AFL overtaking NRL in QLD

hmm I havent seen these, so im not sure whose made those calls. Sorry

All he’s guilty of is replying to a post. The fact he’s been targeted is only because he likes Rugby league. The OP has never been questioned.

I'm sure he did however expect you to come in and fly the NRL flag on his behalf.

You two have been bullying him despite his love of Australian football. Makes no sense.

lol. Western Sydney?

That’s interesting.
You don’t know a lot about geography, do you. I’ve never lived in Sydney. You let me know when the postcodes west of the Blue Mountains that are all 3 hours away become part of Sydney, and we’ll both be in a better place to discuss my living arrangements from a point of mutual understanding.

I never criticise the giants. As I said, they’re more or less my second team. If you want to find this criticism, by all means let’s see it. They gave us our current best player, they have two of my current favourite non-Cats players, provided half of my favourite match not involving the cats of the last decade, albeit with the wrong result. The only thing they’ve really done wrong by me is not show up for the 2019 grand final. You really are reaching the bottom of the barrel here aren’t you?

Are you seriously that bothered by all this that you want to interrogate me as to why I don’t post in league unlimited 😂

Because I don’t want to. Are you going to report me for not posting there?

Why would I be worried about my buddies? What are they going to do if they find out - again, having known me most of my adult life - that I follow AFL?
‘Oh wait, that’s right, you follow AFL, like we all kind of do as well because we latch onto the Swans a little bit, and because we’ve known you for 19 years and we all watch sport together and have all been to each others weddings, 30ths, bucks parties, engagement parties, etc etc. we forgot for a few hours.’

Well you were speaking like the Oracle on all things western sydney football years ago, including grassroots and jumped off the giants coz they were not following through on their promise of growing the game in western sydney. So yes you have criticised them extensively in years past, I didn't think you would be doing that from some chalet in the blue mountains, particularly after claiming to be an expert on the local w.s area.

You had so many criticisms of afl in w.s/giants I asked that you email the club or afl about them, coz they're very receptive and you'd already written it all out. Help fix the problems, instead of adding to the pile on. I'm sure you didn't though and prefer to stick the boots in online.

All he’s guilty of is replying to a post. The fact he’s been targeted is only because he likes Rugby league. The OP has never been questioned.

You two have been bullying him despite his love of Australian football. Makes no sense.

Overall I couldn't care less if you guys follow rugby league, I know phatboy works/ed for the nswrl and you post 90 percent in and are the mod for the nrl forum here, I have no issue with it.

What's annoying is now coming into what was a good thread about the growth of Queensland footy (maybe triggered by the title) and all you and your mate post about is rugby league, with zero interest in footy's growth in qld. Just one post about footy in Queensland or even a like on a post about the success of footy in Queensland would help you both look impartial, but there hasn't been any in this thread in 4 years.

Maybe ask the mods to change the title if it triggers you and the other leagiues on here. If you go back and read the history it was a great thread for footy fans about 'footy in Queensland's growth' until all the r.l floaters started popping up. Significantly more post the lions premiership success funnily enough.

Overall I couldn't care less if you guys follow rugby league,

Of course you do. It strikes to the very heart of your issue as we see in all your posts.

I genuinely hope the game continues to grow in QLD and NSW and will continue to support it.

Well you were speaking like the Oracle on all things western sydney football years ago, including grassroots and jumped off the giants coz they were not following through on their promise of growing the game in western sydney. So yes you have criticised them extensively in years past, I didn't think you would be doing that from some chalet in the blue mountains, particularly after claiming to be an expert on the local w.s area.

You had so many criticisms of afl in w.s/giants I asked that you email the club or afl about them, coz they're very receptive and you'd already written it all out. Help fix the problems, instead of adding to the pile on. I'm sure you didn't though and prefer to stick the boots in online.

Overall I couldn't care less if you guys follow rugby league, I know phatboy works/ed for the nswrl and you post 90 percent in and are the mod for the nrl forum here, I have no issue with it.

What's annoying is now coming into what was a good thread about the growth of Queensland footy (maybe triggered by the title) and all you and your mate post about is rugby league, with zero interest in footy's growth in qld. Just one post about footy in Queensland or even a like on a post about the success of footy in Queensland would help you both look impartial, but there hasn't been any in this thread in 4 years.

