AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part - 24

I don't consider blocking shots as cheating. I don't do it btw.

Saying that bumping off the ball is cheating is just plain pathetic.

I think if you've got two guys to one running at the ball, then bumping is a perfectly valid tactic. Sure, it's annoying to the other guy....but it's shepherding, and it's what happens in the real sport.

Can anyone answer my previous question?
It is ridiculous when your playing against 2 computer players and one of them bumps you off the ball while the other one picks it up and when they just run forward at centre bounces and the person in the ruck smashes it forward for there team mate, definitely is a unfair advantage.

The 2v1 advantage is overrated IMO. That said I haven't played many 2v2 games!

If anyone has a brother or something that they play with often add me on PS3. Me and my brother play heaps :D

PSN: Quexacoatl

I just had the single funniest experience on this game to date.

Some little kid was playing, mentored by his dad. The kid kept going psycho so I decided to keep it close for lols. After kicking four behinds in a row, the kid spazzed out at his dad, screaming "I hate it when you're here! You bring me bad luck!" The dad just says "you're turning it off after this and doing your homework."

He also called his kid a f*cking ******* for missing a shot on goal.

I love this game. :D

Just played my first online game, North Melbourne v "Henrys Kangaroos".
He'd cobbled together players from every team, and he wore the North Melbourne jumper.

We both played in the North jumper, and trying to tell us apart was a nightmare. Surprised I got through it at all.

Now that would be very confusing! :eek:

You coudln't use a clash strip?

With online, as I am very new to it, I went to play one Monday night, is their commentry? as I didn't hear anything, what do I have to do ay end, is there an option on PSN when I join to play a match, do I have to turn something on in AFL? Also is it normal to not get a chance once game has started, not get anytime to alter your starting lists, as each time I went to start a online game it said 15 secs left before start, what am I do wrong? As I Always got Collingwood as an opposiiton? I got a feeling this was a auto online game, not necessary againist anotehr user, is that possible? maybe I better go and read meanual more huh! Thanks Phil

Some little kid was playing, mentored by his dad. The kid kept going psycho so I decided to keep it close for lols. After kicking four behinds in a row, the kid spazzed out at his dad, screaming "I hate it when you're here! You bring me bad luck!" The dad just says "you're turning it off after this and doing your homework."

He also called his kid a f*cling ******* for missing a shot on goal.

Gee I have heard of bad parents at real life footy games, but online ones too, sheesh some father role model he sounds like! lol.

He also called his kid a f*cling ******* for missing a shot on goal.

Gee I have heard of bad parents at real life footy games, but online ones too, sheesh some father role model he sounds like! lol.

That's what I thought - imagine what he does at the real thing... or heaven forbid an Auskick game....
The dad was having a laugh about it and offering advice so he wasn't too bad. The kid had a chip on his shoulder though!

Regained some form tonight and didn't lose a single game, including 2 absolute rippers with HBK ;). Hopefully he posts some details on them....I gotsta sleep!
Didn't get around to it as I was ****ed myself.

But some basics.

First match I got out to a 4 goal to 0 first quarter. Was still in front by 3 goals at Half Time. Didn't score a goal in the 3rd while Illnino kicked a few to bring it back to near even.

Last quarter was a tight tussle with goals back and forth, Illnino got a couple back to back and I couldn't gather enough momentum to take the lead.

2nd game Illnino had a lot of the play, but was missing quite a lot of shots too. I hit the lead early in the 2nd. From there the match was very back and forth, trading a lot of goals. Illnino got a triple mark play going inside 50 and slotted a goal to take the lead to 3 points late in the last quarter. I fought hard, got a couple of chances at goal, had one spoiled right on the line. Had a shot with Daniel Jackson from about 50 that could've sealed it but went wide. With 40 seconds left to play, Hawks had it 60 out from my goal, missed a pass, I got onto it and sent it long hoping for a mark but it was spoiled by Gibson and the siren went. Lost by 1 point.:(

I need to even the ledger.;)
will also add,

cheaters: people who deliberately ruck the ball out of bounds or handpass or kick out of bounds to waste time / kill momentum..
I'm sorry, but that is in now way cheating.

