AFL Live 2012/13 Wishlist Thread

You guys forget that Big Ant don't usually announce games until the last minute. We've all known about the cricket game for so long because it's been delayed so much. Their press releases are usually about a month before release, so don't be too surprised if there is one next year. Plus Ross was sworn to secrecy in terms of news for the next iteration of AFL, so he can't be posting screenshots and giving hints like he did the last time around. At least I'm pretty sure that's what he said anyway.
I hope you're right mate. If AFL Live 2 were to be released next year, it would probably be near the end of the year like the rugby games was this year, as they wouldn't want the releases for cricket and AFL to be close to each other.

From what I can gather about this "hardcore" Cricket game (not the TableTop one) that BigAnt are working on, they've actually had this in development for many, many years now; keeping it on the back burner and only focussing on it when they get the chance. So, there's every possibility that they're working concurrently on both AFLL2, and this Cricket game, as the former is an inevitability, and the latter is set to be released to coincide with the Ashes in England next year (or thereabouts), so can't be too far from being finished.

About 20 months have passed since AFL Live "went gold" (completely finished), and couple that with the fact that a lot of the upgrades to their engine will already be present due to RLL2, and you'll find that it's not unlikely that AFLL2 is not too far away.

Of course, this is all speculation, and everyone here knows of BigAnts restrictions both in terms of budget and the number of staff. Personally, I think that we would have heard something about AFLL2 by now, if it was going to be released in the first half of next year - even with BigAnt's/TruBlu's tendency to make late announcements. Hopefully I'm wrong, though, and we can enjoy what is sure to be another great game.

For what it's worth, their Cricket game sounds like its going to be excellent. One massive improvement is that bowling is no longer controlled by a visible marker on-screen. Instead, an angle is chosen by the bowler, and the ball is pitched accordingly. A lot more realistic, and a lot better for multiplayer.

Played a bit of afl live the other day after a long lay off and just a few thoughts I had for a new game.

-there has to b a dive button where u can dive on the ball, would reduce the amount of tackles! And if u didn't hit the ball out from diving on it holding the ball!! Etc

-every time u have the footy say across half back looking for the long kick down the line it's always 1on1 should always be a pack of 6-8 players to much 1on1 in this game

- got to b a bigger range of tactics in the game flooding, Zoning 1on1 etc

- if any1 has played MLB2k or NBA2k the commentary is top notch afl should look at how they do it

There was other pretty sure others have mentioned them before

Haven't read the whole thread so may have been mentioned... the smothers!

Seriously, how many times in real footy do you see your kick get smothered and bounce 50 metres back over your head? Smothers should go down, not up in the air.

So what are the chances there will be a new AFL game this year?

BigAntStudios

Ross is restricted in what he can say, so if he was allowed to tell us if/when the next AFL game comes out, he would have already. The game could be coming out tomorrow and we wouldn't be told about it so long as the publisher wants Ross to keep his lips sealed.

It sucks, but it's just how it is. Mind you, though, we wouldn't have known half the stuff that we did about the previous instalment had Ross not been a regular on here, so we're very lucky.

Ross is restricted in what he can say, so if he was allowed to tell us if/when the next AFL game comes out, he would have already. The game could be coming out tomorrow and we wouldn't be told about it so long as the publisher wants Ross to keep his lips sealed.

It sucks, but it's just how it is. Mind you, though, we wouldn't have known half the stuff that we did about the previous instalment had Ross not been a regular on here, so we're very lucky.

So there's chance it will come out during the season ? It's unfair that Nrl fan boys get a game while ours would surely be a higher selling game.

Doubtful. NRL has more international appeal than an AFL game

More widespread? Yes. Does it mean more sales? Not necessarily.

Don't forget that there's both League and Union to divide the Rugby audience, and (excuse the overused cliché) AFL is like a religion, particularly in Victoria. I'm not saying that AFL would sell more, but the disparity between the two probably isn't as large as you're thinking, or large enough to warrant extra releases in the RLL franchise at the cost of putting the AFLL series on the back burner.

Sales stats could back that up. Otherwise you are just sharing a wild guess.

And league and union are not dividing an audience. They are two completely seperate sports.

Posts like this are always hilarious and make me wonder how sheltered people can be.

RLL2 had midnight sales events when it was released in the UK, was top of the pre-order charts on some of the big websites there and all that despite the fact many poms had already ordered it internationally from Aus/NZ a month+ before when it was released here...

Posts like this are always hilarious and make me wonder how sheltered people can be.

RLL2 had midnight sales events when it was released in the UK, was top of the pre-order charts on some of the big websites there and all that despite the fact many poms had already ordered it internationally from Aus/NZ a month+ before when it was released here...