Maybe ask the mods to change the title if it triggers you and the other leagiues on here. If you go back and read the history it was a great thread for footy fans about 'footy in Queensland's growth' until all the r.l floaters started popping up. Significantly more post the lions premiership success funnily enough.

yeah the part where I said ‘since the establishment of the GWS side, a second AFL club has been established here in my town, firstly as a junior club and now with senior men’s and women’s teams which has equal participation to the original AFL club in town’ was definitely a pretty league centric comment. It looks like you paid close attention to that bit.

I do know a lot about western Sydney.

My ex-wife’s entire extended family lived in the area around Liverpool, Mt Druitt, Fairfield.

My current partner is from Penrith. I have spent a hell of a lot of time there. But no I don’t live there, I live in the country.

And in previous periods no I don’t think the Giants probably did do an especially great job promoting their brand in particular early on - maybe their work promoting the development of the game itself was unseen I don’t know but they didn’t have a presence as a club.

Yes, I am employed on a small scale by the CRL, an arm of the NSWRL. I write match reports for various smaller competitions that get sent around the clubs themselves and they can do what they want with them, put them on their websites or social media or whatever m. It’s very minor. Previously I actually worked covering all sports including the one you think I have some sort of aversion to and covered numerous local AFL grand finals etc and still have a particularly close relationship with one of the local clubs courtesy of a group of mates that play there.

Having a standpoint where I would like to see a sport thrive ‘up to a point’ in particular areas in the interest of preserving another sport that I like doesn’t mean I like one thing more than another or that I’m a plant from another sport or that I’m taking the piss or that I’m triggered or whatever other made up internet buzzword that modern people with no capacity to use the dictionary full of words we already had, want to label me.

Same as I wouldn’t want rugby league to ‘take over’ AFL in the southern states, much as it’s no risk of ever happening. I’d be happy to see it get a following but I would never want it to surpass what is there because it would mean the other code I love would have a serious problem on its hands.

PS. I’m obviously still alive despite wearing my Cats hoodie in not one but TWO NSW regional cities today. Had some hairy moments and one guy tried to knife me until I said that AFL stood for ‘Australian Federal-Rugby-League League’ but other than that I got through it

I think it's fine to have varying support for the local team (with no history to develop rivalries with the existing team thereof), support the main team consistently, and also be an observe of how that GWS team relates to the geographic area it's meant to represent.

I have friends who live in Geelong, take an interest to the team's relationship to the city and region, and even vaguely support them in some concept, because they have a partner and friends who support them too, and he wants to see them happy. They don't support Geelong and their support of Geelong rises and falls depending on if players/rivalries with his own team/attitude of the club varies too. they maintain a consistent academic interest in the club's and the city's relationship as that's their place of residence. I don't see that being that unusual.

This thread has taken some weird and wonderful turns over 77 pages with no issues. At least RL in NSW is somewhat related to the title.

The framing of it being a contest or a battle between the two sports is a bit strange anyway. If AFL ever becomes bigger than RL is of academic interest but I would much rather see a big AFL that's still not as big as a big NRL than see a small AFL be bigger than an even smaller NRL.

Look in a mirror. There’s only one bloke triggered in this thread.

All he’s guilty of is replying to a post.

i dispute that, but regardless, it's off topic and clogging the thread.

The fact he’s been targeted is only because he likes Rugby league.

No, i targetted him because he was sprouting all this non sensical off-topic stuff.
I'm amazed that you've let things continue so long.

Are you really that naive ?

You seriously think most rusted on league fans think that’s because the Storm are from Melbourne?

1. The Salary Cap scandal. When you systematically cheat, and it is proven, and you stand in front of the rest of the football world and try to say ‘we don’t think we’ve done anything wrong’ people don’t like it. You’ll find a lot of people didn’t like it when it happened but actually liked a lot of things about the Storm before that. I personally loved watching them as a footy side. But on the back of what had already happened at the Dogs, it pissed people off. You will also find that the Dogs were despised in the same era, and copped the ‘rapists’ tag for a long time afterwards and were hated by anyone that wasn’t a dogs fan.

