Preview AFL Round 6 Sydney Swans V Brisbane Lions Official Thread

Collier is woefully out of form

So is three quarters of our team, but they still play. I have seen Collier's last few games and yes he hasn't been great, but he couldn't do much worse than most of our current team and against a young side like Freo, if he goes ok it may just lift his confidence.

I really do miss Bradshaw BUT it was his idea to leave, Which IMO was just the excuse he was looking for he knew Fev was coming to the club. He was never happy at our club, Infact everytime his contract was about to end he was looking around at other clubs to see what they had to offer so really it was only a matter of time before he jumped ship.

His demands were unrealistic I mean he wanted a 3 year contract at his age which was 31 at the time. The Swines needed a forward thats the only reason he was picked up and his demands were met no one else would have touched that offer.

He was put up for trade after receiving assurances from the coach himself that he wouldn't and then shipped off to Carlton...great treatment to one of your senior players. He was understandably incenced at his treatment and then he left, but to say it was his idea to leave is patently wrong.

I am just still not sure what Fev brings to the table that Bradshaw didn't, only to be compounded with the loss of Henderson and what we could of got at pick 12 instead of 27. I am further surprised that many are fairly indifferent to what went down.

Either way, I thought Sydney would win and they did, so I am not overly concerned that we lost, just more so at the way we played and that we still stink at clearance work in general. I did learn tonight that we are definitely not a top 4 side though.

Unlike your mate Fevola, Bradshaw is a loyal family man, trying to look after his family, he would have taken 400grand this year and then if he tops 50 goals another 400 grand, tops 50 another 400 grand. Cheaper than the 800k we will pay Fev next year

Dude you need to lay off the grog seriously....:rolleyes:

It was Bradshaws idea to leave he wasn't pushed he jumped! He was looking for an excuse and he got one at the end of the day. Do you think if he was keen to stay last year that he would have taken all year to sign a contract hell no! it was premeditated , He knew exactly what he was doing the disappointing thing here is that he is blaming Voss for him leaving when he knew he wanted to go from the start.

And please do leave your comments about postings from the private board in the private thread! So What I love Fev big deal It doesn't mean I hate Bradshaw.

Next 2 games @ the Gabba and away game Vs Adelaide will define our season.

Geelong doesn't look bulletproof this season. Up to our guys to stand up and take our chances. Fingers crossed Adcock, Sherman, Rockliff play well tomorrow and get back in next round.

My only concern with Vossy is his desire to back the traded players compared to players showing true form in reserves. I have seen the press conference last round where he acknowledged its a long season, but played a half fit Browny and Merrett with a tight hamstring. Baffling. Similarly, Buchanan ahead of Hanley this round has left me scratching my head.

It was Bradshaws idea to leave he wasn't pushed he jumped! He was looking for an excuse and he got one at the end of the day. Do you think if he was keen to stay last year that he would have taken all year to sign a contract hell no! it was premeditated , He knew exactly what he was doing the disappointing thing here is that he is blaming Voss for him leaving when he knew he wanted to go from the start.

He was doing what he has done every contract renegotiation: wait until he got the best deal he could. I don't begrudge a player the right to do that (even though, like many, I find it a bit rich to play that game then cry there's no loyalty).

Whether Bradshaw would have left if the Fevola shit hadn't gone down is pointless debating - you could never know. But saying he was definitely looking for an out is crap, otherwise he surely would have taken the Carlton deal.

He was doing what he has done every contract renegotiation: wait until he got the best deal he could. I don't begrudge a player the right to do that (even though, like many, I find it a bit rich to play that game then cry there's no loyalty).

Whether Bradshaw would have left if the Fevola shit hadn't gone down is pointless debating - you could never know. But saying he was definitely looking for an out is crap, otherwise he surely would have taken the Carlton deal.[/QUOTE]

Sometimes it takes someone with a little more poise to sum up what others are really feeling!

Well maybe Vossy assumed he wasn't that keen on staying ( like alot of people were doing at the time) So he put the offer on the table. Surely Voss wouldn't have suggested that deal if Bradshaw was expressing his interests in staying???

Look who knows ( except Bradshaw and Voss)

The point I was making was I miss Braddles but at the end of the day he is not a lion anymore.

good game tonight. you boys played well despite losing a few key players and i thought LRT and Grundy did well to contain fev and browny albeit kicking 8 between them.

I rkn you have a lot of positives:

Banfield- looks very strong
Brown-getting back to his best

you should get rid of johnstone- an absolute spud

Post-match thoughts:

:: we played better than we did against Melbourne.
:: Sydney are on top of the ladder for a reason & we had a front seat as to why.
:: umpiring was again crap; Brown nearly gets a lobotomy, centre bounces favouring Sydney.
:: lack of foot speed was a worry, but hopefully our endurance wins games near the pointy end of the season.
:: a tough week ahead, glad 3 are at the Gabba.

Remember, don't throw the baby out with the bath-water. 4-2 is a great start, a third of the way to enough wins to make the finals.

Stay strong Lion supporters.

Geez settle acuguy make your points but you are making yourself look like a nob. I think I was as vocal as anyone against the trades last year and I still don't think they were particularly smart but Bradshaw would have gone no matter what. There is no way we should have offered him a three year deal with the state of his body and Bradshaw always had the mercencary element in him. He would have gone to the team that offered the 3 year deal. Talk to me next year when Bradshaw is broken down and still has 2 years on his deal. We had enough of those problems in the middle of the decade and didn't need any more.