Need I bold and underline the part where I stated "I'm not saying that AFL would sell more"?. As vealesy said, you really need complete sales figures to make the proper comparison, rather than anecdotal stuff like having midnight sales or that a handful of people imported it early. Top of the charts on some website? Do these websites sell 5 games a week or 5,000? Those charts could be completely irrelevant.

I could equally say that the AFL game would have sold more due to the almost 30 part thread on it that spanned several years.

And where are the facts in this post? You can't criticise without backing up. I don't believe you!

Thus making RLL2 more popular in the uk then aus, as nowhere in aus had a midnight release for RLL2. Nor did it top the charts here or fill up the Pre order slots available at any of the Australian based game shop's. (did do well though very well but I suspect your talking bs)

To be able to scout players like in FIFA. For players to improve like in FIFA. I pretty much just want EA to make AFL LIVE. Nothin against big ant AFL LIVE 2011 is a great game.

Career: Like AFL 2007 unlimited seasons with trading, drafts, injuries, suspensions. Just need random draftees that can improve. Training and maybe training games like in AFL Live Premiership Edition
My player: Don’t think it will be in the game for a few years but would be nice to see eventually, just like nba2k12
Tackling: Rather than holding in triangle and running the ball carrier down automatically you should have to time it and press the button at the right time if you mistimed it then they can break the tackle easier
Mini games: Like in AFL LPE handball target, kicking games, goal kicking etc.
Wind: Needs to have a greater effect than player arc and the stronger the wind the harder it is to get right like in AFL LPE
Snap: Snap kick button to go for goal
Classic matches: Features some of the best grand finals that you can relive or rewrite and other great games e.g. Essendon’s 69 point comeback
Scenarios: You choose the score, teams how much time is left and play out the rest of the game
Better jumper designs: Stripes, hoops, sash, v and choose your colours for these as well as number colours, shorts, socks
Set Shot Goal kicking: As said before by someone else using left stick for run up and right stick pull back and push forward for the kick get it straight and the ball will go straight allowing for wind, don’t get it straight it will spray and miss.
Team management screen: Like in AFL 07 a simple layout showing each player and their opponent and fatigue levels and is much easier to swap positions of two players. Needs to include changing player numbers, captains, forward and defensive 50 ruckmen etc.
Stats: Same ones they have in AFL 2007
Replays: Like any other sports game
Evasive moves: Using right thumb stick to sidestep, spin, fend off etc.
Clock: Have the ability to choose count up (continuous) or count down and whether the clock is in real time (3 min for a 3 min qtr) or fake time (20 min for a 3 min qtr)
Tactics: Ability for heaps of extra tactics to use such as third man up at ruck contests, loose man in defense, zone, full forward one out, flood the backline etc.
Crowd noise: Just control volume for different games e.g. quiet for north vs freo, huge for anzac day, bigger for finals/gf. Louder noise for home team against interstate team.
Rotation: Be able to select a group of players that all rotate through all their positions e.g. 3 mids, 2 hff, 1 benchman all rotate through those 6 positions.
Brownlow/club b&f: Show results/round by round votes and award presentation, possibly give your own votes for club b&f
Kicking distance: Having a shot from 50m out on the run, holding kick button all the way, ball sprays out on the full by a long way. Let the button go before red zone and it doesn’t make the distance. Shouldn’t be a red zone but the more you hold in the button the longer the kick goes but the more it could miss a target/goal by and maybe the odd one that sprays off the side of the boot.
Clearance kick: Have the option to press a button in defence that straight away does a 40m clearance kick towards the boundary that could end up being deliberate or on the full.
Smothers: Similar to AFL 2007 but smoother and more free flowing. The ball shouldn’t go 50m back the other way

Ability to select type of game for quick match's i.e. GF, ANZAC DAY.
presentations for clash encounters. i.e. ANZAC medal, Q clash cup etc.
Specialised commentary for GF win. Freo = 1st Swans = back to back

Ability to select type of game for quick match's i.e. GF, ANZAC DAY.
presentations for clash encounters. i.e. ANZAC medal, Q clash cup etc.
Specialised commentary for GF win. Freo = 1st Swans = back to back

Such trivial features requested for a game that needs significant gameplay improvements (despite being a good start I reckon)

Also when a tackle is made and the players are on the ground the option to press a button to get players to dive on the pack to hold the ball in or knock it out but if too many dive in then the opposition could get a free for high or in the back. Maybe have one button for players to dive on and trap the ball in and another for them to dive on and try to tap the ball back out of the pack

AFL Live 2012/13 Wishlist Thread