2. They have, and seemingly always will, under Bellamy, pioneered any means possible of exploiting rules on the field. Chicken wing tackles, grapple tackles etc. They started getting wrestling into the mainstream of the sport and were among the first to bring wrestling coaches into their staff in 2003. Many, many fans hate this and I’m one of them. I don’t care about the game being fast or slow or whatever but I hate it being ‘ugly.’ Players piling in and twisting ball carriers to try and deliberately put them in awkward positions and make it harder for them to play the ball while your teammates get onside. I was brought up watching a game where you slowed the opposition down by putting them on their backside with classic tackling technique. There are a huge percentage of fans who dislike them for these wrestling moves coming into the game.

3. Their central figures in their history have often been hard to like. Cameron Smith is an off field cleanskin but he was very very good at pushing the limits on the field and people don’t miss that stuff. Billy Slater was the same. It was part of what made them incredible players but it didn’t enhance their likability. Ironically some of the players they’ve had since who maybe haven’t been as clean off the field like Munster and Brandon Smith, have been a bit more likable.

People hate the Broncos. It’s not to do with geography it’s to do with things like money, success, and the feeling that there is a willingness for the NRL to favour rich teams over poor teams.

I would argue that the Roosters get as much hate as just about anyone.

Manly still get the ‘anyone but manly’ treatment a lot of the time.

When Melbourne won the comp over St George in 1999, no one batted an eyelid in anger with any sort of ‘oh no not the Victorians.’

It was fantastic.

But a lot has happened since and it’s not related to where Melbourne are from

PhatBoy and his reply to Mr. Lamb which set off one poster in particular, while the other simply jumped on board.

A simple nod of the head and on we go.

Of course you do. It strikes to the very heart of your issue as we see in all your posts.

I genuinely hope the game continues to grow in QLD and NSW and will continue to support it.

I don't care, I only care that it clogs up footy chats when blokes like yourself pop up every time the nrl is mentioned on the afl board, to fly the nrl defence flag. I've seen you doing it for years on here, it's practically the only time you post in here, it's like red rag to a bull for you. Even your posting history is accusing people in the nrl forum of having anti nrl agendas lol.

I know most of the defenders are footy fans too, from varying degrees, some sit closer to 50.50, others are about 10.90 and their main purpose is as a watchdog on here to any discussion of afl advancement into 'nrl heartland'. I know who they all are from being on here for years and this thread really draws them out like moths to a flame.
The framing of it being a contest or a battle between the two sports is a bit strange anyway.

I agree, it's why I asked for a title change to get rid of all the trolls, but if you go read the first page of this thread, it actually started as a question as to what would it take for the afl to ever overtake nrl in QLD. Then it had some great chats about growth in qld, then when the insecurities kicked in for the lurkers post a great year for the afl in qld, it disintegrated into chats about how great and powerful the nrl is, history lessons on the sport, how massive the storm are in Melbourne coz they sold out one prelim final etc, particularly from Sydney not qld based posters. I know expecting that people that post here actually care about and want afl growth in qld and don't clog up the thread is a big ask, it's only an afl forum in a thread about afl growth in qld after all 🙄.

If AFL ever becomes bigger than RL is of academic interest but I would much rather see a big AFL that's still not as big as a big NRL than see a small AFL be bigger than an even smaller NRL.

Having a standpoint where I would like to see a sport thrive ‘up to a point’ in particular areas in the interest of preserving another sport that I like doesn’t mean I like one thing more than another.

Same as I wouldn’t want rugby league to ‘take over’ AFL in the southern states, much as it’s no risk of ever happening. I’d be happy to see it get a following but I would never want it to surpass what is there because it would mean the other code I love would have a serious problem on its hands.

Well this is the exact point I'm making though isn't it? and obvious in the dual (or mostly r.l) fans posts, that they want a continuation of the norm, so footy growing in QLD to a point of one day overtaking the nrl isn't something they want and their posting reflects that. If I actually believed the lurkers wanted footy to boom in qld I wouldn't have an issue, but they aren't here for that, they're here for the defence, which on a forum for afl fans, it's pretty annoying and should be reigned in. Particularly when there's an nrl forum here and over at league unlimited where they can discuss possible rearguard actions to the growth of afl in qld all they want.

