AFLQ Premier Division

from what i understand about one of the proposed points system (which was similar to one in victoria), is that you can recruit whoever the hell you want, but you can only name a team that is under the points quota.

lucas matthews being a local boy, coming back a division i would say would get the minimum points (meaning you would pay him as much as possible to try and get him), as would any of your local players that have come through 18s etc. Any superstar players that have come from another local (less than 100km) club, would recieve the maximum points (to stop clubs with money poaching from local clubs that don't have money), and superstars that come from interstate, or from another town get middle of the range points.

that would mean that if people were to move to a town, they could relatively easily get signed up with a club who wouldn't necessarilly suffer harsh penalities. it would reward clubs who keep juniors from under 16s through to seniors (like springwood), as it would mean they have points available to poach.

in regards to players turning up mid season, if you have recruited and have your full quota of points, there are other clubs that the player can go to. it would mean that the comp is evened out a bit more as it doesn't necessarily advantage the clubs with money.

in reply to the grange bloke, i wasn't having a go at you, more just saying you sound like you have recruited well as you were very vocal in your opinion about starting something half arsed without any planning.

if you know afl qld like i know afl qld, they will spend 18 months commissioning a study in regards to whether or not clubs want the points system, then appoint someone fulltime for 2 years to come up with the points system policy, then right before the start of the season one club will object and it will all be thrown in the bin.

Yeah mate, no offence taken, I just wanted to clarify that Grange is right behind the idea but wants to make sure it is the right system, not a last minute thing. You are right about clubs that put the time and effort into developing juniors and turning them into good senior players at State League level (or higher) should get encouragement to get them back at their club, also needs to consider proximity to other clubs competing for players, population, where you finished last couple of years (maybe some extra points the following year for bottom of ladder) etc. etc. There are tons of possibilities.

List management and targeted recruiting will be critical, and you will see clubs working hard to develop their own young players and then supplement that with some quality recruits, many of which will be former club juniors returning after playing in stronger leagues, which is great for the clubs that put in the effort to develop them.

This is things did the rounds at the start of last season and there's a similiar one in the State League forum. May as well kick it off.

Anyone feel free to add in any more variables.

Premiers: PBC
Wooden Spooners: Mayne... although I hope they don't
League Medal: A league Newcomber from Palmy
Biggest Improver from 10: Maggies obviously, but Springwood from the other teams
Biggest Slider from 10: The talk is Maroochy
Goal Kicker: Dane Frew
Most under-rated player: Cubby Isles/ Dan Green
Most over-rated player: ???
Most loyal player in the league: Housego
Toughest bloke in the league: ???
Biggest Sook in the league: s364 is in danger of taking that crown

He didnt play in 2010 and neither did 14 others from 2009 losing pre lim final side for various reasons some went interstate some went to other local clubs for money.
fair enough good club very strong juniors that have fed Southport for a while now, do Southport help out in any way?

This is things did the rounds at the start of last season and there's a similiar one in the State League forum. May as well kick it off.

Anyone feel free to add in any more variables.

Premiers: PBC
Wooden Spooners: Mayne... although I hope they don't
League Medal: A league Newcomber from Palmy
Biggest Improver from 10: Maggies obviously, but Springwood from the other teams
Biggest Slider from 10: The talk is Maroochy
Goal Kicker: Dane Frew
Most under-rated player: Cubby Isles/ Dan Green
Most over-rated player: ???
Toughest bloke in the league: ???
Biggest Sook in the league: s364 is in danger of taking that crown

Premiers:Noosa Magpies tie (maggies in extra time)
Wooden Spooners: Mayne... although I hope they don't same
League Medal: L Mathews
Biggest Improver from 10: Grange (I like the maggies comment though)
Biggest Slider from 10: Maroochy
Goal Kicker: The new FF at Noosa
Most under-rated player:
Most over-rated player:
Most loyal player in the league: Val Pope
Toughest bloke in the league: Brauer (hard but fair)
Biggest Sook in the league: Good player but Houesy

Premiers:Noosa Magpies tie (maggies in extra time)
Wooden Spooners: Mayne... although I hope they don't same
League Medal: L Mathews
Biggest Improver from 10: Grange (I like the maggies comment though)
Goal Kicker: The new FF at Noosa
Most under-rated player:
Most over-rated player:
Toughest bloke in the league: Brauer (hard but fair)
Biggest Sook in the league: Good player but Houesy

i don't think the league has changed the rule on a drawn gf. replay the following week. i might be wrong

Premiers: Sandgate
Wooden Spooners: Mayne
[/B]League Medal: L Mathews, Horn
Biggest Improver from 10: Grange or springwood
Goal Kicker: B Forbes
Most under-rated player: Aaron Fabian
Most over-rated player: Oswell (grange)
Most loyal player in the league: Glen Hunter
Toughest bloke in the league: Wehnam from maggies will be
Biggest Sook in the league: ?

