AFL Queensland - 2010 Season

G'Day Chikka thought you might be interested in this story. I was listening to SEN from Melbourne on Monday night and this story came up.

Unbelievable but not the record.

TRUE to his word, four-time Central District premiership player Quinton Graham reached the magical 100-goals for Gumeracha on Saturday.
He kicked 40.15 - and one out on the full - against Hills Football League battler Callington to send officials scurrying to the record books.

It came one week after he threatened to do so when interviewed on stage at Central District's 2000 premiership reunion.

``I knew I was close to 100 and said I was hoping to kick 30,'' he said.

``It's funny because I got 10 more.''

The 30-year-old was on 62 goals heading into the game and had 14 at half-time.

He then followed it with bags of 13.10 and 13.3 in the final two quarters as Gumeracha won 75.37 (487) to 0.0.

``I got 38 and that was my hundred then I went into the ruck,'' Graham said.

``Then they came on and said `you're equal with the record, go back to full forward'.''

He said kicking 40 in a day meant more than kicking 100 in the whole season.

The record is by Doug Ensor who kick 60 out of the team score of 69 goals. That season he kicked 208 for Noble Park - He was 14 years old in 1969.

Saw this on footy show last night.In the same game,his team mate req'd 15 to pass the 100 mark for season.He kicked 18 and his team are only 4th on the ladder

Syd Guilford - Wise
Grogan - Wise
Premiership - Southport
Runners up - Morningside
Joe Grant - Matthew Payne
Mt Gravatt player to be suspended - Cleary (Morrison does show a little more restraint these days), the Vultures may have a prompt exit from the finals !!

Syd Guilford - Wise
Grogan - Wise
Premiership - Southport
Runners up - Morningside
Mt Gravatt player to be suspended - Cleary (Morrison does show a little more restraint these days), the Vultures may have a prompt exit from the finals !!

Big call Salman,how is your club going?

I had to laugh during the week when a senior committee person said on net that they will look after juniors.I can guarantee that will not happen unless you are a state u18 rep.When i finished up playing juniors i wanted to play at highest level so left Aspley and went to state league club.Played and still playing seniors.Was told when i left that if you leave do not come back wanting to play for Aspley ever again.Says something again about Off Field Leadership at club.How many more players will they recruit next year.Look at Labrador,Morningside,Mt Gravatts,start developing their own

you are a pest. get over aslpey and yourself. labrador and mt gravatt have a lot of players from interstate and other qafl clubs.. not entirely developing their own like you stated.

You should go and have a look at this weeks team list. I can only count 7 players originally from your club playing this weekend in the seniors, suggest you take your own advice.

Interesting to note that Labrador have not named Sleeth,Notting,Spida,Shattock for the game in Darwin and replaced them with their draft choices from GC SUNS.Feel sorry for Labrador 2s players who bust a ass all year to play senior footy and then this happens.That's the way it is coming across.

Fowler playing for Southport this week end.It is funny as these 2 coast clubs are fighting for top spot and they get all these " Contracted/Top up players back for must win games when other players rested/injured.

"Edwards " name at Morningside is a icon to everyone associated with AFLQ COMP in years gone by.Another one makes his debut tomorrow at 18.

Interesting to note that Labrador have not named Sleeth,Notting,Spida,Shattock for the game in Darwin and replaced them with their draft choices from GC SUNS.Feel sorry for Labrador 2s players who bust a ass all year to play senior footy and then this happens.That's the way it is coming across.

Fowler playing for Southport this week end.It is funny as these 2 coast clubs are fighting for top spot and they get all these " Contracted/Top up players back for must win games when other players rested/injured.

"Edwards " name at Morningside is a icon to everyone associated with AFLQ COMP in years gone by.Another one makes his debut tomorrow at 18.

Notting is named.