Anyway let's get back to chatting about AFL growth in Queensland hey?

I don't care, I only care that it clogs up footy chats when blokes like yourself pop up every time the nrl is mentioned on the afl board, to fly the nrl defence flag. I've seen you doing it for years on here, it's practically the only time you post in here, it's like red rag to a bull for you. Even your posting history is accusing people in the nrl forum of having anti nrl agendas lol.

I know most of the defenders are footy fans too, from varying degrees, some sit closer to 50.50, others are about 10.90 and their main purpose is as a watchdog on here to any discussion of afl advancement into 'nrl heartland'. I know who they all are from being on here for years and this thread really draws them out like moths to a flame.

I agree, it's why I asked for a title change to get rid of all the trolls, but if you go read the first page of this thread, it actually started as a question as to what would it take for the afl to ever overtake nrl in QLD. Then it had some great chats about growth in qld, then when the insecurities kicked in for the lurkers post a great year for the afl in qld, it disintegrated into chats about how great and powerful the nrl is, history lessons on the sport, how massive the storm are in Melbourne coz they sold out one prelim final etc, particularly from Sydney not qld based posters. I know expecting that people that post here actually care about and want afl growth in qld and don't clog up the thread is a big ask, it's only an afl forum in a thread about afl growth in qld after all 🙄.

Well this is the exact point I'm making though isn't it? and obvious in the dual (or mostly r.l) fans posts, that they want a continuation of the norm, so footy growing in QLD to a point of one day overtaking the nrl isn't something they want and their posting reflects that. If I actually believed the lurkers wanted footy to boom in qld I wouldn't have an issue, but they aren't here for that, they're here for the defence, which on a forum for afl fans, it's pretty annoying and should be reigned in. Particularly when there's an nrl forum here and over at league unlimited where they can discuss possible rearguard actions to the growth of afl in qld all they want.

It's an online forum. We're not curing cancer. Chill out.

The main topic w.r.t. AFL in Brisbane a.t.m. is stadiums.
Stadiums have always been political footballs but also the games themselves.
It's a pity we don't have Australian politicians proud to promote the indigenous game
and promote a point of difference and to promote another facet of tourism.
I'm talking about AFL as a demonstration sport - how good would it be for Australia's identity.

Cant very well talk about the AFL overtaking the NRL without talking about the NRL. Forum isnt exclusive to AFL fans either.

There are specific threads for AFL growth in Queensland, and other specific threads exist for AFL development in these areas

I reckon I’m more 60/40 but you’ll never see it that way and that’s cool as you clearly think I’d rather see the game fail than grow.

Absolutely.

Last edited by a moderator:
It's a pity we don't have Australian politicians proud to promote the indigenous game and promote a point of difference and to promote another facet of tourism.
Probably got a lot to do with most of our recent Prime Ministers being from Sydney and therefore grew up supporting one of the rugby codes.

Albanese is a known South Sydney fan, ScoMo was the number 1 ticket holder Cronulla, Turnbull was believed to have been a Roosters fan, Abbott was a Manly fan etc. There's a good chance Dutton is the same considering he grew up in Brisbane.

Kevin Rudd was open about his support for the Brisbane Lions and would often attend home games at the Gabba. He was probably the last pro-AFL Prime Minister we've had in this country.

Probably got a lot to do with most of our recent Prime Ministers being from Sydney and therefore grew up supporting one of the rugby codes.

Albanese is a known South Sydney fan, ScoMo was the number 1 ticket holder Cronulla, Turnbull was believed to have been a Roosters fan, Abbott was a Manly fan etc. There's a good chance Dutton is the same considering he grew up in Brisbane.

Kevin Rudd was open about his support for the Brisbane Lions and would often attend home games at the Gabba. He was probably the last pro-AFL Prime Minister we've had in this country.

Albanese has been regularly photographed in hawthorn gear, even appeared at a Hawks post match in the rooms, been a known Hawks supporter since at least 2016.

ANTHONY ALBANESE, PRIME MINISTER: I am a Hawthorn fan

HAWKS-loving politician Anthony Albanese has charged taxpayers more than $3000 to cheer on his team during the past two AFL grand finals.

