AFL Silver Membership Waitlist Number

my waitlist number was 10000 odd so i would be a minimum 5 years away so i just canceled my membership and went with a melbourne club membership that gaurantees me a grand final ticket plus the club gets more money has anyone else had thoughts of doing the same thing

One option many people take is to be an AFL silver member and then buy an 'add on' package from their club which includes a reserved seat at home games and GF ticket if they make it. The AFL membership already makes you a General Admission member of your club so you then just pay the difference in price between GA and whatever package your club has. At Hawthorn the Gold membership add on works out to something like $150 on top of the $360 AFL silver membership.

Finally got my letter 20,203 for me. Last year was my first year but will have gold by the time I retire - which is also when I'll probably start using it more as a neutral - don't mind though....still faster that MCC for me and the little guy - who I'm sure will love it when he is in his 20's.

It's a blood long wait. When I signed up about 5 years ago, I was under the impression I would not have to wait 15-16 years in order to go GOLD. At this point my number is in the 11,000s. Looks like I will be waiting another 10 years or so.

This scares me greatly. I'm heading into my 6th year, and i haven't received my letter yet. Received the email over a week ago that it had been sent. Oh well. With Essendon's lowly position over that period, its not like i've had a great demand on PF or GF tickets (for which the real benefits of Full AFL Membership are realised).

It's a blood long wait. When I signed up about 5 years ago, I was under the impression I would not have to wait 15-16 years in order to go GOLD. At this point my number is in the 11,000s. Looks like I will be waiting another 10 years or so.

Should have signed up 10-15 years ago rather than waiting to see the benefits and then sign up. Have no sympathy towards people that just sit and wait rather than do.

Finally got my letter 20,203 for me. Last year was my first year but will have gold by the time I retire - which is also when I'll probably start using it more as a neutral - don't mind though....still faster that MCC for me and the little guy - who I'm sure will love it when he is in his 20's.

when did you sign up for yours? i got my letter and im 20775, so i reckon in about 10 years ill be full member.

Last year in about mid year - had an unexpected bonus so used it for the joining fee. I reckon with the numbers blowing out this far I'll be 15 years b4 I make gold....but I'll wait.

still really good value for money even if it is a bit of a wait. Most of my mates are not pies fans, and i love going to the footy, so i can zap in and watch some games with them.

LOL WTF?

I signed up 3-4 years ago and my number is in the low 4,000's?

My son is 20 thousand and something - not too worried, he's only four, so we'll make do and he can pay for his own full membership by the time his numbers come up!

Can't complain about the wait, that's life as the AFL has increased its control and the attractiveness of its own package at the same time diminishing what clubs can offer (and the clubs have certainly played along, making GF access a pay-extra option).

yea the reason i got it was to go to any game i felt like did that a bit in 1st couple of years but now i just do melbourne games and being from ballarat i find it harder to get down all the time, and also there is stuff all dees supporters who are afl members so will be nice to sit with them all again. and i wont have to listen to some of the passionate cheering that comes out of the pies supporters there :D

fixed

:D

I called the AFL today as my waitlist number is 8400odd(not sure why people are ** out part of their numbers??) my wife a mate who joined at the same time are 10120 & 10123. I was told that because i enquired about an AFL membership during the '07 season(therefore giving the AFL my details) & we all joined for the '08 season my waitlist number was 1500odd spots higher. I'm not complaining though! hopefully only another 4-5 years until full membership.

The AFL should make a rule where supporters of participating clubs have access to the Grand Final whether they are silver or Gold.
Does not have to be at the cheaper price like with full membership. No one should complain about that.
I would not be complaining if I could not go to Grand Final if my team was not playing. I would not give a rats.
However, it does hurt knowing that your team is in Grand Final and you can't get tickets as a silver member, while supporters of other clubs with full membership have access to the Grand Final, get a ticket and then scalp that ticket for $800-1,000 :rolleyes:

The AFL should make a rule where supporters of participating clubs have access to the Grand Final whether they are silver or Gold.
Does not have to be at the cheaper price like with full membership. No one should complain about that.
I would not be complaining if I could not go to Grand Final if my team was not playing. I would not give a rats.
However, it does hurt knowing that your team is in Grand Final and you can't get tickets as a silver member, while supporters of other clubs with full membership have access to the Grand Final, get a ticket and then scalp that ticket for $800-1,000 :rolleyes:

When scanning ya Grand Final ticket you must show ID and afl membership card at the gate. So you really can't scalp AFL section Grand Final tickets as the other guy will not be given access inside the ground

[/b]

When scanning ya Grand Final ticket you must show ID and afl membership card at the gate. So you really can't scalp AFL section Grand Final tickets as the other guy will not be given access inside the ground

I know someone who did this and had no trouble at all. The person who bought the ticket wasn't asked for ID.

Anyway, I joined December 2009 or January 2010 and I'm 16624. I didn't think it would be that high. I heard that it's usually a 10-12 year wait but that looks like it could be another 16 years.

I know someone who did this and had no trouble at all. The person who bought the ticket wasn't asked for ID.

Anyway, I joined December 2009 or January 2010 and I'm 16624. I didn't think it would be that high. I heard that it's usually a 10-12 year wait but that looks like it could be another 16 years.

Yeah I've had mates in past who are full members going to the Grand Final and not be asked for ID.....however last years 1st Grand Final I was asked to show ID and AFL card at the gate.

AFL Membership club support numbers are current as at 9am, Monday, February 7, 2011.

Total 41,996
Full Members 23,871

So they cap full membership at 30,000, this means 6,129 spots are currently up.

AFL Membership club support numbers are current as at 9am, Monday, February 7, 2011.

Total 41,996
Full Members 23,871

So they cap full membership at 30,000, this means 6,129 spots are currently up.

Not if that's just club support numbers - they also sell AFL memberships with no club allegiance (who are these people?) that could add thousands more.

Got mine today, i only signed up this year so im 21,931. As pointed out earlier in the thread, the more games attended will have an influence on your waiting number.

As pointed out earlier in the thread, that is complete bollocks.

Not if that's just club support numbers - they also sell AFL memberships with no club allegiance (who are these people?) that could add thousands more.
I think country memberships aren't aligned to a club. My mate who's a full member but gets it as a country membership (his dad lives out there and uses his address so it's cheaper) isn't a club support member. Asked him why he said because it's a country one.

Perhaps you could explain the difffernces between some join dates and and wait list numbers that have been posted in the thread.
While there will always be administrative errors and anomalies with some memberships meaning not so consistent waitlist numbers, I hazard a guess that not all the information from posters in this thread is accurate.

Call me ignorant, call me naive, but I trust the AFL Membership email.