AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part - 23 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

I'm not sure if I'll play with an edited Melbourne team. I have already done the editing and I reckon it's fair. No exploits were in mind when doing it. At least when playing online against people I can see the FF symbol so I can turn down the game if I please. There won't be any way of telling if they are fair changes or exploitative ones though.

If I were exploiting the game I'd give my half forward minimum stats and just bypass them with every attack. They barely touch the ball as is with my style of play.

Oh, and to those of you not on xbox live at 5am this morning when I wanted a game after finishing my work, poor form. I waited for a game for 10 minutes before reluctantly going to sleep :(

The reality is this - AFL Live isn't a good game. It's a bad game, but there's promise here. You shouldn't buy AFL Live, because the idea that you should buy a game now if you want a better game in the future is wrong. By buying AFL Live the only message you're sending them is that near enough is good enough.

Wow....

Hey Guys,
i actually love the game, but i can't play it, in any format, quick match, nab cup, my season, a new season, xbox live, you name it.
it freezes at the loading screen and won't load the game, just goes from hint to hint to hint, but never loads. it did this when i tried to play it the very first time, then i got a few games in, then it would happen again...
now i literally can't play.
i'm going crazy, can anybody help with a fix?

Hey Guys,
i actually love the game, but i can't play it, in any format, quick match, nab cup, my season, a new season, xbox live, you name it.
it freezes at the loading screen and won't load the game, just goes from hint to hint to hint, but never loads. it did this when i tried to play it the very first time, then i got a few games in, then it would happen again...
That sounds more like a disc problem. Alternatively, you may not be signed in with a profile?

If the cricket game is of the same quality as this I will be very happy, the MOST important thing about the cricket game is to make it difficult enough and not to have exploits to just hit boundaries or take wickets with the same delivery or field setting.

Seriously, the more I play this game, the more I love it (and I loved it from day one). It really grows on you.

The next version is going to be phenomenal and I really can't wait. With a proper Franchise mode this game will take over my life like Madden 11 did (hint: steal Madden 11's Franchise mode, especially its draft).

I'm still unbeaten on XBL btw (avoiding Cats 4 Life like the plague) and am on a 15 game winning steak (rage quits stopped it from being more). My percentage was over 500% at one stage. :O

In regards to online after the patch: Is it possible to choose between your stock AFL team and your edited AFL team? So if I edit Carlton for my Premiership Season, can I still use stock Carlton online?

Well I'm waiting on two copied for me and my bro for xbox. We are in glasgow. As much as I like a good bank hol and time off work, I think this its what is making it take so long. Hope get them soon.
Edited to add ordered from jb hifi. Can't track them.

got mine from JB.. not many options around
[apparently the game was dispatched on 27 April so I guess I am a little optimistic]

getting it on ps3.. i can't even remember what my PSN is anymore.. will post it when i get on again

still waiting for my internet to be connected.. that's taking forever as well.. the wait for everything is getting beyond ridiculous

Hey guys just to let you know... I GOT MY COPY TODAY!! FINALLY! So am just about to put it into my PS3... AFL live 2011 has arrived in London people!! Thanks Ross in advance!! I can't wait to play, and catch up. Now just waiting for PSN! :p

By the way Davro mine was dispatched on April 19th too, so hope you got your copy as well!

Hey Guys,

Never seen this behaviour - it's got to be your save file being corrupted or worse, the Xbox itself has issues.

Is anyones stats not updating??? Last night i kicked 61 goals on legend and once i got back to the main screen my offline stats had not changed??? Has this happenend to anyone else?

Hey Ross,

I've got a problem where the finals option is gone from competitions.
I can still do custom finals, but not the official one.
Has this happened to anyone else?

Just played my first few matches and am absolutely loving the game! So far have played on Rookie to get used to the controls, but now I am thrashing everyone so will have to move up difficulty. Have been able to grasp the controls really easily. I read the manuel, then spent a bit of time in the training area practising the skills then took into a real match and am getting the hang of it. I love the lock on feature when you are kicking, it really helps. Have pulled off some lovely kick into the forward 50 from leads with the lock on. Also love how you have to position yourself to get the mark and spoil. I haven't found that the game over uses tackles, so far I have tackled and then been able to get free space and run on and kick it into my 50, however saying that I am not playing on one of the highest difficulties yet. So can't wait for tomorrow to get some more games in and finish my NAB cup and then start a season. Come on PSN hurry up already! LOL...

Ross you guys have done a fantastic job and if this is just the foundation the next version is going to blow us all away. Thanks again mate and keep up the great work!!

Since I've had a bit of a go with the player creator last night in creating several GWS players (that I personally think look pretty good).

There's a few things I'd like to see in the next player creator.

First things first, the ability to change facial hair colour. Didn't see this option and of course, while creating the general footballer there isn't much reason for it but then an Aker pops up and it just means that sort of thing has to be there.