Premiers: Noosa
Wooden Spooners: Maroochydore
League Medal: Jimmy Rozinski (Apologies for spelling)
Biggest Improver from 10: Grange
Biggest Slider from 10: Burleigh
Goal Kicker: Frew - Lobb - forbes - walker all 60+
Most under-rated player:Tom Mcittrick
Most over-rated player: Wait to see the new star recruits at each club, always a few duds!
Toughest bloke in the league: Jimmy Rozinski
Biggest Sook in the league: ?

Premiers- Noosa
Wooden Spooners-Springwood
League medal- Horn
Improver-Grange
Slider-Maroochy/Northshore
Goalkicker-Hicks
Most underrated-definitely Isles
Most overrated-plenty(just ask them)
Most loyal-Housego/Fenton
Toughest player-Matthews(Noosa)
Biggest sooks-Maroochy supporters

Premiers- Magpies
Wooden Spooner- Coolangatta
League Medal- Luke Faulkner
Improver- Grange
Slider-Maroochy
Goal kicker-Hicks
Most loyal Housego and Dickfos
tughest.Dickfos

T
Premiers- Noosa
Wooden Spooners-Springwood
League medal- Horn
Improver-Grange
Slider-Maroochy/Northshore
Goalkicker-Hicks
Most underrated-definitely Isles
Most overrated-plenty(just ask them)
Most loyal-Housego/Fenton
Toughest player-Matthews(Noosa)
Biggest sooks-Maroochy supporters

Is hicks a definate, one week he is playin div 3, the next he isnt playing, now he is leading the goal kicking?

Whats frew's history?

Frew is ex Bendigo football league, Played for South Bendigo who where defeated in 2010 GF by Golden Square. Was held in high reguard in the tough Bendigo Comp, In the top 5 players in the comp.
Apparently kicked 17 goals in a game against Kangeroo Flat in 2008.
Will dominate the Pineapple cup.

Frew is ex Bendigo football league, Played for South Bendigo who where defeated in 2010 GF by Golden Square. Was held in high reguard in the tough Bendigo Comp, In the top 5 players in the comp.
Apparently kicked 17 goals in a game against Kangeroo Flat in 2008.
Will dominate the Pineapple cup.

Have heard that statement a million times as well - time will tell i spose.

Points system is ideal for this comp IMO - as the Grange man said, if put into place (fairly) it is very easily policed. Any club that has good juniors will benefit greatly from it.
Someone said L.Matthews was a "local boy"?? Imagine his Bendigo / Canberra connections would have something to say about that. he would have come with big points.

Premiers:Sandgate
Wooden Spooners: Coolangatta
League Medal:Hawkins
Biggest Slider from 10: Maroochydore
Goal Kicker: Frew or Hicks (Goodluck to all backlines V Noosa)
Most under-rated player: Pope
Most over-rated player: Forbes
Most loyal player in the league: Fenton
Toughest bloke in the league: Dickfos
Biggest Sook in the league: PBC's Coach

Have heard that statement a million times as well - time will tell i spose.

Points system is ideal for this comp IMO - as the Grange man said, if put into place (fairly) it is very easily policed. Any club that has good juniors will benefit greatly from it.
Someone said L.Matthews was a "local boy"?? Imagine his Bendigo / Canberra connections would have something to say about that. he would have come with big points.

5 Years must class as local, minus age handicap, minus meatpies = 0 points!

from what i understand about one of the proposed points system (which was similar to one in victoria), is that you can recruit whoever the hell you want, but you can only name a team that is under the points quota.

lucas matthews being a local boy, coming back a division i would say would get the minimum points (meaning you would pay him as much as possible to try and get him), as would any of your local players that have come through 18s etc. Any superstar players that have come from another local (less than 100km) club, would recieve the maximum points (to stop clubs with money poaching from local clubs that don't have money), and superstars that come from interstate, or from another town get middle of the range points.

that would mean that if people were to move to a town, they could relatively easily get signed up with a club who wouldn't necessarilly suffer harsh penalities. it would reward clubs who keep juniors from under 16s through to seniors (like springwood), as it would mean they have points available to poach.

in regards to players turning up mid season, if you have recruited and have your full quota of points, there are other clubs that the player can go to. it would mean that the comp is evened out a bit more as it doesn't necessarily advantage the clubs with money.

in reply to the grange bloke, i wasn't having a go at you, more just saying you sound like you have recruited well as you were very vocal in your opinion about starting something half arsed without any planning.

if you know afl qld like i know afl qld, they will spend 18 months commissioning a study in regards to whether or not clubs want the points system, then appoint someone fulltime for 2 years to come up with the points system policy, then right before the start of the season one club will object and it will all be thrown in the bin.

