AFL= UnAustralian?

living in denial...why else would AFL put a 2nd team into a city that barely supports 1 and the game itself?
A few million potentoal supporters might have something to do with it. Why did the NRL put a RL team in Melbourne with very little support?

I was astonished at the 60 minutes story this year..done by channel 9 who basically runs rugby league and they do it a pro afl story and how its taking over west sydney..:rolleyes:
sounds like more propaganda by the Sydney media in their quest in creating an US V them mentallity when it comes to AF in Sydney

AFL promotes the hell out of Keiran Jack and Garry at every swans game and make sure he is in screen and also then get Garry to bitch about what rugby league is doing wrong.
I'm sorry what role does the AFL play in this? The media did the same for the Irishman Kennelly a few years ago.

With regard to the footy codes media coverage varies dramatically from state to state.
NRL is prevalent in NSW and Qld, gets minimal coverage in Victoria and virtually none anywhere else. Where as AFL gets huge exposure in Vic, WA and SA and minimal coverage in NSW and Qld (still they get a lot more coverage compared with NRL in Victoria).

On the other hand cricket gets blanket coverage across the country and dominates the sports media between October and March after the football season has ended.

With cricket dominating in summer and footy in winter it is not easy to work out the media coverage across all 12 months but I would say you have it right with:
1) afl
2) cricket
3) nrl

I would say that's correct or Aussie Rules and Cricket = top and NRL fair way behind in 3rd place

2a few million potentoal supporters might have something to do with it. Why did the NRL put a RL team in Melbourne with very little support?

in 1982...no support...bris though had a little

Storm were brought as a reaction to Super League, news ltd wanted something out of it

sounds like more propagand by the Sydney media to create an US V them mentallity when it comes to AF in Sydney

of course..news ltd driven as it sells more papers

I'm sorry what role does the AFL play in this? The media did the same for the Irishman Kennelly a few years ago.

but the irish had nothing to do with sydney, they love jack as its a 'win' to afl over rl

IMO - Cricket is the sport that brings all Australians together. It's number 1. No other sport has the same kind of both active or latent support or interest.

By the way, who keeps on rating the threads in here as "terrible"...?

IMO - Cricket is the sport that brings all Australians together. It's number 1. No other sport has the same kind of both active or latent support or interest.

By the way, who keeps on rating the threads in here as "terrible"...?

true...cricket is the only true australian sport, as it is popular everywhere...

I thought it was asked to rank the sport by media coverage rather than popularity. The amount of space given to the AFL in the Melbourne media in particular very much outweighs everything else.

And cricket here is not quite like it is on the sub-continent, sure I'm watching the game right now but I know a few people who are sick of the Australian cricket team due to a perceived arrogance among players.

I thought it was asked to rank the sport by media coverage rather than popularity. The amount of space given to the AFL in the Melbourne media in particular very much outweighs everything else.

And cricket here is not quite like it is on the sub-continent, sure I'm watching the game right now but I know a few people who are sick of the Australian cricket team due to a perceived arrogance among players.

im one of them

media in sydney though is 70% league...we are such a different sporting nation to everyone else its so hard to judge which is most popular

The AFL were quite in their rights to get the flags taken down.

Why should the AFL promote rugby league?

Does TELSTRA promote OPTUS? NO!
Does McDonalds promote Hungry Jacks? NO!
Dose Channel 7 promote Channels 9 or 10? NO!
Does FORD promote HOLDEN? NO!

GET REAL! :mad:

What a silly thread! :thumbsdown:

Fair point, if the ARL wanted to buy ground signage at an AFL match.
which they dont.

The banners referred to, were in a public street, outside the AFL's RENTED office, in a supposed multi-purpose stadium.

AFL = scaredy-pants.
Tassie Girl jnr - get a clue.

It's called "BUSSINESS" erpel9999, If you can stop a competitor from getting an inch on you, you do.

erpel9999, you're the one that should get a clue.

you hit the nail right on the head tassie girl jnr.

I have to admit, after the Indian tour to Australia I was left feeling fed-up with Cricket - not only with the Aussie team but with people on both sides of the debacle... arrogance, racism and the tall poppy syndrome made for one irritating summer of Cricket.

