rockstarr
So how does everyone think the ladders will end up in the velocity and pineapple hotel cups at the end of the season?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Aspley have signed a fair few eagles just to mention some;
tapp
argus
niland-rowe
nikos keim
forbes
i believe 4 of them finished in eagles top ten at the B&F
most of the kids from eagles are training with aspley
the only players of note that aspley didnt get are payne, lucy, myles and pratt.
i think the players you have missed are the ones you need. To be competitive.
BIG E how many years do think you have at the top level.
Apparently the Northside teams will do well.So how does everyone think the ladders will end up in the velocity and pineapple hotel cups at the end of the season?
Rumour has it the vikings may have added a multiple premiership winning player from Morningside after he had a year on the sidelines.
Ease up, Royboy, Sandgate have had some very lean years. It's great to see them up again in 08, and looking like continuing that in 09. But Grange and Maroochy rubbish? They've played a few finals over the past few years (although don't think either played finals last year).
Ebbs and flows, sides have good patches, as well as poor years.
Apparently the Northside teams will do well.
Or at least I'm scared to say otherwise given the bleating in this thread.
any hints?
Gee you experts must have some serious inside info to be sprouting off such definitive statements- Why is it such a tuff gig for Rogers?
Would have thought Grange were easily as well placed as Sandgate given they actually have great facilities, a top clubhouse, plenty of $$ in the bank and a close state league club (Eagles) just went bust freeing up Div 1 locals to fall back???
Maroochy - some good pickups and great facilities now. core group was very good - if they can pick up a few (which they will) they will be a competitive side.
Mayne - I agree - a worry as they seem lost and living year to year trying to conjure something with no long term plan - but the do have a long history etc...
It all comes down to recruiting over Oct - Feb - so unless you have serious inside info on that topic you are just guessing - big time. (Pretty sure these clubs won't be spruiking who they have recruited on sites like this)
But I'm pretty sure those clubs you mentioned all will be quite happy with being underestimated going into the season!
you say grange and sandgate have great facilities are you serious sandgate dont even have a clubhouse so how is that great facilities and unless the rules have changed i dont think richard griffiths gives out 4 points for great facilities.get serious.
why rogers has a tough job has been answered by others they could not even make finals last year and they have lost more than gained so tough to improve when thats happening.
quote]
I said Grange had good facilities not Sandgate. Facilities attract players, sponsorship, income etc...
Am I missing a web page that lists details of all recruiting that each club has going on??? MMMM can you please provide a link?
im pretty sure neither played finals in 2008 or 2007. 06 maybe im cant remember that far back, rubbish may have been a tad harsh, but still IMO those 3 wont be anywhere near it.
premiers will come from one of these 4
Noosa
PBC
Surfers
Sandgate
Looking unlikely I'll play due to work and body issues but I'd expect a more competitive side than last year (like it'd be hard) and hopefully a few wins, although I have no idea (other than this thread) how anyone else is going in comparisonSpringwood building up nicely Lenny ?
you say grange and sandgate have great facilities are you serious sandgate dont even have a clubhouse so how is that great facilities and unless the rules have changed i dont think richard griffiths gives out 4 points for great facilities.get serious.
why rogers has a tough job has been answered by others they could not even make finals last year and they have lost more than gained so tough to improve when thats happening.
you say maroochy have a good core are you kidding they won how many games in 08 not many.
all i can guess is your team are battlers but just in case you have not seen grand final day they only give out 22 medals.
this is not underestimating these teams its facts every year these teams trap of and once the ball is bounced they are still ordinary and are treated like trial games from certain coast clubs.
and yes there where the eagles players all available but they spread and spread widely as no club was good enough to get the majority to one club some football administrators need to be shot maybe aspleys.from what i hear all aspley had to do was give the job to davis that would of been common sense anyway but now the hornets can make room in the trophy cabinet cause the 09 wooden spoon is theres already.
and mr sandgate jorge your club was happy with how you went in 08 and did not even make finals your team is old and slow and not even a top 3 chance in 09 let alone a contender.also your very lucky you got dan dickfos as well as hearing that the new coach is not that popular as the players are feeling he thinks he is better than they are.by the way just cause i am at coast does not mean i dont know about your club but what a shock just like game days brisbane teams are always worried about the coast people and clubs.
