AFL's longterm future

Malthouse dickhead being chopped up by D King with facts.

Sounds like the answer is the nuclear option of zones. Only way to limit stoppage which is the curse of the game.

I'm with Healy, King.

Healy is with me totally. Even quoted my post #67 almost word for word.
Zones? Please no, that would be an absolute disaster for the sport.

Expansion was stupid.

The AFLPA should have held out on the AFL for a significantly increased percentage of the total profit as the league are willing to throw away money at long term failures like GWS and GC.

Still... no team in Tassie. Yet Tassie could post attendance equal to the combined home attendance of GC and GWS with ease. I'm actually hoping an A-League team pops up in Tassie so the AFL gets completely outed in the state. Soccer is very popular amongst kids in Tassie and with the AFL only willing to have their existing clubs sell games to Tassie I think they will lose a significant amount of support in the future in Tassie. This arrogance will become a significant issue for the AFL going forward.

If the AFL want to expand their brand they should make it more attractive. They can do this by focusing on the areas that actually care about AFL, that is VIC, SA, WA, NT and TAS. If they strengthen the AFL's brand in these locations the other two states will gradually buy into the hype and want in.

As for the game itself.

Clean up the rules so they are simple and easy for the fans/players to understand.

Get rid of the sub but cap rotations at a low enough number to reduce congestion (maybe 60-80).

Increase the number of free kicks paid for off the ball holding and holding just before the player gets the ball. It is probably half the reason games become so congested because players can't move freely to open up the game.

That is all.

Longterm future eh. AFL will be the first sport to expand into our 'cousin planet ' Kepler 452b and players go back to tackling around the waist as the locals have 10 arms. Stoppage problem remains unsolved.

3 forwards should be satellite tracked and disallowed to enter defensive 50. An ump on the sidelines is alerted and he informs the umpires and a free kick is given to the other side. This will keep 3 forwards and their opponents out of the defensive 50 at either end. That's 6 players removed from congested forward lines. That will open the game up and bring back higher scores and high marks. With 3 forwards not trying to defend in the defensive 50 this urge them to play closer to goal as they will be options when the ball is rebounded. This will also urge other players to stay outside defensive 50 as they'll have have a target up field when rebounding and they'll want to be closer to the wing than the defensive goal if they want to have a decent crack at delivering the ball to a forward from a rebound

Stop messing with the rules.
Stop thinking you are bigger than the game, you're an administrator
Stop telling me what I can and can't do after I purchased the ticket
Don't ignore me because there are thousands like me
I can always go to the local footy
I don't need you as much as you want me

Signed many.

He was the CEO from 2004....It is far too simplistic and naive to try and lay blame on any one person. He made mistakes, as did all of his predecessors as will everyone who comes after him. However we have a football commission in place charged with ensuring the game thrives. They have the ultimate responsibility for the game. The CEO needs to make sure the game makes money. Vlad was unparalleled in that regard for sport in Australian history....
That was the point I was making. The football commission became his yet men. Vlad was in the right place at the right time where free to air TV had to pay top $ for content because of the internet. He also extracted billions from state and federal governments. But despite all this money is the game any better? More professional - yes. More money absolutely but as a spectacle, as a game kids are wanting to play well clearly that is a no. You see in Gaelic footy that it has thrived not despite but indeed because of soccer and it is amateur! I am not saying "it was better in my day" I am saying the AFL suffers from Hubris and that it has taken its fans for granted. It has broken the relationship and it desperately needs to be put back together.

SEN has buggered footy for me. I used to listen to it everday from 530 am til abiut 4 pm. They used to talk about different things and positive things.
Since the drugs saga came out its almost like SEN cant do a positive story. Be it drugs with essendon. Drugs with collingwood. What rule should we change to fix this.. how do we make the "best game in the world" better.. why do people boo goodes. Everyone is racist if they boo...

negative stories are an easy fall back option. Journos have gotten lazy and its an easy story. Pat smith jon ralph and greg denham are all puppets. The day they have a positive word to say they will probably be sacked

Bloody hell. Negativity all day long. I never thought with richmond winning games i wouldnt be able to listen to my favorite radio station.

Last week i turned to gold fm and any time ive turned back its the same crap.
Get stuffed SEN!!!

Eventually. Yes.
The current crop grew up loving the game.
Behind them is a generation of kids watching stoppages, blokes who can't kick left foot, one speccy per week instead of two per game, 120 rotations and a plus one behind the ball at all times.
If this game is to compete for our kids in a global market it needs gifted stars that are allowed to showcase their skills and amaze the crowd. Not fight against 2 defenders and bring the ball to ground to create a stoppage. You won't see Messi or Ronaldo doing that shit.

Fair enough. I can see the logic, and it's not deeply flawed, but I'll respectfully disagree.

I think the game at amateur and junior levels gets too closely linked to what's happening with the AFL. There is some influence, but I think it's overstated.

My son doesn't talk endlessly about AFL games. But he will talk for hours about his best mate taking a contested mark over the big kid on the opposition team, or the goal he kicked, or how a teammate was really great with clearances this week. Kids love playing way more than they like watching. As long as they can play a fun game, they'll love that game.

The U10's don't care how many rotations there are, none can kick left foot on the run, and none jump high enough to get a sit on someone's shoulders. (Don't worry. Every mark is a "speccy"!) Doesn't stop them having the best hour of their week on the footy ground.

Overly-competitive parents are probably a greater risk to the future of the game than the AFL being congested for a few seasons.

Zones? Please no, that would be an absolute disaster for the sport.

Absolutely. It would be the end. It's not Aussie Rules if you fundamentally change the rules.

And while I'm at it, it's not ****ing AC/DC when Bon Scott is not the singing. It's still fine 80s rock. Just change the name. That's not AC/DC when Brian Johnson is standing out front.

AFL's longterm future