Albanese has been regularly photographed in hawthorn gear, even appeared at a Hawks post match in the rooms, been a known Hawks supporter since at least 2016.

Any politician will hitch their wagon to any sport or sports team if they think it will get them votes, in my opinion.

He is the biggest rugby league fan in Australia just about. He even said in an interview he prefers rugby league to afl and indicated his contempt for the afl introducing the giants into 'rugby league heartland'.

His buddying up with v'landy's (they do lunch together regularly in Sydney) and excessive funding towards the sport show that. The rabbitohs face mask, the presenting overseas politicians with rabbitohs t shirts and the fact he told Leigh Matthews he remembers watching him in the 89 grand final on radio (Leigh was retired) tells you it's about an 90.10 split on his loyalty and interest.

Scomo was reportedly a fake fan, rugby league media have said that after he lost his position. Dutton doesn't seem to be into many sports but you'd think his rugby/ league if anything being a Queenslander. He is good mates with Luke Darcy and Damian barrets brother is his key advisor though, so he does have some links back to the afl world.

Shorten and Frydenberg would have been the best options for AFL loving p.m's, but they missed out. Gillard was a bulldogs fan, but didn't last long enough to provide a government funding windfall, the likes of which the nrl are now seeing with their mate albo in charge.

Someone from Sydney barracking for Hawthorn.

I think it is fair to say there is something there. It is not a natural.

It is not like Turnbull or Rudd going to Swans or Lions matches.

I would also state that most people just don't like sport that much. Rudd and Turnbull are probably good examples there as well.

He is the biggest rugby league fan in Australia just about. He even said in an interview he prefers rugby league to afl and indicated his contempt for the afl introducing the giants into 'rugby league heartland'.

That doesnt change the fact that there is a mountain of evidence out there that hes also a Hawthorn supporter.

Lots of people - many of them AFL fans - have or had contempt for the AFL taking the Giants to Sydney. hes hardly an island there.

His buddying up with v'landy's (they do lunch together regularly in Sydney) and excessive funding towards the sport show that. The rabbitohs face mask, the presenting overseas politicians with rabbitohs t shirts and the fact he told Leigh Matthews he remembers watching him in the 89 grand final on radio (Leigh was retired) tells you it's about an 90.10 split on his loyalty and interest.

The amount of money the Federal Government has given to AFL facilities wouldnt be far off what theyve given to NRL facilities. The PNG thing is less about the sport and the Federal Governments ongoing China paranoia.

Scomo was reportedly a fake fan, rugby league media have said that after he lost his position. Dutton doesn't seem to be into many sports but you'd think his rugby/ league if anything being a Queenslander. He is good mates with Luke Darcy and Damian barrets brother is his key advisor though, so he does have some links back to the afl world.

Shorten and Frydenberg would have been the best options for AFL loving p.m's, but they missed out. Gillard was a bulldogs fan, but didn't last long enough to provide a government funding windfall, the likes of which the nrl are now seeing with their mate albo in charge.

What funding do you think the AFL missed out on exactly?

That doesnt change the fact that there is a mountain of evidence out there that hes also a Hawthorn supporter.

Not really.
Albanese is only at AFL matches for appearances.
He's been photographed with in a multiple of Victorian AFL scarfs.
He's never been photographed being involved in an AFL game.

Lots of people - many of them AFL fans - have or had contempt for the AFL taking the Giants to Sydney.

Albanese should be above that if he is to seen as impartial.

The amount of money the Federal Government has given to AFL facilities wouldnt be far off what theyve given to NRL facilities.

I beg to differ. The new Perth Stadium didn't receive one cent of federal funding.
Mark Mcgowan made it clear he didn't want Albanese in W.A. ehen he was campaigning.

The PNG thing is less about the sport and the Federal Governments ongoing China paranoia.

It's about two leaders rorting their respective taxpayers to push their own barrows.

Not really.
Albanese is only at AFL matches for appearances.
He's been photographed with in a multiple of Victorian AFL scarfs.
He's never been photographed being involved in an AFL game.