Also not sure if I missed it (although I did look a bunch of times), but there weren't any different selectable eyebrows. I know this is fairly minor in the scheme of things, but as far as I found it they were cycled randomly to the player that popped up in the player creator. Just would be nice to have the selection there rather than having to randomly generate a player until you get the right eyebrows (especially hard when trying to emulate a player with REALLY thin eyebrows or REALLY thick eyebrows).

Along with the usual improvements that you'd expect that include more depth on the player morphing. More options for hair, facial hair, tattoos, taping (would like some shoulder/knee taping), skinwear, socks up or down :)D).

I am very impressed with the depth of the player creator though, feels like I can make some really solid looking players without needing to spend hours on it. As I said in the Creating GWS players thread, I only took about 15 minutes for each player and felt like I had done justice to most.

Also not sure if I missed it (although I did look a bunch of times), but there weren't any different selectable eyebrows. I know this is fairly minor in the scheme of things, but as far as I found it they were cycled randomly to the player that popped up in the player creator. Just would be nice to have the selection there rather than having to randomly generate a player until you get the right eyebrows (especially hard when trying to emulate a player with REALLY thin eyebrows or REALLY thick eyebrows).
I found that the eyebrows would change as you change the face-type of a player, (skin colour/age options).
But yeah, it should be a different option on it's own altogether.

There are a few things in the 2006 game I wish were in the current game:

- Replays whenever you want.

- Overall, the stadiums look much better I think for the time/generation. For example, the stands at the MCG in 2011 seem too inclined. It doesnt feel like the MCG. Thats just me but...

- Big one for me: the uniqueness of the grounds - In 2006 the grounds weren't all the same size. The 50m arc cut into the centre square at the SCG. And Subi was long and narrow. In AFL Live 2011 it seems all the grounds are the same size. The SCG looks huge, when in real life its tiny. Dont understand why they couldn't of kept this uniqueness.

- 8 min quarters (from what I remember)

- set shots were harder

- the fixtures were more accurate to the 2006 year: seems like on 2011 day matches are being played, when it should be night matches. See round six WCE v Melb on a Thursday arvo(?????). Pretty sure most of Perth were at work at this time, me included. This is a pretty bad oversight I think.

Still, I really enjoy the current game, especially the learning curve. Nothing feels better than hitting targets using precise kicking, or slowing down a contest by changing tactics and turning it into a contested tackle fest, Sydney Swans style. It has silly bugs/oversights that could of easily been ironed out prior to release I think (freeze bug, kicking foot, names, clunky team selection menus, set shots becoming too easy). Its getting a bit too easy as well, even on the higher difficulties. Good to see this being fixed in the patch.

On the latest cricket game (which I still really enjoy), in a tournament/league etc. you can still select ground/weather/night and day/difficulty before each game. Be good to see the same thing in the next game.

Its probably paying good money that BigAnt wont even be around to make another AFL game, history says. Hoping they will be though cos they can really build on this and make a truly awesome game.

I know its a favourite thing on here to rip into people who dare to criticise the game but meh - suck my b***s Mr Garrison...

The create a player is one of the better ones I've seen. It could use some more contrast in options like cheeks, eyes and eyebrows and could do with some more defining features like freckles, scars and dimples but still a much better effort than most.
The create a team on the other hand is pretty crap. Too few jumpers to choose from, pre selected colours, no duplicating players, choosing number or captains limits you too much.

As far as the reviews have been I think IGN and MMGN have been fair in giving the game a 6 and a 6.5. At the moment the game is too barebones and the AI difficulty is too easy to give it much more. The sound in the game also loses it points.
I think the next instalment should be getting around 7.5 if they fix the games issues and add in a new mode. Maybe even around 8 if they can add enough new gameplay elements although it's hard to see sites like IGN and Gamespot giving an indie sports game an 8/10.

Geelong match froze, 3rd time now. Looks like I'll have to wait for the patch to come in a couple of weeks.:(I do likes me some Singstar. Maybe he reviewed it after a few beers, it can get quite good then!

Mirror's Edge with a 5 too, I am disappoint.

He reviews a ton of games, you'd think he'd have a bit more knowledge by now.:rolleyes:

I can confirm that the game crashes in round 18 for the Tigers if you simulate the AI then save the game, then reload the game, play it, it will crash at the end of the game - I can confirm that the patch fixes it appropriately.

The create a player is one of the better ones I've seen. It could use some more contrast in options like cheeks, eyes and eyebrows and could do with some more defining features like freckles, scars and dimples but still a much better effort than most.
The create a team on the other hand is pretty crap. Too few jumpers to choose from, pre selected colours, no duplicating players, choosing number or captains limits you too much.

As far as the reviews have been I think IGN and MMGN have been fair in giving the game a 6 and a 6.5. At the moment the game is too barebones and the AI difficulty is too easy to give it much more. The sound in the game also loses it points.
I think the next instalment should be getting around 7.5 if they fix the games issues and add in a new mode. Maybe even around 8 if they can add enough new gameplay elements although it's hard to see sites like IGN and Gamespot giving an indie sports game an 8/10.

Agreed on the numbers and captains - that won't happen again.

The duplicating players is a tough one as we didn't want 18 abletts/judds/sandilands/etc.. running around.