But I know it'll suck me in again - it's already started to...

You are biased towards AFL and it shows.
Well this is the only AFL based site I am a member of compared with about half a dozen rugby league ones and therefore I'm probably more in an AFL mindset when I head over here but that doesn't mean I don't support League. I have been to over 40 games of Rugby League in 2008 and less than 10 AFL games in the same time, but I still get my memberships, buy the merchandise and generally get excited by my teams performances equally as much.

You have a look again and see if you can see how you have been biased in this post, it shouldn't be hard if you are a RL fan.
The only thing I can get out of that comment is perhaps the use of the words 'prevalent' and 'huge exposure'. Well if you have ever compared a Sydney newspaper with a Melbourne one during the football seasons you will find a much greater space dedicated to the AFL in Melbourne than dedicated to the NRL in Sydney ones and so I stand by that.

Well this is the only AFL based site I am a member of compared with about half a dozen rugby league ones and therefore I'm probably more in an AFL mindset when I head over here but that doesn't mean I don't support League. I have been to over 40 games of Rugby League in 2008 and less than 10 AFL games in the same time, but I still get my memberships, buy the merchandise and generally get excited by my teams performances equally as much.

That's nice, must cost a small fortune.

The only thing I can get out of that comment is perhaps the use of the words 'prevalent' and 'huge exposure'. Well if you have ever compared a Sydney newspaper with a Melbourne one during the football seasons you will find a much greater space dedicated to the AFL in Melbourne than dedicated to the NRL in Sydney ones and so I stand by that.

Yes, I'm glad you seen it, doesn't mean you're right though.

If you put all the news articles from each sport up against each other, it would be AFL, NRL then Cricket.

Cricket is not a weekly game for half a year like the other two, yes it gets massive publicity, but I'd bet the two footy codes out here would both beat it in coverage.

People are turning off cricket now because of Pay TV, you get sick of it after a while when you can watch any match you like.

I watched about 10 mins of this latest test match and I use to be Cricket mad.

Haha, I like this Indian guy.

Now for the AFL/NRL fan!

moskingqa5.gif

'You RL fan you'

(s******)
hi mate, there is nothing funny at all in any sense what so ever at all, can u help me by putting me out of my misery by answering the following-
mate, if there is a location mentioned for everyone who is posting, then is it understood that, tht fellow lives in that particular place?
who are conisdered the biggest stars in aus, is it fair to say, afl and nrl players, cricketers and hollywood actors and actresses, u can answer in one word if its yes, thx

hi guys, i am really really confused, just a quick question, if someone living in oz can help
what wud be the top 3 sports in australia and in what order of preference overall on a national basis?

hi guys, i am really really confused, just a quick question, if someone living in oz can help
what wud be the top 3 sports in australia and in what order of preference overall on a national basis?

1. Aussie Rules
2. Cricket
3. Netball (More girls/women play Netball than there are players playing rugby league)

LOL thats the way to confuse him! And can I just say I f***ing hate that new Trans-Tasman league! They turned my team into the Swans! Except that they are not quite as feminine. ;)

And could this thread get any more off topic?

LOL thats the way to confuse him! And can I just say I f***ing hate that new Trans-Tasman league! They turned my team into the Swans! Except that they are not quite as feminine. ;)

And could this thread get any more off topic?
mate no worries if its getting off topic to any extent, can u please tell me that when there is a location mentioned along with someone posting, then does that mean that, that fellow lives there?

Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't ...
Sometimes I'm here, sometimes I'm there ...

Confused yet?

NRL is nothing but a novelty in melbourne that's the way it is and always will be! The AFL should have just done nothing about the posters, its not like any harm would have been done. AFL, Vegemite and Victa lawnmowers(Australian):thumbsu: RL and Cricket (poms):(.

its fine you saying that...as long as you know afl is and never will be more than a novelty in sydney

can anyone living in oz tell me that who are the most well known stars in oz.
like here in india its cricketers and bollywood actors/actresses
you can answer in one word, yes or no.
are they cricketers, afl and nrl players and hollywood actors/actresses?yes or no

AFL= UnAustralian?