If I can't see a viable option up the field I will go wide and try to kill the ball in a 1 on 1 situation by often putting it out of bounds, setting up a situation for me to get it out of the ruck or force a ball up rather than risking an easy run off.

Or, if it's a 2 on 1 against me, am I supposed to try and keep it in, giving that ball away to the opposition?

Killing time and momentum via this is a great way to slow up your opposition as well. There are plenty of ways to stop it too if you're on the receiving end.

It's not an illegal situation in real life in the AFL and it shouldn't be considered so in game either.

Yeah mate was ridiculous, could have been bigger too but I started playing around. Was gonna let him have a goal but kept expecting him to quit at any moment.

Had a good game against parts legend. I was able to contain the rage and complete the game. I was getting sick of how many times my player seems to mark it and the opposition somehow gets it. But more so is how once you get one injury, they seem to rack up very quick. I was Sydney and injured in the 4th quarter were McGlynn, Hannebery, McVeigh, Mumford and Bolton was in trouble according to the commentary team. Still think the game is grate but so many injuries in a one off game seem to ruin the experience.

guys Im pretty sure you can't deliberately pass the ball over the boundary line in real life.

nor can you ruck it.

Im not talking about under pressure, im talking about being 5m clear of an opponent and handballing over the line because he would be run down or would pass to space covered by my players.

it is ILLEGAL in real life, it is called, DELIBERATE!!!

Why is it only paid when u do it in the back line??

With bumping off the ball I meant basically the second human player ONLY sheperding the whole game, constantly disrupting my plays, something that is an unfair advantage to a solo player, I didn't mean one bloke sheperdring an opponent to create space for a rover, which I do 20 times a game.

Oh and just quit on a cheater that showed me a new one!

I marked, he tackled late, 50m penalty awarded, but because when he tackled me illegally I fell from my line off the mark, play on was called before the ump even took me forward 50m, he tackled again, HOLDING THE BALLLL!!

Free kick reversed and a potential shot on goal turned around for an easy goal against!

Is this shit left in the game intentionally?

Oh and just quit on a cheater that showed me a new one!

I marked, he tackled late, 50m penalty awarded, but because when he tackled me illegally I fell from my line off the mark, play on was called before the ump even took me forward 50m, he tackled again, HOLDING THE BALLLL!!

Free kick reversed and a potential shot on goal turned around for an easy goal against!

Is this shit left in the game intentionally?
I personally think you're labelling people as cheats far too quickly.

Was this one single incident? I mean sure it's a bitch that it happened, but it hardly qualifies someone as a cheat.

The game made a mistake by calling play on, had it not been called play on and 50 given is he still labelled a cheat?

no hes not cheating if play on is not called because I get my deserved penalty.

sure, he took advantage of a fault with the game, which is basically what I label a cheat.

its breaking the rules of AFL, whether the game lets you or not, does not make it legal football.

Taking advantage of game faults is cheating.

I play to win good football matches, not to find loop holes in game coding to bump stats and ego.

fwiw i have no idea how to perfectly run over the mark every time, it wasn't a part of the game I have tried to master.

My biggest gripe is being tackled after I mark it and play on is called. I rarely mark (as per my marking thread) and to have this happen costing you shots on goal is infuriating and momentum killing.

I can get around most of the other bugs (ie. going over the mark, I'll wait and see if they do it before I go to the goal kick screen... if they do, I'll walk into "pretending" to have a shot on goal and just run past them before play on is called... or if close enough, just use the X to kick the goal).

But the play on after a mark just shits me. Having said that, I played a 1 on 3 last night where the 3 used every trick in the book and I still won by about 40 points. Good training to defeat the exploiters, who will be rooted when the patch finally hits.