FOr EIGHT YEARS. Sure. He takes the same media opportunites as others woudl when they occur- he has always come back as a Hawks fan.

He was literally in the Hawks club rooms post match not liong ago.

Albanese should be above that if he is to seen as impartial.

You cant expect that when half of the members on Bigfooty couldnt be impartial about it. hes entitled to an opinion.

beg to differ. The new Perth Stadium didn't receive one cent of federal funding.
Mark Mcgowan made it clear he didn't want Albanese in W.A. ehen he was campaigning.

So? There's plenty of other facilities and COEs and grassroots locations that HAVE received funding, not least in Tasmania.

It's about two leaders rorting their respective taxpayers to push their own barrows.

Its about foreign affairs. but whatever.

Lots of people - many of them AFL fans - have or had contempt for the AFL taking the Giants to Sydney. hes hardly an island there.

The amount of money the Federal Government has given to AFL facilities wouldnt be far off what theyve given to NRL facilities. The PNG thing is less about the sport and the Federal Governments ongoing China paranoia.

What funding do you think the AFL missed out on exactly?

No doubt the afl have done as well as any other sport in the past with federal government funding, they did well under Morrison.

Here is a list of all the NRL/tax payer allocated funding by the federal government in the past 3 years, including examples of the Prime Minister’s inappropriately close relationships with NRL Chairman Peter Vlandy’s:

• Albanese's own local team the Newtown jets have joined with an Ipswich rugby league team to bid for an NRL licence, $40 million in government funding for a high performance centre, a club not even playing in a professional league. To give you an idea, the suns government funded training centre was $22 million a few years ago and they are playing in the biggest league in Australia. This is like giving Ainslie football club in Canberra a $40 million training facility, more than many AFL clubs.

• Albanese a presenter at the NRL 2024 awards night in September, inducting rugby league legends into the NRL hall of fame.

• NRL's Leichhardt oval to be upgraded with federal government money, no NRL money required. Compare this to smaller percentage of federal government contribution to the new stadium in Tasmania, to be used for multiple sports and concerts and the AFL were told by the Prime Minister ‘they 'need to make a bigger contribution' which they then contributed $15 million towards, the only sporting organisation required to contribute by Government to stadium builds. This appears to be an intentional attempt to drain the coffers of the NRL’s biggest competitor, whilst providing the NRL with significant assets that they are the sole owner of.

• A digital streaming rights loophole opened by the federal government conveniently for only a 3 year window and the behest of the FTA tv networks and going against industry recommendations. This potentially allows the NRL tv rights to be renewed at a much greater price than it’s competitors, despite those rights not being traditionally viewed as holding as much value. Only 60 percent of households now have an aerial and it is declining every year.

• Holding back on the recommendations for cuts to gambling advertising during sports broadcasts, knowing the the bids for the new NRL broadcast rights could be effected by the tv networks having less money to play with.

• $600 million of Aussie taxpayer dollars going to a new NRL team not even in Australia, but in PNG, under the guise of ‘international political relations’. It has major benefits for the NRL more than anything, by taking the game international to a country of over 10 million people. Also, will this guarantee there is no future deals between the PNG government and China? I doubt that is in the contract.

• The Australian government have now signed off on tax exemptions for any NRL players that wish to play for the new PNG franchise, a luxury not afforded to any other Australian athletes.

• $60 million of Aussie taxpayer dollars simply going to all the other NRL clubs as a 'licence fee', for nothing other than to line their clubs pockets. Remembering the NRL premiership team only gets $500k as a reward for winning the competition and the AFL champion $1 million. $3.5 million for any club in Australian sport is an inconceivable bonus payment, this is a clearly contrived method to strengthen the sport in Australia and all it’s clubs bottom lines.

• Albanese has regular lunch catch ups with Peter V'landy's and strangely took the NRL Chairman and great friend V'landy's to the White House to meet President Joe Biden. Let us know when he takes Andrew Dillon as his plus one to the Whitehouse to meet the president?

• The federal government taxpayer funded the current 'Pacific tournament', helping spread the code of rugby league across the Pacific nations.

No doubt the afl have done as well as any other sport in the past with federal government funding, they did well under Morrison.