Southport even though Vulture Dude mouthing off.Will he get a touch?
Morningside in a very close game.Panthers 60th b'day
Thunder with Oddball in the top end and ThunderDoc(jinx) at Sandgate
Aspley in toss of coin.
Redlands if they want to keep their season alive just

Sharks v Vultures: A surprise (of sorts) on the cards
Panthers v Magpies: Magpies to be re-named the 'Shot Ducks' in 2011
Cats v Bombers: The Cats are very dangerous at Merrimac, but will fall short
Thunder v Tigers: Tigers will want top spot, but appear to be 'resting' a few this week, which might prove costly. No 'Jinx' in the Thunder support staff this week.
Lions v Hornets: Lions have been dismal and won't improve this week

Snorkle, I dont believe we have met, but loser is a big call to say you don't even know me. I think you may have mistaken me for a Southport supporter, this could not be further from the truth. This is a forum, my understanding is this is a place where people share there views and thoughts. Given there are two Gold Coast sides that are 1 and 2 at the moment I thought my predictions would seem reasonable given the current standings and the polling prior to the AFLQ web site taking this off line. Now on your point about Brisbane, Brisbane is my home town, but the competition is called QAFL not BAFL, and there is already a bridge at Logan so therefore there is no need for me to build one. On your point about Brisbane clubs, had Gilliland not been reported as not playing again this year through injury my tip would have been Mt Gravatt for the flag and Gilliland for Grogan, but I think wise will win it as I think the votes will come down to the last few rounds. I take your point regarding some clubs spending $$$ over the salary cap, but my club is not one of those and I dont condone clubs cheating by paying more than the salary cap . My club has been the laughing stock of the league since it came into the comp in 1997, we were on the bones of our bum in the early 2000's because we could not compete with more wealthier clubs 1klm from our ground and we are this year enjoying moderate success on top of the ladder and I believe that the club has the ability to go all the way, hence my prediction for the flag. I hope that makes things a little clearer mr snorkle. These are my views and thats why it is called a forum, I don't expect everyone to agree.

Quite right HTF, I did asume your were are silvertail supporter and by that I mean barracked for Southport and for that I am sorry, but to also have mainly the Gold Clubs Clubs players picked for the top footy awards without a Brisbane Club Player given a chance, you can probably understand my assumtion, this is a forum for debate and I take that point on board, I can only put my reply to your words, on having a bad day and if I offended you I am sorry for that. The worrying thing for me as a football supporter is with your club and others that are using contracted an non contracted players left over from the GC-Suns each week, is what are they going to fall back on next year, if your club and others have some good kids or not quite established players, playing in the Magoo's each week and not getting a chance then these may move on to other clubs next year and weaken the competitive side and depth of these clubs next year. Good luck in the weeks ahead as I feel if any club on the Coast that deserve some finals sucsess then the Tigers are team who should reap those rewards. It will be an interesting round via the results this week to see who will finish with the minor premiership, but beware dont write off last years grand finalists too soon as they still have a very big part to play in the big decider for this season.

Syd Guilford - Wise
Grogan - Wise
Premiership - Southport
Runners up - Morningside

Wise and Gough
Panthers
Southport
Rogers
Pratt:D

Hey Vulture Dud. Based on your posts I think the Aspley call for you not to return may have in fact been a stroke of absolute genius on their part. I can't believe how clever the Footy Committee there is starting to look thanks to you!

(There's that rash coming on again).

Thunder rolled Labrador earlier today.Prob guarantees them 5th spot as they should smash Broady up in Darwin next week and Redlands will have to win by 300 against Panthers next Sunday.

3 away teams won

65 Chikka (4)
62 Oddball (5)
61 Morphus (3)
56 Big E (4)
55 Ash S ( 3)
54 Lifes a Beach (2)
47 Stuyd ( 3)
46 Damo ( 3)
40 Mongrel Punt (3)

Hey Vulture Dud. Based on your posts I think the Aspley call for you not to return may have in fact been a stroke of absolute genius on their part. I can't believe how clever the Footy Committee there is starting to look thanks to you!

(There's that rash coming on again).

I totally agree how clever you and your football committee is.Wouldn't have played in a GF last year and another finals campaign this year if went back there.This time next week you blokes and gals will be on end of season once again.Enjoy,as you have had plenty of practise at it

How many of Aspleys senior teams made final series this year?

Paynie,didn't see you there yest

I totally agree how clever you and your football committee is.Wouldn't have played in a GF last year and another finals campaign this year if went back there.This time next week you blokes and gals will be on end of season once again.Enjoy,as you have had plenty of practise at it

How many of Aspleys senior teams made final series this year?