We are extremely lucky to have a great bloke like dan running around with us again this year as his footy experience is arguably the best going around in either state league comp... Not sure about longy being unpopular with the players cos we have been getting 40 - 50 blokes to training most nights which in all honesty has been unheard of for us over the past 5 or 6 years, Having last year only missed out on 5th place by a game was a pretty good effort for a team that had barely troubled the scorers for the previous 4 seasons. But i suppose We can't all be superstar seagulls and from the coast.
can anyone give me any info on a bloke called corey munson i think he played for labradore? has just signed in our local league in wagga for massive coin and comes with big rapts.. hows he go?
that seems to be a fairly harsh critique on munson, i have not seen him play much, but it sounds to me like you have an axe to grind on the poor kid??
you say maroochy have a good core are you kidding they won how many games in 08 not many.
all i can guess is your team are battlers but just in case you have not seen grand final day they only give out 22 medals.
this is not underestimating these teams its facts every year these teams trap of and once the ball is bounced they are still ordinary and are treated like trial games from certain coast clubs.
and yes there where the eagles players all available but they spread and spread widely as no club was good enough to get the majority to one club some football administrators need to be shot maybe aspleys.from what i hear all aspley had to do was give the job to davis that would of been common sense anyway but now the hornets can make room in the trophy cabinet cause the 09 wooden spoon is theres already.
and mr sandgate jorge your club was happy with how you went in 08 and did not even make finals your team is old and slow and not even a top 3 chance in 09 let alone a contender.also your very lucky you got dan dickfos as well as hearing that the new coach is not that popular as the players are feeling he thinks he is better than they are.by the way just cause i am at coast does not mean i dont know about your club but what a shock just like game days brisbane teams are always worried about the coast people and clubs.
hot of press d.lake mt gravatt and m.davis eagles have already taken calls to coach aspley in 2010 but i guess that was always going to happen when martin only got offered a 1 year contract.
would put something on here about coast footy but seems to be a northside forum.
Hahaha like game day Brisbane clubs are worried about coast teams hey, geez bud, you might want to put away the ego before you inflate and fly away. Ive never remembered once being concerned about any coast team.
Further i do not know where you get the idea of me being a Sandgate player, but what i will tell you for free is that apart from 5-6 players older then 26 last year the combined average of the team was 21-22, pretty old hey!!!!!
Last point of interest to diffuse is your critique of a club that was actually kicked out of the grounds by the landholder in 07 and played out of a borrowed ground and club.Falling one game short of the finals was quite a significant step up from previous seasons. The fact Sandgate blooded so many youngsters last season will stand them in good stead, so before trashing a club with history on it's side, i suggest you get your own facts straight. face it, while Brisbane and coast teams play against each other, we will agree to disagree and continually hate each other. Mate apart from PBC which has a history of doubtful "payments" to players, i dont think anyone could say that the others have a constant success over the years, to the point of rubbishing others.
Hahaha like game day Brisbane clubs are worried about coast teams hey, geez bud, you might want to put away the ego before you inflate and fly away. Ive never remembered once being concerned about any coast team.
Further i do not know where you get the idea of me being a Sandgate player, but what i will tell you for free is that apart from 5-6 players older then 26 last year the combined average of the team was 21-22, pretty old hey!!!!!
Last point of interest to diffuse is your critique of a club that was actually kicked out of the grounds by the landholder in 06/7 i think and played out of a borrowed ground and club.Falling one game short of the finals was quite a significant step up from previous seasons. The fact Sandgate blooded so many youngsters last season will stand them in good stead, so before trashing a club with history on it's side, i suggest you get your own facts straight. face it, while Brisbane and coast teams play against each other, we will agree to disagree and continually hate each other. Mate apart from PBC which has a history of doubtful "payments" to players, i dont think anyone could say that the others have a constant success over the years, to the point of rubbishing others.
i am happy to agree to disagree that is what a forum is.but it is still good to see for some just missing the finals is a mighty effort.and i see a couple of yous are still very defensive there in brisbane town.
southport have constant success as well in the top level.
cooly have also won a couple in the last 8 years or so and lost one so they did ok for a while.
kicked the best goal you will ever see in a grand final a few years back
a r ??
Where have I heard that before?
would that be short for ashley rodrigues
throw him into the mix and they must be red hot to go back to back??? Anyone know how many they've picked up or lost?? who's going to challenge them in 09'?Apparently he is on board, playing with a few old Morningside mates, he will probably kick somewhere between 70-100 goals.