Here is a list of all the NRL/tax payer allocated funding by the federal government in the past 3 years, including examples of the Prime Minister’s inappropriately close relationships with NRL Chairman Peter Vlandy’s:

• Albanese's own local team the Newtown jets have joined with an Ipswich rugby league team to bid for an NRL licence, $40 million in government funding for a high performance centre, a club not even playing in a professional league. To give you an idea, the suns government funded training centre was $22 million a few years ago and they are playing in the biggest league in Australia. This is like giving Ainslie football club in Canberra a $40 million training facility, more than many AFL clubs.

Thats 40m from three different government tiers.

• Albanese a presenter at the NRL 2024 awards night in September, inducting rugby league legends into the NRL hall of fame.

ffs this is pathetic.

• NRL's Leichhardt oval to be upgraded with federal government money, no NRL money required. Compare this to smaller percentage of federal government contribution to the new stadium in Tasmania, to be used for multiple sports and concerts and the AFL were told by the Prime Minister ‘they 'need to make a bigger contribution' which they then contributed $15 million towards, the only sporting organisation required to contribute by Government to stadium builds. This appears to be an intentional attempt to drain the coffers of the NRL’s biggest competitor, whilst providing the NRL with significant assets that they are the sole owner of.

leichardt Oval is used by multiple rectangle sports. The Government doesnt require most sports to fund deveopment of facilities. Seems to be something mostly limited to the AFL, and to some extent, Cricket.

• A digital streaming rights loophole opened by the federal government conveniently for only a 3 year window and the behest of the FTA tv networks and going against industry recommendations. This potentially allows the NRL tv rights to be renewed at a much greater price than it’s competitors, despite those rights not being traditionally viewed as holding as much value. Only 60 percent of households now have an aerial and it is declining every year.

No one forced the AFL to sign a deal in 2022 for 7 years to 2031. Also note: 2022 Federal Election saw a change of party in government and thus a change of policy that could not be foreseen.

• Holding back on the recommendations for cuts to gambling advertising during sports broadcasts, knowing the the bids for the new NRL broadcast rights could be effected by the tv networks having less money to play with.

These some serious conspiracy areas here.

• $600 million of Aussie taxpayer dollars going to a new NRL team not even in Australia, but in PNG, under the guise of ‘international political relations’. It has major benefits for the NRL more than anything, by taking the game international to a country of over 10 million people. Also, will this guarantee there is no future deals between the PNG government and China? I doubt that is in the contract.

Its foreign policy. Im not saying its smart, but the federal government is kinda worried about the Chinese. Im not a foreign policy expert.

• The Australian government have now signed off on tax exemptions for any NRL players that wish to play for the new PNG franchise, a luxury not afforded to any other Australian athletes.

In PNG. Its not like other Australian atheletes are foriming teams in Port Moresby.

• $60 million of Aussie taxpayer dollars simply going to all the other NRL clubs as a 'licence fee', for nothing other than to line their clubs pockets. Remembering the NRL premiership team only gets $500k as a reward for winning the competition and the AFL champion $1 million. $3.5 million for any club in Australian sport is an inconceivable bonus payment, this is a clearly contrived method to strengthen the sport in Australia and all it’s clubs bottom lines.

Thats in the 600m deal. Its stupid, but its there. Remember that they get 15m from their league distributions this year each too.

• Albanese has regular lunch catch ups with Peter V'landy's and strangely took the NRL Chairman and great friend V'landy's to the White House to meet President Joe Biden. Let us know when he takes Andrew Dillon as his plus one to the Whitehouse to meet the president?

does he actually have 'regular" lunch catchups. The whitehouse visit was apparently more to do with the NRL expansion in the pacific.

Guardian Australia has been told sports diplomacy is central to his invitation to the state dinner. US officials are interested in the code’s expansion plans in the Pacific, where Washington is engaged in an intensifying contest with Beijing for influence.

• The federal government taxpayer funded the current 'Pacific tournament', helping spread the code of rugby league across the Pacific nations.

The Federal Government has for decades sponsored AFL programs in Africa, Indonesia, the Pacific and Indian Ocean areas through AusAid and the department of Foreign Affairs

AFL overtaking NRL in QLD