Paynie,didn't see you there yest

So now it's me and my football committee all of a sudden is it? Don't know where that came from?? I'm just an interested observer taking up the cause of the audience at large who, in the words of Big E, find you to be a pest.

VD, you're what's commonly known as a fair weather friend. Bragging about how your lack of loyalty, courage and balls to stay with a new and building State League club has resulted in you playing finals. Very shallow indeed.

Look at the mighty Labrador Tigers now reaping rewards from the tough times and decisions endured and taken earlier in the decade. The players that stuck by them are now reaping the REAL rewards - success after sacrifice and hard work. That's what builds a club - not just a team.

Still, if you're happy to be the perpetual football prostitute. Good on you. Be prepared to cop the fact that the club just may not remember your name in the morning.

you are a pest. get over aslpey and yourself. labrador and mt gravatt have a lot of players from interstate and other qafl clubs.. not entirely developing their own like you stated.

Inspired by Big E and sick of VD, I have done a little homework on the Vultures' own web site. Based on the information there, here are the clubs/states of origin of the cream of their current playing crop: Gilliland - Vic, White - NT/Lions, Morrison - SA, Hammill - Magpies, Pratt - Aspley/Eagles, Evans - Maryborough, Smouha - NT, Cleary - Logan, Tarrant - SA, Tarrant - Magpies/Panthers, Head - Southport and wait for it ........... Vearing - Mt Gravatt!!!!

Development of juniors? Know I'm not knocking the Vultures by any stretch. I am in fact a Vultures junior footballer myself. Most clubs will only be competitive at this level by recruiting key players and filling with local talent where possible. Look at the Magpies. They have not been able to recruit heavily in their State League infancy and it has hurt them. Aspley on the other hand seem to be turning a corner with a good share of Northside juniors starting to fill their best 23 around talented imports. Labrador's success was based on this approach (thanks also to GC17) as has that of the Vultures.

VD, this all seems to cut another one of your arguments to shreds as being based on a fiction borne out of spite. Unfortunately though I expect the logic is lost on you. I look forward (sarcasm intended) to the inevitable irrational rant in response.

Next year will be no different for the Gold Coast clubs in QAFL. Where do you think the leftovers from the Suns are going to play. Surely they will cap the number of "listed" players that can play in their reserves as they do with the Lions and that will lead a nice group of players that need to play footy. Guess where they will end up at Southport. Labrador or Broadie. I vaguely remember reading they will have 52 players on their list - I hope I misread that because a new club should start almost injury free and they will leave a lot of players to fill other teams !

, . The worrying thing for me as a football supporter is with your club and others that are using contracted an non contracted players left over from the GC-Suns each week, is what are they going to fall back on next year, if your club and others have some good kids or not quite established players, playing in the Magoo's each week and not getting a chance then these may move on to other clubs next year and weaken the competitive side and depth of these clubs next year. Good luck in the weeks ahead as I feel if any club on the Coast that deserve some finals sucsess then the Tigers are team who should reap those rewards. It will be an interesting round via the results this week to see who will finish with the minor premiership, but beware dont write off last years grand finalists too soon as they still have a very big part to play in the big decider for this season.

S,with the three Gold coast state league clubs different scenarios have occured because of the gc players. Broadbeach were very short on depth so no oppotunities have have been taken by these players in fact some u18's have played before they are ready, Labrador due to injuries and availablity have had plenty of opportunities and have played both gc listed and u18's (they took 2 to Nt i believe), Southport however is a different kettle of fish, they as previously stated used the GC players for depth, they have only played 2 u18's both against the magpies and each have only had the one game,Fowler came back aginst Mt G as the 23rd player.The contracted Gc players have now been dropped to reserves (because they can't play finals) and the supp list has had names added (see record). I have heard one GC contracted player failed to show for the Sharks reserves.So only Southport have the young guys looking around, the other two have had opps if you are good enough.Mt G looked very good on sat too much run and leg speed in the last quarter.

whats happened to the sharks? are they getting tired? or are the vultures legitimate favourites now?
does make for an interesting finals series now... how does the five work, who plays who first week?