The game was lost in the period when Sydney kicked 9 straight and it wasn't our backs that lost contributed to that it was our midfield. They went missing pure and simple. Black, Brennan, Power and Rich couldn't buy a kick in the first half. These guys need to be freed up because the rest of our midfield is not quality. The Lions need to have a look at the tape of how Collingwood dealt with Jones and adopt a few of those tactics.

The guys who were getting the ball were the guys with poor disposal skills who we really didn't want having the ball. Redden got a lot of it but his skills were terrible. Similarly with Raines who worked hard but we really need someone else to be the designated runner. Raines is okay when he has time but when pressured his disposal skills fall apart. Selwood's skills have not improved over the time he was out and he sold guys up the river a lot tonight. Rischa was okay but had zero hurt factor.

Staker did a good job in defence (much better than he has done at the other end) I thought but his skills generally were not good. Similarly I thought Austin was good defensively but did not look to get his own ball at all.

The only good thing I can say about Johnstone's game was that at least he didn't cause as much damage as last week when he had probably the worst 30 possession game I have seen. He made some of Dalzeill's bad games look like masterpieces of efficiency.

Buchanan was not ready and should not have played. Terrible decision to play him ahead of guys who were genuinely worthy of a game.

Is anyone else starting to get annoyed with Rich being invisible for the first 3 quarters and then storming home. Pretend its the fourth quarter every time you step on the park Daniel.

On the good I thought Banfield was excellent tonight. He really showed the way, had great chase and tackle and took the goal opportunities that presented. He has great strength and composure in tight situations and looks to be working out where to run to get open. Polks looked dangerous at times although the ball did not get down there too much and when it did the smalls were not often looked at.

Maguire did a very good job on Bradshaw after going off concussed early. Smart and strong in the contest he made life difficult when the ball was coming in too easily on occasion.

Brown did not look 100% but he did look a lot better than last week. Hopefully he work back into top fitness. Clark also looked to be getting around the ground a lot better tonight than he has done to date.

Well maybe Vossy assumed he wasn't that keen on staying ( like alot of people were doing at the time) So he put the offer on the table. Surely Voss wouldn't have suggested that deal if Bradshaw was expressing his interests in staying???

Look who knows ( except Bradshaw and Voss)

The point I was making was I miss Braddles but at the end of the day he is not a lion anymore.

Probably best then not to pass off opinions or guesses as fact then. As you concede: who knows, right?

I and a few others were voicing our, um, "concern" at the deal. I remember hearing of quite a bit of dissent at the trading of Adrian Fletcher that contributed to the terrible 1998 season. I prefer to honour loyalty in line-ball list management decisions and I was/am not convinced the Fevola was/is a significant upgrade on Bradshaw who I'd have ranked in the top 5 underrated player of the last decade.

Nothing to do with the game really, apart from the fact that Henderson would've been a handy option down back this week.

Disappointed with the result, but after thinking about it we did well to get close with losing the midfield so badly. Just don't know what has happened in the past few weeks with our mids. We are expecting too much from our big forwards too, we need to make it easier for them and kick it to our advantage more.

On reflection i think we did well to stay competitive tonight. The swans played well, lions played poorly but was still a contest all night. I reckon Bradshaw may have played goose into some rich form. We missed merret, sherman and after a few weeks i am really noticing the lack of adcock in our back six. Not happy but neither am i devastated. The swans were on top of there game we were off, have to expect some games like this while the team gels with both new players and structures when under pressure. Still convinced our best footy will beat pretty much anyone, just sux when i dont get to see our best footy on display.:rolleyes:

We beat this mob twice last year and apart from the first 10 minutes never really looked like winning the game. Us big step backwards, Sydney have leap frogged us.

Fingers crossed Adcock, Sherman, Rockliff play well tomorrow and get back in next round.

My only concern with Vossy is his desire to back the traded players compared to players showing true form in reserves. I have seen the press conference last round where he acknowledged its a long season, but played a half fit Browny and Merrett with a tight hamstring. Baffling. Similarly, Buchanan ahead of Hanley this round has left me scratching my head.

This.
Staker continues to be solid without setting the world on fire. At what stage do we turn to plan B? (Acorn, or Polks regaining his 3rd leading forward role?)
Raines I thought was good, and in spite of occasionaly disposal errors was at least taking the game on. Interesting that we've struggled a little with Adcock and Sherman out who are prepared to take risks.
Loved Maguire's second half.
Definitely need more leg speed- Bartlett step up asap thanks.
Leuey is improving, I thought our rucks struggled tonight, and compared to last year Clark is really out of sorts. If Charmo was fit, would he have been given a run by now?
Banfield close to becoming my favorite player. Sublime.

For whats it worth i think Daniel Rich only getting into games in the second half every game so far this year is a massive problem.
Ash Mcgrath is also struggling.

Can't see why people think hendo down back would have made any difference in this game. Doesn't matter who was playing defence, Sydney killed us in the middle. can't see hendo magically becoming fullback of the century and holding Bradshaw to 2 goals.

Preview AFL Round 6 Sydney Swans V Brisbane Lions Official Thread