).

I guess they just become ignorant, arrogant ****s once they leave America. I've met tons of them during my travels around the world and the majority of them are this way.

Met one in eastern europe and ended up traveling with im for 2 months. Absolute legend and a great guy but he was an exception. Even he felt embarrassed with the way Americans carry on in europe and it got to the stage where he would go all quiet whenever we heard an american because he didn't want to be associated with them.

Most of the Americans I've met around the world have been really good people , what I found is that it was actually the aussies that were Ignorant/arrogant even more so when on the piss,not all of course but a fair few.The amaricans that I did become friends with have all done alot of travel so they weren't your So called typical yanks. Aussies have got a bad reputation in some parts of Europe as being good people but once there's a skinfull of piss involved we turn into drunken idiots, not all aussies are like this of course but it only takes a few to play up to get this reputation.

I met a yank in Krakow train station who was leaving the country after 1 day because everyone spoke Polish. He was shocked and angered that those people wouldn't speak his language.

I also like the ones that do 15 European countries on the 21 day eurail pass then go home and brag to everyone how they experienced so many different countries.

These are the types that I tended to meet.

Agree regarding what you said about aussies when they travel. It's embarrassing to say the least. Nothing more embarrassing then seeing a fellow aussie in the streets of BKK city wearing board shorts, a singlet and thongs. You see it in shopping malls and even restaurants/clubs. If only they knew how much the thais are laughing at them.

I met a yank in Krakow train station who was leaving the country after 1 day because everyone spoke Polish. He was shocked and angered that those people wouldn't speak his language.

I also like the ones that do 15 European countries on the 21 day eurail pass then go home and brag to everyone how they experienced so many different countries.

These are the types that I tended to meet.

Agree regarding what you said about aussies when they travel. It's embarrassing to say the least. Nothing more embarrassing then seeing a fellow aussie in the streets of BKK city wearing board shorts, a singlet and thongs. You see it in shopping malls and even restaurants/clubs. If only they knew how much the thais are laughing at them.

Aussies and Americans are both not the best travellers- once you have a sit and chat to an American even travelling they aren't too bad- it's just they seem so loud and can come across as ignorant.

But I am a dual American/Australian citizen and have spent a large part of my life in the states, and by and large Americans are very nice people and in reality not too different to Aussies- most people in this thread who've actually spent some time their seem to agree.

Yep,Agee about the people that go to a non English speaking country and complain that no one talks english, thats why I went traveling to Experiance working and living in different county's. It shits me when someone says they dislike yank/french people (example)with out actually meeting someone from there,ah well each to there own I guess but gee I wish a had euro passport :/

Was lucky enough to grow up in UK, and spend a lot of time overseas.

My general experience of Mainland Europe was fantastic. A little effort into culture and language prior to coming goes a long way. Most speak English quite enthusiastically if you put the effort into theirs first.

Bad reputation comes from the less than 5% Americans, Aussies, Britains, Kiwis etc. Who travel to Europe and expect to be waited on hand and foot.

Yep loved the way of life in spain and france, they seem to have there shit sorted over there.an Irish guy i you used to work with over there said that in the 80's he seen a bit of Footy on the tv and watched it every now and then but couldn't really be stuffed learning the finer details of the game ,he'd have no chance of understanding today's game.

Over the summer i spent 3 months in the United States, and the common misconception is that Australian football is Rugby as many have mentioned earlier however many of the Americans who i showed videos of AFL on youtube recognised the game and had limited exposure to the sport before.

Outside of Australia i would think the Irish and maybe the English would be the only people who might have a reasonable knowledge of Australian football.

And to all the idiots having a go at Americans in this thread, you yourself are the ignorant person. You cannot expect someone to know about Australian Football when they may have only seen clips of it hear and there or not at all, most however will have had some exposure to Rugby and knowing that we play Rugby it is not ignorant for them to presume that Australian football isnt Rugby. Also most Americans are very nice people, just like any Aussie, sure you have your bad ones but so does every nation, before you have a go at an entire race how about you actually get to know and meet a significant group of them.

Well thats a bullshit stat if ever I heard one- true many Americans don't know the game but thats because it is an Australian game- many confuse it with Rugby- and those that know Aussie Rules, and those that dont and know Rugby- are mostly in awe of how tough it is to play without pads.
Your ignorance is worse than that you accuse the Americans of.

:thumbsu:

I've been living in the UK for the past 6 years, and I would say it would be fair to say those over here who are into sports tend to have an Idea of Aussie sports and have probably seen it at some point..... Their knowledge of the game isn't good... but they do know of it. Surprised me really.... I have been asked about rugby, and explained that I don't watch it and I watch a game called Aussie Rules and they responded... "Oh yeah, I use to watch them late at night.... "... they even followed a team....

Its now on ESPN, but anyone who has ESPN would probably have viewed it at some point, unless they sleep till about 3 in the afternoon...

I was wearing an eagles jacket in Paris at a bar a couple of years ago and 2 french guys asked if i actually played for the Eagles, and I said yes, beau waters. then they bought me a shot of jaeger or something...luckily iphones werent as prominent then and they couldve checked i was lying

Over the summer i spent 3 months in the United States, and the common misconception is that Australian football is Rugby as many have mentioned earlier however many of the Americans who i showed videos of AFL on youtube recognised the game and had limited exposure to the sport before.

That's because don't have much knowledge about rugby either .

Outside of Australia i would think the Irish and maybe the English would be the only people who might have a reasonable knowledge of Australian football.

Also other countries that have a historical link to Australia and countries where AFL is shown on pay TV .

And to all the idiots having a go at Americans in this thread, you yourself are the ignorant person. You cannot expect someone to know about Australian Football when they may have only seen clips of it .

I don't see anyone having a go at all . It's great there is some recognition of AR .Despite prominent FTA exposure of American Football in Australia most Australian's know FA about the rules .In fact there are a lot of Australians that coudn't distinguish between RU and rl .

Also most Americans are very nice people, just like any Aussie, sure you have your bad ones but so does every nation, before you have a go at an entire race how about you actually get to know and meet a significant group of them.

One-on-one Americans are some of the friendliest people around .I could criticise their education system that leaves their domestic population largely ignorant of the world around them just as I could criticise Australia's population for having a large binge mentality .

Americans are no more ignorant than Australians.

But there are more ignorant american, simply cas there are more of them, lol true?
What your saying is true thou on %. If only ignoranace is was limited to one country! hmm.. Any Aussie's who really belive that all American's are ignorant or even most are really just proving the opposite.

Also just worked with a English guy who has been in Sydney for 3 weeks and just got to melbourne 8 days ago an is going to the footy. He brought up footy an said his going to a game thou he doesn't really understand the rules. Told not to worry they change all the time an that the umpire's often don't even seem to know them.:D

But there are more ignorant american, simply cas there are more of them, lol true?
What your saying is true thou on %. If only ignoranace is was limited to one country! hmm.. Any Aussie's who really belive that all American's are ignorant or even most are really just proving the opposite.

Also just worked with a English guy who has been in Sydney for 3 weeks and just got to melbourne 8 days ago an is going to the footy. He brought up footy an said his going to a game thou he doesn't really understand the rules. Told not to worry they change all the time an that the umpire's often don't even seem to know them.:D

:D:thumbsu:

Afl Known world wide?