Im only talking about the 2 northern coast teams here, and id imagine the goldie as well, but if someone moves here and wants to be cleared to play at Noosa, Maroochy, Goldie or whatever, its a crime to tell them you cant play them because our club has filled there quota of points!! They will leave and never come back, and will be sure to tell any interstate friends not to bother moving to our comp!! It cant work, there is a salary cap, each club is supposed to abide by it. And unfortunately there is no way to police it. I honestly would rather a few players in every club payed under the table and have the best players running round than tell them we cant have you here cause of some fanciful points system.
Any thoughts?

T

Is hicks a definate, one week he is playin div 3, the next he isnt playing, now he is leading the goal kicking?

Whats frew's history?

Hicks is a good friend, hasnt made his mind up yet. Work and house are not helping him. And to shut s36 up once and for all, he told me he was called byMaroochy last year when he said he wasnt playing and again this pre season. So s36, get your own bed in order before you rustle another clubs sheets!!

I'll have a go plus a few extra catergories!
Premiers:Noosa
League Medal:Matthews ,Horn
Goal Kicker: Walker,Forbes and Frew if the talk about him turns into results
Most under-rated player:Cubby Isles
Most over-rated player: Plenty of them from all teams
Toughest bloke in the league: Dickfos,Rozynski
Biggest Sook in the league:
Worst supporters: Sorry Noosa(only in last few years), closely follwed by Palmie
Best Dj in league: Maroochydore no.1 ticket holder
Best spectator venue: Grange, great venue for last year GF
Best eye candy: Palmie or Noosa
Worst road trip: Noosa to magpies
Best visitor Changerooms: Surfers
Best social facility:palmie

I'll have a go plus a few extra catergories!
Premiers:Noosa
League Medal:Matthews ,Horn
Goal Kicker: Walker,Forbes and Frew if the talk about him turns into results
Most under-rated player:Cubby Isles
Most over-rated player: Plenty of them from all teams
Toughest bloke in the league: Dickfos,Rozynski
Biggest Sook in the league:
Worst supporters: Sorry Noosa(only in last few years), closely follwed by Palmie
Best Dj in league: Maroochydore no.1 ticket holder
Best spectator venue: Grange, great venue for last year GF
Best eye candy: Palmie or Noosa
Worst road trip: Noosa to magpies
Best visitor Changerooms: Surfers
Best social facility:palmie
Not having a go at you, but why is Noosa to Magpies the worst road trip? is it because you consider a tough game to win?

Not true at surfers the players play for nothing and any award money they get is raised by themselves doing raffles down the local pub.
Money is then split up between reserves and seniors and the workload shared among the playing group ,committee and supporters.

Just wondering how Surfers got around the minimum salary cap requirement if they didn't pay their players?

Im only talking about the 2 northern coast teams here, and id imagine the goldie as well,

people move to Brisbane too bro :eek: even Sandgate!!!;)

but if someone moves here and wants to be cleared to play at Noosa, Maroochy, Goldie or whatever, its a crime to tell them you cant play them because our club has filled there quota of points!!

nothing stoppin the club from playin them if they play a bunch of their own kids as well to come under points total - good for development of young players and the game........cos I'm pretty sure not too many O&M, VCFL etc gun players move up here off there own bat and then rock up to a club and play for nothing just to have a kick!!

They will leave and never come back, and will be sure to tell any interstate friends not to bother moving to our comp!!
GOOD!! save clubs a fortune and and more locals get a game!! the ones that are WORTH IT will still stay and be wanted.

It cant work, there is a salary cap, each club is supposed to abide by it. And unfortunately there is no way to police it.
WTF??:confused: so you want to go with the soooo successful salary cap idea that you say can't be policed....dude, point system works in heaps of leagues even the WAFL uses it i think!!

I honestly would rather a few players in every club payed under the table and have the best players running round than tell them we cant have you here cause of some fanciful points system.
Any thoughts?

trouble is that it isnt a few players in every club, it is many more guns in cashed up clubs and less in clubs that don't have the cash - this means cash = success and this is screwing clubs over as they try to get enough cash to be successful on the field...same as my credit card...living beyond my means trying to score a root = financial disaster in the end...or I just accept that I am a loser and keep a healthy bank balance:D

Hicks is a good friend, hasnt made his mind up yet. Work and house are not helping him. And to shut s36 up once and for all, he told me he was called byMaroochy last year when he said he wasnt playing and again this pre season. So s36, get your own bed in order before you rustle another clubs sheets!!

gee whiz, no need to get personal.

big difference about talking to a player who doesn't want to play for a club (for whatever reason he has) and trying to poach players behind clubs backs.

it's a shame to see a talent like hicks sitting on the sidelines not playing becuase of his reasons, maroochy thought that they would offer him a chance to stay living on the coast and play footy, with no strings attached. free to leave whenever he wanted. goes to show the difference in character of hicks and the maroochy boys that have gone up there. hicks would rather sit out from footy than go to the opposition.